Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitefield Forest Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Ryde > Whitefield Forest Touring Park Reviews

Whitefield Forest Touring Park
Brading Road
Ryde
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO33 1QJ
Tel: 01983 617069
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 05/04 To 08/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Silver Plated Spork 16 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed our stay on this site. I enquired to see if there were spaces available and was able to then book on the phone, and the site also sorted the ferry crossing at a much better price than doing it separately.

It's set in a sheltered wood, on the east side of the island so quite close to get to most sights and attractions on the island. Whilst the trees gave welcome shade, it's also open enough to get the sun on your tent. There is a Tesco just up the road and the owner kindly let our supermarket delivery van to the pitch. The large pitches are well spread out, some are hardstanding with own water. Otherwise lots of water and rubbish points set out. There is a path around the site which takes in some of the woodland nature. There is some traffic noise from the main road but some pitches are further set back from this and it may be quieter there.

Facilities are fairly central to most pitches and well designed. From memory, I think there were 6 toilets, 6 showers and 3 privacy basins, all spotless and in good condition. Laundry room also available and covered washing up points.

A good adventure playground for children in the woods, plus a few other play things set out on the trail in the woods, as well as a red squirrel hide. A small shop at reception sells milk, bread, some tins as well as ice creams.

We stayed during Covid times and I agree with the other reviews that the owners had gone to great lengths to minimise any risk. There were hand sanitising stations at all water points and entrances to the washblock, clear signs about being courteous and giving way and extra cleans in action.

We were lucky with the weather and did a lot of beaches during our stay- Ryde, Steephill Cove, and we even walked from the site over to Seaview bay, a route which was mainly road-free. We also saw Carisbrooke castle and Osbourne House, and did a road trip over to the Needles and Yarmouth. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: MarcusValhalla 1 review from this member

 Booked here so we could visit the inlaws - I was a bit apprehensive as to what we might find due to the Covid situation, but a lot of thought had obviously been put in by the management and the site was set up brilliantly.

Spotlessly clean facilities, super pitches, and an excellent location (for visiting/being visited by the inlaws and seeing the island. )

We are looking forward to going back in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hallah87747wlm 1 review from this member

 I looked at a few site and had a good feeling about Whitefields so booked for 4 nights. We were certainly not disappointed!

We had a great pitch which was near enough but not too close to the facilities which were spotlessly clean.

The pitch was a great size and everyone was very friendly on site.

We will definitely be returning to the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Howard75044ivb 1 review from this member

 We Had a really good stay here

Lovely and clean and friendly

Excellent washing block and plenty of wildlife

Would definitely stay again

Good size pitches 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Judipearce 21 reviews from this member

 We were met and shown to our pitch by Pat, who soon had us informed and made very welcome, in fact any time we needed them they were friendly and helpful.

The site is on a slope with level pitches on different levels. We had water, electric and waste all of which were excellent. Pitch was level and big enough for us and the awning.

In amongst the trees we soon saw our first red squirrel and in fact with trees and bushes right next to the van we were constantly amused by the birds, rabbits and squirrels.

The facilities were superb and immaculate and we ordered newspapers which one of the ladies brought in for us each morning at no extra cost.

This is a truly wonderful site so peaceful and relaxing. Already planning a return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 22114 11 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. The site is surrounded by trees, hence the name, with very well maintained and thought out pitches. Facility block is a high standard. There are some seats outside reception where you can access free Wi-Fi.

Tesco superstore few minutes drive/bus ride away. Bus stops near the site are on the number 2 and 3 bus routes, one way going to Ryde (about 15 minutes).

The other way goes through Sandown, Shanklin, Ventnor(on the number 3), Godshill and eventually ending up in Newport. The number 3 runs late and on Fridays/ Saturdays into the early hours. Overall a cracking site. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vwdubman 25 reviews from this member

 An absolutely fantastic campsite, all pitches immaculately kept, nicely spaced apart, toilets and shower block probably the cleanest and most modern I have ever used.

The Isle of Wight has lots to offer if you have a family or in our case just a dog, this campsite is ideally situated and nothing is more than a 45 minute drive away or if you are donít fancy driving hop on a bus, the bus stop is on the main road just a 50 yard walk from the campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elaine Harrison 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 2week stay at this excellent site. Pat and all the staff were so friendly and very helpful, nothing was to much trouble for them. Pat was very helpful and understanding after my mishap with mislaid caravan keys on the way to get the ferry from Southampton, she managed to rebook our ferry and thankfully we found our keys and continued on our journey to the site. We had a really good pitch/fully serviced, toilet block could not be faulted, well maintained, spotlessly clean, laundry room was always clean, could probably do with another washer/dryer as there was sometimes a few bags waiting to be done. It was such a relaxing site, not too much road noise, lovely walks around the site, loved watching the Red Squirrels playing around the site. Will definitely be returning here. There is a Tesco store 10 minutes down the road which is open 24hrs, bus stop just outside the site entrance. There are so many attractions to see on the island, beaches were dog friendly, plenty of places to eat that are also dog friendly.

Thank you from The Harrison Family 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Krissandmike 1 review from this member

 Our first time caravanning on the Isle of Wight and found this site to be excellent. Quiet, secluded pitches and the cleanest shower/toilet block on the planet. Some road noise but not intrusive apart from occasionally some lads who think that removing their moped exhaust silencer makes them Barry Sheene! Owners/staff pleasant and helpful. We booked the site/ferry deal which was excellent value. Dog friendly and close to Tesco Extra make this a perfect base for exploring the charming Isle of Wight. We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in early July for 2 weeks with some friends, and we really got lucky with the weather! Only 1 day of rain!

This site is very well maintained, and is owned/run by a very experienced owner along with her family.

The pitches are large and are a mix of grass and hard standing, some are shaded at different times of the day, so if you like to be in the sun or shade check with the owners, our pitch was in the shade most of the afternoon. If you're on a full service pitch you are given a 'key' to turn the tap on. This is a great idea. Just remember to return it at the end of your stay.

There is Wifi available (free) outside reception, there are loungers and tables to sit on while using this. We found this very convenient, much better than sites where you have to purchase vouchers, and then find out it doesn't work properly anyway!

The showers/toilets are absolutely immaculate and modern, and are kept in tip top condition. There is a room with a washing machine, tumble dryer and ironing board, you can hire an iron from reception and get tokens to use the washer and dryer from reception as well. I do think though at busy times just the one washer and dryer won't be enough. These were always busy when we were there and we were outside the kids holidays. Outside there is a rotary clothes line to use, which is very handy if you don't have your own (don't forget your pegs)

In the reception there is lots of information for days out etc, and the staff can always offer suggestions and recommendations.

10 Minutes down the road is a very large Tesco store with petrol garage (I think the store is 24 hours, not sure though) there is also a McDonalds more or less next door to Tesco.

There is a doggy walk around the site - this is a nice woodland trail. Whilst on the subject of dogs, we felt that a few more 'doggy bins' could be added around the site.

There are a few things to note, on the lower pitch numbers there is road noise (Friday and Saturday nights were pretty loud with the boy racers) and I have to say it did bother us.

There are signs around the site advising of a STRICT 5MPH, however trying to get people to adhere to this was difficult, why do people seem incapable of sticking to this???? It means 5MPH, not ten or fifteen, they even put a large blackboard out as well trying to get the message through, as the signs were obviously not meant for some people!. The owner did have a word with some people about keeping their speed down. Keeping to the speed limit also kept the dust down on the camps roads as it was so dry, over 5mph really kicked the dust up, great if you're trying to relax outside your unit.

It was very quiet on the site, and I get the impression that the owner would enforce quiet times after 10. 30PM

Just one other thing, getting out onto the main road with a caravan etc, is a bit 'dodgy' as it's a main road with blind bends.

A good site, well run and very clean. 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Whitefield Forest Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitefield Forest Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Whitefield Forest Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ryde      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5530 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement