Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor Farm Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Nottinghamshire > Thrumpton > Manor Farm Caravan Site > Reviews

Manor Farm Caravan Site
Manor Farm
Thrumpton
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG11 0AX
Tel: 0115 9830341
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sonjudwen 27 reviews from this member

 Although a pleasant peaceful site it was a little scruffy, just needs a good tidy up.

No one bothers you about silly rules,

Ideal for walking around the area and east mids airport.

Was 10 @ night plus elec at 25p per unit. We used 9. 50 over 4 nights, all in it is good value.

Cannot comment on shower or loo as we used our own. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: EmmaLou1551 1 review from this member

 Beautiful little area surrounded by lovely people.

There is plenty of nature around and birds and squirrels 🐿️.

The nearest shops are 4 mile away but the next village has a friendly village hall and a pub/farm and restaurant 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pressure cleaning 1 review from this member

 What a gem in the countryside, ample Hook ups, site is safe, really friendly owners/family,

Just an unspoilt countryside caravan site, , , so so peaceful.

Don't expect a modern site, it's perfect as it is. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JWAL 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for one night on 20th July 2016 and again on 31st July en route and returning from Cornwall. We opted for this site because of its proximity to the M1/A42 and in this respect it was excellent. Although close to the motorway it was a quiet and peaceful place to stay. The entrance to the site is along a farm road past large agricultural type buildings which make you wonder what you've let yourself in for. On arrival, however, it's like entering The Darling Buds of May set, with cooing pigeons and free range chickens. As we were only there for one night we pitched up at the first available electric pitch. Further along there is a field with vans which seem to have been there for some time. There's another field which appears peaceful and ideal for a longer stay. Toilet facilities are, at best, basic. I suspect they were originally created for use of the farm staff and are in need of an overhaul. However for 1 for a shower and 10 a night for a pitch it is reasonable value.

Would stay here again to break a trek South, or to explore the area further. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Natpickles 1 review from this member

 This campsite really was excellent value for money at 10 with electric for our caravan. We took the first pitch we came to with electric but I'd say carry on to the next field (past the chickens) - a bit nicer view. Very good if you like peace and quiet. The owners don't bother you at all (which I like). I had to go and find them to pay at the end of our 2 night stay which also wasn't a problem. I think they just trust people to pay. If I hadn't found anyone I would have simply phoned to pay when I got home. I would definitely recommend this campsite based on the price if you can put up with pretty basic shower facility. Personally, I couldn't have coped with more than the one time I used the shower. Having said that the water was hot and running, there was plenty of soap and decent toilet roll. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Greenp 19 reviews from this member

 Lovely little gem of a campsite tucked against the Leicestershire/ Derbyshire border between the River Trent, a coal power station, the M1, East Midlands airport and East Midlands Parkway Train Centre. Despite all this, it is a tranquil oasis with Red Hill Marina nearby for boating.

The site itself is 3 small fields next to a very industrialised farm/ Russian secret military storage. One field for statics, one for tourers with lots of EHU points and hard standing-though if you want lovely views and feel nearer to nature with horses and chickens nearby, the third field a little further from the amenities and with no hard pitches is the place to camp.

We had a lovely night's stay. The owner was laid back- just post the money through the letter box and cordial. The site is functional and basic but clean. The toilets and showers tatty but stocked with soap, toilet paper etc and are as clean as the campers using them as mops are provided.

I hope to visit many times as it is such a convenient location. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Timsinc 13 reviews from this member

 Hmm. Excellent location for a stopover - main roads and M1 a couple of minutes away, but is quiet and rural. The actual grass site I'd call scrappy but adequate. Plenty of signs giving price (10 a night with elec) and others warning of pitching entirely at users' risk. But none for drinking water or of a reception - ie where to pay! Wandered round farm buildings but eventually left without paying. Later rang to say I'd post a cheque. TV and phone (Three) signal good. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kirstsw 58 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night on May Bank Holiday en route to Leicestershire. Driving off the main road to the village of Thrumpton did make me think where are we going to as there are major road works on the main A453. However we were pleasantly surprised at this little site nestled away in the countryside. The site is well maintained and great value at 8. 00 per night for our camper, 2 adults and EHU.

There are 2 toilets and showers (that cost 1. 00) and they are basic but functional. We would definitely return for an overnight stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heather73 4 reviews from this member

 Have arrived back after a very relaxing stay at this site. It is very quiet with only a few pitches and a large field for tents. The owners did not bother us at all and were very pleasant. Yes, the showers & toilets are very basic but at least the showers were hot and at the cheap rate of 10 you cant really complain.
There is no shops or pubs in the village of Thrumpton but the nearest pub is a Hungry Horse about 2 miles drive away. There is a Tesco express (which is expensive) 2 1/2 miles away and a Morrisons around there too.

We had fantastic hot weather when staying here and enjoyed walks to the river trent and explored the local area. Calke Abbey (National trust) I can recommend as a Day out and a country park is only 10 minutes away.

We would go back here as it was so stress free here, with no hassles and friendly people and quiet. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: How-camp-are-we 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a 3 night stay with our 2 children and had a lovely time. On arrival we parked where all the caravans were and felt a little disappointed but the owner told us we were in the next field which had a much nicer feel, better views and we had it all to ourselves! The children had loads of space to play and every now and could go and stroke the 2 horses in the next field.
The walk to the shower and toilets are a little grim with some old caravans that look like they have been there for years and big old farm buildings but these could not be seen from the tent site. The showers and toilets are very basic / poor and in need of a re-fit but this is reflected in the price (8 per night with electric) and there is no pot wash facility.
The owners seemed very friendly but did not bother us at all during the stay. The downside to this site is there are no shops or pubs at all in the village so had to make a car journey for anything we needed. Overall our trip was very pleasant and although there is nothing special about this site we will probably go again! 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Manor Farm Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Farm Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Manor Farm Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thrumpton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3399 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement