Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Swallow Hall Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > Swallow Hall Caravan Site > Reviews

Swallow Hall Caravan Site
Crockey Hill
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 4SG
Tel: 01904 448889
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note the owners of this site have advised they no longer take tents. They now have pitches for caravans and motorhomes only. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Booboo67 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely peaceful site. Basic facilities but showers clean and hot water. Easy drive to York or wider. Perfect stop through site.

Will use again. Thankyou 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Cookiekid 61 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from this laid back, relaxing campsite.

We went for my brothers 60th birthday. 26 of us at one point during the weekend.

The pitches are very spacious. Christine was very accommodating allowing us all to camp together.

The site has some lovely woodland walks.

Plenty of bird song can be heard around the site.

The shower/toilet block is adequate, 2 toilets, 2 showers in ladies block. There is a one sink pot wash area, which again was adequate.

We will be back, love the area. Thanks again. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 51 reviews from this member

 Yet another trip here, this time as our first time out in our newly acquired caravan [all our previous trips done in our Trailer Tent]. We deliberately chose this site as we know it well and it was my first trip towing a caravan.

I cant really say anything new about the site other than that it is still the same high standard it always has been [see my earlier reviews].

I think the menu has been improved somewhat at the nearby Golf Club Clubhouse, but I only noticed the menu cards pinned outside the toilets when we were leaving, the prices looked very reasonable.

It was pleasant to be there [midweek, with the kids all at school]. There were only three other occupied caravans on the site. [I stress 'occupied' because the owners seem to do a lot of 'storage' with Touring 'Vans]

Caravan price was 16 per night [midweek], including electric hook-up. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Cookiekid 61 reviews from this member

 We have just enjoyed a lovely nights stay at this lovely site. The grounds are very well kept, grass nice and short. The hedges which form the bays are well trimmed.

The toilet/shower block were ok, there was an indoor wash up area but only one sink.

We met up with family members and booked into the on-site restaurant. We didn't know what to expect as we'd not been before. The menu is good, we chose starters and mains. Very reasonably priced and well cooked and presented. We picked up a 25% off voucher, that was a bonus.

We paid for our pitch Sunday morning, very fair at 16. 00 per night inc electric. Hope to return again next season. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rjholt 1 review from this member

 Fabulous little site with very friendly owners. Handy for York and there is even a bus (18) which stops outside the door.

We rang after the previous site we had booked had closed down with no notification and the owner could not have been more accommodating.

Toilet block is a little dated but with hot water and sufficient facilities. It was clean on our visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 51 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a couple of days here. We have known of this site for a good few years now, but I was'nt aware that it was featured on this website.

We have always found the site to be quiet and have clean well maintained toilets, the grass is always cut short and the pitches are mainly secluded and 'private'. And this year the owner greeted us with a friendly 'Hello, I recognise you two'.

This year we took our 3 yo grand-daughter with us, and we were quite confidant in letting her play happily around the site as very little 'traffic' uses the far end of the field. As a previous reviewer mentions, there are no arcade games, so children making their own entertainment has got to be a good thing[in our view].

The adjoining woods are great for walking our dog in and the nearby Golf Club bar serves good sandwiches at lunch time.

If eating out or 'pub lunches' is your thing I would highly recommend the 'Blacksmiths Arms' at Naburn, its near to the river, serves good food and is dog friendly [even to providing 'doggy treats' for your little four legged friend].

It was a red hot day as we were 'decamping' and it was hard work clearing our tent away, but there was no pressure from the owner to be clear of the pitch by a certain time as a lot of sites do [although, to be fair, it was midweek]

Other things to do???

Take Riverbus from nearby Naburn Lock into York [it leaves Naburn at 9. 30 am and departs from Kings Staith at 4. 30pm arriving back at Naburn for around 5. 30pm]. Although it would be a good idea to check that it is operating during weekdays. [car parking is free at Naburn Lock btw. Use the River Authority carpark]

The Air Museum at nearby Elvington is well worth a visit.

The attractions of York are numerous. Personally speaking, the Railway Museum is my favourite.

If 'Retail Therapy' is your thing. The nearby 'McCarthy Glen' Retail outlet has some good shops. And cheap too. The town of Selby is'nt too far away either, and offers easy parking and some nice shops & pubs [recommended is 'Mr C's Fish & Chip Restuarant' in the square].

We would class this site as one of our favourites, and we'll certainly be visiting it many more times in the future.

T+L 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Markomarie 2 reviews from this member

 One word for this site beautiful!

If your looking to relax in beautiful peaceful scenery then this is the place. We have been here a couple of times with the children (both 6), there is no park but the surroundings more than make up for that, the pitches are huge, the walks are fantastic, the scenery is beautiful, the kids are free to be kids, climbing trees, playing ball, riding bikes it's fantastic and still so quiet. The shower blocks are clean and well maintained, there are ample recycling facility's it's great. For a site that has very little there is so much to do! 10 out of 10 for us. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Xenial 17 reviews from this member

 Dirty Toilets, Showers and Single Pot Wash Sink that were not cleaned on arrival or until leaving two days later.

As the female owner was on holiday when we tried to book we weren't sure whether we would get electric or not and it was suggested that if not we could share with our friends.

When the owner did come on site she wasn't pleased as she didn't like people on the site she didn't know. She wasn't keen on Townies as they didn't understand the effects of water tables, even though two units out of our three booked through her!

We knew the ground was wet but wasn't concerned. However, the site was very nice, nice secluded pitches, a good size and great walking in woods. It is at the back of a golf course/club house. Our main complaints were about the poor level of cleanliness and the poor attitude of the owner. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ra gilmartin 2 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from staying at Swallow hall, upon arrival you drive past the club house on the left follow the path to the left & in front is the site. We were greeted by Jonathan who showed us where we could pitch our tent he gave us a choice of locations, we chose a pitch between some trees and backing onto the forest which was well sheltered. The site is mostly caravans but tents are welcome.

There is a toilet block with two showers in each which there is no charge, there is a pot washing facility currently being built and will be finished by Easter. The golf club house serves food if you don't feel like cooking except on a Sunday evening. There is a lovely forest to go for walks in. Fancy a trip into York turn right out of the site to the traffic lights turn right & keep on the A19 to the next roundabout & park at the outlet village to use the park & ride facility. It cost us 4.60 return for two adults, children are free.

Christine & John couldn't do enough for you they are very welcoming. Looking forward to going back 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Swallow Hall Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Swallow Hall Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Swallow Hall Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3222 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement