Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Field Farm Fisheries

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles > Field Farm Fisheries Reviews

Field Farm Fisheries
Marsh Cottage, Guildhall Lane
Wrentham
Beccles
Suffolk   (Browse area)
NR34 7HP
Tel: 01502 675273  or  07788870093
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 30
Open: 10/03/2022 to 30/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: LEO02 34 reviews from this member

 Liked- very warm welcome from manager, proximity to Southwold which is a delightful place, off ground campfires allowed, well maintained grounds, security good.

Could be even better if- toilets were given a deep clean every week. Didnt spiul my visit, but if you need spotless loos, you may he disappointed.

Some slight road noise from the A12.

Again didn't really spoil my visit, but some wont like it.

The resort of Southwold is a 15 min drive and was a very pleasant surprise.

Clean, not over commercialized, quite upmarket really.

Great fish and chips and a proper sandy beach.

One thing to note about this site.

It is primarily a coarse fishery, so the owners have erected an electric fence around the whole site perimeter.

This stops the otter and other predators from eating the fish stock.

If you have very young children, you may need to bear this in mind.

These fences wont kill you, but a young child may be quite distressed if they touch it.

Overall, for €13 per night (non EHU), I was quite happy here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bhakti 1 review from this member

 It is a well-kept site and for us novice campers it was very reassuring. Friendly and helpful host, good fresh water supply, well connected to the sightseeing areas, clean, no litter.

It has basic facilities but absolute value for money. I would recommend it. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandy White 1 review from this member

 The owner was polite and informative at all times and welcomed us on arrival we were shown the facilities and given information about the local area. The shower block was a short stroll from our pitch and was very clean, showers costed £1 and were very hot and the meter gave us plenty of time, the shower block was only for the use of campsite so there was never a cue, there is also: sink, toilet and changing area in it. The toilet block was clean and there was always loo roll throughout our stay.

There is 6 ponds on site and all are well stocked with healthy fresh water fish. My husband caught lots of big carp and the grandchildren caught lots of smaller fish all daylong and they too caught big carp. There are also paths to walk the dog on a neighboring field to the site and plenty of footpaths offsite to take them. The grass is well kept and there are no unsightly burn marks and all trees are trimmed back.

There are 3 pubs, chip shop, Chinese takeaway, park, beach, village shop and cafe all in walking distance. The walk to the beach is lovely and the beach is sandy and clean- I highly recommend going.

Nearby is the famous seaside town Southwold which is quite busy but a must see!

The site has a leaflet shed with information on local activities to embark on- which is extremely helpful.

It's excellent value for money and I have already booked again for next year.

My only criticism is that the toilet block is made a bit more modern- it is clean, pained and does the job it could just me a bit newer. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 Very little seems to have changed since my last stay & review of Field Farm Fisheries in July 2011. So in order to avoid repetition, I would like to say that I agree with the subsequent reviews and add the following comments.

We stayed in the large non-EHU field, which we think is the nicest spot giving plenty of room and informal pitching etiquette. Families with children might like to note the 12v electrified fence that surrounds the area and the presence of the unfenced fishing ponds. The PortaLoo is still “. Fragrant. ”, whilst it is regularly serviced, the owners do not seem to put in any toilet chemical.

From the non-EHU field, water stand pipe;chem disposal and shower facilities (£1) are a 100M to 200M trek.

Very dog friendly (£1/night). Nice dog walk along the track, but tell your pet to watch out for the 12v electrified fence.

Nearest convenience store is Wrentham Stores, otherwise Morrisons in South Lowestoft.

To sum up: A good traditional camping/caravanning experience with loads of room 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ScottBeccaOlivia 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit to Field Farm Fisheries and we will be going again for sure!.

It's a really nice piece of land, close to the motorway to get to local shops but far enough away to be nice and peaceful. The people hat run it were nice and polite upon arrival, allowed us to choose where to pitch our tents up and couldn't be more helpful.

Toilet blocks were clean enough and the shower blocks were nice, you pay a £1 fee for 5 minutes of hot water during your shower. They are located close to the entrance of the campsite, with one port a loo located in the main field of the campite. So they could possibly do with having more toilets closer to the main field. But that is the only tiny criticism I have about Field Farm Fisheries.

The ponds are full of fish with rods and accessories available to rent.

The village or Wrentham is nice with a pub, chinese and fish and chips shops as well as other local shops. The site is also only 5 miles from the beautiful seaside town of Southwold. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angelmummy 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from my 4th stay at this site. Only two tents and a camper van in the bottom field so lots of space and privacy. If you want peace, quiet and basic then this is the site for you. No play area, no pub, no shop, just a field and some fishing lakes.

Showers and toilets really clean, always had loo roll and paper towels available. Yes the portaloo in the bottom field can be a little fragrant but does it really matter if you're only popping in for that final call of nature before bed!

The owner is really friendly, leaves you to your own devices but is on hand if you need anything. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martin butcher 1 review from this member

 Just had a fantastic weekend here. My brother vwas getting married locally, 10 of us decided to camp as the location was great and the price of the site was very good. We were greeted by Nicky upon our arrival and given all the relevant information about the site. My brother (the groom)stayed in the log cabin which was perfect for his last night of freedom. My wife and I and another couple took our eribas and had electric hookup, and the other three couples took tents. The was no pitches marked out, we were told we could have a sizeable area so we could all be together which was great. The portacabin showers and toilets were very clean and tidy. The campsite has a security coded gate for the night time. Even though none of us fish we could see the appeal as it was very peaceful in nice surrounding. We took our bikes and cycled to southwold without too much trouble as it is all pretty flat. The horse and groom pub is 0. 9 miles away and did great food and had a good selection of adnams ales. There is a shop and cafe nearby as well. All in all a great little campsite and we would definitely like to go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mags62 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a few days at this excellent site. It was immaculate, the toilets and shower may have been in a portacabin but they were spotless with toilet paper the whole time we were there, hot water to wash in, yes the shower was £1 but it gave you enough time to shower and wash your hair. We were in the hook-up area and have never had so much space before. For £14. 50 a night including electric excellent value. The 6 fishing lakes were all well stocked. Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheena mckee 1 review from this member

 This is a peaceful and lovely site. The pitches were well kept with no litter.

Nicky who runs the site made us feel very welcome, once she told us all the information we needed to know, were pretty much left to it.

The fishing was excellent according to my partner. There was nothing to do for the kids, my daughter found it boring.

So next time when we come we will bring a book, radio and loads of chocolate. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 Happy to agree with previous reviews in regard to the very peaceful location and the well kept condition of the pitching area. Also to say that the six fishing ponds do add character to the site.

As you enter the site, you go past the facilities blocks, then comes the EHU area; continue along the ballasted track to the ‘Bottom Field’; which is the non-EHU area. This is a large field with no marked pitches. Plenty of room for large tents and seemed popular with groups of families setting up their own encampment with a gazebo or two! All very sociable.

The facilities are housed in two fairly old PortaCabins, the interiors of which are somewhat basically appointed. The first, with ladies & gents toilets, is open to both fishers and campers. The second has a combination lock and contains one ladies and one gents shower (£1). The combination is issued to campers only. Outside there was a useful, hot and cold washing up area. These facilities are convenient for the EHU pitches but quite a trek from the further end of the non-EHU ‘Bottom Field’. The ‘Bottom Field’ has its own PortaLoo, which frankly, was pretty smelly.

Very dog friendly at £1 / night. There is a nice dog walk along the foot path that borders one side of the ‘Bottom Field’.

To sum up: Field Farm Fisheries offers a very nice informal camping / caravanning experience but, we felt it was let down by the low quality of the shower facility – but what do you want for £10 / night for ‘van / tent and two people? 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Field Farm Fisheries child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Field Farm Fisheries?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Field Farm Fisheries dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Beccles      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2263 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement