Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hunters Moon Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Wareham > Hunters Moon Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Hunters Moon Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Cold Harbour
Wareham
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH20 7PA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 141
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Caravanjojo 6 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site in an ideal location with many beautiful Dorset towns, cities and villages within half an hour's drive away.

Some might say the site feels a little remote, and it is two miles away from Wareham itself but the roads are good and there is an abundance of forest walks on your doorstep.

Well laid out site, spotless facilities, very good information room and a lovely fenced off field for dogs to let off steam!

Large pitches well spaced, very well maintained by hard working wardens. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul-Hancock21 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed 8 days at this site which is popular. Toilet blocks clean and club standard, though pitch close to road (our choice), didn't notice traffic noise overnight, lots of birds which we enjoyed.

Wardens were friendly and helpful, well stocked shop with fresh scones and cakes each day, cream tea recommended. Purchased a pocket walking map from the shop and we walked direct from site through controlled gate to forest paths to Wareham - wouldn't try it without os guide / map. Could have done with a machete as ferns overgrown in places, but an enjoyable walk with no one sighted until Wareham (4miles).

Our to go place for rest and refreshments was Harry’s near the quay side. Plenty to do in the area - Tyneham village and farm worth visiting but narrow roads and only open 3 weekends per month (firing range), from the farm don't miss the walk to Worbarrow bay and beach.

Though busy, it was a relaxing and overall a very enjoyable stay and would go again. Note for children there is a play area top of site and field, but being outside school holidays there were few families. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dibden2015 8 reviews from this member

 Mixed visit. Friendly welcome and relaxed pick your own place.

Unfortunately our first choice was the sunny west end. We then became aware of the noise, swearing and unsociable behaviour of the neighbours ( have a look at Google maps and work it out for yourself so the review doesn't get pulled). Thankfully we could move as there were pitches free. To be fair it got quieter the next day but I'd avoid that side of the site.

Clean facilities but not many for the number of units.

A pack of kids on scooters and pedal power go kart until 10pm or later without comment from the warden. I know, school holidays so you have to expect kids but why parents let their kids patrol the other side of the park on noisy scooters escapes me when there's a play area.

It's a handy location for purbeck but there are better. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brownsfriend 4 reviews from this member

 Plain vanilla Caravan Club site - whats not to like. Good base for Purbeck, Swanage, Studland, Lulworth etc. Site offers little itself

But usual clean facilities. Lots of caravans set up for the week ( not ideal for tourers) got the pitch next to the septic tank with quite a lot of road noise - fortunately the heavy rain blocked it out !

Pub too far to walk along dangerous road with no footpath nothing close. Wareham about 4 miles and particularly useless for supermarkets and parking.

It was July but still v expensive for where it is. 


Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JJB13 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a winter seasonal stay at Hunters Moon Caravan Club site. Quite a busy site and quite a few contractors using the site. The site is spacious set amongst many trees.

There is a gypsy site right next door but apart from some occasional shouting and dogs barking did not prove a problem to us. The site is within Wareham forest and has access through a key-pad gate at the rear of the site. The dog exercise area is excellent.

The access road is very busy & cars speed along and large lorries use it as there is a landfill closeby. Access at night is a bit difficult as the site entrance is poorly lit from the main road.

We had one issue with one unhelpful jobsworth warden. 50-60mph winds were forecast and I asked if we could move pitches as our pitch was under a large oak tree and bits of tree were already falling on our caravan.

I was told very firmly NO! Seasonal pitches were marked out and that's that, rules are rules! So if your considering a winter seasonal here be aware most are under old oak trees and you wont be allowed to move!

Not many large shops nearby only a Sainsbury Local or a co-op in Wareham 3-4miles away, sainsburys charge to park in their carpark. Lidl Hamworthy is 10miles, Tesco & Lidl Dorchester is 16miles away, Morrisons Weymouth is 19miles away.

Arne RSPB (BBC Autumn Watch) & Studland beach are nearby, great for spotting many deer and some are very tame! Swanage and Corfe Castle are a must to visit also Kimmeridge for fossil hunting. Lulworth Castle, Cove & Durdledoor. Tank museum and Monkey World! Weymouth & Poole too. The sites information shed could do with more info leaflets on Dorset!

Phone signal is poor if your on Three Mobile, making calls is near impossible but the Three mobile internet signal is 4g!

A very enjoyable stay! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Richardcamp 2 reviews from this member

 All the facilities you would expect from a caravan club site, was the only tent and motorcycle, rest of site was choka!,

Was raining when checked in so was grateful as didn't book.

Well stocked shop,

One of the other campers dogs decided to use our pitch as a toilet in the mourning 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Agentpants 4 reviews from this member

 Just spent a great 8 nights at Hunters Moon. The location is great for exploring Dorset. The site itself is extremely well looked after by the team of Wardens. 2 toilet blocks all nice and clean.

The site as one of the best dog walking areas of any site we have been to. Pity that I picked up more dog mess of lazy dog owners than my own dog, this is obviously not a criticism of the site but of selfish customers.

At the back of the site is the Wareham Way which you access from a gate at the top of the site and walking shoes are advisable as it's muddy in place's.

Children have a good size play area and there is also a big size field with football nets.

Services pitches are near the entrance and you will get road noise but it did not spoil our time. You will also need the aquaroll extension on most of the service pitches. All in all a great site 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

 This is a very well located Caravan Club site with all the usual Caravan Club amenities - friendly reception staff, well spaced pitches, warm, spotlessly clean toilet blocks and the whole site looking very well tended.

It was also very quiet, being out of season. There were a couple of perks for my four legged friend, namely a decent sized dog walking field on-site, with plenty of trees along the roadward edge for him to sniff around and a couple of dog bins and, at the top end of the site above the second toilet block, a coded gate with direct access to Wareham Forest.

We followed a few trails, though due to the recent exceptional rainfall most were eventually curtailed by rather large puddles across the footpaths - it was good anyway, and must be magical in summer.

The highlight was regular sightings of firecrest in the shrubby area just the other side of that gate, along with nuthatch and the usual assortment of more common birds.

Nearby Arne RSPB site is well worth a visit and they have opened a new raptor hide on the heath area, but allow plenty of time, there are several different areas to cover and you can end up walking miles. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Campersmg 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Hunters Moon for four nights during half term and really enjoyed ourselves. Like all Caravan Club sites, it was clean, well looked after and well set out. We had a hard standing, with awning, pitch that had plenty of room and a small grassy area to one side for our table and chairs. Electric hook up was all in good working order and there is also a TV aerial plug in for reception.

There are two toilet/shower blocks that are very clean and well attended to. I never had to queue even though the site was full. There is a small shop in the reception and there is a couple of convenience shops a few minutes drive away towards Wareham.

The children's play area looked ok, not particularly big but a good place for our son to go to meet other children. There is a lovely dog walking field, which is fenced in and safe to have a run around. Nearby there are what look to be lovely walks in Wareham Forest which we didn't get the opportunity to do, but would certainly have done if we had more time.

The nearest pub, a short car ride away, The Silent Woman, does not allow children inside so we didn't stay long, but it did look nice.

Whilst there we visited Corfe Castle, Swanage, Lulworth Cove & Durdle Door, and Lineham; just a few of the many places in easy reach and just a short drive away. This is such a beautiful part of Dorset and we can't wait to return and would love to stay at Hunters Moon again. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

 In true Caravan Club style the facilities were excellent, clean, lots of hot water etc. The staff were friendly and helpful. Although we would usually choose a hardstanding pitch we had to make do with grass as the site was almost full, but after all the dry weather it was fine. We weren't crowded in and there were no queues for the showers etc. And people were v friendly.

Dog walk was excellent, I was able to let my whippet & lurcher have a good blast in the well fenced dog walk. There is access onto foorpaths to Wareham and cross country straight from the site and if you can cope with the 15 minute walk on the road the Sitka Trail is excellent.

Wareham is a lovely town and we even managed to park our motorhome right by the river, where there was more nice walking. Best of all was the RSPB Arne reserve which the site wardens recommended to us. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hunters Moon Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hunters Moon Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hunters Moon Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1480 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement