Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Motte

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Le Fouilloux > Camping La Motte Reviews

Camping La Motte
D270 Lieu Dit La Motte
Le Fouilloux
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17270
Tel: 0033 05 46 04 26 91
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Margaret and Garry 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely relaxed and tranquil site. The showers, toilets and washing up facilities are immaculate. Rudd the owner is friendly, very informative and helpful. We stayed for a week and had family flying over to stay in one of the cabins for a few days. The cabin was of a good standard and spotless. All of us enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sigri 14 reviews from this member

 The site is well sign posted and easy to find. The new owners have worked tirelessly on the site, preparing new pitches and making dividers for pitches. The toilet block is unisex with all doors on the outside. The toilets are seatless, we didn't find this a problem but some people may! Washing up and clothes washing sinks have plugs and are very useful. No washing machine facility but we used the local laundrette which is easy to find and at 3 euros a load very reasonable. There is a fridge/freezer for campers to us, which was great in the high temperatures as our electric cool box struggled to keep up! The snack bar visited on a Thursday although we didn't use it, it was popular with the French railway workers who were at present living on the site. They had been placed on pitches in the upper part of the site and although during the day weren't a problem their early departure to work was a bit disturbing especially for us being in a tent. They did on occasions have their radios/televisions on quite load which took away from the peaceful ambience portrayed on the website.

Having said that we had a lovely pitch with shade and sun, and the price with electric per night was very reasonable.

The local town has an intermarche, pharmacy, bakery and laundrette. There is a local lake that is all free and well worth a visit. As is the parc du maison which has a trail to follow and a tower to climb with amazing views! We also visited Dordogne river, Jonzac and other local towns. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elainedickin 2 reviews from this member

 Very relaxed and friendly site. We booked for a week and enjoyed our stay, although there was plenty of space had we just turned up. Toilets and showers clean and new. Area for washing up good. BBQ not allowed by pitches but there is a gazebo and BBQ including fridge freezer for campers to use.

Town with a couple of bars/restaurants and supermarket a short drive away.

We found Ruud and Anja were very friendly and helpful especially when we expressed our wish to take a hot air balloon trip (as mentioned on their web site) Ruud happened to be assistant to Brigitte (pilot) and we had a brilliant flight. Well worth the money for a one off adventure. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roger7webster 3 reviews from this member

 The very pleasant and helpful Dutch owners describe this site as tranquil and it really is just that!

The site has been expanded and now has 46 pitches, some are slopping and will require leveling blocks.

All pitches have 16amp electric supplies and there are ample water points

There is a new toilet and shower block, all kept in pristine condition.

The nearest town is Montguyon an easy 2. 4 mile walk

Through some very traffic free back lanes.

We enjoyed our short two night stay and will return when in the area 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JudeNJem 3 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site, not far from the N10 so an ideal stopover if traveling further south. It's also a good base for day trips to the Atlantic coast, and to towns such as Bordeaux, Libourne, Blaye, and Bergerac (the list is endless). Plus the vineyards of St Emilion and Pomerol are also nearby.

It is surrounded by beautiful countryside - vineyards and farms - and the quiet country roads are ideal for walking or cycling.

A few minutes drive takes you into the small town of Montguyon, with banks, bars, and a couple of supermarkets, one of which is a brand new (and a bit expensive) Intermarche.

The site itself is lovely and peaceful, in a natural and charmingly rustic setting of pine and deciduous trees and shrubs. It is well laid out with non-regimented pitches of various shapes and sizes, some offering shade from the glorious Charente sun, and others more open. It is nestled in a slight valley so seemed well sheltered if any winds.

Our pitch was enormous (about 60x20 feet) so lots of space to spread out!

There are plenty of water points throughout the site and electrics have reversed polarity.

There is a separate dog walk at the top of the site, with lots of room for the dogs to run around - and there is a free and plentyful supply of 'poo-bags'.

The toilets and showers (lots of hot water) are excellent and spotless too. I especially liked the homely touch of complimentary shower gel in the showers and loo paper in all the toilets!

The owner, Chris, is extremely helpful, enthusiastic and friendly, and can offer loads of advice on places to visit, market days, and whats on etc.

We stayed there for 7 days and had a wonderful time - it really is the ideal site to just relax and totally chill out. I can still hear the birdsong, and the sound of the cigales, the cuckoos and the woodpeckers.Oh! and the frogs in the pond at night!

Highly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Samelli 1 review from this member

 What a smashing place to stay and with such a charming host. Chris is very welcoming and accommodating and keeps all the facilities in pristine order even in the depths of winter. A welcome haven for winter campers on the way Southwards or on the way back up North again. Look forward to another stay as soon as we can get away.

The nearby towns of Montguyon and St. Aigulin offer all the basic shopping facilities, banks and post offices as well as a good selection of bars and restaurants. There is a plan d'eau at Montguyon which does quite good food although their toilets left a lot to be desired!(Not a patch on the campsite facilities)

The site is well placed for visits to Cognac, Saintes, Royan and for the Dordogne. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mummsie 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely peaceful site. The owner is English and very friendly and helpful. Our stay was only going to be for one week but we ended up staying at this lovely site for four weeks. There are many beautiful places around and about and if you want the sea it is only 45 mins away.Would recommend this site to anyone who wants a nice quiet holiday without all the hustle and bustle that some sites seem to have. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wombling2007 1 review from this member

 Visited this site from late July and ended up staying until the beginning of September!

If you are looking to recharge your batteries in the heart of the Southern French Countryside then look no further.The site is nestled in between pretty villages, fields of sunflowers and lots of carefully tended farms with endless Grapevines.The site itself is just minutes from the prettytown of Montguyon with its good mixture of eateries,bars,banks(cash machines) and also2 supermarkets(1 netto-great)Its easily accessible from the N10 road and only 10 mins from the dordogne area).The English owners are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them at all.

The site is lovely and quiet and is safe and secure for children to play (has sandpit and playarea/swings)as there is a security barrier and no through road,which I found very reassuring,especially if you have little ones. The pitches are a very good size compared to English sites and French ones as well, with most being shaded by mature trees, perfect for all those hot summer days(no steaming hot van!) The shower block/toilets/wash area is modern and immaculate, also has a laundry room with new washing machines and ironing facilities.Big bonus with messy kids on there hols!(yes Ive got 2).

My daughter spent some of her time fishing on the lake there, plus bike rides (bike hire available) and feeding the shetland horses there and the ducks and pygmy goats (all very cute and loveable) Lake Beauvallon is minutes round the corner and has lovely sandy beaches good food and pedalo/boat hire, with wooden playhouses for the smaller children and plenty shaded areas also.Fantastic weekly local markets (day and night) were you can eat drink be merry and buy the gorgeously fresh local produce.

Lots of places close by to visit (either free or very little cost) including local museum, Roman ruins, Castle, horseriding, many swimming lakes (some with jet skiing and quad bikes)some cheap clothes / shoes / fancy goods larger stores on a retail park a shortcar ride away near jonzac for a bit of retail therapy if needed. We actually didnt want to leave to go home we felt so relaxed there, a general opinion shared by other campers who we spoke to as most were repeat customers or intended going back again for some more peace and chill out.Super to see the owners working in support of and in harmony with nature in their plans .Cant wait to visit again and de-stress!(and leave our caravan there) 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Motte child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Motte?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camping La Motte dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Le Fouilloux      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3168 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement