Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Wowo

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Uckfield > Wowo Reviews

Wowo
Wapsbourne Manor Farm
Sheffield Park
Uckfield
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN22 3QT
Tel: 01825 723414
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 48
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 119 Reviews
                8/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Black-deuce 8 reviews from this member

Wow is a really good family site, thanks to its natural setting of fields and woods, the fire pits in every pitch, a variety of organised activities, the two popular donkeys and visiting take-away stalls/vans.

It's a huge site and I think our field was mainly for families. Certainly there were plenty of kids who could play happily and safely - without causing the slightest nuisance. Pitches are generously sized.

The camp shop sells good quality produce, while logs are available for delivery to the pitch. In high season there is a daily rota of visits from food vendors, giving a choice of pizza, fish and chips, paella, teas and coffees.

The surrounding countryside is beautiful. Possibilities include trips to the Ashdown Forest (and Pooh Bridge), Eastbourne, Lewes, Pevensey and Brighton.

The toilet and shower facilities were distinctly moderate and a small negative was the tendency for field entrances to get muddied up after heavy rain (despite piles of woodchip in the vicinity).

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Canvassleeper 8 reviews from this member

There is a reason this site is so popular and booked up so far in advance! A great atmosphere - almost like a little festival. Lots of opportunity for adventure for kids. Pitches well laid out and arranged around firepits. The barn is handy for hanging out on the rainiest days. We've been a few times already and will keep coming back.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Msagar 1 review from this member

Stayed in the Hobbit yurt for the first time in a chilly weekend in March. We were amazed at how well set up the yurt was and everything you could need was available therefore we were able to get the log burner up and roaring within 10 minutes. Inside was clean, comfortable and cosy- we especially loved the little touches such as tea lights dotted around inside. We made the most of the Yurt by ordering a takeaway and spent the evening round the campfire outside. Loved our weekend at Wowo and can't wait to return in the summer months when the days are a little longer to make the most of all the campsite has to offer!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magnusson 1 review from this member

We are family of five that stayed there over one night. Kids loved it and then the parents are happy. Very clean and service minded staff. Would like to point out that we need some assistance due to problems with our tent and got excellent help from one of the staff, it is always a pleasure when members of the staff are willing to walk the extra mile to help its customers. Highly recommended specially for families with kids.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nickyl 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Wowo with a school group of 28, Monday to Friday. For our students who all have communication and interaction difficulties, it was brilliant - very quiet and lots of space. The staff were extremely helpful, and understanding - when a student let their chickens out early one morning it was not a major issue. By Tuesday afternoon we were the only campers in a huge field (easily twice the size of 2 football pitches). Hopefully the campers on the site had always intended to leave Monday evening/ Tuesday morning.

There was lots of space, there is a shallow stream with stepping stones to play in, and plenty of woodlands just deep enough to give the students the feel of being hidden, and lots of tree swings.

Some of the students struggled with the pump flush system in the toilets, and the rustic lifestyle of camping in general, but their overwhelming feedback was very positive.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Starski 1 review from this member

Great site with ample facilities. They also had themed food nights including freshly made pizzas and paella nights hosted by the huge canvas Tipi in site centre. Sadly the paella chef forgot to turn up on our night but that was just bad luck! In evening we sat in the Tipi around a big fire brazier with a handful of musicians who played on both nights we stayed. Bonus points below.

Camp fires allowed and they give a trestle to use too for cooking.

There's a shop selling fresh bread and many other local produce on site.

You can pre book various excursions.

Often good acoustic musicians play in the tipi village.

Individual and family shower facilities.

There's a country pub within 25 min cross country walk.

Child friendly and we met many returning families with kids.

Barn has charging points for phone and some old toys and game facilities

Firewood delivered to your pitch

Dogs allowed*

Coast not so far away if you fancy a drive to change of scenery. Such as Brighton under 30 minutes.

Bad points below:

Shop is a tad pricy

On paella night chef didn't turn up (though think this hasn't happened before)

Some dog breeds not allowed due to previous campers concerns, Rottweilers, Alsatians, Pit Bulls and Boxers.

No camper vans with exception to VW Campervan sized vehicles.

Overall it's nice place and has a real old fashioned rustic feel but more quirky than many other campsites.

Especially the mini Tipi canvas area known as the village.

Price not bad for facilities on offer.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stormcamper 1 review from this member

This campsite is a kids paradise. Ditches, moats, swings, Trees, dens. It's like a campsite Disneyland. The fun never stops. Camped as a large group around fire and banqueting table - only the weather and a few less than thoughtful campers marred the week. Not sure what the fuss is about the loos - if they are used properly they are fine and the showers are hot. Maybe there aren't enough facilities on the busy weekend but during the week there is no problem. There is a bit of a 'manyana' feel about some things but the relaxed attitude towards times and signage goes along with the vibe. Shop a little expensive but some nice stuff in there. Certainly a cool site and for groups with lots of kids you would be pushed to find better.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Locketa 1 review from this member

I have recently returned from my 5th visit at wowo! I love it!

They have recently added a lot more loos, they are compostable but you can't actually smell them! There is also showers and more toilets at the main reception, but being a campsite they can get a bit muddy but I think that adds to the whole experience!

One of the best thing about wowo is the campfires! Unlike other campsite you are guarantee a fire area and you don't have to share even in busy times! The pits are cleared out regally and each come with a grill on top and benches around the outside, a very homely feel! We cooked everything on the campfire!

Last time I was in a group of 8, 3 adults and 5 children (aged between 4-15) and 1 dog! The children loved it as there is lots of woodland to explore and lots of rope swings. They also loved the all of the wildlife!

There is a main reception area which has a shop with lots of fresh local produce and firewood (priced and £5 per Crete). By the main reception there is an activity barn with a piano, table tennis, ice cream, wifi, phone charger lockers and fridge/freezers. There are fridges and freezers which are normally quite full, I prefer to put my ice blocks from the cool box there and rotate them and out them back in the cool box so I have my food near me.

I have visited a few attractions near wowo, I have done horse riding at east view stables, the bluebell railways with lots of steam trains and boating at a nearby pub. All of these attractions were very close and very good! Next time I hope to visit tulleys farm where there is a maize maze!

The campsite has a very nice feel to it and I highly recommend it! I hope this has been helpful to anyone planning a stay to wowo!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jane T 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a lovely trip to Wowo. The last time we visited was in 2011 and the facilities have improved since then.

We were in the large groups field at the bottom, the field was quite full but you didn't feel on top of each other. (We had a group of 10 families).

The toilets are 'modern' composters so have the feel of a normal toilet i. E. You can't see the waste and can flush it away. There was a washing up area which was an improvement to last time. I felt the number of toilets was fine, there was a small queue but nothing too bad.

It is great here for children. The rope swings all around the field are fantastic, such a simple idea I don't know why more campsites don't do them. Our children came up with a kind of tag swing game. Hours of fun. There is a small muddy stream and a very muddy ditch, so bring wellies or crocs for children, and clothes you don't mind them getting dirty!

Our friends tried the Friday night pizza and said it was very nice (although not the cheapest). The wood fires in our field had simple wooden benches around them, and also a metal BBQ rack, all these little touches are what makes Wowo good.

There is a barn next to the shop which is handy if it rains (although fortunately it didn't for us) with lots of toys for kids.

We had a lovely walk to the Sloop Inn and a nice meal in the beer garden - although be warned book a table if you want to guarantee any food - a large group of families were turned away as they said they didn't have enough food!

The staff at Wowo were friendly and helpful.

This is not a basic get-away-from-it-all-back-to-nature site. However neither is is a soulless large caravan park type campsite.

But if you want a lively, friendly, interesting site with fires and nearby walks that is good for children, this is the one.

Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Saltymiller 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to Wowo, this time we brought along friends for a low key escape the City, birthday treat.

We stayed in the charming Stepping stones Shepherds hut, and filled the hobbit yurt next door for the final night with friends.

Stepping stones is a perfect hideaway for two, cosy, warm and filled with thoughtful touches to make your stay more comfortable.

The Hobbit yurt is great for more than two, and has absolutely everything you need to cook, relax and share the woods with friends or family.

Since our return everyone who came to celebrate the weekend has already asked to repeat the trip, and raved about how amazing Wowo is.

The site is perfectly situated away from the towns and Cities, but close enough for an easy escape. Plenty of country pubs, walks and farm shops to explore if you fancy the adventure.

However, on site is a space like no other in this area. Open but private spaces each with a fire pit are space enough to enjoy the rivers and country side in peace.

The staff were on hand with every request and were more than accommodating to make this birthday weekend a really special trip.

Thank you Wowo, we shall see you again soon!

Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3826 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019