Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Apple Acres

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Tonbridge > Apple Acres Reviews

Apple Acres
Mabledon Farm, London Road,
Southborough
Tonbridge
Kent   (Browse area)
TN4 0UQ
Tel: 01732 352080
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 10 tourers
Open: March 1st To Jan. 15th

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hippybythesea 1 review from this member

What a lovely find, it is peaceful and very low key, has basic shower block which is very clean and tidy, and washing up area. No one under the age of 18 allowed on the site, which is fantastic :) great big field for tents, 10 hardstanding with electric hook up. I have seen remarks about urban noise but look at the location you are, it is expected, but it is very quiet with the odd distant plane, train or car, and hot air balloon lol scenery is absolutely stunning, with Ashdown forest and Bewl just minutes away.

This site is pure relaxation, warm welcome and plenty of apples, we will definitely will be returning. With homemade cider :)

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: RoamfromHome 22 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights primarily to attend a wedding in Tunbridge Wells. Comfortable, friendly and well kept site with hard-standing touring pitches surrounded by orchards. Good views and pleasantly quiet despite the close proximity of the main roads. Modern, warm and clean toilet/shower block with no annoying closure times for cleaning. Ideally situated for exploring local area with many interesting towns and historic monuments. On bus route from end of lane and able to walk into Tonbridge (25 mins). Good for dogs too. Would recommend and use again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiwi1Adventures 12 reviews from this member

This campsite is about as local as they come. It's not near the beach and I've seen the castle, well what's left of it.

This site is easy to get into and has no hair raising drives through narrow roads with blind corners, that said getting across the road when leaving can take a while. You just need a bit of common sense from other drivers to let you out. The people of Tonbridge are pretty good at that. Driving near here is farcical at most times of the day. If it's not rush hour its the school run. If it's not the school run it's lunchtime. If its not lunchtime it's the next school run and then rush hour again. It can take an hour to head south so choose your times carefully.

I for one really appreciate the efforts the owners have made to make the site secure and functional. There are some beautiful evening sunsets, assuming you aren't still stuck on the A26. For the visitor Tonbridge has a plethora of things to do, primarily visiting the surrounding area, Hever Castle, Royal Tunbridge Wells, Groomsbridge etc etc.

Time it right and you will not be disappointed. Please be sure to read the other reviews. Ask not what Apple Acres can do for you but what you can do for Apple Acres. I have looked at other sites and found the roads wanting. Some are quite frankly so unsuitable for large vehicles and units there needs to be designated times when traffic is one way.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Patbaz 3 reviews from this member

Well, what a wonderful site. The views are wonderful and so nice to have peace and quiet. The site is everything we wanted and so close to towns and tourist attractions. So many parks, castles and gardens. I am incensed by some of the reviews. Aircraft do, sometimes fly over, if the wind is in the wrong direction, there is a distant hum but what do you expect? The site is only forty miles from London. You are not in the middle of the Gobi desert! Showers are lovely, plenty of space all around and the site is so well run. Why do some people just look for things to moan about? They seem to only be happy to point out any slight negatives. We have booked again for next year and are very much looking forward to it. All in all a superb site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scwelch 1 review from this member

A superb site conveniently situated in the Weald near to Tunbridge Wells. The grounds within the orchard site are well cared for and the facilities are excellent - a nice little toilet block and all basic services are readily to hand. Owners Bernie and Robert are nice people and there for you if needed. I thoroughly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yvonne B 17 reviews from this member

Having read the reviews on this site it appeared to be a perfect place to stay for 5 nights to explore Tonbridge & the surrounding area. In reality we were very disappointed & will not be returning to this one.

Yes the directions on their website made it easy to find, what they fail to tell you is outside the campsite the roads in all directions are gridlocked. It took nearly an hour to go 7 miles.

When we arrived the site looked quite well maintained & cared for. We later discovered this was not so.

The shower block is fairly new, nicely laid out & showers are lovely. However, it was let down by not being particularly clean. I don't know if it was cleaned while we were there, if so it was not done very well.

The site is on a slope & full of apple trees, which looks nice. There was fruit & grass mowings left all over the ground, making it slippery, uneven & difficult to walk on. Not good for those with mobility problems.

We were greeted by a security gate, with instructions to go to reception to check in. When we found someone we were given the wrong code. This was the only time we saw anyone in reception during our stay, until we were leaving.

We did not feel very welcome at all. We were not alone in this, the people next to us were so unhappy they went home two days early.

It certainly is not a site to go to for a peaceful break. There was a combination of being directly under a flight path, constant road & rail noise & train whistle point for a nearby hazard.

On a positive note, to end, it was really nice to have showers which were not timed.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vwdubman 19 reviews from this member

Just spent a great couple of nights at this wonderful site, the owners make you welcome as you book in.

Set in the grounds of an apple orchard it is well maintained and very good value for money.

Will be booking to go again very shortly.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gytha_ogg 2 reviews from this member

A nice little site. Adults only, ten hard-standing pitches, all with hook-up. Good clean facilities, lots of space, very well maintained, with friendly helpful owners. Within walking distance of Tonbridge and only a few miles from Tunbridge Wells. Nice and dark at night and lots of free apples in the autumn! Toilets and showers are very clean and everything works. Nice little touches like a radio playing in the loos every morning from 8am-10. 30am.

Downsides: Planes, trains & automobiles. Lots of road noise from the A26, trains hooting as they go past a level crossing, and planes flying over to and from London. If your van is better insulated than our old bus, however, these might not be a problem.

Overall, a really nice site that's well worth a visit, especially for 19/night all in.

Best to come in from the A26 as the other end (A2014) is *very* narrow.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colval 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site and when we arrived at 1. 30pm our pitch was still occupied. Our first impressions of the site though were very pleasing and the owners were welcoming. However after a few peaceful days things changed as new people arrived with more pets than residents on site, during our 14 night stay we experienced 2 caravans each with 5 dogs and 1 caravan with 4 dogs. We are not dog owners but are also not anti dog as long as they are well behaved and controlled but with this number of dogs ourselves and other people staying on site we thought it was far too many. When one started they all started barking. Owners also let their beloved dogs run loose and foul the pitches they were on and did very little to stop their noise. Hence no return visit by us unless there was a change of policy.

The area in general was very nice, with good bus services and local shops and amenities. The site facilities and outlooks were clean and well kept. You could also pick apples from the orchards. Overall a lovely little site {without so many dogs}.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HeinztheEriba 2 reviews from this member

Perfect!

Easy to find being just off the A21 (just follow the directions on the website). Very accommodating owners who were very flexible when we needed to change arrival dates. Friendly welcome and nice to be given a choice of pitch, most are on a slight slope so you will need levelling blocks (pieces of wood are provided) and all 10 are on hard core so rock pegs will be required if you are erecting an awning. All pitches are very generous in size and have views over the apple orchard and lawned area which is also used for camping tents. Water points are dotted around the camp site and a chemical waste point is located at the rear of the toilet block.

Toilet, shower block and dishwashing area is kept spotless with plenty of hot water. A small selection of books are available to swop or loan.

Plenty of NT properties to visit and Tonbridge is a delightful town with an excellent selection of supermarkets and shops. Lidl on the high street give you 90 mins free car parking otherwise take plenty of change.

All in all a lovely time was had at Apple Acres it's so peaceful and quiet and I would certainly return. Just one thing on my 'wish list' please instal a washing machine.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4169 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019