Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Palace Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sittingbourne > Palace Farm Camp Site Reviews

Palace Farm Camp Site
Down Court Road
Doddington
Sittingbourne
Kent   (Browse area)
ME9 0AU
Tel: 01795 886365
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 78 Reviews
                9/10 from 78 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Lincolngr 10 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to Palace Farm, the first since Covid-19 and it didn't disappoint. Graham and Liz had clearly been busy tidying and decorating the facilities (all unisex) which has

2 x separate toilet / handwash basin cubicles

2 x basin cubicles

2 x showers (would benefit from curtains to keep splashes contained)

1 x disabled shower room with toilet and basin

2 x washing up sinks and drainers.

We had no complaints and would recommend this site for its value for money, adequate clean facilities, its proximity to the Chequers Inn and other pubs and not to mention great walks straight off the campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Saracl 1 review from this member

 Just about perfect - quiet, spotless facilities and spaced out pitches.

Nice location within reach of beautiful countryside and walks.

Very Well run and great value for money. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carolinemroberts 1 review from this member

 An enjoyable week at Palace Farm campsite. A huge grass field with massive pitches and loads of space for the kids to run around with their new campsite buddies. Facilities (toilets, showers, washrooms and dishwasher area) basic but do the job nicely! Sturdy fire pits for hire and logs for sale = cozy marshmallow evenings. We enjoyed exploring the nearby lanes past farms, orchards and villages on our bikes and good food at the nearby pub 'The chequers '. Graham and Liz were welcoming and helpful. Would recommend this campsite for quiet fuss free camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Monkeynuts338 1 review from this member

 Absolute gem of a campsite. We were camping as a family, 2 adults and a 4 year old. We don't get away often so wanted somewhere family friendly yet quiet. The site is friendly and small, very welcoming and safe. The pitches are all in one field located around the outside, no 'third row' down the middle which is great as gives space for all the different families to do their own thing. Or in our case our little man to meet other children and take part in games and races with other families. This was the first time our little man was old enough to wander off, he is usually very cautious and wont go anywhere without mummy but here is was confident enough to roam and we felt it was safe enough to let him! The only draw back I would say are the facilities. They are good in terms of location and set up but I didn't manage to get a hot shower for the 3 nights that we were there. This is probably due to me wanting a shower at busy times and the site was full but to get 10/10 a site for me has to have constant hot water, there was the same situation with the washing up area. All things considered though, the fact that fire pits and wood were available to hire, the place is well kept and friendly and all our fellow campers were kind and courteous (very strict night noise policy which is a bonus!) I would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Memyselfandi 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here a few times now, but this was our first stay in a tipi. Although we love camping, we are not bug lovers and Liz and Graham were very helpful in allowing us to stay in a nice sealed one. As it was a very wet time they also accommodated us by erecting a shelter near the entrance so we had somewhere to cook safely. This has got to be the best camp site we have ever stayed at. It is not rowdy and everyone is very friendly.

Everything you need is available for a good camping experience.

It is very safe and laid back. We are hoping to return again with more family, if not this year, next year.

Our best choice yet. Thank you Liz and Graham. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Megalasaurus 2 reviews from this member

 Wow, we have just returned from an amazing 9 nights at this lovely camp site. We were there from the end of July to the first week in August. It is a basic eco-friendly site, they have a recycling area, they try to waste as little resources as possible so they have fitted movement sensors in the toilet/shower rooms so the lights are only on when someone is in there.

When we arrived we had a lovely welcome from the owners, they gave us the camp rules to sign and a copy for ourselves, this just ensures people know what they can and can't do. One of the rules was that being too noisy after ten will not be tolerated, we did not have a problem with that at all. It is a lovely campsite and the fact that everyone is friendly and quiet at night is a plus to us.

As we were going to be staying for more than a week they threw in the loan of the fire pit for free for the full time we were there.

A pack of logs, kindling and fire lighters was a fiver, you would struggle to get cheaper than this anywhere, the logs were nice and dry and burned for a long time, we got two fires out of one bag and they were on long enough for us to cook burgers, roast marshmallows and tell ghost stories round the fire (that was with half a bag).

The lack of a play ground wasn't a problem, the kids had the middle of the massive camping field to play in. We saw people playing tennis, badminton, football, Frisbee, a type of cross between tennis and table tennis with a bouncy ball, cricket, rounders, hoopla and boules. Some kids just used their imagination and made up dance routines and performances to show their families. The owners do ask that the children do don't go out of the camp field without an adult though as it is a working farm.

There are Chickens walking around the campsite most of the time, they are free range and if you ask nicely the owners may let the children feed them.

As the previous reviewer states there is a lovely looking hut housing two toilets, two wash rooms with sinks and a mirror with a light above it including a shaver point with two different voltages (UK and European). Two shower rooms and one disabled/ family bathroom with a sink, toilet, shower and chair. A wash up area with two sinks set into a wooden kitchen top, under cover but not inside, it has a Sink, drainer with a water collection tray underneath and there was sponges and washing up liquid there when we were there, not sue if the owners provided these or if they had been left by other campers. Beside that there was a water tap, it is the only one but again we didn't have to wait for it. As said before we were here during the first weekend in August, the site was packed and we hardly had to wait any time. There was even an unexpected scout troupe from Belgium turned up for the Saturday night and there was still mere minutes waiting time for the toilet.

There is a hut just down past the recycling that has a freezer in it just for freezing your freezer packs, tip write your name and tent colour and name of your tent on them before you pop them in, it saves confusion.

The area is great, with loads of places to visit and things to do.

Doddington is a short walk away with a lovely pub called the Chequers, it does real ale, lovely coffee and food at a reasonable price, we didn't try the food though, we meant to but never got round to it. Doddington Place Gardens is open March to Sept Wed, Sun and bank hols 11am - 5pm. It also takes part in the open garden days scheme.

Our first day out was at Canterbury, we went around St Augustine's Abbey, it was a lovely place and very interesting. It is such a shame that so much of it was destroyed. We had a wander around Canterbury after that which was very nice.

Along the A2 to the east is Faversham, it has great swimming pools in it's leisure centre two pools indoors and two outdoors, there is a 25 meter pool outside with three diving boards, there are also the rapids as well. I am disabled and the staff were great with me, they got me into the heated outdoor pool with the hoist. When I got a bit cold they were lovely about getting me out of the outdoor pool and into the indoor pool using the hoists. Indoors is another 25 meter swimming pool and a small children's pool. Faversham also has various other museums and places of interest, they have a hop festival on either the last weekend in August or the first weekend in September which has lots of free music and shows on plus lots of places to try a great variety of real ales, ciders and perries.

We went to Herme Bay, it is lovely, with a few big playgrounds on the sea front for the younger children 0 - 12. The beach is large pebbles but there is a music hall/ band stand, a pier, a few fair ground rides and a crazy golf all of which was good fun. I can thoroughly recommend Ernie's Plaice for a great bag of Chips.

We went to Margate which has a lovely sandy beach. There is a vintage fair ground that has been in existence since the 1800's and has recently re-opened with a lottery grant, there is a 3 phase opening, at present they are in phase one. It is a fixed price to get in then all your rides are covered with that one payment, it is called Dreamland, my children really loved it and want to go back as soon as possible. If you get your tickets on-line you get about 15% discount, if you buy them a day or more in advance. At the moment they offer a twilight ticket for a fraction of the full ticket price after 17. 00 last ride at 20. 45. Margate has seen better days but it is getting investment for renovation and the seafront looks beautiful. It is a proper seaside resort with rides, arcades, ice-cream parlours, fish and chip shops ect. There is a pier with a micro brewery pub on the end, there are the old seaside rides I remember from my childhood on the beach and there is the Turner Art Gallery at the harbour end which is free entry and they have plenty of learning sessions on for children.

One of the best days out we had was at Bedgebury Pinetum, it's 10 per car entry and they have a wonderful park, you can hire bikes from Quench cycles, they have some disability friendly bikes, there is a Go Ape in there too but our favourite was Arcus Archery, it is 10 each for an hour long tuition or you can pay less for a shorter session. Rob our instructor was fab, clear in his instruction but he made it fun. He took pictures of the family for me as due to weak side of my body I couldn't do it, but it was fun watching them. For some reason Bedgebury don't advertise this much at the pinetum, they do have a bit on the website about it though. The Archery is on every weekend (Sat and Sun) from March to the end of October and all the school holidays between those months everyday except Wednesdays.

We had such a great holiday here, none of us could find any major downside and we had trouble picking our favourite activity as we loved all of them. A major thank you to Liz and Graham who made our holiday so much fun. They were around for a bit everyday sorting out pitches and the toilets, they were always friendly and polite. We will definitely be back. I do agree with the previous reviewer that a toilet brush and hand towels or a hand dryer would be helpful though. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rolfefamilycampers 5 reviews from this member

 We visited Palace Farm for the first time and would thoroughly recommend it. Key features and positives:

Very quiet, the site sells itself as a quiet site and it was, there were plenty of campers, some family groups, a largish group of boys (maybe a youth group) plus a group of relatively your people, yet the site was so peaceful, all campers respected the rules and voices were hushed, no music, no rowdiness.

The site allows campfires, you rent a fire pit for 2 and bags of logs are 4, very reasonable, we had no problem with damp wood, the logs are stored in a metal shed.

2 loo's, 2 showers plus a parent/child/disabled shower, 2 washing up sinks. The site was near full and these were enough that we didn't queue for more than a few minutes and the water was hot. Fact, iTunes housed in an attractive wooden cabin type building in the main field.

The camping field was very very well maintained.

Good value for money, we laid 20 per night for 2 adults and 1 child.

Don't really have a negatives it was great and the owners were very nice. I have 2 very very tiny suggestions 1) put loo brushes in the loo so people can give the bowl a quick clean after themselves. 2) paper hand towels to dry hands after going to the loo. Only tiny things, not crisis a.

We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pauland 5 reviews from this member

 This is our third visit to this site and once again we had a lovely week. Some of my family came to stay with us for a night and enjoyed themselves. They wished that they could stay a bit longer. Good site for children to play safely. All facilities good as usual. Owners are very pleasant and helpful. Bike hire is available and may use them next time we visit. Weather was very warm-good camping weather. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pauland 5 reviews from this member

 We came back again as we enjoyed it the last time we visited. The weather wasn't so great but still enjoyed our time here. The facilities was very good. Looking forward to going back again soon. We have meet lots of nice campers. My family came out to visit us for the day and a good time was had by all. My niece and nephew didn't want to go home as they felt safe and could play safely in the camp site. They even enjoyed the ice cream we got for them! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dancine 1 review from this member

 This was our second visit to palace farm, and whilst we still loved the location and layout of the site, we were left a little disappointed after this visit.

There was a lack of hot water and often a queue for the 2 toilets - not something that we experienced before, so maybe the site was fuller this trip.

But our main disappointment was being sold damp logs by the owners, meaning the fire never really felt hot and it took hours to cook our dinner. A kind fellow camper told is he'd had the same problem his first night and advised us to buy wood from the local garage, which was dry and cheaper.

The second day I spoke to the owner to say I thought the logs were damp and she just said ' I know, we realised as soon as we took delivery they were too heavy and still damp. '

So why did she sell them onto us all for 4 a bag?!? That seemed a bit off to me, no offer of a refund or an apology, just 'yes I know!' We in turn watched several other campers struggle with their fires our second night, while we had a roaring fire using dry wood from the garage.

The camping field is still a lovely area for the children to play and the site a good one, but if I ever do go back again, I would not buy any logs from the owners, but go to the local garage. I have to say this trip has left us disappointed with the site. 


Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Palace Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Palace Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Palace Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sittingbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2752 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement