Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Garn Gwely Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Abercastle > Garn Gwely Camp Site > Reviews

Garn Gwely Camp Site
Garn Isaf
Abercastle
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 5HJ
Tel: 01348 831838
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
                9/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: TC7440 1 review from this member

 Very reluctant to write a review as want to keep this place to ourselves. However, What a wonderful place. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt like we were part of the family.

We arrived at the start of Storm Betty and had to put our tent up etc in the middle of a horrendous weather front with torrential rain and high winds with extremely high gusts.

However, right in the middle of getting sorted, out of the blue came Lisa and Darren with a coffee, which was appreciated so much. The site owner, Anne, was just as lovely, when we met her on Sunday. All 3 of them always had time for a chat, regardless of what they were doing.

The site is small but has massive pitches and is kept below maximum capacity deliberately.

All pitches are protected by traditional earth mounds which ensure privacy and help protect against the wind.

The walk down to the harbour only takes a matter of minutes, (a bit more on the way up) which is stunning, providing access to the water or the coastal path.

Great location to see the dark skies, which on a good night are breath-taking.

Facilities are very clean and adequate, with hot water, fridges and individual wash up areas, toilets, showers etc. Which if being picky here, would say that this is the only area which could improve and that would be that if there was one for each pitch.

However, what there is, is more than enough and we were never interrupted at all. So, as I say this is the only improvement that could be made to a perfect site, and I would not be put off by this comment in any way. They are very good facilities.

Did most our cooking on the fire pit, eating on the picnic table which is part of your pitch, watching the sun go down each night. Just lovely.

We all loved it here and are planning to go back early next year with friends as it is a stunning site, in a beautiful area, run by lovely staff, with so much to see and do, including if as we did over packed and had no room for our SUP's, Anne has SUP's, Kayaks, Bodyboards etc for use free to all.

Which all I would ask is that anyone that does borrow these, please respect the offer and take them back to the site, unlike someone this week who left them down at the harbour for Anne to collect. Shocking.

Overall, could not fault this site and can't wait to go back (We normally never go back to a site as want to visit other areas each time we go away). 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Cerisara1985 1 review from this member

 Fantastic Camp site with huge pitches fire pits to each pitch and great views.

Short walk from the lovely Abercastle beach.

Anna the owner was on hand to help with any questions about the area.

Great site lovely owner

Will definitely be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: HellyMelly 1 review from this member

 Wonderful quiet peaceful site, lots of wildlife, beautiful location, really friendly owner, wish we could have stayed longer.

Lovely location for the kids to have some back to basic adventures. It isn't a kids running around squealing kind of site, more a family time kind of place. We has 3 kids with us 7, 11 and 13. They enjoyed the beach, playing on the large pitch, toasting marshmallows on the campfire.

We has a marvellous screen detox, as we didn't take the electric hookup option so electrictronics had to be rationed.

We has our own pop up facilities on pitch which has a chemical toilet, shower, washbasin and washing up sink all covered. Hot running water. Annie was brilliantly helpful with helping us get the hang of the gas powered shower and adjusting temperature to suit the little one. She also froze our ice blocks for us so we could keep a few bits cool in the mega hor weather.

You had option to hire a pitch without facilities and take you own or there were pitches where you had access to facilities in the barn off pitch but only a short walk.

I think they may have had fridges in as well. I would probably get electric hookup next time if it is going to be hot and take a mini fridge with me to keep a couple of essentials like milk cool. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mazzles 1 review from this member

 Very much a green quiet site and impressive in how it deals with covid. Ingenious pods complete with HOT shower and water gas fuelled. Porta loo easy to empty. Full range of recycling options.

Annie the owner is fantastic. She even came to check on us all when a storm was forecast.

Superb location for exploring walking and swimming.

The pitches are not flat so if this bothers you bring some levelling mats. Great value for money. Electric hook ups available. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mike61 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weekís stay at Garn Gwely campsite and had a fantastic time. The pitches are large and contained on three sides by earth mounds, planted with local flora. Each has a picnic table, fire pit and its own fresh water supply.

There are electrics if needed. The facilities are well-maintained and clean, with a fridge and freezer available which were useful extras to our own ice box.

The owner, Annie, lives on site and couldnít be more helpful, even coming around with locally sourced supplies of dressed crab and lobster for those who wanted to purchase. We did and they were delicious.

The Pembrokeshire Coastal Path is quickly and easily accessible. We walked it most days. The views were fantastic, and seeing seal pups was an unexpected bonus.

St Davidís, Haverford and Fishguard are within a twenty minute drive, and the fish and chip shop at Letterston is worth a visit!

This was our fourth visit, second this year, and we look forward to returning in 2021. We canít recommend this campsite enough Ė itís definitely worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Samvic 1 review from this member

 We were so lucky to find a space at Garn Gwely at short notice. Anne is an amazing, diligent host who works 12 hours a day to make her guests welcome. This is a green site with proper recycling.

We had a huge pitch to ourselves with sole use of a cassette loo and the gas powered shower facilities during CV-19 times. An adventure into wild camping with mod cons.

Abercastle is a working harbour with incredible scenery, wildlife and walking.

Respect the place and enjoy the peace and quiet. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mgdeak 1 review from this member

 The campsite was very clean and well cared-for, with hedges between each pitch providing good privacy.

The bathrooms were clean and well maintained.

Annie was very helpful and welcoming to us and our dog

We were very happy with our stay at Garn Gwely 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shorelinecamper 2 reviews from this member

 Although the campsite was clean and tidy there was very little to see, we were told there was a sea view but only had hedges to look at,

Quite expensive too for what you get, £25 a night and we also had to cough up another £10 for a "green membership " whatever that is, as it was no different to other sites we'd stayed on who don't have the title of a Greener Campsite,

A fire pit was on each pitch but bring your own wood as the owner requested £5 for a small bag of chopped wood!

A nice Cove 10 min walk away but apart from that no a lot to see,

We booked here based on previous reviews who gave it 10 stars but really struggled to see how it managed this as we'd give it 5 at best.

We could have stayed in a bed and breakfast for what we stayed in a field for. Smh. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adeytaylor 6 reviews from this member

 Garn Gwely campsite is a gem set in the most beautiful location.

Pembrokeshire was a completely new destination to us and we were bowled over by how quiet and beautiful it was.

The campsite is set off a lane very close to Abercastle cove which is a 8 minute walk down the hill.

Anne, who owns the site, is the most perfect host - always happy to offer advice.

We had a really large pitch with high banks on either side - plenty of room for our Outwell Bearlake 6 including front extension.

There are 3 separate washrooms at the site. Each one houses a shower, toilet and washing up area. All kept very clean. Other reviews have commented on the layout - it's different but workable.

We took kayaks - you can launch from the cove which is very safe for swimming too.

Fantastic beaches in the area - we went to several which were all great (Whitesands, Poppit Sands, Wisemans Bridge, Newgale Beach, Aber Bach & Portmeigan) but the best one we found was just west of Porthgain called Traeth Llyfn (park at Porthgain and its a 20 mins walk but well worth it)

The coastal path is accessible at Abercastle and is arguably the best one in the country.

For an inland walk, try Foel Cwmcerwyn which is the highest point in Pembrokeshire - absolutely breathtaking.

We also did a lovely bike ride from Haverfordwest to Neyland - all off road through amazing countryside.

Also recommend Nolton Stables for horseriding on the beach.

We ate out twice at the Farmers Arms in Mathry which was excellent value and we also had breakfast on our last day at the Mill at Trefin (possibly the best breakfast in Wales?)

All in all, we had a terrific holiday (bolstered by the best summer Wales has known for 20 years).

I would thoroughly recommend this site and the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VickyMorrison 2 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant campsite that is tended with genuine care. You get a lovely large pitch complete with a picnic bench and a fire pit, a very friendly welcome and immaculate shower, toilet and washing up facilities that are constantly cleaned. Washing up liquid, tea towels, dishcloths and hand soap are all laid on, which saves space and hassle when packing. There's also a shared fridge and freezer for keeping milk, butter etc. Which is a real luxury when you're staying in a tent.

Annie the owner is lovely - always happy to offer advice and assistance if you need it. She clearly goes camping herself and understands exactly what is needed. Tiny, thoughtful details are all taken care of, like plenty of hooks in the showers in exactly the right places.

All this means that with a bit of planning, it is perfectly possible to come here by train. We used the brilliant 'Strumble Shuttle' bus service that you can hail right outside the campsite to take you all along the coast between Fishguard (where there's a railway station) and St Davids. You can use it to do a series of day-long walks on the coastal path and then get back 'home' to Garn Gwely, which most certainly feels like a welcoming home to return to after a day out.

The site is a very short walk from the tiny village of Abercastle, which is a very quiet, beautiful hamlet set around a harbour with little more hustle and bustle than the splash splash of the waves on the stones, even though we visited at the end of July when places like St Davids were packed. There is a tiny shingle beach to the right of the harbour a couple of minutes along the coastal path which is a great place to swim and skim stones at high tide.

There are no businesses at all in Abercastle, but there's a sweet pub with a breathtaking outdoor garden overlooking the hills at Trefin, which is a picturesque 40 minute walk from the site via the coastal path and a spectacular neolithic burial chamber, or about a 20 minute walk along a quiet lane (uphill to get there, mostly downhill back).

St Davids is about 8 miles away and is beautiful but busy, with a great range of local shops selling good locally produced food and is the obvious tourist place to go, but the place that really stole our hearts was the old part of Fishguard (the bit up the hill away from the port), which has wonderful little local shops, a gorgeous fish and chip shop and a both a great health food shop with loads of organic food and an upmarket deli with a great cafe. Compared to St Davids, there was virtually no one there.

I would unreservedly recommend this site. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Garn Gwely Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Garn Gwely Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Garn Gwely Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abercastle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4105 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement