Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Manor House Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Manor House Farm Touring Park Reviews

Manor House Farm Touring Park
Whitby Laithes
Hawsker
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4JZ
Tel: 01947 603107
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35 caravan pitches
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy4x4 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a week on this lovely site. The site has good access from the road with plenty room to turn in we have 23ft twin axle. The park has two nice size fields with firm short grass pitches with electric hookup the ground is slightly undulating but with a couple of shunts we were level across the axles with out ramps.

It seems there are quite a few Seasonal pitches with well cared for vans with plenty space between space for the visiting vans is generally in the middle rows.

Facilities were good the WC & Showers were spotless and very modern although only two WC's and urinals and one shower in the gents this was fine during our stay and only a very short walk from the touring field there is also a nice pot washing area that also houses books, board games and magazines to borrow. There is no play park so not specifically geared up for kids but there's plenty of space to play if you bring your own stuff and respect others space.

Views of Whitby and the abbey are nice and also out to the west where you get some fantastic sunsets although the view will depend on what pitch you get. Access to Whitby is a short drive or a decent walk to the abbey and then down the 199 steps

We have used most sites in Whitby but shall be back here next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vashka 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the August bank holiday with our motorhome and a couple of friends in tents - we left it late to book so couldn't get in at any of the bigger sites. Was initially worried about what it would be like as not many reviews but was really impressed. Gorgeous views of the sea and Abbey which we didn't expect and had everything we needed. Shame there's only one shower for the women and one for the men but didn't cause us too many problems! Nice to see the hens running around freely. Owners nice and didn't imply the rules that so many caravan sites do. A bargain at £5 per person in a tent per night and £20 in a motorhome over the bank holiday weekend! Easy walk into Whitby and nice coastal walk to Robin Hoods Bay. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Safmf 5 reviews from this member

 We found this site on short notice as we wanted to visit Whitby for the Regatta weekend. It is approx 2 miles from the Abbey so we found it ideal location.

Upon arrival at the site we reported to the farm house to be shown the facilities and to choose our pitch, the field is slightly uneven in places but not a problem to level the caravan.

The facilities were clean, on site there is a shower & toilet block (one negative thing is that there wasn't hot water in them (apart from the shower)

There are chickens roaming around the field, they come up to the caravans and in our case in the Awning, we weren't faced by this and our daughter loved it.

I would stay ta this site again for a short weekend break the owner is friendly and the prices are reasonable. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tradingbubble 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site, roomy pitches, great price, nice owners very helpful, fantastic views from pitch.

Grass pitches, did slope a bit but nothing major. No collection on lawn mower meant grass gets everywhere but we just had a quick brush round or Hoover each day to remove all the grass from the awning/caravan.

Wash room has good facilities including a washing machine (although temperamental apparently) but I washed 2 huge loss in it during our stay. There is no dryer though so need line and pegs to. Dry your clothes. Owner had even provided washing powder for the machine.

Didn't use the ladies much but did use the shower at 50p a go. The water must be on a timer and I ran out of it before I'd rinsed the conditioner our if my hair completely and thought I was being quick. The money box is on the outside of the cubicle so you have to get naked first then reach around to put. Your money in. I did think the cubicle a bit small, certainly wouldn't have wanted to be in their with anyone else (like my toddler).

Whitby is lovely, loads of unique shops like the jewellers of Whitby jet, the chocolate shop selling their handmade wares and a lovely woodware shop where I bought a fantastic hand shaped fruit bowl for £10 led than asking price. Beach is good. Fish and chips were good, ice cream good. Parking good. Crabbing was great and kids enjoyed for a £1 a crab line and a £1for the bait. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kenmof 9 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 3 night stay at Manor House.

The site is well kept and the surroundings are beautiful, No play area for kids to run around (8 and 12).

It is a working farm with chickens running around daily, so watch your feet for droppings before entering your unit.

Whitby itself is an amazing place, well worth the visit. The site facilities were okay, showers (1 of) 50p a go (approx 4mins) the males shower head holder broken so had to hold shower head whilst showering, NO hot water in toilet wash basins and no option as only cold water tap fitted to sink, I wasn't impressed, toilets also need regular cleaning, dead spiders and flies on ledges and cobwebs around ceiling, doesn't take much to keep on top of these things. 1 hand towel supplied for drying hands after toilet, which I think was the same towel for our 3 day stay I think confirmed by the colour of it.

We last stayed here 3 yrs ago and were hoping for some improvements to have been made during that time. We couldn't see any though. Quite a few other sites around the local area which on our next visit to this lovely wee town we will be trying.

Apart from booking in, we never seen the owners the rest of the stay, unless the were showing new comers to their pitch. Quite a few seasonal caravans pitched up, so get the feeling the passing business isn't really catered for!

Albeit a lovely site, however with a few adjustments and alittle more attention to detail it could be much much better! 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fe9427 11 reviews from this member

 We had phoned the day before because we were concerned about the wet weather that we had recently had and worried that the pitches might be water logged, but we were assured that we would be okay as we were on a hardstanding pitch

The directions which were given on how to get there where good, we found it no problem. We were greeted friendly by the owner.

The hardstanding pitch was along side a barn there was another motorhome there too. Well kept field where caravans were.

The washing up area was very nicely kept, 2 sinks and plenty hot water, even had dish towels there for you to use. There was a leaflet table too. Homemade chutneys if you wanted to taste the farms delights.

Toilets, 3 cubicles in the ladies, and 1 shower. Maybe could have been better if there was hot water in the toilet basins and a bit more room in the room or a chair to place clothes etc

I liked the fact that there was a waste deposit unit. Quiet area.

We walked into Whitby one day and there are a couple of routes which were signed posted via the abbey. We did walk home one night around 8 but was getting dark so was getting worried as there was no lights on the road. It would be a pleasant walk I am sure in the summer. We got a taxi one night home and it was about £7 so was okay.

Overall site was fine.

My teenage daughter managed to get online via mobile internet thingy! We had no problems getting phone networks either. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Valerieselden 1 review from this member

 Just to put the record straight on behalf of the friendly helpful owners, the showers are hot provided you put them on the right setting and there is now hot water in the washing up area. The pitch was very reasonable at £7.50 per night for myself and my son, aged 10. There was comfortable distance between tents and the 'site full' sign went up quickly to preserve this when more people arrived. We had a great time there and as camping virgins were left with the impression we would definitely go camping again - might even bring daddy next time! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RAF35Y 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site to christen our new Vango beta 350.

The site is about 1 1/2 miles from Whitby on the south side. It is a lovely walk along the cliff tops to get to Whitby which takes about 45mins.

The camping field is slightly sloping but not too bad.

The grass was in good condition and nicely cut.

In the camping field are two heavy duty picnic tables which are handy if you can claim them.

The site is reasonable priced at £5 per person and we were not charged for out daughter so £10 per night is good.

The toilets could be better, 2 toilets a shower and washing up sink all together in a smallish lean too farm building no hot water and the shower costing 50p a time.

Shame about the toilet block as this is a very nice site and we will use again when visiting Whitby. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lifigirl 3 reviews from this member

 Already booked again to go to this stunning site open levelish field with the best views I've ever seen in whitby. Showers 50p can't really comment as we have a separate bathroom in tourer and never used them but looked clean and tidy. Owners very pleasant and helpful. Chickens a delight to wake up to them asking for food out side the caravan door. All in a all a little gem of a place 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark+lesley 9 reviews from this member

 We spent a weekend at this campsite and I think it would be helpful for fellow travellers if we added our views.

First of all you have to remember that this camp site is on a working arable farm, so it would appear that they are not reliant on the income generated from tourists. Now this point is important because I think it impacts on the facilities that the camp site has to offer.

As campers we have stopped on sites with excellent facilities that have won national awards and ones with nothing but a space in a field with a chemical toilet and a cold water tap !

The field for tents which we used does not have electric hook-ups, this is only available in the caravan field. The tent field is gently sloping in places, which is a bit of a bind when trying to set up a gas cooker ! There is one corner which is flat, but two tents had already nabbed that spot.

The toilets were reasonably clean but basic. In the mens and womens there was only one shower cubicle which costs 50p for about 4/5 min. The hand basins have cold water only and the one sink for pot washing only had cold water coming out of the single tap. So after our first venture of washing pots we decided it was better in the tent with our own hot water.

Now the aforementioned may sound negative and I think the owners could do a lot more than they are. On the plus side, it is only one mile from the Abbey and is now the nearest regular site that actually accepts tents. I donít think hot water in the toilets is a lot to ask and certainly would go a long way in appeasing me.

Would we go again ? the answer is probably yes, due to the location. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Manor House Farm Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor House Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Manor House Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5208 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements