Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Le Chateau Des Marais

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Muides Sur Loire > Le Chateau Des Marais Reviews

Le Chateau Des Marais
27 Rue De Chambord
Muides Sur Loire
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41500
Tel: 0033 02 54 87 05 42
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 333
Open: 13/04-09/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
                9/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kaffee 12 reviews from this member

Disappointed by this site for a variety of reasons. Pools were full of bugs and cold on 30c+ day - we got the pool late close to closing time and there were no beds or chairs left as demand well outstripped supply. Shower blocks were cleaned first thing but floors left soaking wet which meant that as soon as anyone walked dusty / leafy shoes in they were instantly grubby, also lots of mozzies and bugs in the washrooms. Shop wasn't open long in the day and closed early so we weren't able to buy anything after our late (7pm) Saturday arrival.

Other little disappointments led to us leaving a day early, such as no plugs in washing sinks, dryer not working after inserting my 3euro token and a group of teens left to run riot through the site letting off car alarms till 3 / 4am.

Site is in a great location along the river and in a pleasant small town for loire valley base and visiting Blois / Chambourd and pitches spacious but felt very expensive and disappointing compared to others we've used in France.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pcjbt 4 reviews from this member

Our 3rd visit to this spacious campsite. Great overnight or longer stay on the way up or down the country to Spain. Now part of Sandya group still great facilities and very big fully serviced pitches with hedging in between. Toilet blocks within a few steps as there are many. Good spread of mobile homes, tents and pitches keep it fresh and less regimented. Didn't book ahead as it has plenty of room in beginning and end of season for tourers. Used ACSI card for this visit and extended our stay by one day to 4 nights.

Shop is small, but it has fresh produce and most items you would want, leClerc and ALDI within 5 miles anyhow. Didn't use the Restaurant this time, but looked very clean and varied menu. Bar prices as expected from 5* site. Pool section is large with slides and some of it covered in early season.

Quick booking in system, pay on leaving.

Wifi 3. 00 Euro a day (first day free), but was free all the time we were there! Bonus.

Loads of places to visit and if you like cycling on the best routes in France.

Would always use this site in the future when in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ebba 1 review from this member

Enjoyed our 5 night stay here; we thought there were good clean facilities and a great pool area. Didn't use the restaurant, had a good pizza, nice ice creams and croissant from the basic shop which is not cheap but prices as expected in these places. Pool was busy, but there was room, children 10 and 14 loved it. And Speedo trunks were not required!

We asked for a pitch away from the entertainment area and showers to be quieter: there was some road noise but not too intrusive. We had a large shaded pitch, mostly grass and a rectangular sandy/ gravelled area, the ground was hard and dry so some strong metal tent pegs needed - also useful is a rug or groundsheet to cover any gravel outside the tent and a protective under layer/footprint. Took mosquito coils, just in case and were not bitten.

We visited the pleasant surrounding area each day. Kayaked on the Loire, saw chateaux, Blois etc. Didn't cycle as it was too hot for us and we couldn't remove the children from the pool. But are lots of flat cycle paths around. Yes the site was in the majority English, however if going off site there is plenty to see of France and a different culture.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Irenab 1 review from this member

First time at the site. Giving it mainly 10/10 however some reservations. The holiday home was a bit undulating throughout so none of the doors hung true. There was no oven: it was replaced with a dish washer that was a tad worse than useless. No air con. One toilet but 2 showers. We preferred this to the Siblu Park down the valley.

Swimming facilities much better but Martin playground disappointing.

Lots of shade from trees. Wifi reasonably priced but service patchy. Very friendly campsite. I would come again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kittiwake 13 reviews from this member

We used this site for an overnighter on the way up to Le Havre.

We had what appeared to be one of the short stay gravel pitches which was spacious and well shaded.

We chose it as it meant our children would have the opportunity to use the pools after a long drive and also as check out is relatively late (midday) it meant they could use the pools again in the morning before we left after lunch for the overnight ferry.

Pool complex is well worth it although the slides may not impress the adventurous. Pools open 9-9 which we made full use of.

Didn't use much of the rest of the facilities but bar areas etc looked well kept. Nice bouncy castle and play areas. Toilet blocks were well spaced out and fine although I felt could have been cleaner.

For me personally I did not like the site as the vast majority of campers were English and it's not what I look for in a French camping holiday. That said it was an excellent choice for a pre ferry overnighter and would suit those that like the Eurocamp style experience.

From what we saw of the local town it looked uninspiring but I would have thought there are many day trip options from the site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sorrelstar 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 weeks in a tent, with our 3 children. The weather was unseasonably wet ( August, in mid France, 3 sunny days out of 14 and torrential downpours!?)

This was our first stay at a Eurocamp so I wasn't sure what to expect other than from the opinions of others on here. There is a good mixture of tent/caravan pitches (and a great looking treehouse!), ready set up tents for Canvas holidays and Eurocamp chalets. I would say the site is 70% English, 20% Dutch/German and10% French. Most of the other campers were very friendly but we were next to a chalet and NONE of the 3 English families who stayed there spoke to us (bit of chalet snobbery going on maybe!?)

As said, we had a LOT of rain and all of the pitches flooded to some extent. I believe they may be looking at adding drainage to some pitches, but ours faired a lot better than some others.

There were 4 toilet/wash blocks, and having previously stayed at lower starred campsites that have more regular cleaning, I would say that these could have been cleaner and better maintained. One day someone chose to use the shower as a toilet - it was quite revolting and something I have never seen at other sites in my whole camping career! Each block also only had 3 loos (and a small child loo) in each block which did mean I queued a couple of times. Showers were mainly hot and available, and there was a nice washing up and clothes washing area.

The pools are brilliant and a highlight of our holiday, luckily there is one pool with a removable cover so it meant the kids could swim every day even when raining. I did find my eyes stung after a brief spell in this pool and think it was overused during the rainy week. The lazy river was super and I felt at ease to let my 5 and 7 year olds freely move around the pools on their own.

A 30 minute wifi code (for one device) is free if you buy a drink or ice cream at the bar, or 3 euros for 24 hours, which you can get all over site but it is intermittent.

The bar was good - but we felt expensive. Ice-creams varied from 1 euro 90 to 3 euro 90, whilst a small soft drink was 2 euro 70 and a pint of beer 4 euro 90! I recommend you go to the supermaket and stock up your fridge! The kids clubs are not open to tent pitch users who book directly through the site.

The small shop on site was a little more expensive than the supermarket but some thing were cheaper - particularly the playmobile sets my kids loved to buy each day at under 3 euros each! They had lovely fresh baked pain aux raisins and pain aux chocolates which were worth the 1 euro 10. There is a cheaper epicerie (where they also hire bikes much cheaper than the campsite) and boulangerie 5 minutes walk out of the site. Also the local SuperU in Mer is under 3 miles away, and has good variety with a super fish and meat counter.

Around and about there is the lovely market town of Blois (visit the excellent La Scala Italian restaurant) the impressive Chateau Chambord, though we only drove by it, and if you take bikes plenty of places to go. We didn't like Orleans much, and should have gone to Tours which is the same distance.

I think with a little more care and attention to the shared facilities, and by lowering their prices a little, this would be a super site. We fortunately made some wonderful new friends for our second rainy week there which made our holiday memorable, other wise I may have been tempted to zip up the tent and head south!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Checkley1973 6 reviews from this member

We came to this site for 4 nights on the way back from The Dordogne region on the recommendation of friends.

We have however very mixed views on the site having spent two weeks at St Avit Loisirs and previously at many castels and yelloh! Sites.

The pitches are large but not well kept, ours was muddy, uneven and covered in ants nests. It was also sold as fully serviced which they aren't as the tap is shared with your neighbour. Ok in our case as we had a tent next door and the people there we happy to disconnect and reconnect our hose when they wanted water. When we queried with the site they had no solution and told us not to worry about next door and connect to it. We looked at the pitches around us and they were little if no better than ours.

The site isn't large not like our previous site which we didn't mind at all and the lack of evening 'entertainment' also suited us.

Pool - odd layout as it's been expanded over the years however our main concern was it didn't look very clean. Lots of 'bits' on the bottom of the pools which I've not experienced elsewhere before even during peak. We also felt the pool area was spoiled by the use of a shabby plastic cover over the main pool which looks ugly and has the effect of splitting the pool area in 2. This makes it hard to relax and watch you children. The slides were good and enjoyed by all.

Bar - nice and well positioned for keeping an eye on little ones playing outside. Staff were at best neutral and some were just rude. Happy to carry on chatting to each other whilst customers stand waiting to be served. Free wifi for 30 mins is good and works fine.

Takeaway - nice pizzas, burgers were microwaved. Long queues and understaffed. We waited 40 minutes for 2 pizzas. Nice when the arrived though.

Shop - comprehensive but expensive. 30% more than the site shop at St Avit. Long queues in the morning for milk croissants as they insist on serving them to you, which we be ok IF done with a smile but it looked more like a chore.

Reception - good and very friendly staff here. Happy to help when we asked and sorted the electric quickly when it failed due to the rain.

Area - great location. Chambord is lovely and cycling is perfect for children as it's very flat. There are numerous cycle routes and you can obtain a leaflet with map from the campsite tourist office.

Kids club - didn't use it.

In summary we wouldn't return here again, the feeling of the people next to and opposite us too, both of whom had been before. I think Les Alicourts is far superior and not too far away. The general feel here is the site is ageing.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jehann 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from 8 nights here - should have been 9 nights but we left early. Our pitch was poor from the start - too small for our tent and v uneven. We were told that it was the only pitch available for our entire stay so no chance of moving. It rained heavily the first night and that was when the real problems started; basically our pitch became a swamp/lake and for the rest of the stay there were massive pools of water around and under the tent. The site needs to sort out its drainage problems. Yes we had a lot of rain but surely it's not the first time this has happened. Eventually we discovered that a drain over the road from us was blocked with what looked like months of debris and the water was being diverted onto our pitch! What disappointed us the most was the attitude of the site staff to our situation. Not once did someone come to see if we were ok or offer to help us out, and it was only after we asked them that someone bothered to come to see the pitch, and then they did nothing to prevent the following days rain flooding the pitch again. Not once did we have an apology for the state of the pitch. V v poor customer service. We shall not be returning to the sight and would advise others to think twice before visiting, particularly if you have a tent; we were certainly not the only ones in this situation.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: REK1 17 reviews from this member

We've just returned from 2 weeks at le marais. It's a very pretty, well kept site, level grassy pitches. All of the amenities are located around the chateau so its very relaxing to be able to sit in the bar and look across to the pool, the chateau and the lovely gardens and lawns. The toilets, showers and washing up areas were kept clean and had hot water, soap, loo roll. I didn't have to queue at all. I think the site is really geared towards primary school aged children and there wasn't really anything geared towards our 2 teenagers (they did really like it there though!. A 5min walk away is the loire which is absolutely beautiful and just across the river is the town of mer. Both mer and the village of miides sur loire are pretty low key but blois 20km away is beautiful and well worth visiting. The area is great for cycling and we didn't take the motorhome off the pitch for the whole 2weeks, we walked or cycled. A lovely site and fantastic location, recommended! 1 last thing, some of the site staff need to go on customer services course and be happier and more obliging and long queues in the shop early morning.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisinhove 8 reviews from this member

This is a good site, but think carefully whether it is for you.

It is well located for Chambord, Cheverny, Blois and Amboise, and being flat and at the edge of the Chambord forest park, is great for cycling, but the area is far less picturesque than downstream of the Loire.

On site, the facilities are comprehensive and very good, and the pool area would put many leisure centres to shame. The signage indicating them to be unsupervised appears to be taken as an instruction by some, however, with inevitable and clearly painful consequences. And that is also true of the site roads, which are also great for cycling/scooting around on, regardless of your sense of balance, safety etc!

The shop is good, but you pay a reasonable mark-up for the convenience. Supermarkets are not too distant however.

Tent pitches are a pretty good size, and all shaded to a greater or lesser extent. Our standard pitch took an Indian Lake, tarp, car and still left room for a seating area. They are well used, however, and ground conditions on ours was poor.

The site has many key camp type chalets, and often has more of a resort atmosphere than campsite. The poolside sunloungers are often all bagged by towels first thing which is just sad (and no national stereotypes - this site is overwhelmingly English, to it's detriment, as it feels a bit detached ). This is a very busy site, and it can all get a bit rammed.

The number of WC blocks means you are never far from one, and we never had to queue ( clean and plentiful hot water, too). This also means more pitches next door to them, though (and to the well appointed kiddy play areas). Some are really just poorly situated, and maybe just for overnighters, although our pitch was in a really quite nice spot.

This site clearly suits some families absolutely perfectly, where I have no doubt holiday nirvana can be achieved. A little less so for us, but this seemed to be the best site in the area we wanted to be in, and I still think that's the case. On the final analysis we felt it just lacks a bit of charm, which is unusual for the Loire region which has it in spades.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6692 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019