Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Barleylands

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Billericay > Barleylands Reviews

Barleylands
Barleylands Road
Billericay
Essex   (Browse area)
CM11 2UD
Tel: 01268 290223
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 19 Reviews
                7/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Saeldo 1 review from this member

Not sure whether 9 and 10 year olds are classed as young or older children!

I took my son and nephew to camp for a few days at Barleylands - we stayed for 4 nights, including paying for one as "Stay and Play" so we got two days entry to the farm park as well as a night's camping.

The campsite is very reasonably priced, and very basic which suited us perfectly. It was the first time the boys had camped at a site without a washing-up area and they enjoyed the novelty of washing up with the bowl on the grass! Toilets and showers were very clean, although I saw very few people even using them. A couple of minor problems I mentioned to Lynn Cooper in Reception, who was very helpful, and they were sorted the next day.

Although very close to the Farm Park and Craft Village, the campsite feels like another world. There's a fair bit of distant noise from a busy road and some machinery somewhere, but the actual site is very quiet and I found it easy to "zone out" from the distant noise.

We spent a lovely couple of evenings going for walks around the fields and horse paddocks, and although the stream was pretty overgrown, the boys found their way into it and spent a lot of time playing in it! I think the one thing that would have made our stay easier was a freezer to put ice-packs in as we don't use electric hook-up.

When we fancied a meal out one evening, a couple of pub/restaurants were suggested to us, but were to be honest, a bit out of our price range. We discovered the Coach and Horses in Billericay which was far better suited - very friendly and food was amazing. (Not for children under 10 - we sat in the courtyard).

The boys, although probably at the top end age-wise suited to the farm park, had an amazing time. They enjoyed the wacky races, birds of prey display, feeding lambs and buying bags of food to feed sheep, goats and alpacas with. The only thing I would say is possibly ask beforehand if there are any large groups booked when you intend to day as we spent our first day at the farm park trying to avoid the hoardes of small children! The play areas are also amazing.

Overall we had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend Barleylands.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JamesShoebottom 1 review from this member

Great campsite. Was recommended by a work colleague you lives nearby. Great value for money and significantly cheaper than pretty much all the campsites in the Enfield / Hertfordshire area.

Nice new toilet / shower block, lots of space for the tent, the place was quiet and very picturesque. Will definitely come back again. Also shout out for Lynn Cooper for all her help in booking this.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeffgame 26 reviews from this member

This is a large site, a big field with hook-up's around the edge. Grounds often used for events, there is no separation between pitches. The grass at our location had not been cut recently.

There was a nice shower/toilet unit on our side of the field. Barleylands has a large craft centre and artisan units. There is a children's animal park and railway. Also a Hawk and Owl centre. There's a good cafe and restaurant.

The 100 bus from the entrance goes to Basildon/Lakeside one way and Bilericay/Chelmsford the other. There is a lot going on here and the campsite is not the main feature.

Handy site if you want to visit the local area.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moniquesapla 2 reviews from this member

Stated here for the second time now, last time was August last year. Really great, clean facilities with everything in perfect working order, plenty of space, and nice and quiet.

Only negative is location, without a car you're a bit stuck as there isn't much around. The Barleylands farm village is great for kids though.

Would definitely stay again!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zeryx 13 reviews from this member

We spent 7 nights here with a large organised group. Barleylands very ably accommodated the hundreds of camping pitches required, brought in some really good temporary facilities. Nice and quiet area without lots of noise from the road.

A really good base for exploring Essex and easy to get into London. There's a great farm shop that sells really well priced items which is very refreshing when camping.

The only problem was that about two weeks before we were due there the UK paintball championships had been held there and hadn't cleared up after themselves.

The owners hadn't cleaned up either so our organisers ended up spending a lot of time trying to clean them up. Despite their efforts there was still a lot of mess about which we had to be careful of.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moniquesapla 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for two nights on the 15th & 16th August, and overall really enjoyed my stay. I was camping to be closer to the Dirty Dozen event taking place that weekend and it was definitely very convenient.

I was impressed with the facilities - the showers were clean and in perfect working order, as were the toilets.

There was plenty of space to camp, and lots of surrounding land to go for a nice walk. Although it is close to the road it was very quiet at night and fellow campers didn't cause any problems.

The only problem I had was that people participating in the event came to use the showers which other people had left open, even though they weren't camping there.

We also visited a local pub (Noak Bridge previously Prince of Wales) which was lovely - I can recommend the scampi and chips, and their Guinness!

Will definitely be staying here again!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: BadBoyBushy 15 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend and we were not over impressed.

It's fine for the money, but as per previous reviews we too had problems with incorrect gate and shower room codes.

The 'traveller encampment' is still there and could possibly be intimidating to some, but I understand these are actually farm employees who live there.

Facilities aren't great, but okay for the money.

Hookup is only about 8amp so we had to be careful we didn't keep tripping the supply when using hot plate, tv, and water heater.

The one complaint I have about the site is unfortunately out of the sites hands. Opposite the site is the local council depot and recycling centre. The dustcarts start early, and at night there are big flood lights on the council depot which illuminate the camp site too.

Excellent TV and mobile reception.

The craft centre (free entry) and farm park are excellent, and even better value for money if you book on-line the day before as you will save 20%

Unfortunately, I doubt we will return, mainly due to poor facilities, tender power supply, and that horrible light pollution from across the road.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Homers 3 reviews from this member

Was a bit disappointed with this site given the earlier reviews.

When we got there we couldn't find the camping site because the sign was not very obvious. After a phone call to Barleylands craft reception, we found it, but didn't know where to pitch, so another phone call.

There was a permanent-looking traveller encampment near the entrance and toilet portable cabin, which was a bit off putting.

We pitched and camped, and it was ok. The facilities were very basic. There were security gates which neither the booking lady nor the reception lady had mentioned, and we couldn't get off the site at 7pm because we didn't know the codes! The travellers on the site told us the numbers.

I guess I'm just used to something a little more refined!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matthewfranks 3 reviews from this member

We chose this campsite because of it's very cheap rates so we weren't expecting anything special.

The site is very easy to get to and Barleylands, with it's farm park and Craft village, is signposted from all of the main roads. It is also close to Basildon with it's town centre and numerous choice of supermarkets.

We managed to drive into Stratford within about 25 minutes and visited the Westfield Mall and caught the tube from there into central London.

The site itself is basically a few large fields and you can chose where to pitch. Loads of space for the children to play and run around.

We only have 2 gripes with the site.

Whilst it is good to have security gates to both entrances, to prevent access to anybody but people staying there when the public areas are closed, we were given out-of-date security numbers and were unable to get into the site after coming back after closure. We did manage to get in thanks to someone else coming out a little later and were given the current numbers the following morning.

The only other problem was that there was only one toilet on the campsite itself which was shared with a shower. If someone was in the shower you couldn't access that toilet and it was about a 10 minute walk up to the shared toilets with the craft village.

This is in no way ideal with young children who never let you know when they need to go until just before! After raising it with a staff member a further 2 toilets, adjacent to the first, were opened up.

Bearing in mind there were only a maximum of 4 tents and 8 caravans when we were there, one toilet/shower is in no way enough. The wash basin was only a small washhand basin with no sink and very little space in which to wash. It is also not particularly nice washing at the sinks in the public toilets with visitors to the attraction coming and going. There is also only hot water taps in these toilets. Not very pleasant when washing teeth!

If a decent toilet/washroom block was built on the site, I would definitely rate this site higher.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bluezzberry 2 reviews from this member

We chose this site, as we were going to Southend On Sea for the Airshow, We arrived and found the tenting field very easily, After we pitched up we took a walk to the toilets, we were given a code, Well. It was in a porter cabin, and it is just one bathroom with a toilet and shower, which means that if you are in the shower, nobody else can use the toilet! one toilet for the whole site! And it wasn't even clean, we stayed 3 days and in that time never saw anyone clean it, It had mold and lots of spiders everywhere, which meant getting the kids to use it wasn't easy! They do have toilets in the Barleylands center itself, but these are only open during the day and it's quite a walk esp with kids dying for the loo, We also didn't feel very safe there at the weekends, as there were football matches on the fields next to the tenting field, which means you have all sorts of people walking around who aren't your fellow campers, so be careful with your personal belongings. We really felt let down by the lack of facilities and it really needs sorting! We wont be going back.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Billericay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5504 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019