Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Severn House Camping And Caravans

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Severn House Camping And Caravans
Montford Bridge
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY4 1ED
Tel: 01743 850229
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: F40Sirius 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here to break up a journey. It was a relatively last minute thing so, if I wanted to be picky, it wasn't the best pitch but fine for what I needed and, with electric hook up included in the price, it was excellent value for money.

A few people have commented on the fact there's limited toilet/shower facilities but wasn't an issue and they were perfectly clean.

May not be ideal if you're used to on site entertainment and, obviously, the proximity to the river may be an issue if you have young children but, all in all, I prefer this sort of campsite to the more regimented, rows of caravans etc.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy56 3 reviews from this member

What a great site clean toilets and showers. Friendly people. Owners brilliant very helpful. Very peaceful. Fishing. Wild life. Shops close by co-op. Fish shop etc. Easy to find. Had brilliant week and great weather. Will be going back soon cannot wait.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boldaman 12 reviews from this member

Lovely small site 15 mins drive away from Shrewsbury town centre, literally 2 mins from the A5 but not close enough to get any noise.

5 to 10 mins drive to the Oxon park and ride which was really cheap and nice size CO-OP there to for all your shopping needs.

The site itself has a small entrance leading to a well kept paddock next to a beautiful canal with good size pitches The owners are very friendly and helpful and the toilet and shower block was kept clean and tidy.

Only 2 toilets and 1 shower for men and same for woman but we were never waiting to use either so no problems there for us.

Excellent value at 18 a night and a nice small friendly site, highly recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fastidious 2 reviews from this member

Superb site with superb owners. We booked with no great expectations but had a wonderful stay. The site is well maintained and the toilets and showers are spotless. The owners came over to chat whilst passing with their young son which gave the site a family friendly feel. Really nice people who haven't been ruined bu commercialism. Let us stay longer on checkout. Would recommend booking the canoeing half day which is just over the road. (10/10 for facilities - only a toilet shower block here but never promised anything else so 10/10 for what they have)

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

Visited here for a 2 night stay.

We were given a nice level grass pitch away from the river bank as we have young children.

Nice quiet site even though it was quite busy when we visited

Grass was cut although the edges would benefit from a little strimming / tidying to improve the appearance especially the nettles around the path upto the toilet block

With a little work the site could be really nice.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissieka 3 reviews from this member

Professional, helpful, friendly owners that didn't over burden you with rules n regs and not precious about whether you had an extra awning or wind break etc.

Allowed us a late checkout without charging extra.

Whilst located on the banks of the River Severn, you can't really access the river as its banks are very steep. Some of the land is not level for tenting but we wanted some privacy so was fine to be squirrelled away in the corner. Seems as though plenty of space is left between units Acceptable dog walking area if not a little small for our giant dogs. Nice warm shower. Good little pub round the corner. Site well located as a middle meet of our southern and northern friends Would definitely return. If I had to point out minuses:

No wifi

Not clear what or where to recycle your rubbish.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Sawyers 4 reviews from this member

A beautiful site - right on the banks of the Severn. Lucky seasonal pitchers get their pitches next to the river. Nice.

Facilities were spotless, with polite reminders to campers to help the owners keep them that way. Could do with another shower and loo each, in our opinion.

There was enough room for the little ones to run around and make friends, and for an enthusiastic game of football (keeping the noise down, of course).

Loved sitting watching the bats come out in the twilight, and the birds and human river-users during the day. This site is so well situated that those in the know can bring and launch small craft from the site itself.

All in all, a fantastically-situated, beautiful little site, well run by courteous owners.

We look forward to coming back sometime.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davep 8 reviews from this member

The site is just off the A5, but is well signed, so you don't miss the entrance.

I was with a group of friends, several who had arrived before me, so they arranged to show me where my pitch was.

My stay was in a Folding Camper, with Electrics, which cost 16 per night.

The River Severn runs next to the site, and my pitch was next to the bank. Which meant, I had a fantastic view of the River and the wildlife

There is a gate to the camping fields, which is kept closed at all times.

The only downside to the site, was the steep concrete path leading up to the toilet/shower block. Access directly of the grassed field. This would make things awkward for anyone in a wheelchair accessing the Disabled facilities.

The toilets are maintained to a very high standard, and kept spotless, given that it is a Farm Site, a few multi legged occupants are to be expected. Rather unusually the access door to the Ladies facilities is through the Wash Up room, again which is kept spotless, and had a fridge freezer as part of the facilities.

Throughout our stay, the owners every time they saw us, checked to make sure everything was ok

Because of the issue of access for Disabled persons (I'm a full time carer for my Spouse, so more aware of access issues) is why I gave a rating of 9/10. The site in all other aspects, truly meet my expectations, on arrival and during my stay.

If I was to visit the area again, I would happily stay on the site

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Taxbird 2 reviews from this member

Stayed first week of sept. Very friendly welcome. We were shown to our pitch at the side of the river. Shower and toilets clean, but quite a few daddy long legs which can't be helped. There was a big field to let the dog off the lead and have a run. We found the site quiet and close to the A5 which we seemed to go on every day to get where we wanted to go. The only nitpicking would be the flower bed near the toilet block which was untidy, but that's just being fussy. Our best trip out was to Cosgrove air museum.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janelc 3 reviews from this member

Nice site if you don't mind listening to a nearby bike scrambling track on the other side of the river. Lovely and peaceful when it finishes bout 4-30pm. Really nice food at Wing field arms pub just across the river. Very large portions! Ladies loos n showers nice n clean but my partner had a few eight legged friends in his!

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!