Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Iles

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Limousin > Beaulieu Sur Dordogne > Camping Les Iles Reviews

Camping Les Iles
Bd St Randolphe De Turenne
Beaulieu Sur Dordogne
Limousin   (Browse area)
19120
Tel: 0033 555 91 02 65
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Longtimecaravaner 27 reviews from this member

We booked a pitch as it was the week of the Strawberry Festival and thought it might be busy. Wrong, there were about twenty five units on site. The office staff spoke English and directed us to our pitch but when I went back to the office to ask if we could change to a riverside pitch it was no problem but six euros a night more. In the end they didn't charge. We chose a really big pitch next to the river which wasn't shaded but the inland pitches had plenty of trees. As others have said none of the extras were open and we didn't use the facilities. We had a water pipe next to the pitch. It is a three minutes walk into town and there is a boulangerie on the first corner. This is a lovely site and I would recommend it but a bit far away from the main tourist attractions of the Dordogne if that is what you are looking for.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cello 2 reviews from this member

This was the second time we had visited this site. It is in a wonderful location by the Dordogne and plenty of shade. It appears to have changed hands since last year.

We were sorry that the restaurant was not open or the take away pizza facility. The reason we were told was because the children were not on holiday yet! The site was very full and this is an insult to people on holiday in May, June and July. The French always complain their season is so short but that is of their own making it seems.

The site was well kept and facilities very clean, but not all of them were open and in particular the hand washing facilities had been cut by a half. Why?

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 68 reviews from this member

We found it a delightful site. Large pitches, especially some of the riverside frontage ones, which give you your own private section of beach (though we experience some people setting up on 'our' section. Didn't bother to complain as we were going out for the day).

Great for launching your own 'boats' directly from your pitch.

Found the bar/pizza area pretty basic, not much used, and more expensive that any bar in town (probably why). It was only a five minute walk into town and its many bars and restaurants. A lovely place.

Plenty to 'do' in the area. But the river is the 'star' attraction. Canoeing/kayaking down from Argentat is a great 'ride', and more fun than further downstream where the rapids become less rapid. And, especially the much more crowded 'Sarlat' area.

Altogether a more peaceful experience than the tourist-ful stretches of the river further downstream.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

We arrived whilst reception was closed but a worker gave us a map and invited us to choose our pitch. We chose one in the extra part of the site, through an open gateway by the river. This meant that as it was only June our block of sanitaires was not open till the day before we left, June 18th so it was a longish walk before that but the mai part of the site was already quite full and had smaller pitches overlooked in some cases from all around. Ours was a large pitch and we enjoyed the river flowing by. The pool was fine, the sanitaires were clean. The staff were helpful. There is a book swap. It was great to just be able to wander into the village and we enjoyed the market and a stroll round the old town in the evening. The Garbarre trip on the river was not so successful as the commentary was all in French and it was a very hot afternoon with no shade in the boat.

An ACSI site in June.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Median 15 reviews from this member

A lot of positive things have already been written about this site, which are still true. The site is in a fantastic location on the banks of the Dordogne and the staff are great. The facilities are good with a decent sized pool and play area for the little ones. Having a 'wet play' area in a baby pool is a great idea and the bouncy castle made our 3 yr old smile every day.

On the downside the pool area is getting a bit tired, the flags have become uneven and the tiles are falling off in the toilet. I would be very surprised if this wasn't sorted before next summer as the site appears to be very well managed. While many of the pitches are lovely there are some less nice ones. We plan to return to this site in a few years and will definitely go for a 'Premium' pitch on the banks of the river (and ask to move if we don't like it).

The local area is very pretty and the village has several shops and restaurants.

The fact that we plan to go back, and met other campers who return regularly should tell you all you need to know about this site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kemu19 16 reviews from this member

Agree with all comments left by previous reviewers.

A great welcome at reception, shown to your pitch to see if you like it. The pitches were of mixed quality but then we turned up on spec, not that spacious but ok and no grass because of time of year. High season so very busy and quite expensive, 30 euros a night (for two people and a hook up) but there is a pool (and lots for children to do if you have them) and it is in a fantastic position by the Dordogne and the beautiful town of Beaulieu so it did feel worth it.

The town is stunning with a beautiful abbey and cobbled streets, two markets a week and some lovely bars and restaurants.

Had a lovely cycle ride through the countryside along by the river (nice and flat), a 20km (3-4hour) kayak down the river from one of the campsites towards Argentat (Soleil d'oc- just park your car at the top and walk down through the campsite to the river to find the kiosk to pay, you get the bus back from Beaulieu at around 5 to get your car) visited Gouffre de padirac, an underground cave - spectacular. Also swam in the river, there is a designated area across the bridge. From the campsite where there are also tennis courts and a municipal pool with slides etc. We visited Carennac for a wander about and an icecream (a 'plus beau villages' of which there are many in the area) which was very pretty.

The campsite was quiet at night, any entertainment was low key and not every night (there was a great guitarist) and finished early.

A lovely area not touristy at all and thoroughly recommend the campsite for couples or families.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morepints 37 reviews from this member

A others have indicated, this is a lovely site; on the banks of the Dordogne river, accessed by a bridge over a mill stream. The site is right next to the picturesque medieval town, which is relatively undiscovered. There are a few really good restaurants - we used the Veloute twice: great cuisine and friendly service. A few small working shops in the pedestrian precinct; I think there's only one tourist shop selling local produce and nick-nacks.

The town has a small market square, and another Place with tourist office. There is a busy road, carrying some traffic to the 'Bonne Maman' jam factory in the next town, and up the valley to Argentat.

The site is still run by Flower campings; while we were there things weren't at full tilt; but they opened the bar for drinks and pizza while the rugby was on. Shower block heated - indoor enclosures have shower and washbasin. There's a second block further down. Reception sells ice-creams, and is staffed by friendly and relaxed staff.

Pitches seemed generously sized. The pitch numbering is a little odd - we were on J5, divided off by small shrubs. The letters referred to different tariffs, I think. There's an area for 'nature' camping, and a few well-placed mobile homes. The site is very grassy, and well-shaded; a haven for woodland birds.

With ACSI prices at €13, or a little more for the 'Grand Confort' pitches on the river front, this is great value for money, and would make a good touring centre for a week.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cherl889 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 14 nights with our two children aged 19 months and 6 years, we booked it quite early on to secure a river side pitch which quite frankly was stunning, the site, itself is a reasonable size it's well laid out and all of the pitches are a good size, the staff are friendly and English is spoken, the toilets and showers are modern and clean, the pool and children's playground are modern and well kept, however they are strict on men wearing those horrible speedo type shorts/trunks in the pool and will even sell you a pair at reception! To be honest the river is so nice and clean we spent most of our time canoeing and swimming in the river. T he town itself is stunning lots of little shops and restaurants, all are within walking distance of the site. There is no shop on site but a hypermarket is only two minutes up the road, all in all a nice site in a lovely location.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gillychick 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 nights using the ACSI card, as already reported it was 12 euro's a night. The pitches were a little bit iggeldy piggly and it was not obvious where one pitch started and another pitch finished. The pitches were very dry and there was a shortage of grass, however we did visit late in season and it was obvious that the site had been busy all season.

The toilet was communal and consisted of 4 showers and 3 ladies toilets and the same for men. One of the toilets is a disabled toilet I assume as it does not have a toilet just a hole and I saw a lady with walking difficulties using it. The toilet block was a little tired but were clean and the showers were hot and powerful.

The site is set in lovely surroundings and there are 3 supermarkets within a 10 minute drive - Intermarche, Eleclerc and Liddl, the first 2 have a garage attached to them. The town itself is lovely and has some quant shops and lovely restaurants. There is a Logis restaurant 2 minute walk from the site which offered a 3 course lunch for 15 euros, however we did not try this.

The pool was very nice however the bar and snack bar were closed for the season, this was not a problem to us due to the availibilty of supermarkets.

We did not travel with children however the play area looked really good fun and included a bouncy castle which was inflated daily.

We visited La Cave and did the tour of the cave however I would not recommend this if you have any mobility issues as there were lots of steps and no facilities for wheelchairs. The area is beautiful and the campsite offered chocolate box views.

I would recommend this site for both families in high season and couples out of season

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Traceylace 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for five nights in August 2012 2 adults and two children aged 6 and 9. The children loved the playground and swimming pool and would have happily stayed here for longer. Also it is near a lovely town with all amenities and there is kayaking and swimming available neaarby in the river. Toilet blocks were pretty clean and well maintained given that it was very busy whilst we were there.

The toilets and showers are communal which I found a bit disconcerting. On the downside the tent pitch was literally rock hard and wasn't particularly private - the riverside pitches looked better though.

The campsite does have a bit of a holiday camp feel to it which normally we wouldn't like - however it was so hot during our stay that it was good to have everything on hand. Bar prices were reasonable and staff friendly.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Limousin

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4050 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019