Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodlands

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Tralee > Woodlands Reviews

Woodlands
Dan Spring Road, Tralee,
Tralee
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 066 7121235
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 135
Open: Mid March - E Sept.

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gbrownhill 10 reviews from this member

 This is one of the nicest campsites that we have stayed on in Ireland (and this is now our third visit to the Emerald Isles).

The pitches are well laid out with electric, water and drainage on each pitch, no dragging a heavy used water container across to the main block. The campsite is surrounded by fields and you can even hear the cows mooing in the next field. The park is also very secure with an entrance barrier and a key fob system. The Wifi is free

The owners are friendly, the showers are free and the toilet blocks are kept extremely clean. There is plenty of space on each pitch for a caravan, awning, car, gazebo and washing airer if required. The owner is seen going round mowing pitches as people vacate.

There are games rooms for children, a playground and also a field for ball games as well as a field at the back of lodges and a tent area in front of the facilities. A campers kitchen is available for use with cookers/kettles/microwave with indoor and outdoor covered seating. There is also a launderette with washers/dryers/airers and ironing board. There is also a t. V. Room and the park has several benches and picnic tables around the reception area for you to sit and enjoy the local air

A few yards down the main road is a Aquadome and cinema complex. In the town there is a theatre, a Tesco and several large shops, which you can walk to through the local park. There are also several restaurants in the town. There is also a walk along the local river where you can take your dog.

Definitely a caravan site that we would like to revisit if we are in County Kerry again. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ciarri 20 reviews from this member

 This campsite is located in the town of Tralee, although once you turn in and drive up the driveway, you realise that you're in a lovely, quiet oasis. The site has some of the best facilities we've seen in a campsite in Ireland. The sanitary block is spotless, with plenty toilets, sinks and showers. The showers are free, with no tokens needed, so you don't suffer the usual fear of ending up with cold water and a head full of shampoo.

It's a large campsite, but is divided into several fields. There's hard standing for caravans and motor homes, each pitch being fully serviced. There's a separate camping area without electricity.

The campers kitchen is very good, with a hob for cooking, fridge, microwave and some picnic tables in a covered shelter. There's a games room and tv room with wifi and a large inside area with tables and chairs. Thankfully we didn't have to use any of the indoor space as the weather was stunning when we were there.

There's a newly installed playground, which was brilliant and a pitch to play games. The aquadome water complex is nearly, also a cinema.

There's a shop in reception for necessities, but there's plenty of shops nearby.

This site is located 20 miles from Killarney, 30 miles from Dingle and 5 miles from some fabulous beaches. There's a lovely walk along the canal out to a restored windmill. The sunsets out to sea from the windmill on a clear evening are magnificent.

The price was 30 per night for two adults and a child, which is pretty standard, but I think good value for the facilities on offer and the location. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mousey 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in August with 2 adults and 2 kids for 30 a night plus 1 for a shower for 6 mins.

The site is spotless, very spacious and the staff are friendly. The staff cycle round on their bikes every now and then to ensure everthing is ok.

Theres a small playground which the kids loved. They also have a good sized tv room with toys and lego which was a nice touch.

The kitchen had a large freezer and a fridge. My only gripe here was that the fridge needs to be checked. I was trying to squeeze in my food bag and spotted 2 cartons of lumpy milk that were both over a week out of date. I binned them and it made space for my own food.

Entry is via a barrier that you get a key fob for when checking in.

All in all id say this is an excellent site and would happily stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dvdjohnston 5 reviews from this member

 Me, my wife, 3 kids, and Golden Retriever stayed at this fantastic site from 16th to 23rd August 2012 in our Touring Caravan. The owners were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Facilities on site are excellent and include a playpark, TV and games room for kids, as well as free wifi. Toilet and shower facilities were very clean and plentiful.

Pitches are a great size and the layout provides for a real holiday feel. Indeed, my first comment to my wife when we pitched up was 'I now feel like I'm truly on holiday' The site is conveniently located to the centre of Tralee which is a 10-15 min walk or short cycle away.

The Aqua Dome (indoor swimming & water slides) is also only 5-10 mins walk away. It is also a perfect base from which to explore the Ring of Kerry. In this regard I must pay particular tribute to Mike who showed me the best route to take to see the great sights (thanks Mike - Valencia Island is a dream location).

This was our first visit to The Kingdom, and I expect the first of many. We will definitely return and stay at Woodlands - it was a fabulous site! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

 The pitches were fully serviced and quite large. The site was extremely busy as we were there during the Rose of Tralee festival. We didn't know when we booked so it was a bit unexpected. However, it was nice to watch the parade and the town itself came alive with street entertainment. I can't comment on the toilet/shower facilities as we didn't use them. We used the shower in our caravan. Tralee town centre is an easy walk from the site and has lots of shops and pubs. The Aqua Dome is just a 5 minute walk. We walked along the canal to the Blennerville Windmill. We also did the Dingle Peninsular from here. We also drove through the O'Connor pass. Both had some wonderful scenery and well worth seeing. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hoedown 46 reviews from this member

 This was a well-equipped site close enough to the town to walk to the shops / restaurants / bars etc.

Although we did not go to a beach, it would appear that is what most families use this site for during the school holidays.

As 2 quiet senior citizens we found it to be quite noisy and children were allowed to run, play football and cycle anywhere, even between our campervan and the utility tent we had pitched alongside us.

Blennerville Windmill and also the Kerry County Museum well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cmarl02 1 review from this member

 This is perhaps the top site in the area, plenty of level ground, well tended, all facilities, clean, easy distance from the for town, which is one of Ireland's greatest County Towns, attracting a lot of musicians, poets, beauty queens and that ilk. ( For writers, go to Listowel, 30km )

The rose of Tralee was on while we were there all the street entertainment was great firework display good eating places

This is a very popular site with all ages. I found it no more expensive than similar sites. M I was amazed. All that camping on the astounding beaches near Fenit ( 12km ), wood fires, sunsets etc., 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Trishandtez 31 reviews from this member

 Really good site well laid out caravan club standard.Camper kitchen with fridge and microwave. Games room friendly girl in reception.Found laundry to be a little expensive 6 euro for a wash and the same for a drier.

Didn't use shower as we had our own but they were expensive as another poster said buttenters don't have the choice!

Bit cheaper than other sites at. 21 euro a night.Found all campsites in southern Ireland to be very expensive. Still building going on here but that can't last forever.Took bikes into town.

All on flat a few cycle lanes here and there but the motorists a very. Kind and lets you cross busy roads.Raining again but can't hold that against the site 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ex-pat 5 reviews from this member

 This is perhaps the top site in the area, plenty of level ground, well tended, all facilities, clean, easy distance from the Aquadome ( excellent pool, family tickets, spend a day but don't buy a lot of food there, ) and very handy for town, which is one of Ireland's greatest County Towns, attracting a lot of musicians, poets, beauty queens and that ilk. ( For writers, go to Listowel, 30km )

This is a very popular site with all ages. I found it no more expensive than similar sites. My teenaged daughter wanted to stay longer. I was amazed. All that camping on the astounding beaches near Fenit ( 12km ), wood fires, sunsets etc., yet she preferred this.

PS: Re other review for July '07: We were there during the annual Builders' Holiday. The whole of Ireland was a building site LAST year. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danandjack 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a long weekend at this campsite. While the weather was not the best there was plenty to do with the aquadome, cinema, shops and restaurants, park all within a short walk. We did not use the car at all. The site was clean, staff lovely, great dog walking area.

The site shop could have been better stocked but it was not a problem with so many shops close by.

Will definatly return 9/10 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodlands child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodlands?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Woodlands dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4209 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement