Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Maisonneuve

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Castelnaud La Chapelle > Camping Maisonneuve Reviews

Camping Maisonneuve
Vallee Du Ceou
Castelnaud La Chapelle
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24250
Tel: 0033 05 53 29 51 29
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 14/11/2021
           01/04/2022 to 14/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

 I have mixed feelings about this site. I chose it because I wanted a site that was quiet and scenic. It ticked both boxes, and would have been idyllic if the weather had been better. Unfortunately it's very much a site that's no good in bad weather (and the Dordogne can have a lot of rain. )

When we arrived the weather was very hot and sunny (30 degrees) so we chose a shady pitch by the river Ceou, which was lovely. There were a lot of pitches with very little shade, which would have been unbearable in the heat. We liked the fact that the river-side pitches had no boundary at the front, so lots of room to spread out. Our view was across a wide field with an unmown area in the centre, full of wild flowers, with views to a steep wooded hill with a rocky escarpment at the top, popular with rock climbers.

We enjoyed the very smart new swimming pool, although any footwear had to be left at the entrance, and the decking was too hot to walk on! There were always sun beds available, although not much shade, and the toddlers' pool was completely unshaded too. It was wonderfully refreshing to bathe in the river, which was crystal clear and icy cold.

There are three unisex toilet blocks of different sizes and levels of comfort, although all are near the reception area - a long walk from some of the pitches. I chose the site because according to the ACSI book the facilities were heated and had toilet paper. However, this only applied to one of the blocks, nearest the bar, which wasn't very large, so we often had to use another block, very much inferior with no heating and no paper, smaller cubicles and fewer hooks for clothes or towels.

The third toilet block was situated between the other two and was very small, semi-open air, and closed when we were there in low season. Heating wasn't an issue while the sun shone, but unfortunately after three hot days the temperature dropped dramatically and we had a lot of rain. As a result the heated block was always full, and floors in the inferior block got very muddy, and it was cold because the door was permanently propped open.

Another problem with the superior toilet block was that footwear had to be left at the door. I can understand this for showers, to keep the floors clean, but there were toilets, washing up and laundry sinks and washing machines all in the same building - who wants to go into a toilet (especially unisex) or to do the washing up, in bare feet?

In June the restaurant was closed and the bar only open in the day time. There was a pleasant courtyard where you could sit with a drink in fine weather but not much provision for rainy days.

Despite these problems we loved the area. The village of castelnaud-la-Chapelle was within walking distance and had a butchers, bakers and general store. There are so many places of interest nearby, including Sarlat, Domme, La Roque Gageac, Chateaux des Milandes and the gardens of Marquessac. On rainy days we took refuge in caves and museums.

I can't fault the site for its excellent location, spaciousness and charm, but the facilities could have been better, especially as the ACSI price of 18 euros was rather high for a 3-star site. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Livewires 11 reviews from this member

 We spent four nights here in September 2017 with our two dogs. It was a return visit as we have been here a couple of years ago. The site offers a great variety of pitches and we chose one in an open area. For us the main attractions of this site are its location within walking distance of the village and river Dordogne (which the dogs loved!), the spaciousness of the site, it is well placed for visiting many tourist attractions, ideal for hiring a canoe on the most attractive stretch of the river, easy walks nearby. The site itself is very clean with excellent roomy showers and spotlessly clean facilities with plenty of hot water. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Fresh bread each morning is a bonus, too. We found the campervan grey water emptying point a little difficult to use but the Elsan point and fresh water intake point were fine and, in keeping with the rest of the site, very clean. This site is excellent value with the ACSI card which saved us approx 8 € per night. Would certainly recommend. We plan to return with friends next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rob Nash 1 review from this member

 We camped here for two weeks in 2017 and wished that we has stayed longer. It is a lovely well run site in a pretty location. I spent a long time looking for a quiet site, with enough to do for my 3 and 7 year olds, but also peace and quiet for our first camping trip to France. We got what we wanted, only one night were we disturbed, and that was due to a huge rave in the castle up the road.

As others have said there is plenty to do in the area, but what I really loved was that we were happy to stay on the site all day or explore nearby by bike or on foot. Perhaps not the best site for older kids as the activities are limited and the broadband in the bar area (over 5 Euro‘s a beer!) is terrible. The pool is lovely but small and gets very crowded in the afternoon.

We had a great time and will be going back. I just wish I could find another site like this in another area of France, perhaps by the sea, as there is so much to see in this beautiful country. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kemu19 16 reviews from this member

 This campsite just ticked all our boxes - excellent pitches with a choice of beneath trees, by a river or in an open field, fabulous clean pool, natural setting with beautiful views, excellent sanitary facilities, lovely bar area with wifi, and on a cycle track!

The aquamarine river Ceaou, a tributary of the Dordogne was lovely to swim in and not at all cold - amphitheatre style so easy to get in and out and a diving board for brave people.

We paid through the ACSI scheme so very reasonable for such a high quality site.

Close to an area by the river at the bottom of Castelnaud a few minutes cycle ride away where there are a few restaurants, picnic areas and canoe hire (v expensive shop though).

The staff were very friendly but it was a shame that the cafe/restaurant wasn't open in the evening. Best closest supermarket is in Cenac. We did the 20km kayak from Vitrac to somewhere past Beynac and they very kindly transported my husband and his own kayak and picked us up which was kind. Cycled to Daglan - all off road but beware very long country kilometres in blazing sunshine - take lots of water as Daglan is a typical french village where everyone has been abducted by aliens and there is no bar! Really hope to return to this lovely site but only out of the main season as think this is a very touristy area and would get rammed. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tucker81 6 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Maisonneuve. We really like the site as it is not overly busy even in peak season, there's a lovely river to jump in and swim in, and the pool is also good. No slides, but a paddling pool and different depths. The pool is being refurbished for 2016.

The sanitary blocks are good, although there is a slightly newer one which I preferred to use. The older block tended to have a bit of a whiff at times. No problems with hot water or cleanliness in the new block, but the old block had towels at the main door to soak up water and dirt from people's shoes, but these got really dirty and almost served no purpose. Just a minor issue really.

There is a kids play area near the pitches. I'd heard of problems of kids being noisy, but didn't really experience this ourselves. We tend to go mid-august though, so it's always a bit quieter at this sort of time.

It's just a short walk into Castelnaud, where there is a cafe bar, newsagents, bakery etc. And the chateau itself is worth a visit or two.

Scarlet is also nearby, and is a very easy drive. Finding parking can be difficult though.

The staff at the site are very friendly, and if I was in the area again I would consider staying again. The only thing that might dissuade me would be the face we have been there twice and it might be nice to explore a different area instead. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SteppieBristol 18 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site in an absolutely beautiful area. There are lots of campsites to choose from in this part of the Dordogne. For me the main selling point for Camping Maisonneuve is the river swimming area which is delightful (if cold!).

The only thing I would mark the site down for is not providing loo paper in the toilets - I've got used to most sites providing this so it was a bit of a shock not to have it. The facilities were plentiful and very clean though.

The other thing to be aware of is that as we we just out of high season (first week of September) the snack bar was closed, and the courtyard bar only opened in the daytime - closing about 7. 00pm. I was a bit disappointed as the courtyard area is so lovely to sit out in, and as the family lived on site I thought they could have stayed open a bit later. However the owners were generally very friendly and helpful. Free wifi in the courtyard was good, and there are sockets so you can charge your phone if necessary.

It's a peaceful site, with a bit of road noise in the day, but not much, and silent at night apart from the owls hooting around the valley. It was probably only about 20% full when we were there so lots of space between campers and very relaxing. I'd be interested to know how busy it gets in high season as I know this is a very popular area, but there are so many sites to choose from in a small area.

All the pitches along the river get full sun in the morning but shade in the evening. The traditional French style marked pitches to the north side have varying degrees of shade. The row of pitches 74-89, which are alongside the single track road which cuts through the site, generally have morning shade but sun at night. At the time we were there the sun went down over the hill at 7. 00pm so we chose that side to make the most of the late afternoon sun.

There is so much to see and do in the local area that you could easily fill two weeks. We particularly liked the town of Sarlat, which is only 20 mins drive away; and had an amazing visit to the Font-de-Gaume cave (I was worried about getting in, so we arrived at 8. 00am and easily got a place on the first English tour, but I expect its a lot busier in high season - took about 40 mins to drive there). We had great weather as well which really helped, but I'm sure there would be enough to do on rainy days as there are plenty of castles and interesting villages to visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boo1 16 reviews from this member

 Having previously stayed up the road in Bel Ombrage I was a little apprehensive about booking this site as Bel Ombrage was such a delight. However, I needn't have worried as the excellent facilities and access to the village of Castelnaud made this site an excellent choice. The site has many different styles of pitch, some 'hedged', some open, some shady, some sunny and some with direct access to the lovely little river. What really made this site special was the wonderful facilities around the main courtyard - the bar and restaurant were excellent, we had two lovely meals in the restaurant and didn't feel the need to venture any further to eat out in the evening after sampling the quality of the cuisine on site.

The other main draw of this site is the river Ceou and the natural bathing and plunge pool at the end of the site. Yes it was cold, but the experience of swimming in such a lovely environment made it well worth the initial intake of breath! We did use the swimming pool which was great, but given the option chose the river every time.

Overall a lovely site which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JohnnJane 6 reviews from this member

 Beautiful setting for a lovely site.

It was full when we were there but didn't feel overcrowded. The pitches are all delineated with hedges and are adequate size (not vast) - some very shady but some exposed to the sun. Other people have commented that the ground drains well after rain - well, we were there after a heat wave, and although the ground looked rock solid, there was actually no problem getting pegs in.

Toilets and showers clean and only occasional waits at peak times (and all unisex. ). There are now two washing machines but still a queue in the evening, avoided by the simple expedient of doing your washing in the morning.

Catering is amazing. The shop/bar, open from 8am till late, opens onto the shaded courtyard which has wifi and a few charging points, lovely to sit drinking coffee or cold beer catching up on the world. The shop sells fresh croissants, baguettes etc for breakfast, but sells out most mornings by mid morning, and doesn't really stock much else. The other side of the bar is the 'snack bar', which actually serves whole meals on a par with local restaurants, with only slightly lesser choice, as well as takeaway pizzas and ice creams, and never seemed remotely crowded at the early evening times we used it, and has proper and friendly waitress service.

Staff are all friendly and all seemed to speak English, some fluently.

Children's playground looked perhaps a little crowded. Swimming pool was busy but quite large and not overcrowded.

Castelnaud village (15 mins walk) has a shop for any of the things the campsite shop doesn't have, a typical boulangerie with every sort of rustic bread imaginable, cycle and canoe hire, and two restaurants.

Besides being spectacularly beautiful in is own right (surrounded by cliffs and river with hot air balloons drifting overhead morning and evening) the campsite is in the middle of the tourist Dordogne with castles, caves, canoeing and restaurants all around. Only downside is traffic - I'm sure market day in Senac is delightful, but that is the day we arrived and we queued for 45 minutes to get through it. From our experience, we would recommend the caves at Domme (but be prepared for a lengthy and earnest guided tour in French), one or other of the local chateaux, canoeing on the Dordogne (multiple firms will drop you your chosen distance upstream and you drift/paddle back), and the hanging gardens (amazing topiary). 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan29 12 reviews from this member

 We just loved our 17 nights here courtesy of ACSI. We started off under the trees (pitch 113) and after 3 solid nights of rain asked to move because of the mud. No problem. We picked another pitch out on the main field facing the evening sun and had a fabulous time.

Yes the access is tight and we should have spotted the sign and avoided the first entrance - luckily we are insured for the scrape :-(

Free wi-fi in the courtyard. Excellent pool. Excellent 'snack' that would put many a restaurant to shame. Lovely owners who speak excellent English. Its just as well as it is very popular with Brits. There were a couple of groups of Brits, but the site is big enough to avoid them if that isn't your cup of tea.

We are a couple of pensioners, but I would think it would be the place for a superb family holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J.okane 7 reviews from this member

 Would agree with most other comments, this is a pleasant and, in my experience, quiet site. Staff were friendly and happy to use English, and to be able to have my favourite breakfast (apricot pastry) instead of the ubiquitous pain-au-chocolat from the site shop every morning was a bonus.

Did not use the swimming pool due to poor weather while there but it looked fine. What was particularly good was the ground drainage, despite some pretty heavy rain we didn't find surface water lying, nor any problem with mud.

As previously remarked, entrance to the site for anyone towing a caravan and approaching from Castelnaud village would be hazardous if the first signed access road was taken, do continue on the main road for approx. Another mile then turn left at junction, second road much easier than first. But for the access I would have given the site location a high mark, 6 given only because of this. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Maisonneuve child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Maisonneuve have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Maisonneuve?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Maisonneuve dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Castelnaud La Chapelle      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3007 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder