Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Broomhill Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Alfreton > Broomhill Farm Certificated Site > Reviews

Broomhill Farm Certificated Site
Butterfield Lane
Brackenfield
Alfreton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE55 6AN
Tel: 01773 832813
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Josey60 5 reviews from this member

 We Decided to use broomhill farm as a base while visiting friends in Derbyshire and glad we did.

The site is a CL and can take up to 5 units,

There is a large walk in shower which was nice and hot and two toilets in a wooden hut which was nice and clean, also ample hook up points,

The field is on a slight slope so levelling ramps may be needed depending on where you pitch,

The site owners are very friendly, we paid 20 per night for a grass pitch ( they also have a gravel area at the top of the field )

The nearest supermarket is Tesco at Alfreton which is approximately 4 mile away,

I give this site 5 out of 10 for child friendliness as there is nothing much for children to do

But I would definitely stay again when in Derbyshire and would recommend to others 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 36 reviews from this member

 Well we regular visitors to this lovely campsite.

Janet, John, are great hosts and have always been fantastic with all that stop there.

The site is sloping but you can get around it, also along the top they have put hard standing, but be warned pegs are hard to get in lol.

Toilet and showers basic and well looked after.

Great countryside walks, quiet location, but pub and chippy a mile away, close to Alfreton, Clay Cross, Matlock and Tansley car boot.

Will keep going to this site for as long as we can. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 36 reviews from this member

 No frills but all you really need.

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Broomhill Farm. (July 3rd to 5th )

Owner was very pleasant and helpful during our stay, there was a mixture of caravans and tents on site.

The site is sloped and we stayed along the bottom edge and still needed to chock up the van, which was not a problem.

There is no play ara on site, but with the large field and open spaces kids that where on site seemed to love it.

The shower toilet block was in the top left corner as you enty the site and basic, but well looked after.

Wessington village is a couple of miles up the road, and has a good pub and great chip shop which is open thurs, fri, sat. And a Tesco Extra in Clay Cross.

We only live 15 miles from site so know the area well, and will be staying again at this lovely site, 10 per night inc elec was great value. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ElleT11 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Easter just after the bad snowfall, the field was ok despite the weather. The field was steeper than expected but we managed to pitch ok with some blocks under one side.

The campsite had basic facilities but the showers and toilets were clean and maintained.

Owners were helpful and friendly. The site was in walking distance of a nice pub that offered good food and ale.

Handy for the tram museum at Critch or a trip to Bakewell or Matlock Bath. Overall had an enjoyable chilled weekend. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chantryb 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here last weekend for 2 nights and found the site to be very nice. On arrival the owner came straight over to welcome us and show us where the facilities were. Owner was friendly and informative.

The decent sized Field was sloped but that's expected in this part of the world and blocks are offered to help level up so we had a fairly level caravan in no time. This is a working farm so there is noise from Turkeys and cockerels which, needless to say woke up at sunrise which wasn't a problem for me as I brought some ear plugs in case I fancied a lay in which I did.

Two toilets and one shower are located in the top corner which are kept clean and were never busy while we were there. Chemical disposal and recycling bins were grouped together and were emptied regularly.

Surrounding area was picaresque and great for dog walking. I had a walk around the reservoir as others have mentioned and fully enjoyed it however my sense of adventure got the better of me so I went the long way round, got a little lost and was worried I may have to carry my 35kg Labrador back to site (luckily he made it round).

All in all a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly visit again and would recommend you to do the same. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Noodles1234 2 reviews from this member

 Just been here for weekend, pleasantly surprised weather poor but still really enjoyed it, walked around Ogston Reservoir really lovely would be beautiful in Spring/Summer, site on a hill so you need blocks, but farmer kindly supplies blocks, long extension leads etc and they are very friendly. Free range eggs in abundance. 2 very clean toilets and one very clean shower, basic but very clean which is all you need! 10 a night with hookup bargain! Sadly had to commute to work this weekend but was still worthwhile, cant wait to go back when the yellow circle in the sky kindly shows its face!

No local shops but if you take all you need couldn't ask for a more peaceful location. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sian2769 1 review from this member

 Just got back home having had 3 nights at this small but lovely site. On arrival owner was waiting for us to site us on field and explain where the facilities were. Owners very friendly and helpful and were able to tell us about the surrounding area. The fresh eggs they sell were very tasty for breakfast! The site has 1 nice hot shower and 2 toilets that were basic but very clean. Only advice I would give is take your crocks/ flip flops into the shower as the concrete floor can be cold in the winter. Perfect location with beautiful views of the countryside, nice and quiet. Lots of nice walks around site, we walked around the nearby Ogston Res approx 5 miles that was really beautiful and was child friendly. This site is excellent value for money, 10 a night with electric hook up and shower/toilets. We will be visiting this site again this summer for sure and would recommend you try it out for yourself. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazzle26 1 review from this member

 We have recently returned from a 2 night stay at Broomhill farm and have to say we were pleasantly surprised. This is a quiet small site but with some of the best views we have ever experienced from a campsite.

Although the facilities are basic, they are extremely clean. There is only onr shower, however due to the size of the site this doesn't cause any issues, and we never had to queue. The proprietors are a very friendly couple, and their free ranch eggs are some of the best ever tasted!

In terms of value for money, I don't think this site can be beaten (we paid 8 per night for pitch with electric).

We will definitely be back again! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CJP1RUGBY 1 review from this member

 We stayed here over the August Bank Holiday. A peaceful little gem. Do not use this site if you are used to plush toilet/shower blocks, clubhouses, children's play areas and site shops -this one is definitely not for you!

The single shower and toilet 'shack' were kept clean and, because of the small size of the site and the high percentage of caravanners with their own facilities, never a queue.

Only downside for us was that the farm had sold out of it's free range eggs meaning a long drive to the shops before breakfast!

Plenty of easily accessible footpaths locally to keep the dog fit and the Three Horseshoes in Wessington is dog friendly with the added benefit of good food and nice beer.

Ogston Reservoir is a short distance away and a good place for a bracing stroll.

We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greenp 19 reviews from this member

 We were very impressed by the location on arrival and how welcoming the farmer was. This was a lovely isolated site surrounded by nature. First night great sleep.

However when used shower facilities in morning, the plug hole was blocked and thus dirty water lapped round our ankles-yuk. Reported it. Lovely location, though feel they need to be more discerning with allowing people onto the site.

Large youth group turned up with alcohol and drove car fast on/off site. Put us off for break with small children and we decided to get our money back for next night. Some other people staying on site were long term and this takes something away from the friendly holiday feel you often get at sites. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Broomhill Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Broomhill Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Broomhill Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alfreton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2716 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement