Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cullen Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Cullen > Cullen Bay Holiday Park Reviews

Cullen Bay Holiday Park
Cullen Bay
Cullen
Moray   (Browse area)
AB56 4TW
Tel: 01542 840766
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Statics only
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Sibrig 8 reviews from this member

 This is a super site as the previous reviewers have said. Unfortunately, however, it will be statics only from this year (March 2011). The touring pitches are being dug up and will be replaced by additional static stances. But if you want to stay in a static caravan the site is excellent. It is well run and managed and the location is brilliant. The one possible downside is that it doesn't have any play area for children, although there is a playground in the adjacent public playing field.

If you want a fantastic sandy beach, it is about a 15 minute walk away either through the village or down the cliff path and along past the harbour. If you like walking, the Moray Firth coastal path passes the site. The area has many natural attractions in the immediate vicinity and both Inverness and Aberdeen are within a 60-90 minute drive if you hanker for the big city lights! Speyside and the malt whisky trail are under an hour's drive away. If you want a touring pitch in the immediate area, there isn't one any more at Cullen. Try Findochty, Portsoy or, inland, Fochabers. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Whosemum 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 2 weeks with our 8 & 10 year old boys. The site is meticulously maintained - toilet block very clean, beautiful views,nearby playground, quiet at night, good for families.Wardens extremely helpful.

Excellent access to beach / coastal walks / cycling and a good base for exploring further afield such as Culbin Forest & The Speyside Way on our bikes. Good swimming pools at Buckie & Elgin for rainy days although the flumes at Elgin Pool were infrequently open -check for times of aqua-inflatable sessions which are poorly advertised.

The local chinese takeaway is good & inexpensive.

Ice cream parlour just opened in Fochabers is recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happyasharry 9 reviews from this member

 With views to die for and a sunset of the quality i've never seen in all my travels, pouring through our windscreen, made our one night stay at cullen bay most memorable, staff were very friendly and helpful and the showers were so clean.
Lovely walk across the cliff top path takes you to cullen, where you must sample lindas haddock and chips, would most definitely use this campsite again, superb! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Aliman 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of July and thoroughly enjoyed our trip - our first proper trip in our VW camper. The wardens were extremely friendly, helpful and professional and took real pride in maintaining the site to a very high standard. The toilet/shower block was immaculate - cleanest I've ever come across anywhere and included (in the Ladies) a hairdryer which you did not need to put coins in to use. There were three rotary washing lines outside - a godsend for dying wetsuits and towels after a day on the beach. Although the site itself does not have a play area, there is a great park right next to the site with a football pitch which our children enjoyed.

Cullen has everything you need - good co-op with long opening hours, good chippy and ice cream shop and a selection of others. Cullen is very friendly and extremely neat and tidy with a big beach and lovely cliff walks. Good for biking too. Weather on this stretch of coast was surprisingly good when the rest of the country was very wet - we hardly saw any rain. Only downside - very windy while we were there and thought the awning might blow down a few times!

Will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hairygorilla 7 reviews from this member

 Managed by chance to get the pitch with a brilliant view overlooking the bay

Ten mins walk into town couple pf the pubs as we opened the door silence as they where empty so made a retreat went for a meal in the hotel after ten mins left as the room was stifling heating must have been full on sorry but hate eating in a red hot room

The campsite itself has the right mix of statics and tourers full but not crowded

The washroom toilets where immaculate

All in all a pleasant place to stay not too far from visiting all the brilliant places along the coast well worth a visit

A little extra, I had a problem with the car, phoned Johns autos in Buckie a ten min drive away. What a helpful guy, cheap as well. The part I wanted Vauxhall wanted 88 pounds plus vat, John said nae way are you paying over a hundred pounds, he fixed it then returned my motor for 25 pounds. Also he supports the Rifles my old regiment the royal green jackets are now part of wonder if that helped ? 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: A anderson 3 reviews from this member

 Booked three nights but had to move pitch for the last night as the site was full and the pitch we had was booked, but they did not turn up. The staff could not be more apologetic ,but it's not their fault, only lost income, and my unnecessary hitch up.

As for the site 10 out of 10. Toilets - put it this way the chemical closet, was cleaner than a lot gents toilets on other sites I have visited. As already covered very good play park just outside the site. Will go back. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geoki 22 reviews from this member

 Just back from a weekend here. We last stayed over 9 years ago in a friend's static, so we were pleased with the improvements that have happened in the last few years.

We had a great pitch overlooking the sea on one of the hardstanding pitches. There are approx 8 of these and there are a couple of grass pitches too.

The toilet blocks are clean, but heating at this time of the year would have been nice.

Although there isn't a play park within the grounds of the caravan site, there is a great park just a few yards along the road from the site.

The local co-op had fresh [still warm] rolls both days that we were there [the local bakery has closed] and there are plenty of places to eat within Cullen itself.

With beaches and wooded walks there's plenty on the doorstep to keep everyone happy.

Banff is just a few miles along the road and Elgin 21 miles in the opposite direction with plenty of indoor activities if the weather dictates.

We would also reccommend 'Cullen Icecream' which we say is the 'best icecream in the world!'

The only down part was that we didn't see the famous 'moray firth dolphins'.

We will come back here as it really was a great site. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alan Dykes 9 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site with very good and clean facilities. It's a ten minute walk into the town centre and a walk of about the same duration takes you along the clifftop, down via a charming pet cemetery to the harbour.
 
The tent area is at the top of the site which can offer some nice views across the bay but at the cost of being exposed to wind. The site is right on the top of a cliff and is very exposed.
 
I turned up on my own with a backpack and a one man tent. The warden charged me £9 which seemed a lot considering it's about a fiver at most other sites for a one-man tent. There was no apparent distinction between sizes of tents and so solo travellers are penalised.
 
The pubs in the town are nothing to write home about but there are a couple of decent chippies, at least one bakery and a row of shops for papers and other provisions. There is a regular bus to Aberdeen and Inverness from the town square. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jolly_camper 34 reviews from this member

 An ideal site for a quiet stay situated on a clifftop 10 mins walk from Cullen Town centre, with the very picturesque Cullen Old Town situated right on the harbour. A mix of touring vans, tents and statics on a mostly flat grassy site. The showers and ameneties are centrally located, and are kept in excellent order by the site wardens. An easy short walk down the cliff takes you to the beach with a mix of rocks and pools to while away the hours. Not far away along the beach is an unusual & quaint pet cemetary kept in good order by a local keeper. A large sandy beach and harbour is a little further to walk to, but always there if you need the more traditional day out by the seaside.

Plenty of walks available with a cycle route going miles off into the distance along the coast for those of you who like to push the limits.

Just outside the site entrance has got to be one of the best play parks for kids including a fantastic rope slide to get rid of their energy.

Cullen town centre is a little disappointing if you are used to the bright lights but a quick look around and you can still find a butchers, a bakery, a supermarket and coffee shops along with three pubs. Thank goodness for the Ice Cream Shop and Lucy's Fish and Chips, both on the main street and famous for providing customers with exactly what they are after (good value as well). The Seafield Hotel in Cullen town centre has a small annex bar attached where they occasionally have entertainment provided free on Saturdays nights.

If you get the chance, try to book the site early and get a hard-standing pitch overlooking the sea for breathtaking views because that's what we are going to ask for next time.

This site was runner-up in the 2007 'Highest Camp Site Speed Bump In The UK' Competition (possibly 20.5 cms but this needs verifying), but it still ranks as one of the highest speed bumps at a camp site you will ever come across. Apparently it is there at the site entrance to make motorists reduce their speed, but all I found was that it tried to take my front spoiler off when I went over it as slow as possible. 4X4 drivers are in for a treat! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cullen Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cullen Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cullen Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cullen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Moray

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2074 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement