Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Brades Acre Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Tilshead > Brades Acre Caravan Site Reviews

Brades Acre Caravan Site
The Bungalow
Tilshead
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4RX
Tel: 01980 620402
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25 tents 22 with electric some hard standing
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 41 Reviews
                9/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Phill Smith 1 review from this member

 Great Site in a great location close to Stonehenge Jackie the owner is very good at making sure your ok. Pitches are good drainage and very level the toilet and shower blocks are keep in clean condition at all times. Would say if you like a quiet site then do not hesitate in trying this one.

If ever we are in this area again we would not hesitate in returning.

Local Italian Pub and pizza bar with great beer garden is a 2 min walk from the entrance to the site. TRY IT AND YOU CAN MAKE UP YOUR OWN MIND.

Phill Smith (Leigh Lancashire) 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lesul57 2 reviews from this member

 Seemed a bit chaotic and cramped when we first arrived, but we were too early, it had bucketed with rain all day the day before and it was August.

The woman who runs it is very friendly and tries her best to be accommodating.

All in all, this is a lovely site. Well kept loos and showers, super washing up area - loads of hot water. And we feel very reasonably priced.

We are used to CLs so at first feared it would be too noisy, but the children on site (lots of them!) all had a marvellous time and were very well behaved.

I think if you had been closer to the road, it might have been an issue but it didnít really bother us. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Parrycat 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a very wet week over the Easter bank holiday weekend, we clearly arrived at a bad time because George had recently passed away and the family were trying to carry on. So please take this into account when reading this review.

The pitches werenít marked out, which meant that as more units arrived we were packed in. The reception isnít signposted and the flags were very slippery due to moss and could do with a clean with a pressure washer.

The toilet block was clean though no toilet roll when we first arrived, showers were 50p for 5 mins but the coin machine was outside so if it ran out mid shampoo you would have been stuck so we used the shower in the van.

We tried to use the washing machine but it takes old £1 coins so gave up. Over the weekend more units arrived I donít mind kids playing football but do object when the back of the caravan is behind the goals so they kept hitting the van with the ball.

Another family had a couple of dogs with them and they were constantly barking. Due to the weather the pitches were very muddy and I think it will take quite a while for them to recover.

We probably wonít return however the site is in a good location for trips out and I hope that things improve for the owners who are clearly having a bad time. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Driverdave1 7 reviews from this member

 What a lovely sight spotless toilets and showers. the pot wash was good and also had a Washing machine and tumble dryer at very good prices

George and Jacki the owners were great lovely friendly people

close to the village centre with pub that has lovely food shop in the garage and the main road that passes the site didn't bother us at all

the only thing I would say is the entrance is a little bit tight but then again we do have a very large Motorhome at 32ft long it went in but anything longer than 34ft would struggle

I would like to say that I would like to keep this site to myself for purely selfish reasons that it might get so busy that we wouldn't be able to get back in as often as we would like and to top it all it's reasonably priced as well 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rob7654321 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet little site. George was a lovely man. Made us feel very welcome. Clean and tidy.

Will be coming back again this year. There is a busy road but to be honest it didn't bother us. Local garage within walking distance. Shops 4 miles away.

Thanks George and Judith for having us 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dodger148 10 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were greeted by George who allowed us to choose our own pitch. Later Jacki called to ensure everything was ok.

The facilities are clearly marked and the toilets and showers were immaculate. On our second day we had friends arriving who had booked one of the apartments so we had the opportunity to see one of these also which was fully equipped for the needs of most people with modern appliances.

Over the week end there was a few campers who had adequate space for their tents on the nice flat well kept grassed area.

The Rose & Crown pub is only a few minutes walk along the the road and has a reasonable menu which should suit peoples taste.

We didn't inspect bus times there is a conveniently placed bus stop near the site 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Absinthe_boy 16 reviews from this member

 My wife and I have recently returned from 3 night's stay at Brades Acre. This is a lovely, well-kept site.

We were greeted by one of the owners from the balcony of the bungalow and as we were staying with a group of friends (half of whom had arrived) told we could pitch our tent pretty much anywhere in the area our group was staying. During our stay she would occasionally chat, making sure everything was fine in a friendly and unobtrusive way.

The tent/caravan field is mostly flat, very well kept and nobody will be far from the facilities. The only slight criticism is that the step between the field and the facilities block is very steep - perhaps it's not meant to be a step at all?

Washing up is done in one of two large sinks, with detergent and sponges provided. There's also a launderette style washing machine and dryer with reasonable charges should you wish to use these. Small but immaculate gents and ladies toilets with one shower each plus two unisex showers. The only issue here is that the coin boxes for operating them are outside the shower area, necessitating perhaps wrapping oneself in a towel to deposit a coin. But the temperature is controllable, water pressure is very good. You do get a full 7 minutes for your 50p.

Otherwise this is a quiet site without a shop or club house or anything like that. A perfect place to relax or have a nice time with friends. We asked if the Londis down the road sold ice, and were given a bag by the site owner which was truly lovely. It seemed very quiet at night except for the night with thunderstorms!

There is a pub about 7 minutes walk away, and a petrol station with Londis supermarekt another 7 minutes up the road. Or shopping can be done at Devizes which has several major supermarkets. The site would be great for visitors to Stonehenge and the surrounding area, and this does mean that if coming from the East you have to drive past Stonehenge. It's nice to see, but traffic is heavy there.

Definitely recommended for when you don't need/want a swimming pool, club house, noisy music etc. A very nice, well run, friendly site. It's worth mentioning that the site is dog friendly with a dog walk area. There are no specific kid's play areas but even with the site full there was plenty of grassy space for children to run about. Another attraction are the horses in the next field which would periodically come up to the fence and enjoy some petting. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wburger 1 review from this member

 We had a family gathering here with 2 tents and the two bedroom flat. Apart from the first night being a bit chilly in the tents we had a fabulous time. Great to have the portable fire pits! Very relaxed warm and friendly owners. All the facilities were lovely and clean and warm too. Kids had plenty of space to play. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ann1e 2 reviews from this member

 What a great site, greeted on arrival by George who invited us in to the conservatory, the toilets and showers were spotless even though the site was busy, the grass had recently been cut and was like a lawn. This site is run by 3 generations of the same family and is a credit to them all. The Rose and Crown is the local pub which is in walking distance of the site, again, lovely friendly people and excellent food at good prices. All in all, an excellent 4 days spent here. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kimbos5 5 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from 2 nights at this site, which has now become one of our favourites for a short stop over as its less than an hour from us.

It's what we love about a traditional campsite, pitches not really designated just requires people to be sensible when pitching. We had an electrical hook up so a choice of a few pitches where we could connect up to the electric. It was good to find a site where the children can actually use their torches at night, so many sites now have 'street' lighting so was also good to be able to see the stars!

There is no play park on site, but this wasn't a problem for our 3 girls under 5 as there was plenty of room to run around with a ball.

Yes you do have to pay for showers but we like this as it usually means there is no queue! Washing up facilities good.

We only met the owners daughter and she was very helpful with helping select a pitch.

Very fair pricing, they don't charge for young children or dogs. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brades Acre Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brades Acre Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Brades Acre Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tilshead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3369 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement