Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Domaine De L Etang

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Brissac Quince > Domaine De L Etang Reviews

Domaine De L Etang
Route De St Mathurin
Brissac Quince
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
49320
Tel: 0033 02 41 91 70 61
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chinster1957 33 reviews from this member

 Domaine de LíEtang is a 4 star campsite situated in the Loire Valley between Angers and Saumur just north of the small town of Brissac-Quince. On arrival reception is in the large building on the right. English is spoken. Reception also houses the tourist information point and a small shop which sells basics plus the campsiteís own wine (which is particularly good). Bread and croissants must be ordered the day before.

Just beyond reception is a nice bar / takeaway / restaurant. The menu is varied and includes pizzas. The bar overlooks the swimming pool area where one is under cover.

Pitches are all large and reasonably level. Most pitches have electricity. Some also include water and drainage. The pitches are well tended and generally separated by hedges. Touring pitches are mixed in with the siteís own static pitches.

There are three main toilet blocks plus one much smaller block on the far side of the site. All blocks have toilets with seats and paper is provided in the cubicles. Each main block also has wash basins in cubicles and showers. All of the showers are push button and most have a temperature control. The blocks are kept very clean.

Other facilities on site include a good sized fishing lake, a large field set up for football and badminton (equipment is provided free) and a childrenís club. There are many barbecue points, play areas and table tennis tables dotted around the site. In season the site provides entertainment most days, including wine tasting, a tour of their vineyard, music evenings and yoga.

I have two slight negatives with the site. Firstly many of the roads are loose grit and sand which gets everywhere and makes it quite uncomfortable and painful to walk on. Secondly the three main toilet blocks are all close together near the front of the site with the lake next to two of them. Most pitches are the other side of the lake and are quite a long walk from these blocks.

The closest supermarket is LíEclerc which is about a 10 minute drive. Market day in Brissac is Thursday and it is well worth a visit. There is an easy walk alongside the river into Brissac so you donít even need to take the car.

There are plenty of attractions close by. We enjoyed Terra Botanica at Angers, and the Bioparc at Doue. Both are full days out. There are plenty of chateaus to visit. We visited the one in Angers and the one in Brissac and enjoyed both. We also visited Le Mystere des Faluns at Doue. This is an unusual attraction. It is basically a troglodyte site with light shows inside it. Difficult to explain but well worth a visit. There is just so much to do in the area. Angers and Saumur are both worth a visit.

We spent 19 days here and had a really good time. The campsite was very pleasant and everyone was friendly. If you are visiting this area it should certainly be considered. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Theothertwin 18 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site run by a charity to supporting those with learning difficulties who canít fulfil jobs in mainstream commerce.

Large plots with many eco based facilities. Communal BBQ around site, heated pool, shop and restaurant.

10 minutes cycling to large supermarket and another 10 to town in another direction. Market day Thursday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Helen+Chris 18 reviews from this member

 Loved this site for many reasons, indoor and outdoor pool, bar and small restaurant with entertainment on a few evenings. Fishing pond to keep the husband happy and a lovely walk into Brissac which has a good Market on selling all the usual fruit, veg, clothes etc. ,

The beautiful Chateau in Brissac is well worth a visit. The wine tasting on the campsite is a must and the vineyard tour is also very interesting albeit if its hot remember to take some water as its fairly a long tour.

We enjoyed our first week when it was less busy as schools had not broken up but the second week was much more hectic with lots of little children who are well catered for in the club that runs all sorts of activities and the campfire with toasted marshmellows was enjoyable.

We enjoyed our stay but would only return in early season as it was a little too busy for us but a very well run campsite. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dlittle 7 reviews from this member

 This site is run by a charity who provide employment for people with learning disabilities.

Staff helpful and friendly. Pitches spacious and clean. We were allowed to exercise our dog in a nearby field.

Shop sells fresh bread (daily) and local wine. All facilities well maintained and kept clean. We would happily return to this iste. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheChristerFamily 11 reviews from this member

 We spent two weeks at this lovely site. This was our first visit to France and we loved it. The pitches were all very level. Most were partly shaded which was good as we were lucky to have fantastic weather. Our boys 12 & 16 loved having the pool. They enjoyed using the pool table and table tennis to.

There was a nice mix of families from across Europe.

Lots of places to visit Angers is a lovely City the Chateau is very good and good value to.

Breze Chateau is fantastic. Lots of nice walks to.

Nearby town very sleepy but good market on a Thursday.

Supermarket 5 mins drive away. (Which had a free from section to).

The ladies in reception very helpful and spoke excellent English.

We'll be going back.

Next year hoping to go to their sister site near Saumur, so we can explore further East towards Tours. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Ninja 47 5 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful week here at this pleasant picturesque site. Facilities are generally very good.

3 swimming pools, outdoor cool and shallow, toddler pool and an indoor heated one.

Lovely cycle rides from site and route information provided.

Nice walk along the river to the local town and just over the road there is a nice little amusement park.

Reception could be slow but other than that very good. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kevimarr 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site as the first stop on our 2 week holiday in late July. Arrived one day late due to a breakdown and missed ferry but that's another story!

We stayed for 7 nights and arrived late afternoon. We were given a large pitch in the middle of the site with high hedges all around. Partly shaded through morning and evening. The further away from the reception leads to the larger camping and mobile home area which is less shaded, but still good.

Toilet/shower facilities were in good order and I found them to be clean and tidy. As mentioned in previous posts the disabled workers were in evidence early mornings. Play facilities for the kids were in good condition and the both pools were clean and tidy. My son certainly gave it the thumbs up. There is a bar attached to the pool but on our visit never appeared to be staffed which was odd! The restaurant on site was good, not a great choice of food, but certainly adequate. Once a week there are tastings of the local wines. Also a large E Leclerc is situated just south of Brissac Quince.

Overall this is a pleasant site, not too big, and quiet enough for adults to enjoy. It is an excellent base for Chateau Exploring! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bofs 70 reviews from this member

 Returned to this site after 6 years, as we were in the area, curious to see what it was like out of the main season. Surprised at how many pitches were occupied in comparison with the other sites we'd been on this holiday, although I would say it was still only about a third full at most. Reception was fine, though not as welcoming as some other sites, and the site still had a nice feel to it. Part of the main toilet block was closed but the one we used on the original part of the site was very clean and well-maintained, with plenty of hot water. The disabled workers were still in evidence, obviously getting the site ready for the high season and it was good to recognise some from our previous visits. The trees and shrubs on the newer part of the site are now established and will provide some necessary shade but the pitches are still so enormous that part of them will also be in the sun, giving the best of both worlds. We still liked the site and love its location, and would return if in the area again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie s 11 reviews from this member

 This peaceful and well kept campsite is situated in the Anjou wine growing region of France and so is in a pretty location surrounded by vineyards. The site even produces its own wine which for sale in the campsite shop.

When we arrived I found the lady in reception not very welcoming and quite harassed. Also the pitch that we was allocated was already taken when we got to it- this however was to our advantage as our allocated pitch had been in a very crowded part of the site despite the site only being half full and so we were allowed to choose our own pitch in a much less crowded, prettier part of the site. On booking through the Caravan Club though I had booked us a special pitch with electricity, water and drainage on the pitch- the original pitch we were allocated on arrival was not a special pitch and also when we looked around before choosing our new pitch we noticed that every pitch seemed to just share water. And so if you book through the Caravan Club I would just pay for a standard electric pitch.

We found all the rest of the staff to be very nice.

The toilets and showers were kept clean and there was always plenty of hot water.

There is entertainment organised on site- kids club in the mornings, afternoon pool or sports activities, a mini disco at 7pm followed by low key evening entertainment.

The pool area is nice-there is an outdoor pool and also a covered pool.

There is a small lake, which is full of big fish, in the centre of the site. Most of the lake is fenced apart from the jetty from where it is possible to fish- the jetty is next to the children's swings and so little ones who like wandering will need to be watched! However there are two other good play areas on site.

Brissac Quince is a very pretty town with a weekly market on Thursdays. Also in the town is the very impressive Brissac Castle which is the permenant residence of the Duke of Brissac- the grounds are open to the public and there is an English guided tour inside the castle once a day.

Angers (nice shops, castle) is also a short drive away.

The best thing about the site for us though (we are a family with 3 children) was the adjoining Parc de Loisirs leisure park which seemed to be owned by the campsite. People staying on the campsite get free entrance- although you will need to ask at reception for your tickets as on our arrival nothing was mentioned about this, (we only found out when we picked up an information leaflet about the leisure park). The leisure park is great for children with plenty to keep them happy- pony rides, a train, trampolines, bouncy castles, waterslides, pedalos, swimming in the lake and lots more. The park is well kept and the staff are very nice and all seem to take great pride in their work. When we arrived the lady offered to stamp our hands so that we could nip back to the caravan for lunch, swimming things etc.

I would use this campsite again if we returned to this part of France. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: StuartL171 1 review from this member

 We were at the site in the last week of June and first week of July It is a lovely flat and well maintained site with friendly staff, however 1 large toilet/washing block was cordoned off, leaving only 6 male toilets for the whole site, which had no paper for an entire weekend, despite being cleaned at least twice a day. They are relying on caravanners having their own facilities. The shop was small but did some nice wine and had the essentials, bread can be ordered the night before and was supertasty. We didnít use the bar. There were three kiddies play areas, one by the pond with swings and the bounciest rocking elephant I have ever seen, some swings and a slide near the reception and quite a large playpark with a climbing wall, swings and roundabout behind the reception block. If your child is over 8 though there isn't much to keep them entertained. Kids club in high season but is mostly aimed at younger children.

The Security on site is laughable, the gate shuts at 10, but there are 3 other ways in that are in no way barred, not even a squeaky gate! Our tent was one of 3 that got slashed (05/07/11) and my partnerís shorts were stolen, go figure. However the Montana is now well and truly bust and the 3 nights that we had left at the site were sleepless with my 9 year old daughter asking what would happen if the robbers came back. It doesnít really matter how pretty the site is if you end up feeling unsafe in your pitch.

Puy du Fou is an hour away and at least worth a full days investigation, plenty of chateaux, vineyards, troglodytes, abbeys and a fine zoo in the area. Thereís a large Leclerc 5 mins drive away in Brissac, and a huge hyperU in Murs- Erigne.

Would I recommend this site? Only if you have a caravan that you can secure.  


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Domaine De L Etang child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Domaine De L Etang have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Domaine De L Etang?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Domaine De L Etang dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brissac Quince      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5491 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement