Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Cerenety Eco Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Cerenety Eco Campsite Reviews

Cerenety Eco Campsite
Lynstone Lane
Upton
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 0LR
Tel: 01288 356778  or  07429 016962
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 6
Open: April To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
                7/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billy42 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite end of may / early June and were fortunate to enjoy a week of sunshine (2 adults and a 13 YO Girl).

The site location is ideal for holidaying in Bude - a 20 min walk down the canal or a 15 min walk down the road to town. Summerleaze beach was lovely. 'Life's a beach' is a restaurant on the beach well worth visiting for fantastic burgers.

We had a meal in the falcon inn which was also lovely and only a 15 min walk from the campsite.

The site itself was pleasant and clean - there are chickens, goats, llamas, a herb garden, veg patch where you can pick your own (all payments via an honesty box).

The toilets are not to everyones taste. My daughter and wife couldn't get their heads around the fact that its basically a bucket in which you throw sawdust over your deposits! In fact they ended up using the toilet block at another campsite over the road. I managed to get my head round it and eventually got used to it. There are also only 3 toilets which I thought was inadequate for the number of people on site.

The showers are heated via solar panel so don't expect hot water until around 4. 00pm in the afternoon. The showers were fine though when hot. There are only 2 showers which once again was inadequate.

The camping fields are not mowed in the middle which makes playing games a little awkward.

You can have campfires on site and wood is bought from reception.

There are 2 fishing ponds adjacent to the site which you can use for £5 per rod- once again you pay via an honesty box.

There is a small caravan café on site that serves crepes and cups of tea and coffee between 8. 30am and 10. 30am. Very reasonably priced.

The staff were very friendly and were constantly cleaning the toilet block etc.

All in all, we enjoyed our week at cerenity but due to the toilet situation, probably wouldn't return. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suethebike 5 reviews from this member

 I did not enjoy my 2 nights on this site. The fields are sloping and the few flatter areas were already in use. I found a flattish spot in a corner of a field, but the grass was 9 inches long and the ground was lumpy - very uncomfortable for sleeping. There was dog mess on the grass nearby.

The site was busy and the solar water heating totally inadequate. In the 2 days I stayed the water was always cold in the showers and basins. The 'composting toilets' are only buckets that the site staff/volunteers had to keep emptying; they were not proper purpose-built composting toilets.

The showers and toilets needed a good clean.

I would not recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coco-douglas 1 review from this member

 We decided to camp on the Cerenety Eco Campsite as it was part of the Daily Mirror 99p camping offer and we were intrigued to see what it would be like to stay on an Eco campsite. The location seemed great and we wanted to go to Cornwall so Bude was a good choice.

First things first - the weather! The weather was beautiful and opened up our first eco experience! It meant that camping was a joy and not a soggy effort!

The people that run the campsite (mother, sister and daughter) were incredibly friendly and hospitable and we felt very welcomed-they also gave us insight into the local area and as a result we were able to experience one of the most beautiful bays in North Cornwall - Bossiney Bay, an unspoilt amazing bay with beautiful sands and crystal clear water.

Because we camped out of season, the campsite was fairly empty but we still had neighbours around us and everybody enjoyed their camp fires at night!(£2 for a big bag of fire wood).

The owners encouraged us to feed the farm animals and take anything we wanted from the veg patch, which was a very generous offer (although we didn't). The hens also provided eggs which could be purchased.

The solar thermal showers always provided constant warm water due in part to excellent weather and also few campers, and although the composting toilets took a little getting used to, they were kind of fun too!

The campsite is well located, just outside of Bude, close both to a cycle path and a pedestrian path that lead you to Bude by a beautiful canal. It is also about half a mile from the sea, so we did some lovely walks in the area.

The only down side to our stay was that we thought that we would be camping for 99p a night (as we had vouchers from the Daily Mirror) and the site cost us about 8-9 quid a night, but we had such a fantastic time that this became a non- issue.

All in all, a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone seeking a bit of peace and a return to nature. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D Scott 1 review from this member

 I was looking for a campsite that operated out of season as was travelling south from Bristol and Minehead. The word 'Eco' caught my eye as sustainability is one of the great attractions for me when it comes to holidays - but not having been on an 'eco campsite' I was not really sure what to expect.

Good: The owners were very welcoming and helpful in choosing a pitch that would shelter me from the strong winds. It was a very relaxed and no-fuss atmosphere which is PERFECT for my intended stay (to escape work-related stress and over-consumption!)

'Cerenety' is in a fantastic location for exploring the coast, the canal, (15 min walk into Bude)and the wetland nature reserves. My bicycle was used extensively as there is the cycle path literally down the lane.

The toilet and shower facilities were clean and dry. The 'eco' bit comes in the shape of solar-powered hot water (fine when it's sunny, cooler when not, cold if everyone goes crazy for 10 minute showers after dark - have some sense campers!) I boiled water in the Ghillie Kettle for washing up to save hot water for the shower. I quickly learned the 'rhythms' of the sun and the energy harvested. They told me there is a shelter planned where there will be wifi and cafe tables - this would be welcome with April showers!

The toilets are 'compost' toilets which here is a regular toilet seat built over a container which holds sawdust and your business. You simply sprinkle a handful of sawdust after you go. They were emptied for composting regularly. I have no complaints other than some campers feel the need to fill up the 'pee' bucket and not use sawdust. Just use the hedgerow at night gentlemen!

I really enjoyed seeing the animals on the same site (in neighbouring fields) who are mostly adopted/rescued. The owners let me participate in feeding time, which was a bonus!

In summary I found that Cerenety Eco Camping is something VERY special in this day and age. I learned about conserving water and energy, wildlife pond, composting, filtration etc - and also got to relax to the max! Everything is on the doorstep, so will be bringing the family back here as can walk and cycle into town on level ground.

I sat around an open campfire ( a real one!) with a really cool Brummie family as we all told stories well into the night. The stars look really bright here too, even with the Bude town-lights not too far away.

Although there is not a 'shop' I got a massive bacon buttie and fresh coffee for a couple of quid.

All in all I was very happy to stay at Cerenety.

I think more displayed instructions for less thoughtful campers would be of help to keep the hot water topped up, but that is a minor quibble for such a special camping experience. I'll be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: X3LOWX 2 reviews from this member

 It is important to state that this campsite is NOT a run of the mill all mod cons campsite, it is something much more special :) this place is a little piece of luxury wild camping, in the safe surroundings and communal atmosphere of cerenety. In regards to the site, the location is fantastic, the view is absolutely stunning, showing hills and animals etc. It is merely a ten minute walk down the canal to the town and beaches (a beautiful walk!). I wouldn't recommend walking back in the dark, as either by road or canal its quite dangerous (not lit) but if you do, take some torches. The owner also offered to pick us up if we got a bit tipsy in town on an evening (which was lovely of her!) The site has lots of facilities including a little shop (shed) which has a few tins in, some body boards, a wind break, and a few other bits if you want to borrow them. The site has a shower and toilet block central too it which is wooden and has pictures inside painted by previous visitors which I thought was lovely. The toilets you fill with sawdust when you have done (take some loo roll as sometimes people have used it up before the owner has chance to replace it!) there is running water and the showers are only hot when they have had about an hour of sunlight in the day (cos they are solar showers!) this wasn't a down side for us as, you rely on nature and part of the experience is roughing it a little bit (in a good way!). Also on the site is a little veg patch where you can pick your own veg, this was a big positive for us, we picked beans, strawberries, beetroot, squash, courgette, artichoke. As much as I can write about whats actually on this site, I cant quite explain how special this place is, its truly a little gem. The owners are so lovely, and really do go out of their way for you, (ie we mentioned we were going to do a beach bbq and they offered us to use the beach hut they have). The whole vibe of the place is so friendly, its so easy to say hi to your neighbour or other people on the site and at night when you make up your camp fire (yes the biggest bestest thing was making a camp fire!) you know everyone is enjoying the same experience and its so lovely sitting there all warm from a camp fire under the clearest skies. (we even saw shooting stars a few times). So to sum it up, no you arent in luxury here, but that is not the idea of this campsite, the idea is to get back to nature and muck in a bit, and if you do, you really reep the rewards. Staying here was cleansing for us, and we have already made plans to go back. X 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BuzzBee505 4 reviews from this member

 What a fab site!

I had spent the week in Norfolk the week before with all the gang and was looking forward to a good 5 days rest with my buddy and our two dogs.

Well it was great - once we parked up the car we didn't need to use it again in the whole 5 days.

Bude town which is pretty and great little shops - and a FAB pasty shop - is only a pleasant walk down the canal.

The beach and shops and pubs are all there too - we discovered a Sainsburys so that we could get our wine and evening meal each day on the way home, so no trying to store fresh food in a hot tent.

Rained lots but cleared by midday, which you could see clearly due to the views - you could see the clouds lifting, literally.

The animals on site were sweet - definitely kept the others kids busy, and the owners supplied us logs and wood to make bonfires to sit round in the evening when the temperature dropped.

Showers were a bit iffy, but for the good of the planet were doable, toilets were not as smelly as I dreaded, apart from the time the kids put ALL the toilet paper and sawdust down the loo and blocked it - but the owners were straight onto it and even drew a picture notice saying too much paper and sawdust makes the toilet sad and poorly.

Loved the fact she also had all the recylcing bins organised - and that they were emptied regularly - its a big tick in my box.

Bit pricy if there is a big group of you as its charged per person AND tent - but for the two of us it was money worth while especially as the day we walked the cliffs across the road and walked by the commercial site - it was SO noisy and cramped in. We love Cerenity! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swads1971 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week in August with another family. The campsite is beautifully located on a hill with lovely countryside views. There is a really nice 20 minute canal side walk into Bude just down the road.

The fields are on a slope but not too steep.

The farm dog was lovely and spent hours playing fetch with the kids

Bude itself is a small town that has everything you need including a great beach and a tidal swimming pool.

The negative aspects of the camp site are:

The composting toilets weren't emptied often enough; even with only a few tents during the week the toilets were allowed to nearly fill before emptying.

The solar showers were not terribly efficient only giving hot water on very sunny days and no locks on the shower doors.

We had to ask for the free firewood and when it arrived it was bits of an old door (with paint and nails) and some chipboard.

There was what looked to be an attempt at a children's play area in the top corner which would have been great but it was overgrown with thistles.

Overall we had a nice stay but the site felt a little unloved and overpriced 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CM15campers 2 reviews from this member

 I have to agree with some of the previous review. Eco does not mean facilities have to be dirty and not cleaned.

The website was very recently changed and no longer states that they have 'oodles' of hot water available. The reality is that when overcast there is no hot water (showers or taps). Ensure that you have antibacterial gel or similar particularly if you have kids. There is also no opportunity to recycle anything, black bags are piled up by the toilets.

Cost wise I would suggest that you are paying for the privilege of back to basics camping which cannot be right.

Plus points; location is very quiet and peaceful and the surrounding area by the canal is lovely. Having animals nearby for kids is nice also.

North Cornwall is beautiful but I moved on from this campsite after a few days to stay nearby. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LIZ 63 3 reviews from this member

 Sorry to say we were very disappointed. For twenty pounds a night we were expecting a little piece of eco paradise.

What we got was dirty showers and toilets with graffiti on the walls, cobwebs and showers that flooded the floor when you turned them on and shower trays that didn't drain away.

The sanitary bin had no liner. Considering it was suppose to be eco friendly there was no sign of any recylcing bins of any kind.

However the site was quiet, and the walk to Bude pleasant along the canal.  


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Apple1 1 review from this member

 Cerenety Eco Camp did not live up to our expectations.

The web site promised 'tame sheep, alpacas, ponies, chickens and rabbits'. We thought it would be worth paying what we though was a premium price of £32 per night (for tent, car, 2 adults, 1 yr old and 3 yr old)as a treat for the children.

When we arrived and eventually found the animals, we were told that the insurance only covered the camping field and not where the animals were, so to be careful of the numerous electrical fences and a non-child friendly dog who has lost its muzzle! The cages many of the small animals were in were not great.

The facilities were fine, if you timed it right you could usually get a warm shower (although the site was quiet) and kids thought composing loos great fun.

Plenty of space for the children to run and lovely to be able to sit around a camp fire at night but no sign of the free wood promised.

Had a great time but felt it over priced for what was just very basic camping. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cerenety Eco Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cerenety Eco Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cerenety Eco Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4508 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements