Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Solway View Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright > Solway View Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Solway View Caravan & Camping Site
Balmangan Farm
Ross Bay
Borgue
Kirkcudbright
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG6 4TR
Tel: 01557 870206  or  07753730760
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 9 Hard standing & 25 Camping
Open: Feb-nov

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 106 Reviews
                9/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caroleanne 4 reviews from this member

Lovely site in a perfect location.

The site is just outside the town of Kirkcudbright (approx 5 miles), a small town with plenty of cafes, pubs and art galleries. The Tour of Britain is finishing here for stage 1 2019. The location is perfect if you enjoy relaxing cycling, the roads are quiet, no steep climbs and there are some great views. There is secure bike storage on site.

The site is very clean, plenty of space between pitches, good views and great facilities. There is a small beach within walking distance.

Plenty of places to visit in the area - Gatehouse of Fleet, New Galloway and Port Patrick etc.

Excellent value for money and friendly, helpful owners.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CarrieF 11 reviews from this member

Just back from our first, but definitely not last, visit to Solway View. We can only reiterate the glowing recommendations already on here, which sold it to us in the first place.

The site is lovely, very well kept by the owners, who are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We arrived on a fairly quiet Thursday afternoon and were shown a number of pitches to choose from. We settled on a lovely spot on the higher level with fantastic views (although to be fair there were great views, with different perspectives, from all over the site).

As has been said by most others, the pitches are very generously sized – no packing in like sardines here – and the picnic tables and fire pits are a great addition. The facilities were spotless and I never had to wait for a shower or loo even though the site got busier over the weekend. The cookhouse is a great idea, we used it for washing up and were also able to borrow a pan we needed for a meal one evening from the plentiful equipment in there.

We visited Gatehouse-of-Fleet, Kirkcudbright and a few of the local beaches. We actually took the wrong path heading down to the beach accessible from the site and missed the sandy beach, but found ourselves on a rocky shore which we had all to ourselves, which was delightful.

I haven’t been to this part of Scotland since I was a child when we had a family camping trip to Gatehouse. However we will certainly be returning, indeed we may become regular visitors.

My one tip would be to stock up on provisions before you get there. We were grateful for a small-ish Tesco in Kirkcudbright for some basics we’d forgotten to take, but other food shopping options seem to be limited.

Many thanks to Patricia and Neil for a fantastic weekend and we hope to be back soon.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Reiver0112 4 reviews from this member

Excellent site with good clean facilities and superb views.

Only 5 minutes walk to the sea through lovely woodland walks.

Only a few miles from Kirkudbright.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cazbix 12 reviews from this member

A lovely small campsite with great views. Pitches are spacious with bbq and pick-nick tables, toilet facilities modern and clean 2 showers and two toilets in each block for the women, I think it was the same for the men’s, (Although I think it could do with another toilet block )

The waste and chemical water disposal is near the top toilet block which could be a bit of a walk with a full tank, if you are not on the gravel pitch area at the top, ( if you require a hard standing pitch ring and ask, as we were on a grass pitch)

Some nice strolls direct from site.

Nearest main shop about 3 to 4 miles away so stock up before you arrive.

A great site for families with younger children and couples, perhaps a bit too quiet for families with teenagers. Small playpark.

Ideal for us and a site we will definitely return, the owners was exceptionally nice as helpful

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Other Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 35 reviews from this member

Stayed here before and nice site. No complaints about the pitch, facilities or views. However, I just wanted share a frankly very odd approach to booking and customer care.

I tried to book a Wigwam on the website but couldn't because only one night was available on the calendar and the minimum booking is two nights which is fair enough.

So I telephoned to book the one available night and all was going well until I was told that there would be a £10 supplement for a single night booking despite only one night being available!

I tried to reason but was told flatly that this was booking policy and wouldn't change. He was aware that I'd stayed before and would likely (until now!) be staying again.

So, a disgruntled customer (who had just booked without issue pods in Durham, Shetland, Orkney and Gairloch) and an empty pod on the campsite.

Can't be good business practice.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Annnick 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful views over the Solway. Well kept site with very clean toilet and shower facilities. Laundry facility as well.

Indoor cooking and dining facility is an extremely good idea, especially when outdoor cooking is not possible.

Kirkudbright is not too far away - a lovely village with a very nice art gallery. Galloway Forest Park Kirroughtree Visitor Centre is also fairly near - ideal for walking and bike riding.

We would definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Berlum 1 review from this member

Desperate to find fault with this site. There must be something! We always find something! Not a thing. The perfect site. Great sized pitches, picnic table and fire pit with every pitch, clean toilets and showers, flat pitches, stone tracks on pitch for car, views, kids play area, dog play area, laundry, outside undercover clothes airer tent thingy, 2 amazing kitchen/ eating/ rest areas fully equipped and very pleasant and clean, a disc golf course, paths to the beaches direct from the site, wooden huts, quiet and family friendly and very helpful friendly owners. Even the weather was amazing.

Wish we’d found this site when the kids were little. Will go back again and again. Booking essential at peak times (full weekend we went at end of June).

10 minute drive from the lovely town of Kirkcudbright where we would highly recommend the Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel for great grub at great prices with massive portions. Nothing fancy but really good. Good veggie options too. The veg tortillas are to die for if you can finish the plate!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ashbash 3 reviews from this member

This is the best privately owned campsite we've ever been to! We normally only go to CL sites (as caravan club members) because we hate really large commercial sites where they pack everyone in like sardines, but this site is wonderful. The views from every caravan pitch are stunning and the pitches are very spacious. The the owners are friendly and helpful.

The facilities are amongst the cleanest and well maintained we've encountered and you can tell the owners really care about the site. There are great walks from the site through woodlands to hidden coves and nearby villages.

The dog play area is an added bonus where dogs can be let off leash to run about when you don't want to do a big walk. The only improvement I can think of (and I'll admit I'm nitpicking becuse I loved this site) would be to place a couple of paving slabs near one of the freshwater taps near pitch 5, as it was a bit muddy due to the time of year!

I can't wait to go back to this beautiful site and recommend it heartily.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Evil in Tent 5 reviews from this member

Just back from a short, couple of nights, trip to Solway View with my wife and dog and can't wait to return for a longer visit.

The site is clean, quiet and well kept with large pitches that, even though the site was nearly full, meant you didn't feel crowded in and the place was reasonably quiet despite being in school holiday season. There were lots of younger kids around, but the space, facilities and layout meant they weren't a 'problem'. While this isn't a 'holiday camp' with the associated entertainment (thank goodness), there seemed to be lots to keep little ones occupied.

The pitch was on flat sandy soil - no problem pegging out - and all pitches had a picnic table and fire pit which we made good use of in the evenings.

Toilet and shower facilities were spotless and never seemed too busy even though the site looked nearly full. My wife reports that the hand drier in the ladies shower block only worked intermittently but this wasn't an issue. There was a cooking area which I didn't inspect but seemed to get some use from other campers.

The owners have gone to some lengths to provide a large 'off-lead' area for dog exercising and there are plenty of walks to the coast directly from the site.

An on-site shop selling basic provisions would be a brilliant addition but as Kirkcudbright is only 5 miles away, if you're mobile, this really isn't a huge problem.

Overall, a lovely, quiet, family and dog friendly campsite that's a significant notch or two up from 'basic'. Highly recommended if you want to get away from it all but don't want to rough it.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MikeandSam 17 reviews from this member

We came back and camped! Two dogs now. We brought one medium sized family tent plus a pup tent for big son and both fitted easily on one pitch.

We found the second camp kitchen!

All the facilities you would want and kept to a high standard.

We discovered new walks this time.

Check out the mill Gatehouse of Fleet for lunches and look at the exhibition.

Good meals at the nearby Borgue Hotel.

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2790 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019