Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of High House Fruit Farm

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Woodbridge > High House Fruit Farm > Reviews

CLOSED: High House Fruit Farm
Sudbourne
Woodbridge
Suffolk   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is now permanently closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawnchorus 3 reviews from this member

 We've stayed at this site several times. It is great for a short visit to the area as there are no showers. A sheltered field surrounded by trees. Toilets & washing up sink well maintained. Lovely little shop to buy fruit farm produce. Daughter enjoyed seeing the chickens. It's a long walk to the pubs in Orford but can be done! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lifecycle 1 review from this member

 As it's been a while since the last review was left, just thought I'd try to bring things up to date by confirming that this continues to be a basic (still no showers) but very friendly family run site within a working fruit farm.

I stopped off for one night with a small solo tent whilst completing the highly recommended Suffolk Coastal Cycle Route which runs directly past the site & don't think I could possibly have made a better choice in the circumstances.

The field set aside for camping is flat, sheltered & plenty big enough for the relatively small number of tents that will be accommodated at any given time (suggest pre booking essential) & both the two toilets & useful kitchen area provided were also found to be spotlessly clean on this occasion.

The walk into Orford for Fish & Chips at the Jolly Sailor took about 30 - 40 mins at a leisurely pace via country lanes & was well worth the effort on a fine summer's night.

Not quite sure how interesting it would prove to be for a family with children, but for anyone else simply searching for a quiet spot in the heart of the Suffolk countryside for a few nights away from it all, this site will certainly take some beating. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EssexCamper99 1 review from this member

 We love this campsite! This was our fifth visit and as usual we had a relaxing time during our stay.

The farm is very secluded and quiet, with clean facilities (toilets / kitchen - no showers). The village of Orford has good pubs and restaurants, 2 miles away (makes a nice scenic walk on a sunny evening).

There are also several good countryside walks nearby as well as a short drive away.

The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable, we recommend the campsite to anyone wishing to get away from it all.

We will definitely return! 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RichardCB 4 reviews from this member

 Used this campsite because of reviews here and not disappointed.

Email correspondence beforehand was prompt, efficient and useful.

We expected few campers about at this time of year but there were three tents pitched already when we arrived on the Saturday so we took what space was left. By Sunday all the others had gone but we didn't repitch - and we were alone all week.

The site is well sheltered, flat, clean and partly shaded at different times of the day; as it turned out, our position enjoyed the best of the evening sun. Facilities were all that is needed, apart from showers, with plenty of hot water.

There are no specific facilities for children, which suits us.

We live in a small Norfolk country village so are used to quiet surroundings but the quietness of this site was of another order: wonderfully relaxing for us but maybe not for those seeking 'entertainment'.

The site owners are friendly and helpful; we took up one of their suggestions for an evening pint and used the Jolly Sailor in Orford more than once: superb beer and convivial locals, too.

It was rather pleasant to be there in the middle of apple harvesting with all of the work that entails. It's good to see a flourishing enterprise such as this and we wish the Pool family continued success.

We hope to return next year if for no other reason than to buy some more produce, especially the loganberry jam!

Rankings: marked down a bit for lack of showers (didn't bother us) and that loos/washing area not cleaned daily, but this was possibly due to the rigours of harvest time 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppy2 1 review from this member

 Agree wholeheartedly with previous reviews - fabulous site. Especially, as we did on our first night, you have it all to yourself!

Beautiful fruit farm, friendly owners, lovely spot, adequate facilities for 'proper' camping. Quiet, yet easy to reach great sites of interest. We had lovely weather, too - only drawback were the biting insects - worse than Scotland this summer :)

Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Binks 5 reviews from this member

 As previous reviews have said the facilities are simple, but they were very clean and appeared to be recently painted.

Very quiet and peaceful spot. The farm shop sells it's produce in season and we bought asparagus. We also bought their home made loganberry jam which was absolutely delicious.

You can walk into Orford from here, about 2 1/2 to 3 miles along a mixture of footpaths and quiet lanes. We saw several hares on the walk quite close up. The castle at Orford is well worth visiting.

There is a food shop and post office in Orford but it closes half day on Wednesday. We got caught out by this and decided we had to eat out that evening, which turned out for the best, as we visited the Oyster Inn at nearby Butley. Very good food and of course excellent Adnams beer. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bemgarth 2 reviews from this member

 Being a fruit farm all the hedgerows consist of sturdy trees, this also applies to the camping field which provides excellent shelter from all wind directions. We had 2 very windy days and the tent, a large 6 berth, barely fluttered. The flip side of this is that there is a fair amount of shade so you need to choose your pitch carefully for either morning or afternoon sun.

It is very quiet and secluded, although being a working farm there are some comings and goings during the day. No caravans, no electric hook ups, no shower, no childrens play area - camping at it's best. There is a toilet and handbasin with hot water.

Superb cycling from the site, it's on the Suffolk Coast Cycle Route 43, with quiet roads and lovely scenery. The nearest pubs and basic shops are in Orford 2 miles away. You are also within cycling distance of The Maltings at Snape and Aldeburgh, where there is a Co-op and a variety of other shops, restaurants, take-aways and pubs, plus a long shingle beach.

6 for a tent plus 2 people and 1 per car and/or extra person.

Fresh eggs, applejuice and seasonal fruit and veg from the farm shop were lovely.

With only 5 or so tents/motorhomes allowed this is a perfect site for peace and relaxation. Midweek we had the site to ourselves. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leafletter 27 reviews from this member

 This is a truly idyllic spot. It is on a by-road, so no through traffic, and consists of a paddock surrounded by mature trees. There are separate men and women's loos and washbasins with hot water but, apart from the the drinking water tap, that's it - more than adequate for a day or two. Booking is recommended as it only has 5 pitches.
High House is a commercial fruit farm so there is a farm shop with wonderful apple juices (we recommend the Bramley and Cox), free range eggs and vegetables from the garden, as well as fruit, of course, and pyo. We called in at the nearby Froize Inn which was amazing. Orford is a pretty village a short cycle ride from the campsite, and Snape Maltings and Aldeburgh are easily accessible for a day out. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3843 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement