Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gallowhill Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Kinross > Gallowhill Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Gallowhill Camping & Caravan Park
Gallowhill Road
Kinross
Perthshire   (Browse area)
KY13 0RD
Tel: 01577 862364
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Howieson1 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet site in perthshire providing an easy access and well signposted stopover on route north or south in Scotland. Also suitable for longer stays as there are many activities, particularly outdoor ones in the area. Cycling, running or walking from the site around loch leven is approx 16 mls and car free within a mile from the site entrance. Perfect for families too with 3 cafes around the loch to provide potential refuelling stops. We have also been across to the island on the little ferry. A lovely trip.

Locally in Kinross there is an award winning butcher where we have bought meat for a BBQ. They also do amazing breakfast pies!

Plenty of space on site between pitches and for children to play. We have stayed a number of times and always encountered a warm welcome.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Speighty79 1 review from this member

This site is basic and ideal as a stop over if travelling, it's just off motorway but what comes with that is traffic noise. It's a large field, with a road round it and pitches off that, it has 2 swings a slide and a sand pit. It's not somewhere we would choose to use other than 1 stay overnight as there is nothing to do here and the road noise would annoy us. One thing that lets it down we felt was charging 50p for showers which is very much a rip off in our eyes. For 20 a night for a basic site a hot shower should be included. It's dog friendly and we don't have dogs but there were a lot of dogs going about, some barking at night which isn't great but not the sites fault more inconsiderate owners.

So fine if looking for a stop over but not for any longer.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wulster 17 reviews from this member

Spent a very pleasant two nights here. Arrived mid afternoon and met Steven (Stephen)at reception. Booked in without any hassle, then taken to our pitch. A bit of general advice given about local area. Very helpful.

Apparently the site was a bit busier than normal, but plenty of room on main site. Good little play park for kids and the toilet block was more than adequate.

There is also a CL site attached to main site, with only a toilet available. Again, that would be more than adequate.

A twenty minute walk takes you into town, where there is a decent amount of places to go for food / drink.

From town you can access the shores of Loch Leven. If you want to go all the way around, it is 12(ish) miles. About 16 miles if you include the walk / cycle from the site.

We walked around the loch. Took 5 1/2 hours to walk, but there are some places to stop for food / toilet. Also plenty of seating around the walk if you have a picnic.

As far as the site is concerned, would have no hesitation in going back. Easy to find from town. Big signing pointing it out. We used sat Nav and were directed along some back roads, but no trouble using that route.

A very pleasant weekend at a well run site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Catriona87 1 review from this member

A lovely site, great friendly staff. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, we initially paid for one night as any further was weather dependent and ended up staying 3. We were told where to go and set up and we could take a picnic bench to our tent. The area was well kept and was slightly sloping to prevent flooding but still flat enough to be comfortable.

The toilet block was clean and tidy and used a security code to get in. Showers were 50p for 8 minutes, which was barely enough time but adequate none the less. Water was hot and a mop and bucket provided to give the shower a clean after use.

We never used the laundry although did find when we went to have a look that it was locked. We were never informed that this would happen so were unsure of when we could use these facilities.

There was a tourist information on site which was excellent, one of the best I have seen. Some of the leaflets were a little outdated but gave you all the information you could need.

We unfortunately had some noisy residents on our first night but mentioned this to the staff and they reassured us they would have a word. Thankfully this seemed to work and had a peaceful night the following night.

Only thing I felt that the campsite lacked was an electrical socket somewhere to give electrical equipment a quick charge.

The campsite is within travelling distance of lots of amenities, its a 5 minute drive to Kinloss where there is a Sainsburys, Milnathort where there is a Nisa and a lovely ice cream shop. Glenrothes where you have a Morrison's and Asda and plenty of fast food places.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TomMac 27 reviews from this member

Really friendly welcome, shown to our pitch. Slightly sloping, open and no privacy between pitches. Near motorway, but didn't bother us. Pay for showers and laundry. Both a little bit run down, but adequate. Would hate to be here when the park is full, you'd be queuing for toilets. Great dog walk through the trees. Close to lovely village of Kinross. Co-op, Sainsburys, Loch Leven and boat to Castle. Also great walk or cycle around the lake if you're up for it. Perth, Stirling, Edinburgh and Dunfermline not too far away.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Louise_D 6 reviews from this member

Warm welcome, then shown to site. We were near the motorway end of site but were not disturbed by traffic noise. Great views on three sides, nice open site. Toilets were clean and 50p gave an adequate quantity of hot water. Climbing frame and running around area for children. Dog walk through the trees at back of site where they could be let off the lead. Town is not that far away if you need to shop or eat out.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Danny Colyer 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, well kept with friendly, helpful owners and clean toilet/shower facilities. Access to the toilets is via a coded lock, which you'll get the code for when you pay for your stay, so try not to arrive with a full bladder.

Pitches for tents aren't marked. The site has picnic tables (which moved several times during our stay) - we were simply told to pick a table and pitch next to it.

The location is good for camping: high enough and sloping enough not to be prone to flooding; flat enough to be comfortable; on the lee side of a small hill with sheltering trees along the side that the prevailing wind would blow from. We had a couple of days where worryingly high winds were forecast but, although we could hear the wind in the trees, hardly any of it reached our tent.

The view over the Lomond Hills from our tent was beautiful.

The play area was basic but perfectly adequate, ditto the washing up room. There was also a laundry room, which we didn't use.

Turnover of campers seems to be high, of caravanners low. During our 10 days it seemed that most of the caravanners were locals who spend much of the summer here, while almost all of the campers were European tourists or cycle tourists stopping for one night. We didn't see the site anywhere near full.

We ended up here after planning a visit to Edinburgh during what turned out to be festival season - we couldn't find anywhere closer. Access to Edinburgh was easy, driving to Ingliston Park & Ride then getting a tram into the city centre. Gallowhill was also a good base for visiting other attractions. I particularly recommend getting the ferry to Loch Leven Castle (with a picnic, on a nice day).

I can't comment on the local eateries, other than to say that Kinross has a decent bakery and the biggest, busiest chippy that I've ever seen, which also does pizza, kebabs and a lovely battered haggis.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chestnuts 22 reviews from this member

On our arrival met a very nice lady who told us her son would show us where we could park the motorhome. Toilets and showers were adequate. As it rained whilst we were there you really needed your boots as there were lots of large puddles. We were only there for 2 nights, but was excellent for us as we were visiting relatives in the area. Not to far to Kinross, we also spent a day in Perth.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper fan 1 review from this member

We have just got home from a lovely holiday at Gallowhill Campsite, very friendly and helpful. Clean well maintained. Quiet! no shop or pub on site but all 2 min drive away in Kinross. Clean toilet/shower/dish washing facilities inc laundry & rotary line. Very reasonable prices. Would happily return again

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Luvtenting 3 reviews from this member

Camped here for 2 nights.

On a positive note.

A beautiful, well kept site. Excellent pitches, good quality grass. The whole site had a well manicured look. The toilet block was spacious and always kept clean! Showers were 50p for about 8 mins. Great idea for fast turnaround! Beautiful views around the site. Had a good feeling of being away from everything. Motorway close by did not matter. Nice dog walking area. Also a Tourist Information porta cabin which was well stocked with all the latest things to do, near and far! Staff very helpful and friendly.

On a negative note.

It's a shame our stay was spoiled by a noisy group. Loud voices and swearing till 3am first night and again till 1. 30am the night after.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3497 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019