Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Chateau Des Marais

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Muides Sur Loire > Le Chateau Des Marais > Reviews

Le Chateau Des Marais
27 Rue De Chambord
Muides Sur Loire
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41500
Tel: 0033 02 54 87 05 42
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 333
Open: 13/04/2024 to 09/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Dirksdonuts 10 reviews from this member

 Large site that copes reasonably well until everyone wants to swim on a hot day. Standing room only in the pools.

Premium pitches are not premium with no grass to be seen. It rained hard one day and turned our pitch into a quagmire with mud everywhere.

The private shower facilities are so badly designed with water flowing out of the door rather than out of the plug hole.

Overall we wouldn’t return or recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lattytatty 19 reviews from this member

 Access to the site was very easy, with a quick check in. We had a big, shady pitch, which came with a picnic table. We had English campers all around us, in fact the majority of the row we were on was British.

The shop was handy. There is also a manned information building to book cycle hire, tennis courts, find out about the local area etc.

We used the takeaway once for pizzas which were delicious, but that was only because Chez Pat in the small town (about 10 minutes walk) wasn't available. Pat makes very good pizza. We also got our breakfast pastries from the town (about 5 minutes walk).

Our dog was with us, and we had many walks from the site to the Loire - beautiful.

We also went out on our bikes and did many miles, mostly flat, in all various directions.

The children enjoyed the pool, it was really busy most of the time. Various slides, regular pool, and lazy river. We were usually too late to grab a lounger.

Evening entertainment was available, but we didn't go to any of the organised nights.

The sanitary facilities, whilst good, were very low in number. The loo paper frequently ran out. The showers were good, even a rainfall shower in a couple of the cubicles. There were older sanitary blocks dotted around the site. These were unusable, cordoned off and looked very uncared for, almost derelict. The look of these didn't match the rest of the site.

The site is great for a walk around, it really is very big, with lots of different styles of accommodation on offer - however, be aware of all the go karts whizzing around the site. There are many, and no licences required! 😉 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kaffee 21 reviews from this member

 Disappointed by this site for a variety of reasons. Pools were full of bugs and cold on 30c+ day - we got the pool late close to closing time and there were no beds or chairs left as demand well outstripped supply. Shower blocks were cleaned first thing but floors left soaking wet which meant that as soon as anyone walked dusty / leafy shoes in they were instantly grubby, also lots of mozzies and bugs in the washrooms. Shop wasn't open long in the day and closed early so we weren't able to buy anything after our late (7pm) Saturday arrival.

Other little disappointments led to us leaving a day early, such as no plugs in washing sinks, dryer not working after inserting my 3euro token and a group of teens left to run riot through the site letting off car alarms till 3 / 4am.

Site is in a great location along the river and in a pleasant small town for loire valley base and visiting Blois / Chambourd and pitches spacious but felt very expensive and disappointing compared to others we've used in France. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pcjbt 6 reviews from this member

 Our 3rd visit to this spacious campsite. Great overnight or longer stay on the way up or down the country to Spain. Now part of Sandya group still great facilities and very big fully serviced pitches with hedging in between. Toilet blocks within a few steps as there are many. Good spread of mobile homes, tents and pitches keep it fresh and less regimented. Didn't book ahead as it has plenty of room in beginning and end of season for tourers. Used ACSI card for this visit and extended our stay by one day to 4 nights.

Shop is small, but it has fresh produce and most items you would want, leClerc and ALDI within 5 miles anyhow. Didn't use the Restaurant this time, but looked very clean and varied menu. Bar prices as expected from 5* site. Pool section is large with slides and some of it covered in early season.

Quick booking in system, pay on leaving.

Wifi 3. 00 Euro a day (first day free), but was free all the time we were there! Bonus.

Loads of places to visit and if you like cycling on the best routes in France.

Would always use this site in the future when in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ebba 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed our 5 night stay here; we thought there were good clean facilities and a great pool area. Didn't use the restaurant, had a good pizza, nice ice creams and croissant from the basic shop which is not cheap but prices as expected in these places. Pool was busy, but there was room, children 10 and 14 loved it. And Speedo trunks were not required!

We asked for a pitch away from the entertainment area and showers to be quieter: there was some road noise but not too intrusive. We had a large shaded pitch, mostly grass and a rectangular sandy/ gravelled area, the ground was hard and dry so some strong metal tent pegs needed - also useful is a rug or groundsheet to cover any gravel outside the tent and a protective under layer/footprint. Took mosquito coils, just in case and were not bitten.

We visited the pleasant surrounding area each day. Kayaked on the Loire, saw chateaux, Blois etc. Didn't cycle as it was too hot for us and we couldn't remove the children from the pool. But are lots of flat cycle paths around. Yes the site was in the majority English, however if going off site there is plenty to see of France and a different culture. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Irenab 1 review from this member

 First time at the site. Giving it mainly 10/10 however some reservations. The holiday home was a bit undulating throughout so none of the doors hung true. There was no oven: it was replaced with a dish washer that was a tad worse than useless. No air con. One toilet but 2 showers. We preferred this to the Siblu Park down the valley.

Swimming facilities much better but Martin playground disappointing.

Lots of shade from trees. Wifi reasonably priced but service patchy. Very friendly campsite. I would come again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kittiwake 15 reviews from this member

 We used this site for an overnighter on the way up to Le Havre.

We had what appeared to be one of the short stay gravel pitches which was spacious and well shaded.

We chose it as it meant our children would have the opportunity to use the pools after a long drive and also as check out is relatively late (midday) it meant they could use the pools again in the morning before we left after lunch for the overnight ferry.

Pool complex is well worth it although the slides may not impress the adventurous. Pools open 9-9 which we made full use of.

Didn't use much of the rest of the facilities but bar areas etc looked well kept. Nice bouncy castle and play areas. Toilet blocks were well spaced out and fine although I felt could have been cleaner.

For me personally I did not like the site as the vast majority of campers were English and it's not what I look for in a French camping holiday. That said it was an excellent choice for a pre ferry overnighter and would suit those that like the Eurocamp style experience.

From what we saw of the local town it looked uninspiring but I would have thought there are many day trip options from the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sorrelstar 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 weeks in a tent, with our 3 children. The weather was unseasonably wet ( August, in mid France, 3 sunny days out of 14 and torrential downpours!?)

This was our first stay at a Eurocamp so I wasn't sure what to expect other than from the opinions of others on here. There is a good mixture of tent/caravan pitches (and a great looking treehouse!), ready set up tents for Canvas holidays and Eurocamp chalets. I would say the site is 70% English, 20% Dutch/German and10% French. Most of the other campers were very friendly but we were next to a chalet and NONE of the 3 English families who stayed there spoke to us (bit of chalet snobbery going on maybe!?)

As said, we had a LOT of rain and all of the pitches flooded to some extent. I believe they may be looking at adding drainage to some pitches, but ours faired a lot better than some others.

There were 4 toilet/wash blocks, and having previously stayed at lower starred campsites that have more regular cleaning, I would say that these could have been cleaner and better maintained. One day someone chose to use the shower as a toilet - it was quite revolting and something I have never seen at other sites in my whole camping career! Each block also only had 3 loos (and a small child loo) in each block which did mean I queued a couple of times. Showers were mainly hot and available, and there was a nice washing up and clothes washing area.

The pools are brilliant and a highlight of our holiday, luckily there is one pool with a removable cover so it meant the kids could swim every day even when raining. I did find my eyes stung after a brief spell in this pool and think it was overused during the rainy week. The lazy river was super and I felt at ease to let my 5 and 7 year olds freely move around the pools on their own.

A 30 minute wifi code (for one device) is free if you buy a drink or ice cream at the bar, or 3 euros for 24 hours, which you can get all over site but it is intermittent.

The bar was good - but we felt expensive. Ice-creams varied from 1 euro 90 to 3 euro 90, whilst a small soft drink was 2 euro 70 and a pint of beer 4 euro 90! I recommend you go to the supermaket and stock up your fridge! The kids clubs are not open to tent pitch users who book directly through the site.

The small shop on site was a little more expensive than the supermarket but some thing were cheaper - particularly the playmobile sets my kids loved to buy each day at under 3 euros each! They had lovely fresh baked pain aux raisins and pain aux chocolates which were worth the 1 euro 10. There is a cheaper epicerie (where they also hire bikes much cheaper than the campsite) and boulangerie 5 minutes walk out of the site. Also the local SuperU in Mer is under 3 miles away, and has good variety with a super fish and meat counter.

Around and about there is the lovely market town of Blois (visit the excellent La Scala Italian restaurant) the impressive Chateau Chambord, though we only drove by it, and if you take bikes plenty of places to go. We didn't like Orleans much, and should have gone to Tours which is the same distance.

I think with a little more care and attention to the shared facilities, and by lowering their prices a little, this would be a super site. We fortunately made some wonderful new friends for our second rainy week there which made our holiday memorable, other wise I may have been tempted to zip up the tent and head south! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Checkley1973 6 reviews from this member

 We came to this site for 4 nights on the way back from The Dordogne region on the recommendation of friends.

We have however very mixed views on the site having spent two weeks at St Avit Loisirs and previously at many castels and yelloh! Sites.

The pitches are large but not well kept, ours was muddy, uneven and covered in ants nests. It was also sold as fully serviced which they aren't as the tap is shared with your neighbour. Ok in our case as we had a tent next door and the people there we happy to disconnect and reconnect our hose when they wanted water. When we queried with the site they had no solution and told us not to worry about next door and connect to it. We looked at the pitches around us and they were little if no better than ours.

The site isn't large not like our previous site which we didn't mind at all and the lack of evening 'entertainment' also suited us.

Pool - odd layout as it's been expanded over the years however our main concern was it didn't look very clean. Lots of 'bits' on the bottom of the pools which I've not experienced elsewhere before even during peak. We also felt the pool area was spoiled by the use of a shabby plastic cover over the main pool which looks ugly and has the effect of splitting the pool area in 2. This makes it hard to relax and watch you children. The slides were good and enjoyed by all.

Bar - nice and well positioned for keeping an eye on little ones playing outside. Staff were at best neutral and some were just rude. Happy to carry on chatting to each other whilst customers stand waiting to be served. Free wifi for 30 mins is good and works fine.

Takeaway - nice pizzas, burgers were microwaved. Long queues and understaffed. We waited 40 minutes for 2 pizzas. Nice when the arrived though.

Shop - comprehensive but expensive. 30% more than the site shop at St Avit. Long queues in the morning for milk croissants as they insist on serving them to you, which we be ok IF done with a smile but it looked more like a chore.

Reception - good and very friendly staff here. Happy to help when we asked and sorted the electric quickly when it failed due to the rain.

Area - great location. Chambord is lovely and cycling is perfect for children as it's very flat. There are numerous cycle routes and you can obtain a leaflet with map from the campsite tourist office.

Kids club - didn't use it.

In summary we wouldn't return here again, the feeling of the people next to and opposite us too, both of whom had been before. I think Les Alicourts is far superior and not too far away. The general feel here is the site is ageing. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jehann 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 8 nights here - should have been 9 nights but we left early. Our pitch was poor from the start - too small for our tent and v uneven. We were told that it was the only pitch available for our entire stay so no chance of moving. It rained heavily the first night and that was when the real problems started; basically our pitch became a swamp/lake and for the rest of the stay there were massive pools of water around and under the tent. The site needs to sort out its drainage problems. Yes we had a lot of rain but surely it's not the first time this has happened. Eventually we discovered that a drain over the road from us was blocked with what looked like months of debris and the water was being diverted onto our pitch! What disappointed us the most was the attitude of the site staff to our situation. Not once did someone come to see if we were ok or offer to help us out, and it was only after we asked them that someone bothered to come to see the pitch, and then they did nothing to prevent the following days rain flooding the pitch again. Not once did we have an apology for the state of the pitch. V v poor customer service. We shall not be returning to the sight and would advise others to think twice before visiting, particularly if you have a tent; we were certainly not the only ones in this situation. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Le Chateau Des Marais child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Chateau Des Marais have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Chateau Des Marais?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Le Chateau Des Marais dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Muides Sur Loire      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44969 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement