Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Henrys Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Henrys Campsite Reviews

Henrys Campsite
The Lizard
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 7NX
Tel: 01326 290596
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maudie57 3 reviews from this member

Interesting campsite in fantastic location. Friendly owners. The site is really designed for campervans and tents. Though it says it takes motorhomes the entrance is narrow, and potentially you could damage your motorhome. We did on leaving, when a homemade speed bump at the entrance smacked our waste pipe breaking the bracket. Situated in the village it has the perfect location. It has an interesting website which strangely does not give prices. Which is understandable once you find out what they are. The campsite itself has a very eclectic decor, which gives it a hippy commune feel. With capitalist prices. The toilets are unisex and basic, as are the showers, which you have to pay for. A communal circular earth floor hut is provided for campers with sofas. When we visited some of the sofas were threadbare and the hut filled with rubbish, so unusable. Facilities are not particularly good, and I would suggest are inadequate if the site were full. The customer service is relaxed/ non existent, emails don't get answered, phones are not answered and you get the distinct impression the site is run as a hobby, so you take it or leave it. Having visited once we are unlikely to use it again.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Clemina2002 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic campsite. This place is a little bit of heaven on earth. Great little shop that has most things you need. They even sell ice cubes for your G&T at night :) The owners take great care of the site and they even have lamas! How great is that. I would highly recommend this campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catarinabod 41 reviews from this member

I agree with RalphPorter's review. We had 5 nights over the school hols £28/night for 2 with ehu. As girls, we were not happy with the unisex toilet/shower arrangements but did find that the ones behind the wash-up area were generally not used by the fellas. Not enough really for the size of the site but the 20p charge for shower for 2 mins did mean that people didn't hang around too long. Very attractive site with lots of nooks and crannies and also a fantastic animal field with alpacas, goats, pig, chickens (and noisy cockerel) - alpacas would often peer at us over the hedge. Walks galore from the site. Cadgwith Cove and the Inn worth a walk, and also the beautiful Kynance Cove although this is very popular with tourists and gets too busy + the beach is not dog friendly. Other shorter walks from the site. Weather forecast didn't often get it right - we had quite a lot of mist and it was quite humid, even without much sign of the sun. Our pitch was a good size. Free wi-fi available in the grass-hut type lounge area (with lots of old sofas) and the pitches nearby. Quick turnover of campers - empty spaces were soon filled up. Access quite tight. We could hear acoustic music and singing a couple of nights from the fire-pit area which was great. Anyone with a musical ability appeared to be encouraged to perform. Good butcher/deli in the village which we used for bbq supplies and good bread if you get there early enough. Would also recommend Ann's Pasties for a takeaway - gorgeous, fresh and hot. Overall, fabulous site but would have been 10 stars with separate facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikede 20 reviews from this member

Difficult to know where to start describing this site. Firstly it is very very expensive for what is provided- For £26 a night I would at least expect the showers to be free ! We didn't use them as although clean(ish) they were - like the rest of the site 'tatty' and charging for a shower on top of the high site fee is well OTT.

Location is good- close to village/ shops/ pubs/ bus stop/ coast path.

Access is tight and can be tricky for larger units.

The site is best described as a cross between Steptoes Yard and a Hippy Commune. Staff are friendly enough and helpful if required.

WiFi is free but only available close to the 'hut'- this a thatched/ corrugated iron roofed structure reminiscent of a iron age 'round house' furnished with tatty sofas.

In summary. If this site was £15-18 a night it would be ok but at £26 it is poor value for money.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RalphPorter 1 review from this member

Excellent location and the pitches are very nicely done, the owners were very friendly, helpful and laid back. The fees are very expensive though, for a tent and two people it was £22 or £26 with hook-up, you can camp for half this price if you look around. If you want to have a fire then it's £3 to hire the fire pit and then you have to buy their logs at £5 a bag so again it's £8 just to have a fire for a night on top of the £26 to pitch up! so we went without a fire even though the idea was very appealing. The amenities were pretty basic but clean and certainly adequate for us. Parts of the site are like an eccentric junk yard (in a good way) with all sorts of bits and bobs strewn around.

All that said we had a fantastic time and really enjoyed the site, it's got a great feel with chickens and ducks running around and little nooks and crannies. The local area is fantastic for walking and the two village pubs both do food, in our opinion the Witchball was far better than the Top House, better still if you want a lovely walk around the coast is the Cove Inn at Cadgwith.

Would probably go back, put off somewhat by the pricing but really not by anything else. You can pay less for a pristine site with immaculate facilities and lots more amenities but then again you wouldn't get what Henry's has to offer and that alone might just balance the books.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tazsmum 25 reviews from this member

Quirky is a word, much used about this site and it is! Totally individual and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We had our own 'garden' with hook up and picnic table. Everything you could wish for on the site including basic shopping, hot drinks, cider and breakfast croissant if you want them! Near the coastal path, and even nearer the village, with basic shops, tourist shops pubs and a great chip shop 2 minutes from the site! What is not to like? Even entertainment for the dog who thought the wandering chickens were there to entertain him!

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

Henry's has a certain charm and has a lot going for it, but there are also a few aspects that need a little attention.

The good points are wonderfully friendly staff and owner, relaxed and laid back and flexible on arrival and departure times. Location wise it's right in the heart of the village with a couple of pubs, a shop, butchers and bus stop all less than five minutes walk.

The site is quirky and different, has sea views and generally feels very Cornish and very reasonably priced.

The down side is that it is a bit rough round the edges and whilst the toilets were perfectly clean with very hot showers, other parts such as the wash up area I would not have wanted to use.

I would however, happily stay again and will hopefully return one day.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Missfi 7 reviews from this member

I stayed here with my partner Mon-Thursday, I wish it was longer.

Our pitch was beautiful, sea view, cornish walls, honeysuckle round top.

We even had room for a cooking area.

The site is laid back, calm and lovely, the chickens and ducks wandering round add to the lovely atmosphere.

Wildlife is at a high too, bats, foxes and hedgehogs.

The unisex loos and showers didn't please my partner, he likes things sterile and brand new.

I loved it all tho, the quirky, happy and jolly time was second to none.

We heard the sea in our tent all night. No other noise.

Wish we had stayed much longer.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sheenies1 2 reviews from this member

Really relaxed campsite in a stunning area. Would recommend Cadgwith and Kynance coves. Very quiet and peaceful and situated within the Lizard village and 5-10mins walk to Lizard point. We saw seals in the sea and visited the lighthouse here for a really interesting tour.

The campsite was really expensive especially in view of the mediocre facilities. We had really bad weather and the flat pitch was the most waterlogged I have ever experienced; am so very glad we had an excellent groundsheet. Literally felt like we were on a waterbed as we walked around our tent. Otherwise the campsite was quirky and relaxed with a good shop and breakfast items on sale. Sadly there was wifi at the reception so there were often groups of people huddled around the area on their phones or laptops, ruined the relaxed, chilled out vibe a tad.

The nearest pub basically chucked us out as they only wanted people who were eating. They reserve almost all the tables for people who come in to eat, even though they had not booked. The first cafe that you come to as you enter the village was fab with great service and good priced meals and the fish and chip shop was great with beautiful fish. The only shop in the village was extortionate, I expected it to be expensive but it was ridiculous, knowing full well that the nearest supermarket was 8 miles away.

The worst feature for me was the lack of space for kids. There was no room left on our pitch once the tent (5m diameter) and car were there and my two boys keen to kick the ball around, found a field with a goal. Great we thought, but the ball kept on going into the animals that roamed the field, so basically not even a small area where the kids could kick the ball or play catch. Have never experienced that in my many years of camping. Would not recommend this site to people with children.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Emsville 4 reviews from this member

We( 2 adults)stayed for 2 nights. Follow the directions on their website otherwise you will get lost! Made very welcome and shown our pitch, which was in a dip surrounded by a stone wall and lots of flowers, very very nice pitch. Excellent location with direct access to the coastal path. Facilities where a bit basic but sufficient. We walked to Cadgwith Bay, a small fishing village, the coastal path was amazing and we really enjoyed this part of the coast line with its secluded bays, we saw seals and giant jelly fish. The Lizard really is an amazing part of Cornwall and Henrys is well placed to enjoy it. We will definitely be staying at Henrys again. £25 per night with hookup which we thought was a bit steep but in reflection now worth every penny.

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4929 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019