Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Unicorn Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Unicorn Inn Reviews

Unicorn Inn
Hampton Loade
Chelmarsh
Bridgnorth
Shropshire   (Browse area)
WV16 6BN
Tel: 01746 861515
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 59 Reviews
                6/10 from 59 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wayne1 1 review from this member

 Never even got back in touch with me

Stayed last year was brilliant must say but very poor communication

All facilities are superb. super friendly bar staff 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ShirlD 2 reviews from this member

 Great level grass site on the banks of the river Severn. Perfect location for visiting the Severn Valley Railway (heritage steam trains) as the line is right next to the site & a station a stone's throw away.

Site was 15 per night + 1 per each adult (not sure about charge for kids - we don't have any!) There's a 20 returnable deposit for the barrier fob.

The on-site pub serves great food at a reasonable price. New management this year.

Can't comment on child friendliness, but there were a few kids there & they seemed happy enough! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ratty 252 reviews from this member

 This site is in a stunning location with the river on one side of the site and up the hill, the steam railway on the other.

The views are uninterrupted from the field to the river, however when you look up to the railway line to catch the train, there are a lot of statics and seasonal pitches lined up, but this did not bother me.

On arrival we had to check in at the pub and once I had found the front door, it was off to find the bar. It could be off putting if you are not used to the banter of the regulars who were congregated by the bar, but they were friendly and left me to myself.

Once checked in, key fob for the gate obtained and advised where the facilities block was, the girl advised we could pitch anyway along the riverside, as we did not have electric, and left us to it.

The site is lovely and flat and had no problem at all, no need for any levelling ramps. Dotted along the riverbank, alongside the pitches, there are paths down to the river where the fishing fanatics (and there were lots of them here) could go and spend the day.

The shower and toilet block is up by the pub and this was clean and did the job, no they are not plush, but if you need the loo or a shower, then they will do the job perfectly. I found them clean and stocked with loo paper, however there was no hot water on the second day, as the immersion had tripped. The day before this had happened too and the pub staff were instant to reset the switch. Although they will happily reset the switch and the water is hot again in minutes, this really should be updated to a new system that does not trip daily.

Also a quick lick of paint in the block would be a good idea, along with a shower curtain, screwing the hooks on the door in the showers and providing hand soap. But they work, functional and fine.

The pub is great, the regulars all know each other and enjoy good banter and we found them all to be happy, friendly and pleasant enough. They stock the usual range of beers, wines and spirits, along with crisps and some sweeties. The price for a Strongbow and a Stella 4 was 5. 20, bargain.

We ate in the pub on two nights and the food was brilliant. I was a little worried when we first went in for food as the smell of chip fat was present, but they were the best chunky chips I have had, and I do not like chunky chips normally. Very reasonably priced with most main meals: chilli con carne, cottage pie, lamb shank, etc. All being around 6. 25. Dog friendly too.

You can walk for miles and miles from the site, into Bridgnorth, or miles the other way and all walks are dog friendly. The people on the pitch next to us had a kayak, and I saw some others with a small dingy, so launching there is fine too.

Bridgnorth is a few miles away by car, but we did not venture there, but on driving through, it looked fairly large with a good range of shops.

There is a children's play area on site too, which looked dated, but perfectly safe and usable and lots of kids were enjoying themselves.

Overall I was pleased with the stay, this was a Wednesday and Thursday night we stayed, and the site was very peaceful and pretty empty. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: The Drings 14 reviews from this member

 From start to finish we had a wonderful time here.

All the staff (bar and warden) were friendly and helpful. As were the other campers.

This is a lovely little campsite.

At the entrance there is The Unicorn Inn. Toilets and showers and a playground.

There are pitches right next to the river Severn which can be fished.

There are walks through fields next to the river and through the lanes.

There is a steam train station (Hampton Loade) just 5 mins stroll away. You can see the train going past the campsite.

The Inn was really warm and welcoming. Food was delicious and plentiful with very reasonable prices. There is a lovely wood burner in the bar to warm you up after a days fishing.

We will be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrisbrazier 1 review from this member

 Have known about this site for some time and so glad we finally got to come and stay for start of the river fishing season.

Did a 2 night stay in our tourer, with friends in a tent. Pitches were a good size and level. There was some confusion with someone being on the pitch we had been allocated but the boss came down and sorted things out quickly, despite the other party getting quite shirty with him. We were still given a double bay pitch which was great.

Loos and showers are basic but clean and the showers were hot and powerful.

Didn't get chance to try the pub grub as we'd taken so much of our own, but next time definitely.

The men loved the fishing and the other fishermen were very friendly, as were the staff.

No frills site, and if it only had a shop it would be perfect.

Cannot wait to come back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WKHLANDCO 4 reviews from this member

 Great spot between river and Severn Valley Railway. We had booked 1 night and were allocated pitches near the children's play area, however we didn't realise some parents would allow their kids to still be in the play area at 11. 30pm.

Pub was noisy into the early hours and the site was packed while we were there. Ceiling had collapsed in mens toilets. Shower facilities smelt bad and weren't clean. Kids enjoyed it but we'll look elsewhere next time. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peterpan55 1 review from this member

 Loved every minute of our 2 night stay, beautiful scenery and lovely surroundings

Very friendly and helpful owners, good food and good value, will definitely be

Visiting again, only minutes from SVR at Hampton loade station which was

Absolutely beautiful. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nobby021 2 reviews from this member

 Set up tent on 29/08/16, stuck up the corner under a tree, mud and brambles behind it. Onsite bins were already overflowing, and by bank holiday Monday the rubbish was piled up and flies everywhere,

Showers were cold, and no loo roll.

Rowdy neighbours over the weekend finished this experience off for us,

Left 2 days early.

Pub seems ok and food looks good, Nice location by the Hampton loade SVR station, and fishing looks good, but wouldn't camp there again was 20 a night with EHU. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jamesbritten 2 reviews from this member

 Great nights stay. Stayed on Wednesday night. 2 adults and a mad three year old train spotter.

Amazing location by the river and for steam trains from Hampton Loade station and from the campsite. Great pub with great ales good honest pub food at proper prices, good value couldn't finish our chicken and mushroom pie, veg lasagne and children's fish fingers, portions size was great. We had dinner about five so didn't have to wait long. Friendly staff

Quiet campsite as mid week. Next time we will stay two nights. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 54 reviews from this member

 We have fallen in love with this place. Sandwiched between the Severn Valley steam railway and the River Severn, the spot is just beautiful and it is so nice to see the trains go by. Pitches are on grass, and we paid 17 a night for EHU, 2 adults and a dog. Showers are free and nice and hot. There was a biker meet-up happening when we were there which was ace.

We didn't use the pub this time round but it looks nice enough. An eclectic clientele and unique rocky atmosphere - we will definitely be back. Other reviews are right that there is no fence between the site and the river, so keep your eye on little ones (if you don't already!?!). Short walk to Chelmarsh Reservoir, and the historic Hampton Loade foot ferry is practically on the site. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Unicorn Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Unicorn Inn?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Unicorn Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridgnorth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4414 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement