Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Camping Le Clos Fleuri

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Royan > Camping Le Clos Fleuri Reviews

Camping Le Clos Fleuri
Medis
Royan
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17600
Tel: 0033 05 46 05 62 17
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: June To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Simonandella 1 review from this member

 It was an amazing campsite just what we wanted. Run by a wonderful family who were hospitable kind and very welcoming. For a simple family holiday with beautiful surroundings and easy to reach places of interest we completely recommend here. So much we are going back next year :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Talmine62 1 review from this member

 Enjoying our stay at this quiet, peaceful site but wanted to review because I really don't think the shower/toilet facilities are adequate for the price and 4 star rating. I showered this evening with suspicious beetles. Only 8 showers available, one of the blocks near reception is not in use. Most of the showers are nasty push button small cubicles. Really tricky with children. It is a shame because if some new blocks were put in this would be a lovely site. The pool is nice and clean, the owners friendly and I love the trees and shade. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kajo200 1 review from this member

 We enjoyed ten days on this campsite, with our 9 and 12 year old girls. Beach is easy driving distance, and plenty to do for day trips.

Shady, green site, , with good size pitches. A number of low key activities every day, such a Boules and table tennis competition, archery and music evenings in the bar.

Very friendly owners, who speak English.

Major shops are a drive away.

A very pleasant site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

 This site is part of the Site and Paysages chain which specialise in campsites close to nature with a cosy family environment and quality standards. (Their words, not mine. ) So, if you want a big campsite with water slides next to the beach donít stay here; but if you like a smaller campsite in natural surroundings a short drive from the beach, then consider Le Clos Fleuri.

The different sized grass pitches are set in a 9 acre wooded parkland area with varying degrees of shade and you can choose 5 or 10amp electricity. There were 2 sanitary blocks but only one was open whilst we were there as there werenít busy. The block we used was cleaned daily and contained 10 showers (1 disabled), 3 private washbasins, 3 seated toilets and 2 squat toilets, 4 urinals and a childís washbasin. There is no soap. Other amenities in this block were 8 washing-up sinks, 4 clothes washing sinks, 1 baby bath, 2 washing machines and 1 tumble dryer.

There is a small childrenís playground, trampoline, 2 table tennis tables, a swimming pool with paddling pool and a crazy golf that had seen better days. There is a large grassy area for children to play with a football net and a badminton net. The website boasts a sauna, but as we were there in the low season I didnít manage to find it and the restaurant, shop and chip take-away were all shut. Presumably these are all open for the high season. Be aware that although wifi is free, you can only get a connection near to reception and the bar.

You can order bread and pastries for the next day and they are of high quality and sensibly priced. There is a very large LeClerc (closed Sundays) on the N150 just 3 miles away Ė although this road may be busy in high season as itís the road to Royan. St Georges de Didonne is only 5 miles away with a huge sandy beach and plenty of parking along the promenade.

Monsieur et Madame Devais are very welcoming hosts and speak good English Ė we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again even though we found it slightly more expensive other comparable sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ken+ali 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with good facilities about 5kms from the beach. Gated access makes the place feel v secure. The kids regularly went off to make friends in the well equipped play area.
Owners were friendly and helpful. The area is great for food and of course wine. I'd recommend visiting any of the local wineries. Local markets are also good (Cozes on wed morn is excellent as well as a small market in Medis on fri morn).

Bike hire is well worthwhile as the area is very picturesque- however booking is essential in summer as hire shops get v busy. For the more adventurous, there's a parachuting school nearby which appeared to operate from dawn until dusk every day we were there. There are cheaper sites in the area but in our opinion, it was worth the extra cost.

Site Positives: Very tasty fresh baguette / pain au chocolate / croissant every morning (make sure you order the night before). The toilet blocks and washing facilities were adequate and cleaned every day (there was also a baby bath). Pitches were a good size, well shaded (essential in august)and private. Nice pool which was cold but no problem in summer. Gas bottles available and a reasonably stocked shop for essentials. They also sell chips in the evening but you need to order in advance.

Site Improvements: Although we had freezer blocks the cost of using their freezers was prohibitive and for us, rendered the service utterly pointless. The cheapest option was buying ice from the supermarket. There was a crazy golf course which looked like it needed a bit of attention and again, the high cost meant that we only used it once. Although they had a bar with entertainment in the evening we never used and heard it was pricey. (NB the cost issues weren't helped by the weak GBP!) 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trogs 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I had 3 nights here in mid August.

We had not prebooked a site, but found that this site had places when all others around the area were full.

We thought this site was very attractive, quiet, clean and well run.

The owner and staff are very helpful. He walked us round the site to choose a pitch. Pitches are large with plenty of shade from the trees. There are also a few wood cabins spread around the site.

There is a little shop where we preordered bread each day; but they had no milk - we went the supermarket 3 miles away to stock up.

There's a nice friendly bar/restaurant. There was entertainment (a band) for 1 night when we were there. Also free wifi.

2/3 times a week they also run free archery lessons.

The pool is small but adequate for a quick dip on a hot day.

We did a lot of cycling - a great way to tour the area and avoid the summer traffic. There's an easy quiet route to St Georges, from where you can cycle along the coast mostly on dedicated cycle paths. You can cycle all the way to La Palmyre, but we went to St Palais and then back along some very quiet roads to the campsite. Beware of the confusing cycle map that the tourist office hands out.

We also hired a sailing dinghy at St Georges - £30 for an hour. Great fun! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Blonde 8 reviews from this member

 The site is well maintained and the ambience is good. Staff very helpful, shop adequate, takeaway very good, but you must remember to order. Pitches are large, more than enough for a twin axle and awning and car. Plenty of privacy, hedges and shrubs quite tall.

When going into Royan you can easily take a short cut if you turn left out of the gate, and follow the back lanes. It saves queuing on the main road, waiting for the traffic lights to change! The surrounding villages are lovely, we drove to Talmont (about 20 minutes by car) and had a very enjoyable day just wandering around. We could not fault the site, and would certainly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stackman 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 12 nights at this delightful site in August 2006 with our 2 boys aged 12 and 14.

The site itself was very well kept with someone always pottering around clearing, tidying and gardening. The pitches are described as shady, semi-shady or not shady and that's self explanatory, there seemed to be a good mix of sizes too. We asked for a large pitch and could just get our Antares 9 and day room on it, along with the car.

The sanitaires were immaculately kept. There are two blocks, one near the shop/bar with separate men's and women's facilities and one further up the site which is mixed. There were plenty of sinks, showers and (proper) loos.

The site is in a small village with a few shops and is about 3km from the hypermarche on the outskirts of Royan. All around the site were fields of sunflowers.

The pool was quite small but again clean and tidy with a pleasant patio surrounding it, and a tiny paddling pool for the tots. A small shop had a good selection of essentials and you could order bread etc. For the following morning.

There was a pleasant bar and restaurant but I can't comment on the food as we never ate there.

The clientele was about 50% french and roughly equal measures of German, Dutch and Brits. The ambience was calm with little noise evident, even from the bar at night.

Thee are a selection of beaches nearby, the main Royan stretch has a wide sandy beach but the water was quite murky, being the estuary of the Gironde and was well popularted with jellyfish. Further out on the Cote Sauvage the beaches were superb with the wild atlantic thundering in, so a little tricky for the smaller swimmers.

The main drawback for the region is the appaling traffic we encountered in the high season. Any trip into Royan became a battle and took the shine off what was a very pleasant holiday.

We really could not fault the site but would only recommend Royan at a quieter time of year. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Clos Fleuri child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Clos Fleuri have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Clos Fleuri?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Clos Fleuri dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Royan      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6968 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements