Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Solway View Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright > Solway View Caravan & Camping Site > Reviews

Solway View Caravan & Camping Site
Balmangan Farm
Ross Bay
Borgue
Kirkcudbright
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG6 4TR
Tel: 01557 870206  or  07753730760
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15 Hard standing & 20 Camping
Open: 09/02/2024 to 15/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 134 Reviews
                9/10 from 134 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  134 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandra 1 review from this member

 Had a fabulous time at Solway View. Pitches were very spacious. The shower and toilets were spotless.

There is also a cooking area where you can make your meals. There’s a picnic table and fire pit at each pitch.

I had my two small dogs with me who also loved it. I will defo be going back probably for a longer stay next time.

The owner was very pleasant and approachable 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maggie 3 reviews from this member

 Stunning views and spacious pitches with exceptional facilities.

If you are looking for peace and quiet this is the perfect place.

The owner is helpful and friendly.

You can walk down to White Bay, a small sandy beach within 10 minutes of the site or drive up to the large parking and picnic site by a long beach a couple of mile up the road. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pocket 1 review from this member

 Magical just about sums it up.

Loads of room between units.

Picnic table and firepit on each site.

Approachable staff good showers and toilet facilities 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Lelly1512 5 reviews from this member

 Myself and 7 of my family/friends stayed here over the Easter weekend. We had a problem with our hook ups on the first night as it kept tripping, we had a very cold first night and were ready to pack up the following morning to come home.

The owners pulled out all the stops and got it sorted for us. We can't thank them enough, especially at a traumatic time for them due to a family member being very ill.

The campsite's facilities are very clean, there is a children's play park situated here too. The location is lovely with a 15-20 minute walk from the campsite through the nearby wood is a lovely secluded sandy bay.

Kirkcudbright is a 10-15 minute drive away and it is a lovely town, with lots of eating places and historical places to visit. A lovely campsite, with lovely owners.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bernie 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site.

The host was really welcoming, facilities well maintained and easily accessed and pitch sizes are huge.

We had the best views you could imagine over the Solway and the beach was close by.

The dog exercise field was fantastic for my highly energetic collie as they can be off lead.

Absolutely loved it here 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Linda5 5 reviews from this member

 We loved this site; the owners clearly cared and took great pride down to the last detail to give campers and caravanners the very best chance to experience the sheer beauty of the place, and to have a quiet, relaxing time.

The frizby game was great fun, and the walks amazing.

The facilities were spotlessly clean. We also cycled from the site, around the lovely lanes through nearby hamlets and villages.

I could easily have stayed longer; so much variety on the doorstep, and I’d most definitely return, and recommend to my friends. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: GypsyGirlz 1 review from this member

 Stayed in a large family tent with our 2 children aged 6 and 14 lovely size pitch with plenty of space and not to over crowded - dog Friendly too with fenced off area to walk off lead, Beautiful surrounding views.

Park was small but children had lots of fun there. Shower and toilet areas where clean and lovely and warm water. Dark skies where lovely and on a clear night so many stars and even spotted a few shooting stars.

Closest beach walk was a little hard to access due to the rocks might be difficult for anyone with mobility issues but we all managed OK as well as other beaches a little further but more accessible. Not really any shops close by if you forget any essentials.

Firewood available at reception. Any problems and the owners are only a phone call away and very helpful. Nice woodland walk nearby. Kirkcudbright was a short car journey away.

Overall a beautiful friendly secure site and reasonably priced for our 3 night stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Irene Wilde 1 review from this member

 Wonderfully peaceful site. Well spaced places.

Plenty of amenities.

Patricia was very helpful and friendly.

Beautiful setting for a campsite with views across the sea.

Walks down to a sandy beach.

Absolutely loved this site and will definitely return.

We will tell our friends about this campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pen21 8 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site, what can I say, it's perfect.

Great location, well kept, great pitches and they obviously care for the environment.

Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: cwarchc 29 reviews from this member

 A really nice site

Beautiful location

Lovely friendly reception

The facilities are really good, very clean & modern

The site is in a superb location, overlooking a section of the Solway down a small country lane

Very quiet, great beaches close by.

There is a children's play area, should you require it?

Really good big pitches, bbq's allowed.

If you want to explore this part of Scotland? it is the ideal location 


Previous     134 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Solway View Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Solway View Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Solway View Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkcudbright      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement