Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Plough Leisure Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Isle Of Sheppey > Plough Leisure Caravan Park Reviews

Plough Leisure Caravan Park
Plough Road
Minster
Isle Of Sheppey
Kent   (Browse area)
ME12 4JF
Tel: 01795 872895
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Stanimir Raynov 1 review from this member

 Great, quiet and clean place, very friendly and helpfully staff.

I recommend to others and I will come back for sure!

I feel free and happy.

The staff organised everything strictly according the regulations about COVID-19. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dauun Harris 2 reviews from this member

 Booked this site as never visited isle of sheppey.

Turned up to site and was told to go where we wanted, only van on site. Just as we were setting up the gardener started cutting the grass. Seeing as it was a wet day and forecast wasn't good we took a lot of grass into van during our stay.

Showers were good nice and hot but no hot water to wash your hands after using toilet, hand dryers blew cold air and they weren't cleaned once during the time we were there.

Disappointed to find out that you CANNOT use the swimming pool if your on a touring pitch when it's open. Solely for the use of static users only. It states on their own website that there is a clubhouse which is actually on next door site which you can use. We booked for 10 days but left after 7 due to very muddy site.

The cost was high for time of year. 18 just for the caravan and 2 ppl. Extra charge for awning, extra charge for dog though there are NO dog waste bins or dog walks on site. There is nothing close, if you just want a peaceful break in your van maybe ok.

We won't be going back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Elgrego 4 reviews from this member

 Visited family on Sheppey for a long weekend, at quite short notice and this site had room for us.

Large areas of Sheppey are taken up by big static caravan parks - this site, whilst it has an area for statics, looks and feels more like a normal touring park.

Spacious site with a mix of tents, caravans and motor homes, all pitches on grass but dry and fairly level. Facilities not up to C&C Club standard but perfectly adequate and acceptable.

No service point for motorhomes but everything you need is there - you'll need a bucket for 'grey' water. Friendly and welcoming staff and a friendly site atmosphere.

Take care when walking dogs off the site - drivers on the narrow lanes seemed in such a hurry! 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ellen de leslie 1 review from this member

 What a lovely weekend we had staying here. Staff was friendly and helpful and always hands on helping around the site. Very friendly campsite.

Showers and toilets were kept clean. Kids loved playing in the little park. Even though there is no pool they could use Ashcroft swimming pool for 2, which is a short walk down the lane.

Im definitely going to book here again felt right a home. Thanks for a lovely relaxing stress free weekend ! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Purplehat 30 reviews from this member

 Very friendly wardens but to be honest we didn't like much else. The pitch areas needed a tidy up, eg cigarette butts and bits of rubbish in the hedge.

Some very inconsiderate park home owners allowed their dogs to wander the children's play area and two of them did not clear up the mess left by their dog.

Entry to the toilet block was coded and we found the block to be gloomy and very tired. A clean up is much needed.

We found lots to do in the area and very much enjoyed our visit overall. Bird life on Shellness beach is stunning, the aviation museum and prison cafe were all extremely interesting. The local people were welcoming and friendly and we will return but to a different campsite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jezza123 1 review from this member

 This a nice family site with a swimming pool and reasonably good children's play area. The Staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and clearly know what they are doing. Locally there are plenty of shops and places to eat however you have to travel about 10 mins to get to big supermarket. The beach is also about a 10 minute drive. We are experienced campers so have camped on all sites good and bad.

There are a couple of things worth a mention. Firstly the shower block isn't the biggest in the world with only 2 shower cubicles and those weren't that clean. Also take your own loo roll!. The washing up sinks are right on top of the chemical toilet disposal point. Really not nice when you are washing up and smelling other peoples excrement! Finally, and this is a deal breaker for us probably not returning again is that there seems to be a policy of 'stack em, pack em and rack em' as regards to how many tents they accommodate. We did think there was some sort of world record attempt happening to see how many tents you could fit onto a field, going on. Putting tents a few feet apart is both unpleasant as the tent opposite's car is in your in encampment, and also dangerous. It left no room for people to get their vehicles safely in and out especially with small children running around and made for a 'festival feel rather than a family camp site which is a shame as this is a nice site. Did we enjoy our stay?-Yes. Would we go again?- No and that is only down to the policy of cramming in as many as possible. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woody wood 1 review from this member

 Friendly staff upon arrival. Joined family members already pitched in the non electric hook up area of the field. The field filled up quickly being a Saturday and was soon really crowded with around 25 tents and 12 caravans. The toilets have a coded button entry and were not at all clean, 2 blocked on first visit. I didn't see a cleaner in the 2 days we were there. The showers are small but water nice and hot. You have to take your own toilet paper. Only one washing up point, nowhere near enough for all of us so we washed up by our tent and boiled a kettle. Didn't use the swimming pool but lots of people did and they seemed happy enough. Campsite next door on which we were at the edge of, very noisy teenagers drinking, music, shouting until 4am! Not much sleep had! Fly tippers left a load of rubbish next site entrance in middle of the night. 2 people arrested on our site while we were there for some other offence! A lot of rubbish flying around in the wind, no one picking it up. We witnessed selfish dog owners not cleaning up after their dogs who they took onto kids play area to toilet!

Ok site but not camping and caravanning club standard by any means. I wouldn't use again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grandad essex 8 reviews from this member

 Have been using Plough Leisure Caravan Park since 2013 as I have family on the island. The site has now been taken over by new owners and instead of the 30 pitches stated that has now increased as mentioned in other reviews,

The new owners and staff are friendly and available to help out if there service is required,

Due to the increase in the amount of pitches the facilities are to be updated (management) Will return to see if improvements have been made later in 2017.

I have only given site facilities 4/10 due to the increase in the amount of pitches because never had any problems with them before.

I know people don't like change and the new owners have got to make the site pay, but is over crowding the right way to go,

Looking forward to my next visit with anticipation. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathy6973 20 reviews from this member

 Firstly, watch out for the directions on the Sat Nav, which does not take you to the campsite! Once there, it is little more than a field with plenty of space for the kids to run around.

With space for around 30 units, it does have a nice small feel, but as mentioned previously, the facilities are basic at best. You have to provide your own toilet roll and soap, and the washing up area, water collection and disposal and toilet emptying point are all in the same place! Personally I prefer a little privacy when emptying the chemical toilet!

The owners seem very friendly, and were great with the kids around the pool. There are no facilities at the pool at all so take drinks etc with you (strictly no glass or animals at the pool).

Local area is what you would expect from the Isle of Sheppey. Rather rundown with lots of seaside towns with amusement arcades and a mixture of sandy and pebbly beaches.

Would we return? probably not out of choice, but we went with friends and had a lovely weekend in their company so if they invited us again we would probably go, but not for the campsite or the local area. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Diane h 1 review from this member

 Very quiet site with very helpful staff who gave us help on places to visit.

Needed large ramps to try and get level.

Play area can be seen from all touring pitches.

Toilet and shower block very clean but need up dating need to take own toilet roll.

No service point for motor homes so need a bucket to empty tank.

Swimming pool does not open until may and unfortunately the club house has closed down but the next door site has one and there is easy access to this from the site.

Because it is a small site we felt safe leaving the motorhome whilst we went out for the day as the staff knew who belonged to each unit and were quick to investigate if they saw strangers around the site. Due to hills around the site we left the bikes in the van and used taxi although there was a bus stop 10 mins walk from the site. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Plough Leisure Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Plough Leisure Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Plough Leisure Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Plough Leisure Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Sheppey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3911 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement