Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Bank House Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Bank House Farm Reviews

Bank House Farm
Hulme End
Nr Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0EX
Tel: 01298 84441
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: Easter To Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 123 Reviews
                8/10 from 123 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Taafe75 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a long last weekend of the summer (Sept 20th to Sept 23rd).

As we tend to camp in a group my wife emailed the camp site to make sure this would be OK, they replied saying it wasn't a problem as long as the site rules were followed.

So there was five tents and 12 adults, three kids and three dogs.

We stayed in the top field so there is a five minutes walk to the WC's, showers and washing facilities down a little hill.

The facilities were excellent and there were plans on show for a new shower/toilet block that was due to start construction work on later that week.

The staff were great and very helpful.

The only downside was the road next to the site, if you are a light sleeper there is a bit of traffic and farm traffic but I can sleep through most things so it didn't bother me. Also not much for the kids to do but we will definitely be returning to this site in the future

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Marginwalker 1 review from this member

The main site looks nice, if a little cramped. Be careful in case you end up in the ‘Meadow’ though, which is the camping equivalent of an overflow car park. No facilities (sorry I forgot the portaloos!)

Beware also the hordes of semi-feral middle class kids screaming and running wild through the camp and through your pitch area.

The noisy rounders games with screaming, over-enthusiastic parents shouting encouragement at their offspring late into the evening were equally annoying.

Point here is that the site advertises itself as ‘peaceful’. It’s peaceful in the same way that post-Gulf War Baghdad was ‘picturesque’

I’d rather camp at Knutsford Services than come here again.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graha Robert Peters 1 review from this member

We've just had 3 ngts at this lovely site. The wardens, Tim & Sue were perfect ambassadors for Wayne & Alexa, the owners.

Nothing was too much trouble, even to the point of forgetting our cooking oil. Tim got us a bottle from his own kitchen, marvellous personal service.

The site is in a perfect location, well maintained, clean & fabulous free showers, what more could you ask for.

Unfortunately we had very heavy rain during our stay, but that didn't dampen our enthusiasm.

We would recommend this site to anyone.

WE'LL BE BACK.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cookiekid 42 reviews from this member

Visited this site last weekend with my brother and wife. First impressions were great.

Beautiful location & very friendly wardens. A lovely stream running on edge of site which would be great fun for kids.

We found the pitches very uneven and a bit hemmed in.

The facilities, I felt, weren't adequate for amount of campers on site. Two other fields shared the same facilities.

Lovely location for walking and visiting Ashbourne / Buxton etc.

Due to the facilities I wouldn't visit again, sorry!

Beware of entrance of site, a bit tight especially on way out with a caravan in tow.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boris bearcat 4 reviews from this member

Having just got back from this site I felt I should post this review as I feel this site is very overrated, yes I was in a small caravan and I feel this site is far better for tents but some of my points are warranted.

Firstly its is well over priced and in fact a similar site just a few yards away can be had for as little as £5 per night per adult, the pitches are far to close together and one gets the feeling the owners are happy taking the money but little get put back in to the site.

The toilets are in a very poor state and having the grey and black water disposal are the same point in a open drain against a wall seems very poor.

Another point was the strange smell coming from the river, I noticed a large waste pipe running from the hill down and hope this was not some drain away but it was very unpleasant,

The two wardens however were very nice and I could not fault them.

However I would not return.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Philandlol 22 reviews from this member

Back again after nearly 3 years and still on the whole an excellent site in a superb location.

The site is very clean and well maintained by some very friendly staff.

The Manifold Inn still serves excellent ale and decent food although we did have a problem with service and quality there on a busy Saturday night.

There is a new dog run which is excellent.

I still think that the pitches are a bit on the small size, but the site wasn't busy so didn't really affect us. Also the grey water waste and chemical toilet are situated at the top of the site up a reasonably steep hill. The site have tried to minimise the steepness by putting in a footpath, but at my age its a still a decent effort dragging water uphill !

Great site though, thanks for the stay

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy luto 2 reviews from this member

We have stayed at bank house farm 3 times now. At different times of the year. Our latest being in April 2018. The site is easily accessed from the main road.

We stayed for4 nights. This site is so relaxing and peaceful we heard an owl. The river is an advantage for children to play in although this time it was very fast flowing and cold. The weather was not the best but it did not dampen our spirits.

Our dog enjoys the dog walking field. The site wardens are so helpful when you arrive helping you to pitch showing you to your pitch. They also allow you to park sideways (never known any other site to do this) which can give you a better view. They are on hand whenever you need them. They helped my daughter aged 11 by ringing the local swimming pool for session times.

The showers, toilets and waste disposal areas are up the bank which can be awkward. We are not the fittest but we manage and would not deter us from coming again and again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fuffy 20 reviews from this member

Visited here for one night with my daughter as we were backpacking in this beautiful area. Really good shop and pub nearby.

Most of the pitches were level and site neat and tidy, and nice facilities available such as games cupboard, and fridge freezer. However, few niggles - firstly the wash facilities.

We visited two blocks, one which had showers (they were fine) only had two basins which were dark and cramped up a corner in front of the shower cubicles. The second only contained two basins which were tiny making it very difficult to wash or brush your teeth in. Also both these buildings were very cold.

Secondly, I felt it was quite pricy for two backpackers - we had a tiny tent and were charged £15 even though we literally were there overnight, with no car. This is expensive compared to other similar sites, but when you are backpacking you don't really have much choice!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paula247 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Bank House over the August BH. The site was busy as to be expected but we didn't feel hemmed in as the pitch we were allocated was spacious and faced the loverly river Mannifold.

We were greeted by the friendly wardens at checkin who happily shown us around the site and told us the best places to visit and to eat and drink.

The site is definitely well cared for, toilets although crowded were constantly clean and we had access to plenty of free warm and powerful showers. There is also an enclosed dog walking field where dogs are allowed off lead for a run.

The views from the site are wonderful and worth a visit just to see the bright red sunsets. The site is also central for Ashbourne Leek and Buxton all of which are twenty minutes away by car.

Just to be aware that there is no or little mobile signal from the site, which didn't worry us as we loved the idea of no internet, just peace and quiet.

There are plenty of places to eat both outside the campsite and in Hartington -a mile and a half down the road.

Overall I feel this campsite ticks all the boxes for relaxation, walking, pubs and a friendly family atmosphere

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SmittenMummy 5 reviews from this member

We booked two nights at Bank House Farm after a recommendation from a friend. It was a surprise weekend away to celebrate our daughter's 8th birthday, and she and her little bro were over the moon.

I made the reservation over email, and transferred a deposit online. It was all very painless. As we have no need for an electric hook-up, we stayed in The Meadow field. This was nice and quiet, with a fresh water tap but no toilet. Toilets, showers and the dishwashing area were in the main field, which was a few minutes' walk away. This wasn't a problem for the two days we were there, but might get annoying if we stayed longer.

We picked a nice spot in The Meadow next to the Manifold River and set up while camp while the kids explored the field and made friends with other children who were there, paddling in the river and playing football. They enjoyed the freedom of being able to roam independently, and my hubby and I could relax knowing they were safe and within earshot without having to constantly keep an eye on them.

We had a fire pit by the tent which added to the atmosphere, and enjoyed watching the sun go down while toasting marshmallows and chatting with other campers. It was a really nice set-up, and apart from a bit of noise from a group on the other side of the field, really peaceful.

The site is in an ideal location, with beautiful surroundings and right next to the start of the Manifold Valley track. We drove to nearby Ilam on the second day and explored the area, and there are plenty of places for walkers and cyclists close by. It definitely has something for everyone.

Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder