Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Domaine De L Etang

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Brissac Quince > Domaine De L Etang Reviews

Domaine De L Etang
Route De St Mathurin
Brissac Quince
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
49320
Tel: 0033 02 41 91 70 61
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Theothertwin 14 reviews from this member

Beautiful site run by a charity to supporting those with learning difficulties who canít fulfil jobs in mainstream commerce.

Large plots with many eco based facilities. Communal BBQ around site, heated pool, shop and restaurant.

10 minutes cycling to large supermarket and another 10 to town in another direction. Market day Thursday.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dlittle 7 reviews from this member

This site is run by a charity who provide employment for people with learning disabilities.

Staff helpful and friendly. Pitches spacious and clean. We were allowed to exercise our dog in a nearby field.

Shop sells fresh bread (daily) and local wine. All facilities well maintained and kept clean. We would happily return to this iste.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheChristerFamily 10 reviews from this member

We spent two weeks at this lovely site. This was our first visit to France and we loved it. The pitches were all very level. Most were partly shaded which was good as we were lucky to have fantastic weather. Our boys 12 & 16 loved having the pool. They enjoyed using the pool table and table tennis to.

There was a nice mix of families from across Europe.

Lots of places to visit Angers is a lovely City the Chateau is very good and good value to.

Breze Chateau is fantastic. Lots of nice walks to.

Nearby town very sleepy but good market on a Thursday.

Supermarket 5 mins drive away. (Which had a free from section to).

The ladies in reception very helpful and spoke excellent English.

We'll be going back.

Next year hoping to go to their sister site near Saumur, so we can explore further East towards Tours.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Ninja 47 5 reviews from this member

We had a wonderful week here at this pleasant picturesque site. Facilities are generally very good.

3 swimming pools, outdoor cool and shallow, toddler pool and an indoor heated one.

Lovely cycle rides from site and route information provided.

Nice walk along the river to the local town and just over the road there is a nice little amusement park.

Reception could be slow but other than that very good.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kevimarr 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site as the first stop on our 2 week holiday in late July. Arrived one day late due to a breakdown and missed ferry but that's another story!

We stayed for 7 nights and arrived late afternoon. We were given a large pitch in the middle of the site with high hedges all around. Partly shaded through morning and evening. The further away from the reception leads to the larger camping and mobile home area which is less shaded, but still good.

Toilet/shower facilities were in good order and I found them to be clean and tidy. As mentioned in previous posts the disabled workers were in evidence early mornings. Play facilities for the kids were in good condition and the both pools were clean and tidy. My son certainly gave it the thumbs up. There is a bar attached to the pool but on our visit never appeared to be staffed which was odd! The restaurant on site was good, not a great choice of food, but certainly adequate. Once a week there are tastings of the local wines. Also a large E Leclerc is situated just south of Brissac Quince.

Overall this is a pleasant site, not too big, and quiet enough for adults to enjoy. It is an excellent base for Chateau Exploring!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bofs 61 reviews from this member

Returned to this site after 6 years, as we were in the area, curious to see what it was like out of the main season. Surprised at how many pitches were occupied in comparison with the other sites we'd been on this holiday, although I would say it was still only about a third full at most. Reception was fine, though not as welcoming as some other sites, and the site still had a nice feel to it. Part of the main toilet block was closed but the one we used on the original part of the site was very clean and well-maintained, with plenty of hot water. The disabled workers were still in evidence, obviously getting the site ready for the high season and it was good to recognise some from our previous visits. The trees and shrubs on the newer part of the site are now established and will provide some necessary shade but the pitches are still so enormous that part of them will also be in the sun, giving the best of both worlds. We still liked the site and love its location, and would return if in the area again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julie s 11 reviews from this member

This peaceful and well kept campsite is situated in the Anjou wine growing region of France and so is in a pretty location surrounded by vineyards. The site even produces its own wine which for sale in the campsite shop.

When we arrived I found the lady in reception not very welcoming and quite harassed. Also the pitch that we was allocated was already taken when we got to it- this however was to our advantage as our allocated pitch had been in a very crowded part of the site despite the site only being half full and so we were allowed to choose our own pitch in a much less crowded, prettier part of the site. On booking through the Caravan Club though I had booked us a special pitch with electricity, water and drainage on the pitch- the original pitch we were allocated on arrival was not a special pitch and also when we looked around before choosing our new pitch we noticed that every pitch seemed to just share water. And so if you book through the Caravan Club I would just pay for a standard electric pitch.

We found all the rest of the staff to be very nice.

The toilets and showers were kept clean and there was always plenty of hot water.

There is entertainment organised on site- kids club in the mornings, afternoon pool or sports activities, a mini disco at 7pm followed by low key evening entertainment.

The pool area is nice-there is an outdoor pool and also a covered pool.

There is a small lake, which is full of big fish, in the centre of the site. Most of the lake is fenced apart from the jetty from where it is possible to fish- the jetty is next to the children's swings and so little ones who like wandering will need to be watched! However there are two other good play areas on site.

Brissac Quince is a very pretty town with a weekly market on Thursdays. Also in the town is the very impressive Brissac Castle which is the permenant residence of the Duke of Brissac- the grounds are open to the public and there is an English guided tour inside the castle once a day.

Angers (nice shops, castle) is also a short drive away.

The best thing about the site for us though (we are a family with 3 children) was the adjoining Parc de Loisirs leisure park which seemed to be owned by the campsite. People staying on the campsite get free entrance- although you will need to ask at reception for your tickets as on our arrival nothing was mentioned about this, (we only found out when we picked up an information leaflet about the leisure park). The leisure park is great for children with plenty to keep them happy- pony rides, a train, trampolines, bouncy castles, waterslides, pedalos, swimming in the lake and lots more. The park is well kept and the staff are very nice and all seem to take great pride in their work. When we arrived the lady offered to stamp our hands so that we could nip back to the caravan for lunch, swimming things etc.

I would use this campsite again if we returned to this part of France.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: StuartL171 1 review from this member

We were at the site in the last week of June and first week of July It is a lovely flat and well maintained site with friendly staff, however 1 large toilet/washing block was cordoned off, leaving only 6 male toilets for the whole site, which had no paper for an entire weekend, despite being cleaned at least twice a day. They are relying on caravanners having their own facilities. The shop was small but did some nice wine and had the essentials, bread can be ordered the night before and was supertasty. We didnít use the bar. There were three kiddies play areas, one by the pond with swings and the bounciest rocking elephant I have ever seen, some swings and a slide near the reception and quite a large playpark with a climbing wall, swings and roundabout behind the reception block. If your child is over 8 though there isn't much to keep them entertained. Kids club in high season but is mostly aimed at younger children.

The Security on site is laughable, the gate shuts at 10, but there are 3 other ways in that are in no way barred, not even a squeaky gate! Our tent was one of 3 that got slashed (05/07/11) and my partnerís shorts were stolen, go figure. However the Montana is now well and truly bust and the 3 nights that we had left at the site were sleepless with my 9 year old daughter asking what would happen if the robbers came back. It doesnít really matter how pretty the site is if you end up feeling unsafe in your pitch.

Puy du Fou is an hour away and at least worth a full days investigation, plenty of chateaux, vineyards, troglodytes, abbeys and a fine zoo in the area. Thereís a large Leclerc 5 mins drive away in Brissac, and a huge hyperU in Murs- Erigne.

Would I recommend this site? Only if you have a caravan that you can secure.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kaypea74 5 reviews from this member

We really liked this site - it is immaculately maintained, the plentiful washing facilities were the cleanest I've ever come across on a campsite, an absolute pleasure to use. There are flowers and plants everywhere and the pitches are large and well shaded. There's a good mix of nationalities and the site has a very friendly atmosphere. There are three great pools, bike hire, wine tastings and one night there was a band on in the bar. Best of all there's a free kids club every morning from 9.30-12.00 and a 'mini-disco' each evening, fantastic for keeping the children busy!

The park across the road is also great for kids and the free tickets for campers are an excellent bonus. Brissac-Quince is a nice little town with it's very own castle and a fantastic market on Thursdays. There's also a huge E.Leclerc hypermarche. There's a fishing lake on-site and a lovely stream running alongside the site that makes a good walk.

The only downside is that the on-site restaurant isn't very good, but with the town so close it hardly mattered. All in all a lovely stay and we were sorry to leave.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tolama 1 review from this member

Fully agree with previous reviews on this campsite. Stayed on this site for 11 days in August 2009 with 2 children aged 10 and 6 and can safely say it is the best site we have ever been on.

Toilet and shower blocks immaculately maintained. Never had to queue and water temperature pleasant, ideal for children and lets face it, if they're happy it makes a holiday much more enjoyable! Launderette can be found at the main building as you enter the site as is the shop and reception. Staff are very friendly and the reception has maps of how to get to the local supermarkets. Two play areas with swings and a further main play area around the bar with swings, roundabouts, slides and climbing facilities. Animal corner with goats and rabbits which the children visited every day due to 'newborns'. Fishing lake in the middle of the site, which was well shaded - ideal when you have just arrived and it is 35C. Three swimming pools: a toddler pool, covered and outdoor pool. These were spotlessly clean as were the toilets around the pool. There is a lovely bar area that serves meals and their own Rose wine - superb by the way! Large outdoor chess game and table tennis tables. There is also a kids club, with daily activites and a disco 7.00-8.00.

Across the road is a 'Parc de Loisirs', get your free tickets and discounted tickets from reception. This is ideal for young children, with water slides, tobaggans, pony rides, water rafts and for those in their forties.Remember the traditional playground toys and the 'hamster wheel' barrels.They have one.Not that I went on it!

The local town of Brissac is only about a 20 mins walk along the stream - not worth moving the car for that distance. They have a weekly market and the Chateau is well worth a visit. We were fortunate enough to be there for the International 'Montgolfieres competition'.Hot Air Balloon competition to the rest of us. Superb sight, seeing 100 hot air balloons floating past. Other local attractions include a Zoo at Doue de Le Fontaine (approx 30 mins) and the houses cut in the rock at Rochmenier (20 mins)

The site is excellently maintained and the site employs local people with disabilities. They are very friendly and do a wonderful job. We have never been to the same place twice on holiday.After all the world is a very large place.But when I next go to the Loire Vally - you will find me here!

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3887 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019