Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Lowis Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Louth > Lowis Farm Camp Site Reviews

Lowis Farm Camp Site
Bankend
North Somercotes
Louth
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN11 7LN
Tel: 07833384833
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Easter To End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Ansmith 2 reviews from this member

The site's open, fully booked this weekend and the lake is fishing well. Well worth a visit to a great part of the Lincolnshire coast.

It's near Donna Nook, the seals are not at the breeding ground at the moment, obviously, but if you go to the tide's edge at Saltfleet you may be joined, after a few minutes, by a few seal heads popping up out the water. If you do this it is quite a walk over the mudflats and salt marsh but if you're shod appropriately you'll be okay.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Ansmith 2 reviews from this member

A really good peaceful site where all vans are welcome. Great owners, ambience and fishing. If you're a newcomer there will be always someone to point you in the right direction.

North Somercotes the village has got a pub, pizza house, Chinese plus a very good indian restaurant. The Cost cutter store, for a village, has lots of good offers on all sorts, including beer/cider/wine and I know you'll all be shaking your heads but come on, behave!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Corni 17 reviews from this member

Just back from another great visit to Lowis Farm.

There are no showers or toilets on site, but it's got electricity and that is all we need.

Went Carbooting to Skegness one day ( There is a carboot sale on most days in Skegness, Wed, Thurs, Fri, Sat & Sunday )and Cleethorpe another day.

Managed to get some fishing in everyday. Caught a 10ld-6oz Mirror Carp + lots of other fish.

Gent in next caravan caught a 16lb-8oz Mirror.

This is our favourite caravan site. We always try to get here as often as possible. Most people who use this site usually return.

The most peaceful sight we've been on. It is so laid back.

We'll be going back in October to do some walking and November for the seals.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Corni 17 reviews from this member

Just back from another great long weekend at Lowis Farm.

Of all the sites we visit this is our favourite. We always return because there is always so much to do.

If fishing, peace & quiet is what you are looking for, this is the site.

If it's bird watching, walking, site seeing this is the site.

8 a night for pitch + electric is good value.

We are hoping to get back in approx 3 weeks because that is when the seals come inland to give birth.

Managed to visit Donna Nook to see the seals ( the seals are still out at sea at the moment, had about a mile to walk) and the amazing variety of birds.(Brent Geese, Oyster Catchers, Shelduck, Curlew & a variety of tern that I don't know the names of.

I have promised the wife that the next time we go to Lowis Farm I will take my chair and watch the birds around the caravan park. It is unbelievable the different varieties of birds you can see on this site. Every morning at daybreak I watched a Hobby patrolling the skies. Distinctive with its white neck. Looked it up in my book.Didn't want to come home but work beckoned. Can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tonette 6 reviews from this member

Had the last weekend there before the site was shut for the winter. It gets a bit wet in the Nov-Dec period so the site owner, Darryl, shuts it for awhile to protect the grass pitches. Didn't fish although one or two signs of surface activity. Should think they've all quietened down now after this latest cold spell. Can be really good fishing once things warm up. Whenever we're on site there's always seems to be decent people on site, there for a bit of peace and quiet and fishing. Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: November 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 261 reviews from this member

We used this site specifically to see the seals, which are brilliant and as others say, should be seen at least once.

The site itself is ok, and anyway is only 8 per night so we didn't expect any more than we got. I didn't realise there was a loo until the last day so can't comment on that. The site is easy to find, turn opposite the Axe and Cleaver pub, which has 3.95 carvery and 2 for 10 Sunday lunch (available until 5 pm 'if they don't run out'). We didn't try either so no idea what they are like, but the pub was full on Sunday so think the lunch must be a good deal.

It was very windy but we got Sky tv ok, used bungees on the tripod and strategically parked the car.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beezer0418 2 reviews from this member

Unfortunately despite the claims on their website that the site is adults only, this is not the case. The site owner,Daryll who I have to say is a nice enough chap, explains that he allows the children of the owners of the caravans who use his site for storage to bring their children.

My recommendation would be to add/improve toilet/washing facilities & install some basic lighting.

My wife & I stayed for 10 nights whilst looking for property in the area & the best thing that I can say about it is that the rates are cheap.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Corni 17 reviews from this member

Just back from another 4 great days at lowis farm.

Peace, quiet and fishing was the order of the day and it was fantastic.

Going back again in a couple of weeks to have another go at the 20lb + carp.

Tried for them on the pole with heavy line and elastic, but couldn't get near them. They were snapping my line and elastic like cotton. I couldn't even get one to turn never mind play them. Still caught some nice fish though.

I'll be better prepared when I go back. I'll be taking a rod and some heavy line.

We've met some lovely people this time they made it a pleasure.

Darrell the owner is so laid back and helpful.

There are some fantastic walks along the beaches and the variety of birds is mind boggling.

Didn't get to see the seals this time, but will go to see them next time.

No toilets or showers, but we knew this when we went.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Corni 17 reviews from this member

Stayed 3 days on this site and we can't wait to go back.

This is a very secluded, quiet site. There are no showers and the toilet is pretty basic, but we still enjoyed the peace and quiet (8 night)

Beautiful beaches and a seal colony (Donna Nook ) 2mls away.

Everybody should go to Donna Nook at least once. There are 1000's of seals and they are all coming in now (November) to give birth in the dunes.I will guarantee you have never seen anything like it before.

There is a smashing pond on site (3 a day )that is only open to campsite users and a few of the owners friends. I will be taking my fishing tackle with me when I return. Can't wait.

There are a selection of pubs and shops in the village about half a mile away.

15 mins north is Cleethorpes, 15 mins south is Mablethorpe, 15 mins west is Louth.

If you get to Cleethorpes try a meal in the Trawlerman, it's a carvery 3.50 Mon to Sat, 6 on Sundays.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tonette 6 reviews from this member

Been a lot this year, probably 10 - 12 times and always go back for more. Why, because we like it! My friend goes regularly.
Fishing, free range eggs, bombing range, seals, etc. It's a real haven for butterfly's, bees and all the things the doom merchants are saying are dying out.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Louth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3231 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder