Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Henrys Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Henrys Campsite Reviews

Henrys Campsite
The Lizard
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 7NX
Tel: 01326 290596
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 58 Reviews
                9/10 from 58 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jaybe5 1 review from this member

 Great location for walks in all directions. Arrived on a ceilidh night, great fun!

Camping area is sheltered in lovely landscaped gardens with lots of quirky arty buildings, loved the creaking galley kitchen!

Owners and staff very friendly and helpful.

Looking forward to returning for longer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: JussyB 1 review from this member

 Love this site! It is the perfect place to relax and unwind! Great for children too with animals and birds around the site.

Occasional live music is a bonus. Can buy most things that you may have forgotten for your trip on site, including fresh produce daily. The Old Rosie by the jug is a must at Henrys.

The communal firepit is a lovely area and perfect for evening get togethers with other campers! Even the storms we seem to encounter every year cannot put us off this site!

Looking forward to pitching up again in 2022! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Happykampers 1 review from this member

 Hands down. This is the greatest, quirkiest campsite we have ever visited.

We stayed for 3 rainy days and nights and had a wonderful time. The owners were lovely, helpful and willing to share a lot of local knowledge.

This site is reminiscent of our days of *wild* camping. You feel like you are on your own, not sardined into regimented row upon row of other campers.

Facilities were basic, but clean and well maintained.

This is a gem of a campsite. We'll be going back for sure! 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dennykp 1 review from this member

 Just got back from the best weekend camping at Henrys. Wonderful spot with masses of easily accessible walking in all directions on the Lizard. No problems with showers. Very friendly and helpful owners.

Very quirky and interesting site. We had a very quiet weekend, lots of choice of sites, each one giving privacy but allowing you to chat with neighbours if you feel inclined.

Pubs and small shop within easy walking, (just watch out for the Cornish Rattler) and discovered a garden centre that must be Cornwalls best kept secret. We will be returning 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Maudie57 3 reviews from this member

 Interesting campsite in fantastic location. Friendly owners. The site is really designed for campervans and tents. Though it says it takes motorhomes the entrance is narrow, and potentially you could damage your motorhome. We did on leaving, when a homemade speed bump at the entrance smacked our waste pipe breaking the bracket.

Situated in the village it has the perfect location. It has an interesting website which strangely does not give prices. Which is understandable once you find out what they are.

The campsite itself has a very eclectic decor, which gives it a hippy commune feel.

The toilets are unisex and basic, as are the showers, which you have to pay for. A communal circular earth floor hut is provided for campers with sofas. When we visited some of the sofas were threadbare and the hut filled with rubbish, so unusable. Facilities are not particularly good, and I would suggest are inadequate if the site were full.

The customer service is relaxed/ non existent, our emails didn't get answered, phones were not answered. Having visited once we are unlikely to use it again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Clemina2002 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite. This place is a little bit of heaven on earth. Great little shop that has most things you need. They even sell ice cubes for your G&T at night :)

The owners take great care of the site and they even have lamas! How great is that

I would highly recommend this campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catarinabod 60 reviews from this member

 I agree with RalphPorter's review. We had 5 nights over the school hols 28/night for 2 with ehu. As girls, we were not happy with the unisex toilet/shower arrangements but did find that the ones behind the wash-up area were generally not used by the fellas. Not enough really for the size of the site but the 20p charge for shower for 2 mins did mean that people didn't hang around too long.

Very attractive site with lots of nooks and crannies and also a fantastic animal field with alpacas, goats, pig, chickens (and noisy cockerel) - alpacas would often peer at us over the hedge. Walks galore from the site.

Cadgwith Cove and the Inn worth a walk, and also the beautiful Kynance Cove although this is very popular with tourists and gets too busy + the beach is not dog friendly. Other shorter walks from the site. Weather forecast didn't often get it right - we had quite a lot of mist and it was quite humid, even without much sign of the sun.

Our pitch was a good size. Free wi-fi available in the grass-hut type lounge area (with lots of old sofas) and the pitches nearby. Quick turnover of campers - empty spaces were soon filled up. Access quite tight. We could hear acoustic music and singing a couple of nights from the fire-pit area which was great. Anyone with a musical ability appeared to be encouraged to perform.

Good butcher/deli in the village which we used for bbq supplies and good bread if you get there early enough. Would also recommend Ann's Pasties for a takeaway - gorgeous, fresh and hot. Overall, fabulous site but would have been 10 stars with separate facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikede 27 reviews from this member

 Difficult to know where to start describing this site. Firstly it is very very expensive for what is provided- For 26 a night I would at least expect the showers to be free ! We didn't use them as although clean(ish) they were - like the rest of the site 'tatty' and charging for a shower on top of the high site fee is well OTT.

Location is good- close to village/ shops/ pubs/ bus stop/ coast path.

Access is tight and can be tricky for larger units.

The site is best described as a cross between Steptoes Yard and a Hippy Commune. Staff are friendly enough and helpful if required.

WiFi is free but only available close to the 'hut'- this a thatched/ corrugated iron roofed structure reminiscent of a iron age 'round house' furnished with tatty sofas.

In summary. If this site was 15-18 a night it would be ok but at 26 it is poor value for money. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RalphPorter 1 review from this member

 Excellent location and the pitches are very nicely done, the owners were very friendly, helpful and laid back. The fees are very expensive though, for a tent and two people it was 22 or 26 with hook-up, you can camp for half this price if you look around. If you want to have a fire then it's 3 to hire the fire pit and then you have to buy their logs at 5 a bag so again it's 8 just to have a fire for a night on top of the 26 to pitch up! so we went without a fire even though the idea was very appealing. The amenities were pretty basic but clean and certainly adequate for us. Parts of the site are like an eccentric junk yard (in a good way) with all sorts of bits and bobs strewn around.

All that said we had a fantastic time and really enjoyed the site, it's got a great feel with chickens and ducks running around and little nooks and crannies. The local area is fantastic for walking and the two village pubs both do food, in our opinion the Witchball was far better than the Top House, better still if you want a lovely walk around the coast is the Cove Inn at Cadgwith.

Would probably go back, put off somewhat by the pricing but really not by anything else. You can pay less for a pristine site with immaculate facilities and lots more amenities but then again you wouldn't get what Henry's has to offer and that alone might just balance the books. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tazsmum 25 reviews from this member

 Quirky is a word, much used about this site and it is! Totally individual and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We had our own 'garden' with hook up and picnic table. Everything you could wish for on the site including basic shopping, hot drinks, cider and breakfast croissant if you want them!

Near the coastal path, and even nearer the village, with basic shops, tourist shops pubs and a great chip shop 2 minutes from the site! What is not to like? Even entertainment for the dog who thought the wandering chickens were there to entertain him! 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Henrys Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Henrys Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Henrys Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3518 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement