Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Renvyle Beach Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Co Galway > Renvyle Beach Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Renvyle Beach Caravan And Camping Park
Renvyle
Connemara
Co Galway
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 00353 95 43462
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SamandRose 25 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from 5 nights stay here. What can we say other than that we really, really, really, really loved it.

The beach which the site is immediately adjacent is surely one of the most beautiful in the British Isles. It's close enough that you can step barefoot out of your caravan/tent/motorhome and walk across the grass onto the sand. Watch a spectacular evening sunset (weather permitting, obviously) and then drift off to sleep listening to the sound of the waves.

But whilst you feel like your close to nature, you don't have to 'wild camp' if you don't want to. The facilities are clean and modern. There are plenty of electric hook-up points and free wifi, which mostly works. That is not a criticism. The wifi also mostly works in my house. There are even about 15 hardstanding pitches, albeit quite closely spaced and seemingly geared towards motorhomes. Best if you can to pitch up on the grass, closer to the beach and with better views.

There are a few niggles. I think having token-operated showers (1 euro per 5 minutes) is frankly a bit mean - the nightly fees aren't particularly cheap. I really wish that the token slots were inside rather than outside the shower cubicles. And I don't understand why the waste water disposal point is halfway up the hill towards the site entrance and far higher than either the washblock or the chemical waste disposal point.

However, these are things you can live with. And you should. Yes, the site is remote (there's a nice shop with lovely fresh bread and ice creams in the village of Tully, about 15 minutes walk away, but everything else is in driving rather than walking distance), and yes the drive out of it is 'get into first gear and hope you don't meet anyone coming the other way' steep, but that's part of the charm of being on the west coast of Ireland. We hope anyone who visits enjoys their stay as much as we did ours. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site, almost wild camping on the back of a beautiful white sandy beach with amazing views across to the national park.

Toilet facilities are good, there are plenty of electric hook-ups and some hard standings if required. Owners very friendly and helpful

The village of Tulley is a 15 minute walk away with shops, post office and a pub. Tulley Cross is a short drive away with places to eat.

We did a lovely walk to Renvyle House Hotel. Go left along the beach, up a lane through a car park. At the top of the hill turn right and follow the lane to a junction. Take the right fork and follow the lane down past fisherman's cottages to the back of the hotel. From here you can walk around the small golf course or along the beach. Then back up through the hotel gardens to the hotel itself (a real Agatha Christie type place). Non residents can order food / drinks and if you're lucky with the weather you can while the afternoon away on the terrace. Very relaxing. To return walk up the hotel drive until you meet the lane and retrace your steps back to the campsite.

If you want to visit the national park centre then this a 15 minute drive away.

Have to say that this was my favourite campsite of our Ireland trip and would recommend it to anyone that likes that 'away from it all' feeling. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Northdy 1 review from this member

 Just back from it, yes there is a steep hill there but that's part of the location, that part of Ireland is not flat so it is what it is, I had no trouble getting up the hill and as for the electric hook-up I was informed if there was a problem to move to a new one and let them know when I arrived, I had no problem as it happened.

This is as close to camping in the wild as you can get and still have toilets, showers and a wash room, some people want more around a camp site, I don't if I did I would stay in a Hotel.

I will be going back, mountains to your back and the beach to the front what more do you want. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carol+bill 3 reviews from this member

 Read previous reviews of this site so were aware of the 'slope' leading from the office to the actual campsite but still not prepared to have our holiday almost ruined when leaving this site and the clutch on our 2year-old car almost burnt out trying to negotiate the very steep slope and the almost hidden entrance onto a road where the locals drove like maniacs!

Owners were very rude when we had a problem with the electric hook-up which kept tripping on us. We were aware that it was only 10amps and had not had problems like this before on any other Irish campsite. We asked to change hook-up points and this cured the problem. However, the owner was adamant that it was a fault with our van to the point of rudeness. We might add that once we changed the hook-up point we did not have any more problems with our electrics.

Credit and debit cards are not accepted despite their brochure saying they DID accept cards - cash only - and visitors should be aware that the nearest cash point (ATM) is in the shop in Letterfrack - about 5 miles away.

The only decent thing we can say about this site is that it is situated on a wonderful stretch of beach - good for walking.

The other saving grace for this site is that there are not many other sites in this area - so - take it or leave it, We put up with it but will leave it well alone in the future! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

 Location is this site's greatest asset. Set just behind dunes to a lovely clean beach, the views north along the Mayo coast are magnificent, even on an overcast day.

We stayed here 1 night, touring around. Not so much in the way of facilities off-site. The site is down a steep lane, so you'd need to trek back up it before heading for the village.

Washroom facilities aren't bad, but are clean and are certainly large enough for the size of the site.

Not much in the way of hard-standing pitches, so units are scattered here and there. Given the location, I can forgive the owners for not overdeveloping the site.

When we visited though the main field was quite overgrown, giving the impression of parking up in an unkempt field. Concentrate of the magnificent view which is what West coast of Ireland is all about. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trishandtez 31 reviews from this member

 We stayed here I October and the weather was kind to us but as the site is fairly open the winds here could be quite strong.

The views are wonderful from here, just yards from the beach but a small and steep hill to get down to the site.

Toilets and showers getting on a bit but clean, we didn't use the showers and toilets as we have our own but there was a charge to use the showers.

To get to the toilet block you had to trek across a grassy area's where I presume campers stay in the summer.

There were ehu points an water taps were scattered around.

Pretty basic site, we only stopped 1 night as were were travelling around but if you want peace and quiet with great views,this is the site for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campcookie 28 reviews from this member

 Fabulous location beside beach.

We were able to kayak from the beach to explore the coast.

It was quite busy when we were there, but we found a niche to park with space to place kayaks and bikes.

It was windy, but the views are stunning and the scenery so wondrous that the odd shower or gale is acceptable.

Like others have said the facilities are a little dated, but clean. They functioned and that was fine for us. If you park beside beach you'll just have to trek further to reach the facilities, but hey that's ok. After all you come here to enjoy the simple things in life.

The site is reached via a steep hill, reception is part way down it and on part of the access hill a one way system operates which I guess if towing can be a bonus.

I would return to this site again. A little unspoilt gem. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Dieseltramp 3 reviews from this member

 The shocking August weather does not detract from the glory of this beach.

Spacious facilities, pitch-where-you-fancy, and views you want to wake up to. You really are on the beach and it's wonderful.

We didn't like the over complicated recycling and a big heft up the hill to deposit general rubbish. It's pay per 5 minutes for the showers, and the pay machines are outside of the cubicles. The only other whinge is that there is NO laundry - when the web-site states that there is. Grrrrr. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Candida 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for three nights. We couldn't book in advance, but there are two other campsites in the area; in the event it was no more than half full, perhaps because it is quite out of the way, although not hard to find.

This is a small and basic site, and as a basic camper, I'd stay again without hesitation. If you demand long hot showers, lots of facilities, etc, steer clear. Staff were friendly, to be honest we barely saw them.

The pitches are literally yards from the beach, behind a bank of dunes, so it is breezy, but the setting is spectacular. It's mostly flat, but if you turn up with a VERY large tent and the main area is filled, you could have an interesting time there aren't defined pitches, other than some for vehicles, just pick a spot. There were hookups, perhaps not many, I didn't pay much attention because we don't hook up.

The washing up/toilet block is across a grassed area from the pitches. It is basic but clean, and has the most comprehensive set of recycling bins I've ever seen. You need tokens for the showers, which were a bit feeble, but did the job. There's a small chest freezer for blocks. There's no games room, TV, playground, or any of that fancy stuff: you're here to explore, swim, read on the beach, etc.

Campers were a broad mix of families, young groups, and hardy hikers. It's a bit far out and basic to attract rowdy types, and while chatty and convivial it was quiet late and early. The beach which has amazingly soft sand was full of kids swimming, drawing mazes, building sandcastles, or digging their way to Australia, no playground required.

The filling station in Tully village has a slightly Tardis-like shop that goes back and back, with a good selection of food and wine. I wouldn't bother trying to eat out in Tully itself, we walked back a mile or so to Tully Cross, which has hotel with a very good restaurant, and a couple of more attractive bars that also did food. In the other direction is Renvyle House Hotel, a comfy country house hotel highly recommended for food.

This is a good base for walking, swimming if you're moderately hardy, going out in boats on the bay, and visiting Clifden and much of Connemara. Be warned, the fabulous new road you're on, with a great surface and wide hard shoulder, has an even greater tendency than elsewhere in Ireland to turn a corner and suddenly become a pitted, single-lane relic of a bygone age. And there are still some sheep roaming on the roads. Take it gently. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Renvyle Beach Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Renvyle Beach Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Renvyle Beach Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement