Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castel Camping Le Brevedent

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Le Brevedent > Castel Camping Le Brevedent Reviews

Castel Camping Le Brevedent
Chateau Du Brevedent
Route Du Pin
Le Brevedent
Normandy   (Browse area)
14130
Tel: 0033 2 31 64 72 88
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 132
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 93 Reviews
                8/10 from 93 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  93 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 23 reviews from this member

 As previous post says this site is great for seeing this beautiful part of Normandy and the coast isnít too far away.

The site is very well landscaped but the pitches are very close together.

My only complaint is that there arenít enough toilet/shower facilities near to all the pitches and on several occasions the ones that are available have been closed for cleaning at 8. 30 in the morning which in my view is a peak time and not a great time to close them.

However, the site is lovely and the staff go out of their way to be friendly so it wouldnít put me off returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Haggiscamp 1 review from this member

 Just spent another week at this great site. Good friendly family owned site, with a good team of staff. I'm embarrassed to say their english is excellent compared to my french.

Reception has plenty of tourist information and the site is only about 45 mins away from the Pegasus Bridge Memorial site which is at one end of the D-Day landing beaches, so plenty to see if that is your interest. There is also a lot more to do if it is not or you have younger children.

The shop offers the essentials to keep you going if you have just arrived or forgotten something, however you are nicely placed between Pont-L'Eveque and Lisieux which both have good large Hypermarkets that can provide all your needs. There are also many small village and towns with their markets.

The facilities on the site are of a good standard and I noticed that they got cleaned twice a day. A good dry washing up area, plenty of sizable showers so getting those younger children cleaned without the parents getting soaked will not be a problem. I noticed one cubical even had a purpose built baby bath.

The on site restaurant offers a good selection including popular favourites and not unreasonable prices with a good selection of take away items available including fresh made Pizza, Chips, Chilli and others.

The snack Bar/Cafe is open most of the day offering hot and cold drinks, ice creams and other snacks. And has free WIFI available.

The pool is of a good standard and heated open from 07. 30 in the morning and 19. 00 in the evening. There is both a child's pool and a deeper pool which are nicely separated but part of the same complex. With plenty of sun loungers available so you don't need to rush early in the morning with your towel.

The site runs a kids club with plenty of activities for the younger children. Our son has outgrown it at 14 but he has enjoyed it in the past. Activities from what I could see include arts and crafts and plenty other activities. There is also a playground area with Table Tennis tables a small football pitch amongst others. There are also canoes available with paddles and and buoyancy jackets available from the reception.

Evening entertainment is in the bar in the Chateau with Live music some evenings and history talks about the site. The music from the bar is not to loud to be disturbing for the campers.

Electric hook-ups are plenty, so there will be one near your pitch. And the reception even keep a number of extension leads in case you have a problem. The only problem I found with the hook-up was that the polarity was switched (which is a common problem in france). But if you have a modern caravan this will not be a problem as the caravan electrics will take care of this. If you are in a older caravan or a tent with a simple hook-up if you go prepared with a tester plug (about £8 from the likes of Screwfix) and a made up Polarity switcher (Blue plug to Blue socket with a short length of wire with the L and N crossed), you should be ok. This should only be needed if you are running a laptop or other delicate electrical items. If you just want it to boil an electric kettle or power your lights it shouldn't be a problem.

All in all this is a good site, not to large with good facilities and friendly helpful staff. It is a little of the beaten track with something for everyone. Suitable for all types of unit. Also a good overnight stop-off point if you are heading further south.

We did it from the Eurotunnel in calais in about 4 hours avoiding all tolls it can be done in about 3 hours if you want to pay the tolls. Check the current toll prices by planning your journey on ViaMichelin

This was our 3rd visit, and I am sure we will be back for a forth. I know that there where many on the site that had also been there multiple times.

I have scored the site 10 out of 10 across the board as I believe it offers value for money with a great relaxed atmosphere and good facilities.

I hope you enjoy it too. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rob Burton 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for three nights on our way back from the Loire Valley. We were delighted with our stay. We normally avoid larger chains now we don't have the kids with us but this well managed site will probably see us return. Great value food at the restaurant, excellent shower facilities in the new block.

Special thanks to the staff who helped when we had a problem with our motor mover. They let us use the company landline and helped us find a solution from the company back in England. The site itself is beautiful particularly around the lake. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Junglesim 7 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights here on the way back from the coast. The pitches are large and well looked after. Luckily for us the weather was fantastic. Perhaps even luckier on one of the evenings there was a festival in honour of the local patron saint which entailed candle lit processions through the woods followed by fireworks over the lake.

The camp's facilities were excellent sporting a clean fresh Scandinavian-feel toilet and shower facilities. There was also a nice restaurant adjacent to an excellent kids playground. For those campers without kids I could imagine this would be a nightmare but for those of use with kids this was great.

Unfortunately we never got to try it so I can't comment on the food, we just thought that this showed attention to detail and consideration which, in general, was a vein that ran throughout the whole campsite.

We hope to go back there again this year, hopefully we'll be as lucky with the weather as last time. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Booyaa 9 reviews from this member

 Excellent stay at Le Brevedent. What a great place for myself, wife and two kids.

On arrival we were directed to a lovely pitch by the lake but the wife decided it was not sunny enough(!) so the staff looked around for other options and we finally got a perfect pitch that ticked all our boxes.

The facilities we used were always clean, unfortunately like so many sites, it was fellow campers that let the sight down rather than the staff.

The shop was small but had everything we needed, bread ordering was good and only ever so slightly more expensive than the nearest village so not quibbles as it saved bother leaving the site in the morning.

The activities were really good, kids had great fun playing table tennis, mini golf (the holes need a bit of modernisation as it is a bit shabby now) and in particular the canoeing and had fun at the kids club on the days they went.

The food in the restaurant was good, as were the take away pizzas and certainly not over priced compared to the locality.

I honestly don't think there were any negatives to this place, the biggest positive though was the staff and their helpfulness, nothing was too much bother and their help with local knowledge was excellent.

I would highly recommend this site to anyone wishing to visit this area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony1958 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived after horrendous delays at Dover (yes it was that weekend). Thankfully the campsite was a haven of calm. We have been before and vowed to return and we were not disappointed. The pitches are spacious. The facilities excellent and the staff are great. What more could you ask. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: N.romeo@talk21 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our annual visit to Le Brevedent. I refer to it as 'wearing a comfy sweater. ' Nothing much has changed since last year so I'll briefly say:

Reception was fist class as usual - welcoming and friendly.

Pitch was clean, level and large.

Shop is fine for basics. Fresh croissants, baguettes every day but now you have to order them the day before. They pain au raisins were delicious.

Take away pizza was very good and the packets of frites are very generous too.

The sanitary facilities were always spotlessly clean and there was only one occasion that there wasn't any loo roll. The water in the wash basins was cold and there are no plugs. There was plenty of hot water for showers in the morning however we do get up early so I can't comment about later in the day. The disabled shower and toilet are very basic.

The grounds were immaculate and as a pitch became empty the grass was cut before the next occupant arrived.

I was glad to notice that the two bridges over the lake and the stream had been repaired to a good standard as I knew they would be; someone complained about their state of disrepair last year.

This year the camp site had a vast array of European visitors: Dutch, French, Italian, Belgian, Latvian and Irish plus the English.

Us: We've booked for next year already! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twixthecat 41 reviews from this member

 I love this site! What a hidden gem!

We stayed for a couple of nights with Eurocamp, just to break our journey on our way back to Calais from Brittany. I didn't have high expectations, but loved it!

After a rather stressful journey to the site with a grumpy toddler our arrival on site couldn't have been better. We got out the car to find rabbits, guinea pigs and fluffy chickens on the lawn. Our grumpy toddler was instantly transformed into a happy, excited little boy! The small shop is very basic, but you can order bread and they sell ice lollys! Behind the reception/ shop is a small bouncy castle and other little tykes type toys perfect for our almost 2 year old. There's also a small cafe/bar and site run kids club sharing the lawn. It's the perfect chilled out and relaxed start to a holiday!

We stayed in a Eurocamp Safari tent which is fantastic. But the all the pitches looked good size and plenty of water taps and no long walks to toilet blocks. Our toilet block was immaculately clean, even if a shabby-chic/ rustic charm with flowery tiles and contrasting paint work. Plenty of loos and showers in the couple of different 'rooms'. Hot water and no push buttons :-)

The lake in the middle was great fun. We borrowed a paddle and took out boat to say hello to the ducks.

The restaurant was lovely. A good choice of menu and delicious. They had run out of most wines ('as it was the end of the week') and outside terrace was in full sun in the sheltered courtyard so pretty hot even in the evening. But a great service and lovely food.

Such a shame we didn't have much time here are a gorgeous site. Definitely one I'd return to and explore the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Chr4 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here at the end of June for only 2 days. It was our stopover site on the way to Loire Valley. As it was still low season we rented a safari tent through Eurocamp. Since we also booked a ferry crossing through Eurocamp we saved about £60 which almost covered the difference in cost between using our tent and 'glamping' for 2 nights. The tents were very spacious with stylish beds, bbq, cooker, fridge etc.

The facilities could be described as slightly shabby chic but always spotless.

The kids enjoyed the playground, paddling and swimming pool as well as a cold stream and a pretty bridge.

If I was to return for longer with my own tent I would probably miss pitches with a bit of privacy as they are mostly open space. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NICK COTTON 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Le Brevedent and what a great time we had. The weather was awful most of the 12 days we were there and the pitches couldn't cope with the rain, but hey we were camping not 4 star hoteling. The site is in a fantastic setting on a quite road out of Blagny le chateau, surrounded by woodland and corn fields. The site is not of the highest standards you can get on other sites but don't let that put you off, stay 1 night or 4 weeks like some people do, this site is a little piece of heaven. Less than 30 mins to the coast is a plus and so is the fact it is less than 4 hours drive from Calais.

There is a small fishing lake with a few big Carp in and canoes available to hire. Choose this site for your relaxing Normandy holiday and you will chill out big time. 


Previous     93 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castel Camping Le Brevedent child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel Camping Le Brevedent have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel Camping Le Brevedent?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel Camping Le Brevedent dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Le Brevedent      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4049 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement