Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - L Etang Du Camp

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Senergues > L Etang Du Camp Reviews

L Etang Du Camp
Senergues
Senergues
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
12320
Tel: +33 0 5 65 46 01 95
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 8 Reviews
                10/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Carlyn 1 review from this member

Peaceful, beautiful and well kept campsite, overlooking a lake where we watched a kingfisher doing its rounds.

Good facilities in terms of showers and loos. Loads of plus beau villages close by.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theclaydons 8 reviews from this member

This is a gem of a site in an amazing part of France. The pitches are really large, separated by shrubs and they are partially shaded - very welcome in hot weather. The sanitary facilities are very clean with good hot showers. It is a peaceful site with a large fishing lake and diverse flora and fauna. Christine, Stuart, Keith and Sue were really welcoming and were very knowledgable about the local area.

The site is in an area with stunning scenery, it is centrally placed for visiting 5 of the ‘Most Beautiful villages of France’, Conques, the closest, should not be missed. There is plenty of local walking and cycling, maps can be borrowed from reception. Cyclists, if they don’t fancy cycling back up the hill, can phone the site from St Cyprien and they will be picked up and brought back with their cycle - what a service! An ACSI card gives a discount in the low season

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Redrum66 1 review from this member

This place is a real hidden gem. Slap bang in the middle of some of the most beautiful scenery I've ever seen. And I have travelled a lot!

The campsite is perfect for those wishing to relax, and perfectly positioned to discover the lovely towns and villages in the area.

We stayed in one of the safari tents, beautifully located on a small piece of headland, facing out to the lake.

Always cool in the evenings. (it was hot!). A double bed, enough cooking equipment to cook for 2, a barbecue, table and chairs, and sun beds all included in the price.

Christine and Stuart, the owners of the campsite run a super clean site, with great showers. (always important!). And really friendly, and informative too, recommending some great places to visit.

There is a laundry room, a small library. And wonderful ice cream sundaes available when the temperature rises.

A great place to take kids.

We will be back!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ScubaScoobyDoo 16 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful and peaceful camping site, ideally located in the Aveyron region, close to the river Lot. Stuart, Christine, Keith and Sue gave us a very warm & friendly welcome on arrival. It is a small, intimate site which obviously prides itself on a personal touch. Bikes are available for hire.

I am sure we will visit again after our short 3 night stay. They also accept ACSI card for out of season price discount.

The site deserves to be better known, but all in due course given it has been open only 8 years. A little gem! Thankyou

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stevemitchell 2 reviews from this member

FAB-U-LOUS!

Caravan + Tent. (2 X couples + 1 well behaved dog!)

We stayed on this camp-site in July 2013, what a fabulous setting! Pitched right next to the lake, good fishing, lots of roach, (failed to catch a carp, but they are there!) Stuart, Christine, Keith, Sue & Jack are the friendliest people you could ever meet, Christine baked a cake for my missus' birthday, which made it extra special, not to mention the juggler! (Christine's brother-in-law).

NOT TO BE MISSED fire work display by the river at Les Cazelles, (park in Les Cazelles 400 - 500 metre walk, and view from the bridge but get there early for best view!) best I've ever seen! A visit to Conques (our second visit) is not to be missed, beautiful, (Christine even booked a restaurant for us for Kath's birthday here). Had a meal outside the function room (local food cooked by Christine & Stuart) and met some lovely people (English & French). Sunshine all day but shaded under oak tree's.

Showers & toilets etc. Are pristine, fresh bread (order night before) every day. Shops, bar, tabac, hardware store, 10 minute drive away, supermarket 20'ish minutes away, Cycles for hire ( if you cycle down to St. Cyprien and don't fancy riding back up the steeeep hill then ring Keith, he'll pick you up in his land rover!)

If you want a relaxing holiday with beautiful scenery, (like Yorkshire except on a much grander scale!) peace and quiet & perfect host's, then look no further, can't recommend this place highly enough. (Could go on but my fingers getting numb!) PS good luck with the new arrival, best wishes & hope to see you again soon, perhaps for the footy world cup, eh, Keith?? got to be better than that cycling stuff !

Steve + Kath + Maggy + Rhys + Cassie the dog.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Devon Mike 13 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site during the first week of September and knew from day one that we had made a good choice!

Exceptionally helpful owners welcomed us to their campsite and invited us to set up 'home' on any available pitch. All are of a good size and have shade on three sides provided by shrubs and mature trees. The lake side pitches were all occupied so if one of these would be your first choice then some advance booking would be advised. The electricity points can be a little distant and we needed two leads to reach ours but if you don't have a second lead the owners will lend you one. The outlets are 6 amp French style so an adaptor will be required. The toilets and showers are kept spotlessly clean and paper is provided in the loos.

Bread can be ordered for every day except Thursday. Bicycle hire is available which is accompanied by a unique service for those who like sailing downhill but are not so keen on the return climb (and this site is positioned at over 600 metres above sea level!). All roads lead downhill to somewhere so if after a cycle ride you make your way back to St. Cyprian (the village in the valley below), then a call to the site will result in one of the owners coming the 6 kilometres down the hill to pick you and your bike up. Good, eh?

Now the essence of this site is it's beauty and tranquility but it cannot be denied that it is a little off the beaten track and perhaps needs some determination to get there. Access is not difficult and the roads are good but it is more than 70 kilometres from the nearest autoroute and this may put some people off. However, I would urge all those who enjoy life with their caravan or motor home in the best of rural France to make the journey because they will be well rewarded. Driving out in almost any direction from the site will take you to some of the very loveliest 'Plus Beau Villages de France'. Conques, the nearest, is one of the most famous and beautiful villages in the country. Others include Estaing, St. Eulalie d'Olt and Belcastel - my favourite.

There is an very nice Sunday morning market at Marcilliac-Vallon which can be easily reached in about thirty minutes. This is a real old fashioned French market, well attended by the locals and selling excellent products. In St. Cyprian there are a couple of restaurants - a Logis de France and La Table de Jacki. We went a couple of times to Jacki's and had excellent meals at a fair price. There are various shops in the neighbouring villages but the nearest supermarket is at Marcilliac - Vallon.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BushBabyJane 25 reviews from this member

Do you love walking or cycling in beautiful, unspoilt rolling rural France? If so, this is the site for you. We came for a night and stayed for a fortnight, and would have stayed longer if we could. Probably our favourite site in France.

This peaceful campsite is surrounded by rolling rural countryside, on the top of a high plateau. It’s a lovely drive up from St Cyprien – the road winds gradually uphill, but don’t be put off as it’s an excellent road and you won’t have a problem even with a large caravan (just take care to use the sign-posted main road out of St Cyprien – don’t let your sat nav choose the road which goes through the old town (sign-posted for La Poste)). You’ll receive a very warm welcome from the British owners who work hard to ensure that the site is well maintained and that you enjoy your holiday.

There are about 60 pitches, some hedged and others more informally placed under the trees. All are level and many have a view of the fishing lake.

The toilet facilities are modern and always clean. The toilets are UK-style but, as is the way in many sites in France, don’t have seats. However toilet paper is provided! The (free) showers work well and have lovely warm hot-water. There are separate cubicles with wash basins too. (NB There are separate male and female facilities, but in the low season just one set are open.)

There are sinks for washing up, again kept nice and clean. Two washing machines and a tumble-dryer, mean that you can keep on top of your washing. The provided washing line means you probably won’t need the tumble dryer. A freezer is provided for campers who need to freeze cooling blocks.

There is a games room with table tennis table. There is also an outside play area, and free bikes are available for young children to use around the site. The reception area is a free wi-fi hotspot, which we used daily.

A few essentials are sold in the reception area, but it’s only a few minutes drive to the shops. In Lunel there is a bakery/epicerie, in Senergues there is a Spar or St Cyprien has a wider range of shops including a small supermarket – the coffee éclairs from the bakery on the corner are delicious! There are restaurants in St Cyprien or in Muret Le Chateau.

If you like the ‘Tea Shop’ and ‘Pub’ walking guide books in the UK, then you’ll love ‘Les Belles Balades de L’Aveyron – Au Pays de Conques Marcillac’, which is a book of walks in the area around the campsite. You can buy a copy at the Tourist Information office for about 6 euros, or the campsite has a copy. The described walks are well signposted, mostly on tracks and footpaths – occasionally on quiet country roads. They are typically between 2 and 3 hours long and take you though some gorgeous countryside and villages. Although the paths are obviuosly well used, we only once met someone else doing the same walk. All walks are within about 15 miles of the site and we found that it was easy to park near the start of the walk, even in a motorhome. We, and our two dogs, really enjoyed all the walks that we did.

The site owners are keen road cyclists, and can advise on cycle routes. They have a large selection of bikes available to hire.

As previously mentioned, there is a large fishing lake on the site. While we were there, one guy caught a 10lb carp and an 8lb carp – there are pike too apparently (I know nothing about fishing, so if you need to know more, then please contact the site).

There are plenty of places to visit locally.Several of ‘les plus beaux villages de France’ are close by – Conques (not to be missed), Estaing and Belcastel. Salles La Source and Muret Le Chateau are lovely villages too and are also worth a visit. A drive along the Lot valley, with its dramatic scenery, is a good day out. Also, visit Bozouls, which is a really interesting geological site. There are a number of chateau in the locality too, but we didn't visit any, so I can't comment on them.

Incidentally, the site rents out fully-equipped tents which look wonderful and very comfortable.

Finally, if you have a choice, then I suggest you visit this site in the Spring. The surrounding countryside is so beautiful – there are orchids, poppies and cornflowers in bloom in the fields. The gardens are overflowing with iris, lilac, roses and wisteria. It’s fabulous!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trucose 1 review from this member

The best campsite near Conques in Aveyron.

A very lovely and blossom campsite.

At a height of 600 m (1800 feet), you have not the heat of the valley.

The Robinson (English) family are very welcoming.

Sixty big pitches with some shade or complete shade near the pond where you may go fishing.

Two unisex and modern sanitary blocks, very clean all day long ; both have all facilities you would expect.

Two washing machines but no dryer are in the house with table tennis, parlour games, tables and chairs, sink, tourist documentation.

We'll be back for a fourth time.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Midi - Pyrenees

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2942 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019