Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tything Barn Naturist Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Tything Barn Naturist Site
West Williamston
Kilgetty
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA68 0TN
Tel: 01646 651452
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  
This is a Naturist site, please contact them further details.

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickrwym 7 reviews from this member

An excellent site, friendly people, camp fire, nice facilities

We only stayed one night breaking a journey but I am sure we will be back one day.

Chatting with other campers there are regulars who have been coming for 20 years, that is a good sign of how consistent the site is.

Thoroughly recommended.

Nick & Mo

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TallSimon1965 4 reviews from this member

Quiet and out of the way site, old style facilities, but looked after. Plenty of space on the camping fields. Has got a library and fridges, with other bits of kit that can be borrowed, like folding chairs so very good if you travel light. In good weather this site is brilliant, with space to wander and enjoy with or without clothes. Problem, this is west Wales so it not guaranteed good weather, but that is part of camping here in the UK. Also take some insect repellent, there are enough biting insects about to justify it, but not something the management can do much about. Pembroke is a lovely area, worth exploring.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caroelle 6 reviews from this member

This is a clothes optional site, we went there when our usual site was full because we liked the size of the site. You do not have to take your clothes off, there were plenty of couples where one was naked and the other clothed. As it was very warm on one day, we decided to go with the flow. However there is no pressure to do this, and as long as you are mature enough to accept that there will be people in various states of undress this is a great site. People were very friendly, we loved walking the dogs round the site, and our water mad dog was in heaven. There are two lots of facilities, one is communal, in the other you can shower alone but not in total privacy as the showers are open to view. Nice hot showers, powered by solar. We had a choice of pitches, we chose the long field near to the fire extinguishers. Unfortunately there were a lot of wasps there, so avoid if you can. There is something slightly dated and even a little ramshackle about this place, but it only adds to its appeal for us. We found almost everyone to be very friendly, far better than the so-called 'friendly club' that is the C and C Club, where some members moan about almost everything. We really enjoyed our evening round the fire pit with interesting company and plenty of alcohol. We will be returning next summer.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: NDJB 4 reviews from this member

This was our first try at naturism and we couldn't have felt more at ease. Jerry the manager is so helpful and gives you guided tour when you arrive, which does settle you in. Facilities are basic but clean and adequate and the grounds are superb, a swim in the lagoon is a must. Walking around the lagoons there are lots of secluded spots, ideal for first timers. Lots of space between pitches, stunning scenery, very well kept site maintaining the natural beauty and habitat for wildlife. Everybody was very friendly and welcoming.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glennpenn 2 reviews from this member

My second visit to this wonderful site it is clean, friendly and has dated but comfortable mixed communal facilities.

Superb grounds with lots of little nooks and crannies to explore.

Swimming in the lagoons (old oyster beds).

It sits on the estuary which is a great place to fish and canoe, with a great pub over the other side (don't get caught out by the tide though as you will be stranded) or stay put and enjoy the view and sounds of the curlews.

Being a 'clothes optional' site there's not so many children which makes it lovely and quiet and relaxed however, we had a great laugh swimming with a fantastic Dutch family and had a rather raucous night on the wine and gin with some friendly folk in the polytunnel, so not always quiet.

I love it!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Freerk 6 reviews from this member

We stayed on Tything Barn for the second time, first time was 2014.

Still the best campsite ever! Jo and Mike are superb hosts and make you feel at home. Other guests are very nice and helpful as well. Grass is short and pitches are wide enough. Toiletblocks are old but clean.

Did I mention the atmosphere on this site?

One of the year ound guests told that iff you can't relax here you have a serious problem! I think he is right!

The lagoon and the estuary are geat places for walking and swimming.

Shops and pubs are nearby in Lawrenny and Carew or a bit further down the road in Pembroke/ Docks.

We can recommend this site highly.

And also great is that everybody is welcome, no exceptions!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Busker in The Buff 1 review from this member

A fabulous place to stay. Facilities are better than the average textile camp site. Showers etc are in with the pitch price, no irritating coin slots and time limits, although there is an atmosphere of sharing, so people don't linger and use all the hot water. There are sing songs around the camp fire and jolly friendly people. All in all a great place to stay. Noise curfew is around 11pm, but lots of folk are still around the campfire chatting and socialising.

There is a room with free to borrow games, a free to use fridge, freezer and kettle.

The toilet block has plenty of toilets, which are kept clean. There are sensor lights for night time, although a torch provides extra light and is helpful. There is soap and cold water available for hand washing.

There was last year a canoe guided tour service on the campsite, which is on the edge of a sea inlet. Just check this is still available if you are booking specifically to use it. It is a good fun thing to do. You can paddle your way to the pub.

Tenby is about 8 miles away. You can get across to Canvey Island from there on a commercial and reasonably priced boat trip. You can also go sea fishing again on one of these boats.

There is a village shop about 2 miles away and LDL, Tesco and Asda supermarkets at Pembroke Dock about miles away. Asda and Tesco have fuel, usually slightly cheaper at Asda.

I highly recommend this campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DukeofEarl 2 reviews from this member

Plenty of reviews cover the facilities so here's a look at the eclectic mix of campers and caravanners.

You can store a caravan at Tything Barn so many are regular visitors with their caravan already placed on a plot when they arrive.

There are the overnighters with pop-up tents and cycles just looking for somewhere to stay and not overly bothered about naturism.

There was a naturist grandma and grandad with all the clothed grandkids in a large caravan.

There was a camper who had towed his rigid inflatable to the the site, then spent the week as a naturist doing running repairs before launching from the small slipway into the tidal gulley to the river.

Other large families had met up there and just had a good time - some naturist, some not, many with kayaks and canoes to enjoy the tidal river - I watched some come back in darkness so it's very safe this time of year.

Others, like my wife and I, just like the chance to get our clothes off, get a good tan, natter to other naturists, and enjoy the privacy from (ab)normal society Tything Barn provides.

Other couples do the same, but only one was a naturist - No problem.

Tything Barn is a great place to try naturism - be assured no-one cares what size you are or what you look like.

Finally, it's very doggy friendly. We had a little Jack Russell wonder over when he smelt bacon being cooked!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mark97 4 reviews from this member

Hello again went with friends there it was there first time there and they loved it as we did what a lovley couple jo and mick are the weather was lovely to and we all walked down to the keys pub well wearth going its ken and jen here we were with ann and chris they was in a tent we had a good time there will be back again soon all the best for next year and see you soon

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fayety 5 reviews from this member

If like me you have never been to a naturist site before then this is the one to go to. Jo & Mike could not have been more friendly and helpful which really put my mind at ease long before I even arrived. They have a very relaxed approach to life but will not tolerate any behaviour that would give the site a bad reputation. A really pleasant surprise was to be asked for photo id on arrival, what could make you feel more comfortable than knowing that your fellow campers were descent folk and children were safe.

This is a beautifully located site with stunning views over the estuary. There is ample room on site for naturist walks as well as sheltered lagoons for boating and swimming.

There are two shower and toilet blocks as well as indoor washing up facilities. The showers were always clean with plenty of hot water which is mainly solar & ground source heated. If you need to expend some energy there is a room full of books, board games, croquet set and tennis equipment for use on the sites own lawns. There is also kayak hire and escorted trips on the estuary or you could take your own. If the weather is unsettled and you don't want to be trapped in your tent/van there is a poly tunnel with seating and a pond.

As far as local facilities go you could not wish for more and still be away from it all at the same time. There is Castle Carew and pub 1. 5 miles away, a great pub 3 miles away that serves a traditional home cooked Sunday lunch (all fresh veg & proper roast spuds!)and for petrol, supermarkets, McDonalds, Argos and B&Q they are 3. 5 miles away just as you enter Pembroke Dock (good fish & chip shop there to).

I will have no hesitation in returning to this site as Jo & Mike do a fantastic job of keep everything very tidy which helps maintain a relaxed, safe and peaceful site.

Well done Jo & Mike, keep up the good work!

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2962 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019