Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Solway View Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright > Solway View Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Solway View Caravan & Camping Site
Balmangan Farm
Ross Bay
Borgue
Kirkcudbright
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG6 4TR
Tel: 01557 870206  or  07753730760
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 9 Hard standing & 25 Camping
Open: 01/02/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 114 Reviews
                9/10 from 114 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mhairip 2 reviews from this member

 Really lovely site in a gorgeous corner of Dumfries and Galloway.

Owners very helpful and chatty, site really nicely laid out and views just gorgeous.

Hand sanitizers were everywhere, toilet block fresh and clean and provision of metal fire pit a wee added bonus.

Super walks direct from the site and we discovered the local bus dropped off less than a mile from the site after walking in to Kircudbright (7 miles along the coast). 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shaky Cat 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location. Quiet site. Excellent facilities.

Friendly owners who have gone out of their way to comply with Covid restrictions.

Hand sanitisers in place. Social distancing and minimum face to face contact. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Samstevenson 12 reviews from this member

 Amazing location with stunning views. Not too busy and Covid secure with hand sanitizer stations and restricted entry to toilets.

Clean facilities. Owners very friendly and helpful. Great for dog walking and beaches close by site.

We had electric but the only one suggestion I would make would be a hairdryer in the mens and ladies for campers without electric. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Magpiesnest 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for the weekend having previously stayed for a week a few years ago. The site was just as good this time. Beautiful views from the site and the pitches are large and well kept.

Its contactless check in these days done by text. Owner came round after a while just making sure we were ok. As it happens I was a few pegs short (loaned the tent out to teenagers for last use) and off he went and brought me some hed found lying around. This was amazing.

Loved having a campfire even though the rain came in just as we were really starting to enjoy it. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Currycampers 19 reviews from this member

 Great site. Really nice fella called Neil who owns and runs it. Kirkudbright is a lovely little town and the Dumfrieshire and Galloway countryside is a gem for walkers.

The site has a great little walk through the woods to a couple of secluded beaches and boasts a frisbee golf course. Never seen one before and it looks a lot of fun. Too wet and windy when we went!

Worth stocking up on vittles before you arrive if you just want to enjoy the surroundings and have a bit of time off the shopping run. There is a small Tesco and a Co-Op in Kirkudbright as well as butchers and bakers etc. The old town hall is now an art gallery which is well worth a visit.

Great Gerald Scarfe exhibition which we enjoyed. If you've never been to the south west of Scotland before, it's a gorgeous bit of the world often missed by people heading for the highlands and islands.

The loos and showers are spot on and the whole site is looked after while managing not to feel like a Stalag. Back to nature in comfort! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Denisea 13 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Beautiful views, very quiet and immaculate facilities. The cleanest shower block we have ever seen. We made good use of the picnic table and fire pit in our very generous sized pitch.

Thanks to the owner informing us we enjoyed seeing the Tour of Britain pass nearby. We also enjoyed the walk to the sandy cove and the graveyard.

This site deserves to win in the Scottish Outdoor Leisure Awards.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vicbrown 11 reviews from this member

 Solway View is totally justified in its award as one of the best sites in Scotland. There is a strong 'eco' bias, and even when we visited, at the peak of the season, the site had ample space.

Pitches are huge, and not overcrowded. The owners could not be more helpful.

A perfect family site and Kirkcudbright town has so much to offer, especially if you are into art). The surrounding scenery is stunning ( coast and hills) - Galloway is a little gem, waiting to be discovered. Its 'the Lake District - without crowds'

Only quirky thing was trying to locate our pitch without a plan but hardly an issue unless you arrived after dark.

A superb site which is 100% recommended. We will be revisiting for certain. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: ColdenCamper 4 reviews from this member

 The perfect campsite! Beautiful views, Hughes, widely spaced pitches and so peaceful!

Showers and toilets are excellent and very clean and the 'shed' with cooking and dining facilities was very welcome on rainy days. Lovely little beach a two minute walk from the campsite. The owners were lovely, helpful and discrete.

Other campers too couldn't be nicer - all the help we got when our tent pole snapped in a gale (Scotland in August!). Lovely part of the world, countryside, beaches, towns, bookshops.

We'll be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caroleanne 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a perfect location.

The site is just outside the town of Kirkcudbright (approx 5 miles), a small town with plenty of cafes, pubs and art galleries. The Tour of Britain is finishing here for stage 1 2019. The location is perfect if you enjoy relaxing cycling, the roads are quiet, no steep climbs and there are some great views. There is secure bike storage on site.

The site is very clean, plenty of space between pitches, good views and great facilities. There is a small beach within walking distance.

Plenty of places to visit in the area - Gatehouse of Fleet, New Galloway and Port Patrick etc.

Excellent value for money and friendly, helpful owners. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CarrieF 11 reviews from this member

 Just back from our first, but definitely not last, visit to Solway View. We can only reiterate the glowing recommendations already on here, which sold it to us in the first place.

The site is lovely, very well kept by the owners, who are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We arrived on a fairly quiet Thursday afternoon and were shown a number of pitches to choose from. We settled on a lovely spot on the higher level with fantastic views (although to be fair there were great views, with different perspectives, from all over the site).

As has been said by most others, the pitches are very generously sized no packing in like sardines here and the picnic tables and fire pits are a great addition. The facilities were spotless and I never had to wait for a shower or loo even though the site got busier over the weekend. The cookhouse is a great idea, we used it for washing up and were also able to borrow a pan we needed for a meal one evening from the plentiful equipment in there.

We visited Gatehouse-of-Fleet, Kirkcudbright and a few of the local beaches. We actually took the wrong path heading down to the beach accessible from the site and missed the sandy beach, but found ourselves on a rocky shore which we had all to ourselves, which was delightful.

I havent been to this part of Scotland since I was a child when we had a family camping trip to Gatehouse. However we will certainly be returning, indeed we may become regular visitors.

My one tip would be to stock up on provisions before you get there. We were grateful for a small-ish Tesco in Kirkcudbright for some basics wed forgotten to take, but other food shopping options seem to be limited.

Many thanks to Patricia and Neil for a fantastic weekend and we hope to be back soon. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Solway View Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Solway View Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Solway View Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkcudbright      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3387 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement