Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Port Punay

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Chatelaillon Plage > Camping Port Punay Reviews

Camping Port Punay
Allee Bernard Moreau Les Boucholeurs
Chatelaillon Plage
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17340
Tel: +33 05 46 56 01 53
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 143
Open: 04/04 To 27/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Theothertwin 14 reviews from this member

Joined a Caravan Club Rally here with 30 other mixed units.

The site is run by a French and Dutch couple. The staff are very helpful. There is a shop, bar, restaurant and pool on site. Bread is baked on site daily and available for pre order the night before. Unsegregated showers and toilets with plenty of washing up stations. Washing machine hire is €5 per cycle via token from Reception. Play area and boules court. The site accept waste both recyclable and non recyclable BUT NOT glass. This has to be deposited in the municipal bins 100 yards outside campsite.

Tricky entrance especially for long units but secure. Popular with all nationalities.

For those with cycles it is well served by cycleways into Chatelaillon Plage either by road or along the promenade. Most plots are 100 cm and are flat.

Local restaurants and a coupe of bars nearby. The local harbour is very shallow and when the tide is out resembles mud flats but the main beach in Chatelaillon is very nice.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ern1 1 review from this member

Lovely clean and well maintained site. Pitches are large and shade is good. The cleanest and best showers we have seen for years. Nice food in restaurant. 10min walk to the promenade at Chatellailon Plage. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leebee1 14 reviews from this member

What a find, a bit tight to get to due to the size of our unit, caravan being over 8 mts long.

The pitches are a good size and most are fully serviced, good satellite signal too.

The area is good as are the beaches, and towns.

The site staff are friendly and speak good English, facilities are kept very clean as is the rest of the site.

I would recommend this and hope to return next year.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 12 days in early September, using our ACSI card to get a discounted rate. The weather was wall to wall warm sunshine! Despite it being the end of the season the campsite was quite full. It is well laid out with a modern toilet block more or less in the centre of the site. There are sinks for washing clothes and dishes as well as spacious unisex showers which was not a problem to us though know it would be for some campers. The problem was the lack of hot water - the showers were tepid at best. That might be great in the sizzling heat of July and August but no so in September when mornings and evenings are much cooler. I took to using the shower in our caravan though my other half persevered!

Midges were definitely a problem as one row of pitches (which we were on) is separated from a ditch with stagnant water by fencing. Having spent most of my life being unattractive to mozzies they now find me very desirable and I was really badly bitten despite taking precautions.

The pool is heated and a really good suntrap.

The nearby town of Chatellailon Plage has some nice shops and restaurants and is not overdeveloped. Also well worth visiting is the Marais Poiteven region, which is a hidden gem with it's waterways, whitewashed houses and pretty villages. The Ile de Re is one of the loveliest places we have visited in France. Accessed by a toll bridge at £16 euros return it is worth every penny! It is a haven for cyclists with plenty of places to hire a bike if you have not brought your own. It is totally unspoilt with flowers everywhere, with delightful villages. It summarises why we love France in that their tourism seems to say 'This is how we do it. If you like it then that's great but if you don't then head for the Costas in Spain'. The area around Royan and the Coubre Forest are also well worth visiting. A nice site in a lovely area.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frogman14 17 reviews from this member

2015 and all previous comments still apply. Chatelallion Plage is a lovely village. The covered market is outstanding for butchers, fish, veg, bakery, one of maybe even the best we have seen. Bikes are great to cycle into the market along the beach, and time for a beer after the shopping. For the bigger items, suspect previous comment re supermart is the Carrefour, but there is an Intermarche nearer on the big road, which is easy in and out.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ttleeds 1 review from this member

We spent a week at Port Punay campsite in September, and were very pleased with it. Of course it was the very tail end of their opening season, so the site was never anywhere near full and therefore we couldn't tell how facilities would do under pressure. The toilet etc facilities are fine, though the lights are on central control and can leave one in the semi-darkness at some times. The pitches are clearly demarcated and of fairly generous size. There is barrier control at the gate. The office staff can deal with a variety of languages. The swimming pool was still open (not that common for French campsites in September faced with rising fuel bills) and pleasant. I don't recall seeing a lot for children to do. The shop has its own bakery (another trend spreading through French sites) so fresh bread was never a problem. The village where the site is situated is very small with no shops (though there are two beach-side oyster establishments) but shopping in Châtelaillon-Plage is quite convenient, especially at the market which operates under cover every day and two days in the street. There is a large supermarket to the North on the main express route; beware that although access to it is quite speedy, getting away involves a draggy stop-start progress through the rest of the trading estate. There is a fairly regular bus service from Les Boucholeurs into La Rochelle. There is quite a nice beach at Les B and also at Châtelaillon We did not swim there as the weather was not ideal. Because of the vast oyster and mussel beds close by in what is a very enclosed stretch of water far from the open sea the water is full of sand. To get to the site we followed the instructions given in the French 'Guide Officiel' list of sites, which takes you off the express route at the official turn-off for Châtelaillon, then working your way round roundabouts and across a bumpy level crossing. Much more sensible is to come off the express route one exit further south and take the D203 which spares you driving through Châtelaillon, though you need to keep a sharp eye open for the site entrance which is right among houses at the end of a dead-end street. We would certainly use this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Missizippi 9 reviews from this member

We spent 2 weeks here in August 2009 and had a fantastic time.

Site is located in the pretty village of Les Boucheleurs and very close to the sea front. The village doesn't have much - its quaint and quiet - a couple of restaurants (both fully booked when we tried to eat) and a small beach. The cycle path to Chatelaillon de Plage was well used and we headed in that direction daily for the sandy beach.

The sea was odd - very tidal and didn't appear very clean although I think it was just very shallow. It was lovely and warm and the tide came in extremely fast. The beach at Chatelaillon de Plage at low tide is basically mud - which is great fun and probably very good for the skin. As the warm water comes back in it washes the mud off - a lovely sensation.

Site very friendly - I echo all previous comments. Excellent English spoken, kids entertainment great. Only a very small playground and only for younger children so there was not a lot for the 6 to 12 yr olds to do around the site except cycle.

Bar and on site restaurant good and wifi intermittent but I was given some extra days in lieu of the downtime.

Facilities all very clean and staff always available if there is a problem. A very well run site and I can recommend it.

Handy for La Rochelle, lots of cycle ways North towards La Rochelle and you can get the train there easily too.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sueandadie 14 reviews from this member

A lovely site with immaculate facilities and swimming pool. The village is idyllic. However the beach is very tidal and virtually impossible to swim in the sea. We found that we had to drive every where and that is not a holiday to us as we prefer to have everything within walking distance.

An ideal spot for Ile d'Oleron and Ile de Re which were well worth visit.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ajswift 1 review from this member

We chose this site rather than our usual ‘Esperance’ at nearby Fouras so that I could have wi-fi throughout. 24 euros for unlimited use over a seven-day period. Quite a complex procedure to log on: disable pop-up blocker, firewall and password manager or you’ll be wondering why the welcome page doesn’t appear. The owners’ son is, however, very helpful and knowledgeable about IT.

I’m surprised by the ‘boring & disappointing’ reference above. Charente-Maritime is a fabulous piece of coastline with the Ile de Ré to the North and the Ile d’Oleron to the South, the Fouras peninsula and Fort Boyard in solitary splendour.

Campsite flat with choice between shade and sun. Sanitary block basic but acceptable.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pegotty 3 reviews from this member

Facilities very clean. Reasonable sized pitches. Staff helpful & friendly. However check beforehand to make sure there are no rallies booked in during your stay as these can be VERY noisy. Wi-fi claimed to be available all over site is expensive and unreliable.
If you like cycling, it is a reasonable ride into the nearby town / village of Chattaillon. However there is not much else in the area except mudflats and mussell / oyster beds. St Rochelle 10 miles to North is very attractive and well worth visiting, but would not recommend this site as base for touring.
Immediate area dull, few cafes, and is the most boring & disappointing part of France we have visited in 35 years of visiting France.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3292 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019