Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bank House Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > Bank House Farm Reviews

Bank House Farm
Hulme End
No Hartington
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 0EX
Tel: 01298 687333
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 130 Reviews
                8/10 from 130 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  130 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andy Bamforth 1 review from this member

 Our first time in a camper van, (our son lent us his to try) the wardens were great, the site and pitch lovely.

The facilities absolutely immaculate. We had a tranquil couple of days in the best place to begin what we hope is a long term pastime.

We will be back as soon as we can sort our own van. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Talbot 1 review from this member

 Good location, close to trails. Facilities clean. Staff were very helpful. It was busy but it was half term to be fair.

Best pitches are by the river. Pub close by.

Would visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Keggie 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite, good clean facilities, staff were friendly and welcoming, close to local pub, plenty of space on the pitch. Be prepared for a uphill walk to get to the the shower block.

Fish and Chip van was a nice touch and fair prices for the portion sizes. Staff just need need to be more aware of what pitches have being allocated or if a change has being made.

Be aware it's a very busy site and younger children will be up early. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Graham T 1 review from this member

 Stayed here a few times, lovely well maintained site

The riverside pitch is very nice with electric hook up.

Small useful shop,

Well maintained facilities when allowed to open open of course !

The owners are always friendly and helpful

I will certainly be going back. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Janetk 1 review from this member

 Loved this site, friendly, helpful staff. A relaxed feel to the place with the added bonus of being able to have a campfire.

Toilets and showers kept very clean. In a great location for walking and cycling,

Would like to return here one day.

Janet and Peter 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Iaintaylor43 5 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site with excellent facilities and good Covid 19 organisations. The area is also well worth a visit especially Hartington thatís at the end of a 3 mile walk that not strenuous

We we to check out our driveway opening before a 2 week trip to the Hebrides and were pleasantly surprised by this site. Although it had been recommended by a friend.

The staff are Friendly and extremely helpful. Many thanks.

We will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Taafe75 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a long last weekend of the summer (Sept 20th to Sept 23rd).

As we tend to camp in a group my wife emailed the camp site to make sure this would be OK, they replied saying it wasn't a problem as long as the site rules were followed.

So there was five tents and 12 adults, three kids and three dogs.

We stayed in the top field so there is a five minutes walk to the WC's, showers and washing facilities down a little hill.

The facilities were excellent and there were plans on show for a new shower/toilet block that was due to start construction work on later that week.

The staff were great and very helpful.

The only downside was the road next to the site, if you are a light sleeper there is a bit of traffic and farm traffic but I can sleep through most things so it didn't bother me. Also not much for the kids to do but we will definitely be returning to this site in the future 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: VWBus 71 reviews from this member

 Had a great couple of nights here, whilst touring the area - it was outside of school holidays so the Peak District was reasonably quiet!

Friendly welcome and allocated a nice pitch next to the river, without electric hookup as I didn't need it. Pitch nice and flat and reasonably sized. The site is spread out, some pitches are hilly, they wardens place you according to your unit type and ensure you have a suitable pitch.

Anyway, back to the main site, where I stayed! Facilities were adequate and clean, with hot water. They said they were building a brand new facilities block, which hopefully should be ready for 2020. Reception sold essentials like milk and bread, cooking oil etc, that sort of thing

There's a dog walking field onsite which helps for quick morning run / wee for the mutt!

The pub opposite the site entrance, the Manifold Inn, is literally a three minute walk. It does lovely food, and I had a great evening meal one night - it was very reasonable. They also do breakfasts in the morning, although I didn't try that.

The main reason I stayed here was to do the Manifold Trail walk - the start of it is just down the road - bear in mind you have to walk along the roadside with no path for a few minutes to get to it from the campsite. Nice easy walk, very scenic, even the rain didn't spoil it.

I'd definitely stay here again if in the area.

Note: some of the reviews on here seem to be for people staying in the overflow field, which is just down the lane, and at the time of writing in 2019 no facilities, so bear that in mind, comments may not be relevant to the main site. The wardens told me they hope to put toilets / shower portacabins in the overflow field for 2020 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boris bearcat 4 reviews from this member

 Having just got back from this site I felt I should post this review as I feel this site is very overrated, yes I was in a small caravan and I feel this site is far better for tents but some of my points are warranted.

Firstly its is well over priced and in fact a similar site just a few yards away can be had for as little as £5 per night per adult, the pitches are far to close together and one gets the feeling the owners are happy taking the money but little get put back in to the site.

The toilets are in a very poor state and having the grey and black water disposal are the same point in a open drain against a wall seems very poor.

Another point was the strange smell coming from the river, I noticed a large waste pipe running from the hill down and hope this was not some drain away but it was very unpleasant,

The two wardens however were very nice and I could not fault them.

However I would not return. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graha Robert Peters 1 review from this member

 We've just had 3 ngts at this lovely site. The wardens, Tim & Sue were perfect ambassadors for Wayne & Alexa, the owners.

Nothing was too much trouble, even to the point of forgetting our cooking oil. Tim got us a bottle from his own kitchen, marvellous personal service.

The site is in a perfect location, well maintained, clean & fabulous free showers, what more could you ask for.

Unfortunately we had very heavy rain during our stay, but that didn't dampen our enthusiasm.

We would recommend this site to anyone.

WE'LL BE BACK. 
via mobile


Previous     130 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bank House Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bank House Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bank House Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3477 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement