Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cwmsaeson Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberaeron > Cwmsaeson Caravan Park Reviews

Cwmsaeson Caravan Park
Oakford
Aberaeron
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA47 0RY
Tel: 01545581067  or  07970 384502
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Col60 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic little site, lovely views, very well kept, shower and toilet block keep clean.

Quite tight lanes, but doable, not far from the town is Aberaeron and beaches.

The warden was friendly and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chappies43 39 reviews from this member

 What a find Cwmsaeson is, a little gem set on a large sheep farm in the Welsh countryside but close to the seaside towns of Aberaeron and New Quay.

The approach is a little hairy with a 1 Ĺ mile virtually single-track road but it is fine if you take it steady and there are plenty of passing places. The best route we found was to ignore the sat-nav and go as follows:- approaching from the North on the A487 drive all the way through Aberaeron, continue on the A487 up the hill where you will pass a car dealership on your right. Continue on the main road and when you see a sign that you are in Llwyncelyn you will go past a petrol station on the right. Take the next left turn signposted Oakford/Derwen-Gam.

You will go through a small housing estate which leads to a winding road which you should continue along for around 1 Ĺ miles until you reach a T junction with a telephone box opposite. Turn left and the site is on your left in a few hundred yards (you will see a red milk churn marking the entrance).

On arrival, Mr Chappies was greeted by the friendly owner, farmer Wyn, who was clipping the feet of his flock of sheep Ė not a sight weíve ever come across on Caravan Club sites! We had the choice of 3 hardstanding pitches as the remaining 23 pitches were all taken by seasonal caravanners but the most that were occupied at any one time was around 7 units.

Our chosen pitch was very long and wide enough for the caravan and awning with the car across the front and a decent patch of grass to the side. All pitches have EHU, their own water tap and waste which effectively makes them service pitches and all for £20 per night (plus £1 per night for the awning and £1 per night for the dog).

There are also a few grass pitches with EHU but these were largely unoccupied during our stay. There is a large field where you can exercise dogs (off the lead whenever the sheep arenít grazing Ė the farmer rotates which fields theyíre in) with a beautiful lake at the bottom.

The facilities block is spotlessly clean with 2 showers and 2 toilets each for male and females plus an additional disabled suite with a toilet, basin and shower and a washing up area. The showers are the push button, fixed head type which are powerful with plentiful hot water and the disabled shower is similar but the head does take down.

There are lots of rubbish bins with recycling organised well plus a dog waste bin. TV reception is excellent and the mobile phone signals on Virgin and ID were ok but could be a bit patchy at times. Nothing really for children but not unwelcoming to them either.

There isnít anything in the village of Oakford but it is a short pleasant stroll in an evening to stretch your legs. There isn't a footpath for some of the way though but the road is reasonably quiet.

The area itself is lovely and itís only a short drive to Aberaeron which is a nice little seaside town with a well-stocked Costcutter store and a few good takeaways; Llond Plat on the main road for very tasty fish and chips and Paradise Pizza for good pizzas and kebabs on Regent Street (just down the side road near Llond Plat).

There is a nice coastal walk to nearby Aberarth which is about a mile away and you can continue to Llannon which is several miles more; nothing much really at either place when you get there but it offers a good opportunity for some off-lead time for your four-legged friend.

New Quay is a wonderful little place where bottlenose dolphins can almost always be spotted from the harbour walls. Lots of takeaways/cafes, pubs, ice cream shops and the usual seaside gift shops and there is a nice beach with safe swimming in the sea.

There are lots of beaches in the area; Mwnt, Penbryn, Llangrannog and Tresaith are all well worth a visit but the roads can be very narrow in parts so would be difficult with a motorhome. Be aware that dogs arenít allowed on the beach at Mwnt but most of the others have dog-friendly areas. Further afield are Cardigan and Fishguard to the south and Aberystwth to the north, again nice for a couple of hours.

Our visit to Cwmsaeson was a last-minute alternative due to the COVID-19 cancellation of another site booking and we thought it was totally fantastic.

The seasonal campers were all really welcoming and felt like friends by the time we left.

The farmer and owner, Wyn, is a terrific bloke who is ever-present but not at all interfering. He gets on with running his sheep farm but always makes time for a friendly chat as he passes through and gave us lots of great tips on good places to visit. We didnít see much of his wife, Elin, but she dealt with our booking efficiently and was equally friendly when we did see her.

This is a complete gem of a site with a laid-back and totally relaxing vibe where the only noise was from sheep baa-ing occasionally in the day and snoring (yes, snoring!) at night.

We hope to visit again soon, it's just a pity itís such a long way from home. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Carjay 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely, peaceful site in countryside surroundings.

Mostly sited tourers but the regulars were very friendly and helpful to us newcomers as were the owners

Spotless facilities ( leave your shoes outside shower cubicle though as force of water is very powerful).

Ideal spot for visiting New Quay, Aberaeron etc.

This is definitely one to add to our list of go to sites 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dic Deryn 1 review from this member

 Last minute decision to go away in our Peninne Pullman for the first time. Owner was very accommodating and helpful. Regular tourers at the site were very chatty adding to the experience

Really friendly Campsite, with modern facilities, that were very clean. Within easy reach of Aberaeron, Aberporth and Aberteifi. Weather could have been kinder but hey ho  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Crapple 30 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site before in May 2009 (see previous review!) and the site is still as immaculately maintained, still as perfect for dogs and obviously still in a beautiful location, convenient for Aberaeron and the surrounding area.

My only slight negative comments would be that 2 years ago we paid £17/night, on this stay we paid £23/night - I know it was in the summer holidays but I still think it's at the top end of the price range.

Also, I don't know if they've changed the timer on the toilet block lights but be warned, you have to shower really quickly before the lights go off! I went for a shower, didn't hang around, but because no one else walked into the area to re-activate the lights I was plunged into darkness just as I was finishing my shower!

There are no windows or any natural light in the block, so I was left literally dripping wet in the pitch dark! Seeing as you pay what I could consider to be top rate for this site I'd expect the lights to stay on a bit longer in the toilet block!

Apart from that, I love this site, the owner is delightful and friendly (I'll never forget the great story he told me about the sheep farmer on the QE2!), and we love this area. We'd be more than happy to stay there again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MARIAGER 4 reviews from this member

 Wonderfully kept site and really friendly local owners. The toilet block and washing up area cannot be faulted and really were kept spotless at all times. The owners could be seen walking around ensuring everyone on site were happy and they were full of suggestions and recommendations of places to visit with the kids in the rain!

There was no playground but that was actually quite good as our 5 year old learnt to cycle instead! Owner also suggested we used an empty field for kite flying which went down well with the little ones. Flat site with easy access and well maintained flower beds etc. Lots of bird tables, picnic benches, lighting and recycling area.

Busy but peaceful site when we visited and many had 'seasonal pitches'. About 10/15 mins to either Aberaeron or New Quay. Llangrannog and Tresaith beaches a must. Visit 'Llond Plat' for fish and chips in Aberaeron and 'Hive on the Quay' for honey ice cream. Aberaeron swimming pool worth a visit on a rainy day and they have a 'kids fun hour' during the school holidays.

Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camperfan1968 6 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site - received a warm welcome from the owner when we arrived and he said we could choose where we parked. Chose a lovely spot with open views. All pitches have electric hookup. It was a quiet site and very well kept.

The toilets and showers were immaculate with an indoor dish washing area. Lights come on automatically when you enter and showers lovely and hot.

Bird tables and lighting all around.

Overall - excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to go there again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Crapple 30 reviews from this member

 We turned up at this site not having booked in advance and were met by the very friendly owner. The site is immaculately maintained, and we had a hardstanding pitch with electric hook up, the vast majority of pitches for vans and caravans are hard standing, and generally really level.

We have 3 small dogs that travel with us and were delighted to find not only that having that number of dogs was not a problem, but that there is a huge field right next to where we were pitched for the dogs to run in - absolutely ideal.

The toilet and shower block looks brand new and is immaculate - the lights turn on like magic as you walk in! The showers worked really well, non adjustable temperature but a good consistent comfortable temperature.

The campsite is in a beautiful location, only 5 minutes drive from Aberaeron, a really pretty small town with an excellent fish and chip restaurant. We had the thrill of seeing dolphins in the sea, the whole area has lots of interesting places to visit and beautiful scenery.

We wouldn't hesitate to return to this site, it is definitely one of the best we've visited, and the price was definitely reasonable for the quality of pitch and facilities - we paid £17 per night for electric hook up for motor home with 2 adults and 3 dogs. I couldn't fault this site for quality or location, it's excellent.

Oh, and unlike many campsites it had recycling bins, which is, sadly, all too rare, even on so called David Bellamy Gold Award sites! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ianpodge 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this camp site for 10 nights, fantastic camp site, showers and toilets 100% clean. Owners very friendly and helpful, would go back there again. Only downfall was the weather.
All pitches have hook ups, we were on a grass pitch which suited us better with the trailer tent, there are also hard standing pitches. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shataxi 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site from 12th July 2008 for a week.
A lovely clean tidy site. Pitches are spacious. Toilets and showers are 100% spotless all the time. Owners very friendly and always had time to chat. Shame its so far from us or we would be there most weekends! but we will certainly stay again. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwmsaeson Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwmsaeson Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cwmsaeson Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aberaeron      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2299 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement