Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camp Municipal La Roche

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > St Amand Montrond > Camp Municipal La Roche Reviews

Camp Municipal La Roche
Chemin De La Roche
St Amand Montrond
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
18200
Tel: 0033 02 48 96 09 36


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 36 reviews from this member

 Large Municipal Campsite on the edge of town, approx. 100 pitches. Facilities are ok for a municipal and are clean. Water could have been hotter.

Toilets did not have seats and toilet paper was not provided. Electricity on pitches. A brisk walk into the town for restaurants etc, LíEclerc Supermarket about a 5/10 minute drive away.

Booked ahead but no deposit needed. There seemed to be plenty of room on the site. We were allowed to choose whichever pitch we wanted. Bread etc available at 8. 00pm each morning.

On the second stop there was a Van, selling fresh Pizzas cooked in a wood burning oven. (open daily but perhaps just there for the season).

Also a Pizza stall in Leclercís car park. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stopover for one night en-route to the south. As it was early May there were very few pitches taken and consequently the only showers available were in the reception building.

These showers were dated and the one I used had a chain to operate the push valve which was interesting to say the least. However, the water was warm and the showers were clean. A lot of the pitches were sloping and ours had negative polarity.

The site is in a nice position near a canal within a short walk to the town.

I would stay again, but probably only for an overnight stop. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HertsCamper 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here overnight on our way back from the south of France in August, the two main reasons for the choice being proximity to the A71 and being within walking distance of a choice of restaurants.

We followed Google directions to the campsite which wasnít a good route (narrow road and one way sections) and we had to improvise. It pointed us in a different direction to the signpost so I think the Google route was simply wrong! We left via the town centre and this was very straightforward.

There were quite a lot of units at the site, tents, caravans and motorhomes, but it was very peaceful. I booked in advance, but there would have been no problem just turning up. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I spoke in French so canít comment of whether English is spoken. We were shown to our pitch with all the facilities pointed out as we went. We were given a choice of pitch within a given area of the site. The pitches were generally flat and heavily shaded. We didnít need electricity so I canít comment on the hook ups.

Pastries and bread can be ordered for the morning. There was a take-away pizza menu, but it looked like you had to order that the day before.

There is quite a good playground on site. The washrooms we were directed to were basic, but clean. Unsurprisingly, you need to take your own toilet paper. The ladies had individual washbasin cubicles, but the gents did not Ė not ideal since there isnít a door on the washrooms so the washbasins are all in full view! Conversely, my husband had hot water for his morning shower but I did not Ė good thing there was a washbasin cubicle for me! However, as I returned from collecting my bread I noticed another wash block. I didnít investigate, but maybe it is better?

As I walked into town after we had pitched our tent, with 1 hungry dad and 2 hungry kids in tow, I began to get rather concerned that I had been wrong about there being a proper town centre for an evening meal because all the streets were deserted rows of terraced houses. However, we did find the centre and it is a decent size and does have a choice of restaurants. In fact, it was quite a bustling little town.

This campsite served its purpose as a convenient stopover and as such I would stay there again. We arrived at about 6pm from an 11am start near Perpignan and with a 10am start we arrived at Calais at about 5pm, although traffic on both days was very good, so it is well placed for a one night stop on the way back from the south of France. There are a few petrol stations around so good for filling up before getting on the autoroute, plus a supermarket just off the main road. For a family with 2 boisterous kids it is far too quiet for a longer stay and the wash blocks are ok for one night when I know Iím going to be home to my shower later that day, but not up to what I would want for a longer stay. However, it was only about £15 for 4 people in August, so I can't really complain! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oxter 76 reviews from this member

 Not a lot to add to previous reviews. ACSI price till 30 June now Ä13 and a bit over Ä17 after that.

Bonus is a decent free wifi which works in vicinity of leisure room and pitches around.

There are decent cycle and walking tracks along the canal in both directions but after several kms they deteriorate to 6' tracks.

Interesting Roman Ruins nearby Very helpful tourist office in town. Warden staff nice, helpful and friendly.

Sanitary facilities in need of modernisation but clean and operational.

Plenty to do for a few days or useful night halt near autoroute. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 186 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We chose this site from the ACSI book as we needed a stopover for 1 night, and it was 12 euro. The site was easy to find following the instructions in the ACSI book. It is situated on the edge of a small town next to a canal.

The man at reception booked us in quickly, and showed us to a pitch. This was on a slight slope as is the top area of the site, grassy and bordered by hedges and trees, giving welcome shade. The top of the site is attractive, at the bottom, through a gate, is a huge divided field, with its own facilities. I got the feeling that area was used for groups.

Dotted around the top end of the site are pairs of sinks with only cold water taps, and a small roof cover over. These must be for prepping food etc. The only hot water tap we could find was outside the back of the reception building.

The sanitary facilities were a bit confusing. There were old fashioned but clean facilities in the reception building, separate gender, showers and basins on the front, and toilets round the back, some WC and some squats. It was dark round here at night. At the back near the hot water tap are laundry tubs, but no washing up sinks.

Further down the site is another also old fashioned block with mixed showers, and separate toilets for men round the back again. Next to this is a large amenity type room which was open.

It's about a 5 min cycle into the town which has some shops. Also it is pleasant cycling along the canal.

We enjoyed our stay here and would use this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 304 reviews from this member

 We liked this site, especially the price (Ä12 per night with ACSI in low season). It has the usual French profusion of trees, but the helpful warden found us a pitch where we could obtain a Sky tv signal so all was well!

The facilities are ok, but the shower door jammed on me and I had to shout for help! luckily someone heard me quite quickly. Next to them is a room where I suppose some events happen in high season and free wifi can be obtained here.

The site is quite easy to find, towards the town from the autoroute and then follow the camping signs. Turn right at the roundabout just before the canal bridge, then keep going for longer than you might think. Access is easy.

St. Amand Montront is a proper working town with shops in the centre, including a cheap shoe shop for the ladies to browse. There are supermarkets on the main road to the north of the centre.

All in all, we thought it a good and useful site for a couple of nights. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony swift 2 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for 1 night on our way down to the south and 1 night on our way back. Due to traffic problems around Paris! we arrived late at this site. The man at reception would not let us in the gates and suggested we parked in the camper van car park. We didn't think this would be allowed and decided go back to the motorway and stay overnight in the services.

As we don't admit defeat we returned to the site on our journey home 2 weeks later and were pleased they had kept our reservation. The site is an ideal stopover to the south. The pitches are level and spacious. The shower and washing and facilities are basic and a little dated though clean. The nightly rate is inexpensive at 17 euros for a family of 4. The town is a short walk from the site along the canal. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tom,n,Gill 23 reviews from this member

 Agree with Jeepsters review, would add the pitches are quite big, handy stop off from the A75, plenty of Supermarkets nearby for stocking up. To nit pick the showers are a bit dated, but at 12 euros a night, good value. Worth going just to see the jet fighter planted in a near by roundabout!

French urban camping at it's best. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeepster 7 reviews from this member

 This site was easy to find as it is well signposted and close to the canal. Staff were helpful and spoke a little English.
The pitches are hedged and of a reasonable size and the ground is flat. There are plenty of toilet and washing facilities. When we were there it appeared that only part of the whole site was being used. Through a gateway at the rear of the site was a large expanse of parkland which was marked out for camping use, but was not being used.
A 20 min walk would get you into the town center where there were shops of all types.
An ideal site for an overnight stop or a longer stay if visiting the area. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camp Municipal La Roche child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camp Municipal La Roche?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camp Municipal La Roche dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Amand Montrond      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2100 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement