Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Foxhill Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Foxhill Park Reviews

Foxhill Park
Claxton To Harton Lodge Plantation Road
Claxton
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO60 7RX
Tel: 01904 468355  or  07974915599
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 36 caravan 25 tents
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: StorksFive 1 review from this member

 Can not recommend this site enough!

This was our first ever time in our caravan and we didnít really know what to expect but the site was beautifully clean and well kept! The owners were lovely and even helped put our awning up, lent us a pump when ours broke and then fixed ours ready for the next morning! Absolutely above and beyond!

The site felt so calm and safe that we could allow our young(Ish) children a little bit of freedom with exploring.

So glad our first night as caravaners was spent at such a wonderful park!

We will 100% be back next year for a longer stay! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Scania62 1 review from this member

 Just came back from foxhill

Had a fab time

Lovely campsite

Toilets and showers immaculate

Owner was lovely and very helpful

Would recommend and we will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevkkk 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights, beautiful place, quiet clean, has just about everything you need. Owners could not do enough for you, Carl even helped put our tent up, as we were struggling, then helped with air bed as our compressor was broke, even jump started the car, great bloke.

Stamford bridge is just a few miles away, has pubs, shops, indian and chinese restaurants and a fish and chip shop. In the other direction from Claxton, within walking distance is a golf club with bars that serve good food at reasonable prices.

You can also visit Monkscross, which has park and ride into York, and a shopping centre. If you want a nice few days away, you will not go far wrong here, ignore reviews about showers too hot, ground too hard, that is just nitpicking, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rozannaroz 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site nice and clean and friendly couldnít fault it would go back! Nice clean toilets and showers plenty of hot water.

Spacious pitches only reason Iíve given an 8 for child friendlyness is no play park but plenty of space for playing games riding bikes etc 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattots 3 reviews from this member

 The campsite is in a great location for exploring York and the surrounding area, with plenty to see and do within an easy drive.

The park and ride for York city centre is located 10 minutes away alongside a large shopping centre with several supermarkets, restaurants and fast food outlets.

Despite this, the campsite itself feels miles from civilisation and is a peaceful haven. Although the main field is surrounded by trees, the newly-opened tents-only field alongside it has good views across the open countryside.

The wardens, who live on site for the 8 months of the year that the site is open, are really friendly and always only too happy to help. There is a reception with freezer for freezing ice blocks and a small shop selling a few emergency basics.

There was nothing that we particularly disliked, but a few general observations:

Our pitch was on what appeared to be a newly-opened field adjacent to the main site and the other side of a bank of trees from the main site. It looked like we were the first lot of people to camp on it. Although it was perfectly adequate, it did feel a bit like we'd got the slightly more 'budget accommodation' when compared with the field next door. The ground was a little uneven in places (although nothing that bothered us once we had pitched), the grass on the pitches themselves was quite long (which would have been more of an issue if it had been wet), and the facility block was a little further away. The only facilities on the field itself were two taps and a waste disposal point (a toilet behind a low brick wall in the middle of the field!) On the plus side it wasn't at all crowded and there were nice views.

The pitch boundaries and a 'driveway' around the field were mown into the grass. While we were there (over the bank holiday) only the pitches around the edge of the field were used, and not all of these were occupied.

This was a good thing as if the central (smaller) pitches had also been occupied I think it would have felt too crowded. I'd suggest they would be better off not bothering with those central pitches at all and just leaving it as an open area for children to play.

Our pitch was 10m x 10m. This hadn't been previously communicated to us so we ended up having to leave the porch off our (large) tent ass it wouldn't fit on when taking into account space for front and rear guy-ropes.

This wasn't a huge problem since we were only staying a few days and we were lucky with the weather, but if it had been a longer stay or the weather hadn't been so good this would have had more of a negative impact on our stay.

The recently-built facility block provided adequate facilities which were generally fairly clean and never crowded. There are 2 covered outdoor sinks for dish washing, a disabled/family bathroom, laundry room (requires a key from reception), and separate mens and women's washrooms with toilets, showers and sinks. The men's has 2 showers, 2 toilet cubicles, 1 urinal, and 3 sinks. Showers are push-button with no temperature control but the water was always (very) hot.

Wifi was not accessible from the camping field.

No playground for children but plenty of room for ball games on the camping field (at least with no tents in the central pitches) and there is an additional field that could also be used for games. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Dad1uk 36 reviews from this member

 Visited here in our folding camper, lovely site run by a great bloke, nothing was too much trouble.

Part of the site is on a gentle slope, but nothing to worry about.

Toilets and showers were spotless and despite being a bank holiday weekend there was plenty of room.

There is a children's play area behind a copse of trees, and a Dog Walking area.

1 minute off the A64, 15 minutes from Malton and about 25 minutes from the centre of York.

A garage selling most things is about 5 minutes away, opposite the garage is an American Diner and a little further is an Indian Restaurant. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pat - David 1 review from this member

 We have been to this campsite three times now and wouldn't consider going anywhere else.

You are left in total peace but the owner, who is one of the most friendliest men ever and is so laid back, is always available if you need anything and pops by often just to say hello and make sure everything is alright.

Shower and toilet blocks are always clean. Water is nice and hot, cold on first press, second press is boiling so best advice is to go on the third press and keep pressing it every now and then for constant hot water.

The site is not to far away from all the main attractions and the Park and Ride at Monks Cross isn't to far and takes you right into York for a return fee of £2. 80, free parking when using the bus service.

Not a great deal to buy on site but there is a garage near by or various supermarkets at Monks Cross.

We always have fish and chips from the restaurant down the road and have never been disappointed. The American diner we give a miss due to the fact that there wasn't anything on the menu we fancied.

All in all, a wonderful site run by wonderful owners. The WiFi is down due to no fault of the owners and signal using our data was hit and miss but this was due to the location more than anything else. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kyleash 1 review from this member

 We spent to nights at Foxhill Park a family of 2 adults and 2 children.

Lovely clean site and shower blocks

Very friendly helpful owners.

The only downside for me was the children's play area, this is 2 swings and a wooden bridge, to reach it you had to walk around the edge of the campsite which is surrounded by a wooded area, I wouldn't let my children go use it because I couldn't see them at all. Personally it should be in view.

Would recommend for a relaxing campsite 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mitch6569 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, owner very friendly and helpful. Toilet/shower block very clean and well equipped. There is bus to York/Malton which picks up just outside the front gate! Just of the A64 so fuel station and several eateries close by. We will definitely be returning later this year! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gaz1037 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights, and what an absolutely fantastic site, peace and tranquillity in abundance, toilets and showers absolutely spotless, the owners were very friendly, and without doubt the best site we have stayed on and I cannot wait till we come back in the near future. Would recommend this site to anyone ! 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Foxhill Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Foxhill Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Foxhill Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2613 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement