Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Toad Hall Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich > Toad Hall Caravan Site Reviews

Toad Hall Caravan Site
Felixstowe Road
Nacton
Ipswich
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP10 0DE
Tel: 0781 3899661
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 19
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevin6996 1 review from this member

Stayed for short getaway, friendly welcoming at entrance, wardens phone number at gate offered choice of pitches, 15 pitches divided by laurel hedges which have generous spaces.

Toilet block adequate, ideally placed for days out in Suffolk, slight road noise nothing we could not live with. Will stay again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul12 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for a weekend at a cost of 36 thought this was good value was given a warm friendly welcome and given a choice of pitch which are a very good size with hedges either side to give good privacy as well. Pitches are flat and ground was well kept, a couple of taps for water and just a basic elsan point, showers are again basic with just one in each washroom but always hot if sometimes to hot!. Good location for visiting Ipswich, Felixstowe, wood bridge, aldeburgh, also departure times are not until 2pm so another plus there can see no reason for a return visit.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mad-4-dogs 3 reviews from this member

We booked in here as it is 2 minutes away from DINAS, Trinity Park, as it gave us the option for 2 days at the show for 10 camping, no brainer!

It is a nice, clean site, good toilets & showers, some pitches with hook-up, and safe walks out across the fields with the dogs.

It is close to the A14, so in a tent you would need to be aware of this for night time, but in a caravan or camper you should be fine :-)

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iangreen1950 4 reviews from this member

Spent two nights here in early June as relatively close(about 25 miles) to Harwich ferry port. What a welcome from the owner, and a delightful little site. As earlier reports, yes there is road noise, but in our forever increasingly over crowded country, there are many sites where you get background noise. Don't let this detract from this well kept site, grass cut nicely, manicured, toilet block basic but spotless. Close to get into Ipswich town centre, for walk round shops or the pleasant marina which is being revamped. On the Saturday evening of our two night visit, the owner came round to the three or four caravans which were there, and gave a small posy of flowers to each of the ladies in the 'vans, what a lovely and delightful gesture. We will certainly remember this site, and only too pleased to recommend

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 4x4busdriver 3 reviews from this member

I needed a basic site near to both Ipswich and Felixstowe with food and drink outlets nearby. Toad Hall fitted the bill perfectly. There were a couple of pubs and a large supermarket within walking distance and a bus stop at the end of the drive. Basic facilities but well kept. Wi-Fi available. I will use this site again when I'm next in that area

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GasGuzzler2005 2 reviews from this member

We visit this camp site every August while attending an event at Trinity Park.

We always get a friendly welcome from the site manager on arrival and he is also very helpful.

Although the facilities are basic they are always very clean. There is access to Wi-Fi.

Recycling is also widely used on this site.

The pitches near the main road are a little noisy but you do get used to it after a while.

We will be back again in August 2014.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wispy 7 reviews from this member

We returned today from a bank holiday weekend at Toadhall and we really enjoyed it. There is no reception, but a phone number to ring on arrival and we were told to pick our pitch. 15 mins later we were greeted by a friendly young chap who gave us all the info on the site and was happy for us to pay the fee when we were ready.

The site was basic, but very well maintained including the toilet block, with some pitches being separated by small 6ft high hedges and all with electric hookup. There is a Sainsburys, B&M, Halfords, B&Q, Pizza hut, Burger king, etc just 1. 5 miles down the road from the site, and Felixstowe is closer than you think!

The downsides are being so close to the A14 so you do hear constant traffic noise (but you do get used to it) and labourers working in the field right behind our caravan in the early hours. 1 toilet + 1 shower in the gents I also thought was a bit inadequate for 19+ pitches.

All in all though, regardless of the downsides and partly due to the price, we look forward to returning in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wisboys and girl 1 review from this member

We arrived in the early evening and were given warm welcome by the owner/warden. The site was flat, clean and well organised. Washing and toilet facilities were clean and credit has to be given for lemon scented, quilted loo roll. There is noise from the nearby road but this is reflected in a very reasonable price. We would camp here again.

Lots to do in the surrounding area, we visited Suttton Hoo and Orford Ness.

Dinner at the Shepherd and Dog was good.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Packard78 2 reviews from this member

Easy to find. No reception but a mobile number to ring on arrival.

Good welcome. Flat clean grounds. Toilet clean but one between the whole site not enough.

Shower was disgusting and did not use. Only tried the water from the well and despite our filter still ended up with 'scum' on the top of cups of tea.

The traffic (next to A14) was very noisy 24/7.

Down the road you have access to Sainsburys, Burgerking, Halfords etc. Chippy towards Ipswich is about 10 mins drive.

Would not stay again due to inadequate dirty facilities and traffic noise.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Charliems 10 reviews from this member

This site wins two awards in our book - first, probably the warmest welcome we've ever had. They couldn't do enough for us, including scooting off to find a corkscrew when we left ours at home!

The second award sadly is it's the noisiest site we've ever been on. Another reviewer said it works if you imagine it's the sound of the sea.

Maybe - I just love those 32 tonners crashing on the shore and those bikers opening it up for a blast at 2am must be jet skis. Big shame as it's a tidy site and very convenient for Ipswich.

Stay here if you want a convenient base to see friends/family in the area but don't expect to come away refreshed!

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ipswich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6050 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019