Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Garn Gwely Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Garn Gwely Camp Site
Garn Isaf
Abercastle
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 5HJ
Tel: 01348 831838
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adeytaylor 6 reviews from this member

Garn Gwely campsite is a gem set in the most beautiful location.

Pembrokeshire was a completely new destination to us and we were bowled over by how quiet and beautiful it was.

The campsite is set off a lane very close to Abercastle cove which is a 8 minute walk down the hill.

Anne, who owns the site, is the most perfect host - always happy to offer advice.

We had a really large pitch with high banks on either side - plenty of room for our Outwell Bearlake 6 including front extension.

There are 3 separate washrooms at the site. Each one houses a shower, toilet and washing up area. All kept very clean. Other reviews have commented on the layout - it's different but workable.

We took kayaks - you can launch from the cove which is very safe for swimming too.

Fantastic beaches in the area - we went to several which were all great (Whitesands, Poppit Sands, Wisemans Bridge, Newgale Beach, Aber Bach & Portmeigan) but the best one we found was just west of Porthgain called Traeth Llyfn (park at Porthgain and its a 20 mins walk but well worth it)

The coastal path is accessible at Abercastle and is arguably the best one in the country.

For an inland walk, try Foel Cwmcerwyn which is the highest point in Pembrokeshire - absolutely breathtaking.

We also did a lovely bike ride from Haverfordwest to Neyland - all off road through amazing countryside.

Also recommend Nolton Stables for horseriding on the beach.

We ate out twice at the Farmers Arms in Mathry which was excellent value and we also had breakfast on our last day at the Mill at Trefin (possibly the best breakfast in Wales?)

All in all, we had a terrific holiday (bolstered by the best summer Wales has known for 20 years).

I would thoroughly recommend this site and the area.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: VickyMorrison 2 reviews from this member

This is a brilliant campsite that is tended with genuine care. You get a lovely large pitch complete with a picnic bench and a fire pit, a very friendly welcome and immaculate shower, toilet and washing up facilities that are constantly cleaned. Washing up liquid, tea towels, dishcloths and hand soap are all laid on, which saves space and hassle when packing. There's also a shared fridge and freezer for keeping milk, butter etc. Which is a real luxury when you're staying in a tent.

Annie the owner is lovely - always happy to offer advice and assistance if you need it. She clearly goes camping herself and understands exactly what is needed. Tiny, thoughtful details are all taken care of, like plenty of hooks in the showers in exactly the right places.

All this means that with a bit of planning, it is perfectly possible to come here by train. We used the brilliant 'Strumble Shuttle' bus service that you can hail right outside the campsite to take you all along the coast between Fishguard (where there's a railway station) and St Davids. You can use it to do a series of day-long walks on the coastal path and then get back 'home' to Garn Gwely, which most certainly feels like a welcoming home to return to after a day out.

The site is a very short walk from the tiny village of Abercastle, which is a very quiet, beautiful hamlet set around a harbour with little more hustle and bustle than the splash splash of the waves on the stones, even though we visited at the end of July when places like St Davids were packed. There is a tiny shingle beach to the right of the harbour a couple of minutes along the coastal path which is a great place to swim and skim stones at high tide.

There are no businesses at all in Abercastle, but there's a sweet pub with a breathtaking outdoor garden overlooking the hills at Trefin, which is a picturesque 40 minute walk from the site via the coastal path and a spectacular neolithic burial chamber, or about a 20 minute walk along a quiet lane (uphill to get there, mostly downhill back).

St Davids is about 8 miles away and is beautiful but busy, with a great range of local shops selling good locally produced food and is the obvious tourist place to go, but the place that really stole our hearts was the old part of Fishguard (the bit up the hill away from the port), which has wonderful little local shops, a gorgeous fish and chip shop and a both a great health food shop with loads of organic food and an upmarket deli with a great cafe. Compared to St Davids, there was virtually no one there.

I would unreservedly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melfoster1971 1 review from this member

This is our second visit to this site and it's become our favourite site we've ever stayed on in Pembrokeshire. Fantastic pitches that are enormous, feels like you have the site to yourself as each pitch has that much space. Very quiet peaceful site, close to the beach at Abercastle and great walks all around, 2 local pubs in Mathry and Trefin serve good home cooked food, the Ship is a great watering hole en route to Porthgain across the coastal path. All pitches have electric hook up and Annie the owner does a great job of making you very welcome and keeping all faculties clean and tidy, you can even have your own camp fire. Can't wait for our next visit.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tazzie71 12 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site. This is a remote site, very quiet, beautiful area, so if you want your kids to run around screaming, want music playing, this is not the site for you. The emphasis is on peace & quiet & relaxing evenings. They insist on NO noise between 10pm & 8am, NO radios, no running around screaming etc! Annie the owner isn't afraid to tell you either if you do, which is a refreshing change for us that want peace.

The entrance has been widened, we have a large twin axle caravan & managed it well. The access roads are single track for about 2-3 miles but this was not a problem as we hardly met another vehicle!

There are 14 pitches, but they area rarely full, as Annie likes to keep it that way. The pitches are all large, each with its own fire pit, picnic bench, most now have electric & they are in the process of installing water to every pitch. Some pitches are surrounded by hedges, so you have your own space, then there is the large field at the back, which has 4 pitches on it, very very roomy, which is ideal for caravans. Relatively level, depends where you pitch.

There are 3 showers, toilets & wash up areas, all unisex, which wasn't a problem. 2 X electric shower, 1 X power shower with plenty of hot water. These facilities are kept spotlessly clean. Outside there is the recycling area, with bins & crates for recycling waste.

Just a quick note on the caravan toilet, the chemicals you use must be the environmentally friendly ones as they aren't on mains surage. So make sure you have these before you go.

Annie is fantastic, walking regularly around the site to check everyone is ok, & behaving! She is willing to give info on the local area, where to visit, eat etc.

Dogs are very welcome here, but must be controlled. She doesn't insist that they have to be on a lead at all times but will ask you to if your dog is wandering around or bothering others.

We did have a problem with noise here, a couple of times, only other people's children who are not controlled, but as its August this seems to be the norm everywhere you go now, esp with people in tents! However Annie soon sorted them out which was very appreciated by us so we were able to have our quiet relaxing break as planned!

This is not a cheap site, 30 per night per pitch, or 200 per week. 5 extra per night for electric. But you pay for the peace & quiet, the facilities are nothing special for the price. It's the location & peace that you are paying for, which in our opinion is well worth it. It was a bank holiday weekend but not crowded at all. Myou must also be a member of the Greener camping club, which you can join on the site for 10 per year.

The local area is fantastic, rugged, beautiful, far from the tourist crowds that a bank holiday usually brings. Plenty of local tea rooms, pubs etc, but not within walking distance. Plenty of local coves, pebbly beaches & of course the coastal, path.

Overall a fantastic relaxing break, hopefully quiet! In a beautiful unspoilt area. We would definitely return here. Thank you Annie for restoring out faith in caravanning. With peace & quiet!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mdsnape@hotmail.com 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic week camping at Garn Gwely with 2 girls and our dog. The campsite is one of the best we have visited in the UK. The pitches are large, private and all have a campfire area and picnic table. The grass was lush and soft and the toilets and showers were very clean and there is a freezer and fridge for keeping food. Annie was a great host and we had a wonderful week exploring the area. It's a 5 minute walk into Abercastle and straight onto the cliffs and beautiful walking path. The campsite is quiet and peaceful and has a lovely outlook over fields and countryside. We had such a relaxing time that we can't wait to go back. Really worth a visit.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tabz 1 review from this member

We have just returned back from Garn Gwely. What a gem of a site! Located just a few minutes walk from Abercastle beach this is a lovely little site. The site is very well maintained. The toilets/ showers/ washing up facilities are clean. The kids had a great time around the campfire every night. Anne is a great site owner who is always willing to give advice about where to visit or eat out. The electric supply was good although there are a limited number of pitches with that facility. Access may be a little tight if you have a big unit but if you contact the site I am sure that they will make sure that you take the correct entrance which helps!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frozer 5 reviews from this member

We stayed for a week on this wonderful campsite with our two young boys. We needed a family escape, and got exactly what we needed. We played bat and ball, frisbee, football and catch, and my youngest learned to ride his balance bike. We watched beetles and butterflies, made campfires, cooked sausages and marshmallows, and had the best hot showers I've had in 40 years of camping.

Private pitches, each with a fire pit, and a sturdy picnic table, surrounded by traditional hedge banks, keeping any sound from traveling. Sea, and rolling farmland views, with an approachable, welcoming, but unintrusive host. Windbreak advisable for the odd windy day.

We visited 4 local beaches, dug holes, made dams, found crabs, watched shoals of tiny fish, counted anenomes, and collected several hundred rocks and shells!

We sampled food in the cafe in Trevin, and the Farmers Arms down the road, and both were delicious.

In fact, I really don't want to recommend the site, as there may not be room for us next year, as there is a tight limit on numbers! Already booked in for next Easter, the kids can't wait!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clarke family 1 review from this member

WOW, what can we say? Don't really wish to share. Could not really rate this site enough- apart from weather (which is completely out of Annie's control) - brilliant.

We were shown to our pitch; and with Annie's advice regarding wind direction we pitched our tent - so pleased we did listen as end of hurricane Bertha arrived that evening! Our normal camping weather!

Facilities met expectation and much more - first time in many many years we have had hot water, shower's and very clean toilets throughout the day.

Gotta go said too much already - happy camping.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jamie1975 2 reviews from this member

Have just spent a week with the family (2 children aged 3 and 6) camping at this fantastic camp site. The area is amazing - gorgeous beaches, lovely walks, good cycling (bit hilly though!) and loads of great places to go. The camp site was equally as fantastic - loads of room felt like you had your own site at times so loads of room for the kids to play without having to worry they were going near other campers. The toilets, showers and washing up facilities were great - nothing fancy but very clean and never had to wait to use any of the facilities. Each pitch is provided with a proper picnic bench which is a fantastic touch. The site is made even better by the host Annie who was always very helpful and came round regularly to check whether we were having a nice time or needed anything. Just an amazing place - definitely gets our recommendation. Oh and the fish and chips at The Shed in Porth Gain are amazing.

Stayed July 2014

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeremytotton 4 reviews from this member

This was our second visit in 2 years. We fully intend to go back next year and do 2 trips to Pembrokeshire based upon the strength of this campsite. Even better this year than last year!

Along with a helpful and friendly owner, we really liked the crab and lobster freshly caught from Abercastle, the walks along Pembrokeshire Coastal Path, bodyboarding, swimming, beaches at Abereiddy, Druidstone Haven, caves, waves and cliffs and the rugged celtic landscape.

Really like the simplicity of this well maintained campsite, huge pitches, lots of hot water, no queues, great views and cooking over the fire at night stargazing. Our children made some great friends here too, loads of space for children and well behaved dogs!

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


780 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019