Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Broomhill Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Alfreton > Broomhill Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Broomhill Farm Certificated Site
Butterfield Lane
Brackenfield
Alfreton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE55 6AN
Tel: 01773 832813
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 27 reviews from this member

 Well we regular visitors to this lovely campsite.

Janet, John, are great hosts and have always been fantastic with all that stop there.

The site is sloping but you can get around it, also along the top they have put hard standing, but be warned pegs are hard to get in lol.

Toilet and showers basic and well looked after.

Great countryside walks, quiet location, but pub and chippy a mile away, close to Alfreton, Clay Cross, Matlock and Tansley car boot.

Will keep going to this site for as long as we can. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 27 reviews from this member

 No frills but all you really need.

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Broomhill Farm. (July 3rd to 5th )

Owner was very pleasant and helpful during our stay, there was a mixture of caravans and tents on site.

The site is sloped and we stayed along the bottom edge and still needed to chock up the van, which was not a problem.

There is no play ara on site, but with the large field and open spaces kids that where on site seemed to love it.

The shower toilet block was in the top left corner as you enty the site and basic, but well looked after.

Wessington village is a couple of miles up the road, and has a good pub and great chip shop which is open thurs, fri, sat. And a Tesco Extra in Clay Cross.

We only live 15 miles from site so know the area well, and will be staying again at this lovely site, 10 per night inc elec was great value. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ElleT11 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Easter just after the bad snowfall, the field was ok despite the weather. The field was steeper than expected but we managed to pitch ok with some blocks under one side.

The campsite had basic facilities but the showers and toilets were clean and maintained.

Owners were helpful and friendly. The site was in walking distance of a nice pub that offered good food and ale.

Handy for the tram museum at Critch or a trip to Bakewell or Matlock Bath. Overall had an enjoyable chilled weekend. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chantryb 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here last weekend for 2 nights and found the site to be very nice. On arrival the owner came straight over to welcome us and show us where the facilities were. Owner was friendly and informative.

The decent sized Field was sloped but that's expected in this part of the world and blocks are offered to help level up so we had a fairly level caravan in no time. This is a working farm so there is noise from Turkeys and cockerels which, needless to say woke up at sunrise which wasn't a problem for me as I brought some ear plugs in case I fancied a lay in which I did.

Two toilets and one shower are located in the top corner which are kept clean and were never busy while we were there. Chemical disposal and recycling bins were grouped together and were emptied regularly.

Surrounding area was picaresque and great for dog walking. I had a walk around the reservoir as others have mentioned and fully enjoyed it however my sense of adventure got the better of me so I went the long way round, got a little lost and was worried I may have to carry my 35kg Labrador back to site (luckily he made it round).

All in all a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly visit again and would recommend you to do the same. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Noodles1234 2 reviews from this member

 Just been here for weekend, pleasantly surprised weather poor but still really enjoyed it, walked around Ogston Reservoir really lovely would be beautiful in Spring/Summer, site on a hill so you need blocks, but farmer kindly supplies blocks, long extension leads etc and they are very friendly. Free range eggs in abundance. 2 very clean toilets and one very clean shower, basic but very clean which is all you need! 10 a night with hookup bargain! Sadly had to commute to work this weekend but was still worthwhile, cant wait to go back when the yellow circle in the sky kindly shows its face!

No local shops but if you take all you need couldn't ask for a more peaceful location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sian2769 1 review from this member

 Just got back home having had 3 nights at this small but lovely site. On arrival owner was waiting for us to site us on field and explain where the facilities were. Owners very friendly and helpful and were able to tell us about the surrounding area. The fresh eggs they sell were very tasty for breakfast! The site has 1 nice hot shower and 2 toilets that were basic but very clean. Only advice I would give is take your crocks/ flip flops into the shower as the concrete floor can be cold in the winter. Perfect location with beautiful views of the countryside, nice and quiet. Lots of nice walks around site, we walked around the nearby Ogston Res approx 5 miles that was really beautiful and was child friendly. This site is excellent value for money, 10 a night with electric hook up and shower/toilets. We will be visiting this site again this summer for sure and would recommend you try it out for yourself. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazzle26 1 review from this member

 We have recently returned from a 2 night stay at Broomhill farm and have to say we were pleasantly surprised. This is a quiet small site but with some of the best views we have ever experienced from a campsite.

Although the facilities are basic, they are extremely clean. There is only onr shower, however due to the size of the site this doesn't cause any issues, and we never had to queue. The proprietors are a very friendly couple, and their free ranch eggs are some of the best ever tasted!

In terms of value for money, I don't think this site can be beaten (we paid 8 per night for pitch with electric).

We will definitely be back again! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CJP1RUGBY 1 review from this member

 We stayed here over the August Bank Holiday. A peaceful little gem. Do not use this site if you are used to plush toilet/shower blocks, clubhouses, children's play areas and site shops -this one is definitely not for you!

The single shower and toilet 'shack' were kept clean and, because of the small size of the site and the high percentage of caravanners with their own facilities, never a queue.

Only downside for us was that the farm had sold out of it's free range eggs meaning a long drive to the shops before breakfast!

Plenty of easily accessible footpaths locally to keep the dog fit and the Three Horseshoes in Wessington is dog friendly with the added benefit of good food and nice beer.

Ogston Reservoir is a short distance away and a good place for a bracing stroll.

We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greenp 19 reviews from this member

 We were very impressed by the location on arrival and how welcoming the farmer was. This was a lovely isolated site surrounded by nature. First night great sleep.

However when used shower facilities in morning, the plug hole was blocked and thus dirty water lapped round our ankles-yuk. Reported it. Lovely location, though feel they need to be more discerning with allowing people onto the site.

Large youth group turned up with alcohol and drove car fast on/off site. Put us off for break with small children and we decided to get our money back for next night. Some other people staying on site were long term and this takes something away from the friendly holiday feel you often get at sites. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crissyangel 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent site. We stayed there for a couple of nights to try out our new tent, which was also very good!

The people who run the site are very friendly and helpful, the area we had to pitch our tent was huge, with a great deal of privacy. This site is quite a distance from the shops, so stock up well, but we chose this particular place as part of our visit to Tutbury Castle, which is approximately 3 miles away. This is also the closest village. Utoxetter is about 5 miles away.

We didn't bother about electric for this weekend, having already decided it was more of a back to basics weekend for us, without the kids, although we do plan to take them another time, there were quite a few children there, playing outdoor games. Makes such a change from computers and stuff!

On the first morning as we were having breakfast, we found we had quite an audience. A wonderful herd of cows with calves and all, watching us for a while, I suppose to see if we were a threat. They are beautiful animals, but its important to keep dogs under control.

It was very easy to find, and the sunsets were fantastic. The owners also made a point of getting to know the dog. So I would particularly recommend to dog owners. I suppose the other benefit was the weather. Scorching hot, but we definitely plan to go back again. If we waited for the right weather we would never get our tent out!

The facilities consisted of a toilet and shower room, which were kept clean and tidy with plenty of hot water, as there is only room for about five units, we had no problems with queues! All in all a perfect weekend! 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Broomhill Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Broomhill Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Broomhill Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alfreton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2324 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement