Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of Turnpike Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Bedfordshire > Biggleswade > Turnpike Farm Campsite Reviews

Turnpike Farm Campsite
Potton Road
Bedfordshire   (Browse area)
SG18 0EP
Tel: 01767 313272  or  07951 577167
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Derek Saunders 2 reviews from this member

 A rural site maintained in a rustic manner, just what we wanted.

Close to all the facilities and shops we require as well as the main A1.

Lovely guests here and very kind and helpful owner and staff.

Recommended to all ages as a quiet and peaceful area. 

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 Just by way of update really as nothing seems to have changed at Turnpike Farm since my last visit/review of September 2017, and to say that I agree with the the two previous reviews.

We stayed at Turnpike Farm on this occasion to go to the “Flying Proms” at the nearby Shuttleworth Collection where the flying display was accompanied by the National Philharmonic Orchestra. The best air show I've been to.  

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevecoe1955 4 reviews from this member

 Superb site. Close to the town which has a great choice of takeaways. The owner was very welcoming with a healthy knowledge of camping needs. The facilities were basic, but functional. He explained his desire to keep costs down. At just £10 for one tent, two adults, this site represents great value for money. The grass within the camping area has been left long, but with areas mown to accommodate your tent etc. Although there were groups of campers, noise was not a problem. Very quiet. Great atmosphere.

We will definitely return. Ideal if you were visit Old Warden. 

Date of Visit: May 2018  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 We arrived early afternoon and found a spot in the corner with a dug out fire pit to set up. We were greeted by the site warden who explained where everything was and we paid at the farm office which is on the left as you first drive in.

Yes there are some industrial units on the drive in, but once you pass these the site opens up and is a delight.

The site is made up of a few mown areas which are the pitches with mowed walkways around the site. There were quite a lot of what looked like semi permanent vans, however this did not bother us in the slightest and we did not hear any noise or have any issues.

The field is large and square and is surrounded by lovely countryside with walks directly from the site and the site also flanks the River Ivel, but we had no issues with midges.

The site is very dog friendly and our dog had a lovely time playing the grass and walking round teh farmers field that is attached to the site.

The toilet was clean and perfectly usable and had hot and cold water and hand wash, etc. There are no showers here, but that was not a problem and we knew this before we booked.

The site is very close to Biggleswade and there you will find a large selection of stores in the retail park, large supermarkets and in Biggleswade itself are pubs, shops and is very lovely for a afternoon walk around.

The site is 5 minutes from teh A1, and we did not experience any road noise, or noise issues.

The Shuttleworth Collection is fairly close and is home to vintage vehicles, motorcycles, and over 50 historic aircraft, with an adjacent 19th century Regency Swiss Garden. We did not visit here but were treated to a couple of vintage planes flying over the site.

I loved this site, so relaxed, able to have fires and chill in the sun. I would definitely return and will be later in the year. 

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 Little seems to have changed at Turnpike Farm since my last visit/review of March 2014.

I agree with most of the content of the previous reviews, and can understand why in 21st century terms Turnpike Farm isn't for everybody. (e. G. No posh facilities block, no children's playground) but as I'm rooted the 1960/70s it's great for me. (e. G. Informal pitching, no long list of site rules, plenty of space, helpful owner. )

To sum up: I'm happy with Turnpike Farm just the way it is. (And it's the nearest site to Shuttleworth Collection. ) 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Qsbuilder 20 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site for a few weeks in September 2015 and really enjoyed the peace and quiet. The nearest caravan was some distance away from mine and I had a lovely view across the field. The roadworks that was mentioned previously were in operation at the time of my stay but I did not hear any traffic noise, in fact even without the roadworks there is no traffic noise whether in my caravan or out in my awning.

As Simon (the owner) has mentioned, he keeps his pitch prices low and so, if you are planning to visit, it is advisable to phone him before leaving. This is only sensible and courteous, otherwise how would you know if there was a pitch available? Hopefully the writer of the previous review posted Simon a cheque for the £10 pitch fee.

There is a very large field and this is perfect for children to play in - but if your children need entertainment or some form of playground and a pool. Then it would make much more sense to research the local touring sites first and then ensure that you book a pitch on one which advertises these facilities. It will of course cost over double the £10 pitch fee that Turnpike Farm charged for that tent.

I strongly recommend this site for a relaxing time, Biggleswade town centre is just a few minutes away by car, and at the railway station there are regular fast trains into London should you want a day out. Not many sites can boast of this type of location and the opportunities that it offers. 

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 37 reviews from this member

 A curious campsite this one. We arrived, but no directions on where to go or who to contact. 'Some one will come round', said another camper, but no one did. So having tried the house and simply been barked at by dogs, we pitched the tent and cycled back for dinner in Biggleswade, telling the other camper what we were doing so they could tell the owners.

Up next morning (Sunday) bright and early thanks to a car leaving the site at 6am and still no one came to see us. The house was all locked up. So we left, having not been asked to pay. I wonder if someone was supposed to be looking after the site for the owners and not doing so. Heaven help them if there is ever an emergency on the site.

The toilet was clean and functional, rather odly situated in the corner of a wearhouse type building. In a garden shed next door was a washing machine and dryer. As others have noted there is a small water and waste shelter. No signs to point the way, but others pointed were things were. Despite the gate saying closed at 10pm, we had cars coming on site at pub closing time, so I can only assume the gate stayed open.

The site suffers from traffic noise from the nearby B road, which is well enough used by Saturday boy racers to be disturbing quite late, sadly. This is not helped by roadworks with traffic lights so the cars race up to the red, rev engines and then speed off noisily.

There were no facilities for children at all, so bring your own entertainment for them or a football. Not a probelm for my 12 year old but could have been with younger kids.

We should have paid £10. 00. Considering what we got for our £10. 00 at the next site, Northey Lodge, Peterborough, this was much less value for money, hence the scores I have given.

I would guess if you want a very cheap site where you can do your own thing with few rules this is for you, but as a sweaty cyclist, I'd have liked a shower at the least. 
Management response: Thank you very much for taking the time to review our site. We are sorry that we did not get to see you but as a small site we do not have the privilege to have someone on guard 24/7. I did come over to your tent twice on the Saturday but no-one was around. The lovely couple near-by said that you had tried to find someone but couldn’t; so pitched your tent and headed off for dinner. From the chat that I had I got the impression that you were quite happy and used to an informal site. I am sorry that I misread the situation. By the time I got round to you on Sunday you had already left.

If I might comment on your points; our site is intentionally laid back without pitch numbers, only a couple of signs and a few common sense rules. I know some people find this a little disconcerting but I feel all the positives and repeat business demonstrate I should keep it this way.

At weekends I tend to close the gate when everyone is back rather than the stated time as it saves everyone having to get out and in their cars.

The roadworks have caused us some additional noise and I am sorry this caused you an annoyance; these have now been removed.

If we do go away overnight we always have someone left in charge in case of emergencies but if we are just out and about people normally just make themselves at home. On the odd occasion that our paths don’t cross people post payment in the honesty post box by the office door.

I believe that we do have fantastic facilities for children of all ages in the name of a wood for den building and tree climbing, a stream for damming, 6 acres for kite flying, ball games, cycling and anything else that your imagination can conjure up as well as a grassy bank which is fab to slide down.

By not having showers and live onsite managers but by having a clean and functional toilet and an adequate washing room we can, as you rightly point out, remain a cheap but very cheerful, relaxed and happy site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandjankers 3 reviews from this member

 Most of the facilities have already been covered by other reviews. We were quite happy, a basic site, No long lists of rules. Friendly and easy going. Convenient to visit our relatives. Lovely area and convenient to go to other places as a central base being near to the A1. We stayed some time ago but will be back in the not too distant future thanks. Really nice to have dogs welcomed and not just accepted. 

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 In order to avoid repetition, I would like to agree with the previous complimentary reviews, then add the following details.

Site is a large (very approx 100m x 100m), level field with some decorative tree plantings behind owners farm house. Pitching is informal with about 1/3 of the field is covered by 10A EHU.

Water; chem. Disp; laundry shed and simple but adequate wc facilities are conveniently located in one corner of the pitching area.

Disregard the light industrial units just inside the entrance, these have no effect on your caravanning experience. There is a little traffic noise from the nearby road, but again, this is not a problem.

On approach, be vigilant for the site entrance. Whilst it is obvious once you know, there are none of the usual caravanning/camping type signs so it is easy to go sailing past.

Very dog friendly. (No charge)

Within a few hundred metres in either direction of Turnpike Farm lies Popes Caravans for any maintenance requirements and Bedfordshire Growers Country Store & Café. Sainsburys and other supermarkets in Biggleswade town.

A personal recommendation: Shuttleworth Collection of vintage aircraft at Old Warden. The unique thing about Shuttleworth is that most aircraft are kept airworthy, so go when there is a flying day/evening. (See their website)

To sum up: An easy going comfortable small site. 

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ducky32uk 2 reviews from this member

 Good, honest, back-to-nature camping!

We had a lovely stay for a long week-end break. When we arrived, we followed the signs, but weren't sure where to pitch. The owner obviously had a very good relationship with his regular customers, because in no time at all, someone called us over and then contacted the owner who came and helped us choose a nice secluded pitch (the shelter of the trees sorely needed on this very cold and windy week-end). He gave us a warm welcome, very friendly and helpful, and lent us an extra long extension for the electrics so we could pitch wherever we wanted.

The site was basic, with no facilities except for one toilet, which was basic but clean and perfectly OK.

This campsite provided us with just what we were looking for - a quiet, peaceful get-away in the beautiful countryside - the sunsets were amazing, and the site was so big that no-one were camped 'on top of each other'. I only wish we had found this campsite when our children were younger because they would have loved the freedom of playing on the field and banks, in between the trees and bushes and the stream - playing of the 'real' kind rather than the 'virtual'.

We would definitely choose this site again if we are in the area. 

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Turnpike Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Turnpike Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Turnpike Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities

Other Sites Near Biggleswade      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Bedfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

2005 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022