Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Le Futuriste

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > St Georges Les Baillargeaux > Le Futuriste Reviews

Le Futuriste
Rue Du Chateau
St Georges Les Baillargeaux
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
86130
Tel: 0033 05 49 52 47 52
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 12 Reviews
                6/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sstansfield 2 reviews from this member

We found this site to be overpriced at 41. 30 for one night, but it looked impressive from the outside. We were handed an A4 sheet of rules on arrival, no shorts in the pool, no balls, leave strictly by 11. 30. And on and on. The manager was uptight and unfriendly- I wouldn't recommend this site, we stayed on some nice sites in France with some lovely people running them, this wasn't one of them!

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

Have just made a return visit to this site which we found excellent last winter, but not this time!

The water taps had all been turned off in case they froze (in fact while we were there the temperature was several degrees above freezing. ) When we asked the duty manager where we could get drinking water he told us to use the hosepipe in the chemical toilet disposal area, and when we said that was unhygienic he reluctantly turned the taps back on, with very bad grace.

The toilet block, though clean and with hot water, was unheated, which made showering a bit uncomfortable. The pitches were very wet and muddy. The one we were allocated wasn't too bad, but an elderly couple in a motorhome were given one that was almost under water, and when they changed pitches of their own accord the manager was quite surly.

Maybe this was just a blip, and the manager was having a bad day. This is a very useful site for people heading to or from Spain for the winter, but we would now have some doubts about using it again.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Truckeral 3 reviews from this member

We've been using this site for 8 years, on our way to and from Spain, mostly in winter. It's a Camping Cheque site so the price is always reasonable. It gets quite busy every night, as people stop over for one night, as we do. We are now known as 'regulars' to the owner, who is always friendly to us (although perhaps it helps that I speak French). When it's wet, the pitches get very muddy and it's the sort that gets everywhere.

The loo blocks are limited in winter and everyone shares the men's or ladies' section. The loos were redecorated a couple of years ago. The indoor pool is open all year. There's a good Super you in the village, a mile from site.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night. The staff are pleasant and speak english. The pitches are a good size, ours was grass and surrounded by hedges. The toilets / showers were clean and tidy. The swimming pool looks ok but did not use it. Wifi poor unless you sit in reception. You can order french bread to collect in the morning from reception. We drove to the nearest little town but not much there. There is a Futuristic town / tourist attraction close by which might bring people here? Not far to Poitiers which looked nice on our way past. Handy as a stopover, good roads and not far from the motorway.

Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

As all the other reviews for this site were from summer stays, here is an account of what it's like in winter, as it's a useful overnight halt on the way south.

The pitches are a good size but can be rather muddy in winter. In fact a number of pitches were roped off to allow the grass to recover.

There is a security keypad on both sides of the entrance barrier, a useful feature we haven't come across elsewhere, meaning drivers of UK cars can operate the barrier themselves.

The shop and restaurant are closed in winter but you can order bread from reception.

There are reduced sanitary facilities in winter, with the men's half of the shower block closed, so the ladies' half becomes unisex. Having said that, the facilities themselves are excellent - smart, clean, warm and a pleasure to use.

There is a little road noise but not a problem. I would highly recommend this site as a night halt.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Devon Mike 13 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site at the very end of August and consequently, although our pitch was of a generous size, it was looking rather worn and tired.

Water and electricity points are positioned awkwardly which meant that we had to pass our power lead through the neighbouring pitch hedge to plug it in and we had to walk through our neighbours pitch to fill our water cans.

The showers and toilets were quite good but had one or two broken fittings - again signs of a long hard season. The showers had plenty of hot water and on/off taps rather than the push button devices which are generally the norm and also rather irritating!

We used the restaurant for one meal but wished we hadn't because the menu was limited to two choices - neither of which were very inspiring.

Most people come here for a visit to the Futuroscope theme park but for us it was simply a three night stop whilst on our way south.

We took the opportunity to visit two towns - Poitiers (about 8 miles away) and Chauvigny (about 12 miles away).

Poitiers is rather scruffy and untidy on the outskirts but has an attractive historic centre around l'Eglise de Notre Dame and in the streets leading away from it where recommended tourist walking trails are marked in various colours.

The main interest in Chauvigny is the old walled town perched high above the relatively 'new' town which is quite ordinary. The old town has a number of historic buildings, a museum, a pottery and the usual gift shops. There are also several nice looking restaurants but we chose 'La Belle Epoque' where we had an excellent lunch. There are also lovely views over the Vienne river from the walls of the old town.

We might use Le Futuriste again but only as a stop-over. Our three night stay cost 81 euro which we felt was a little expensive.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Autumn9 19 reviews from this member

This is a moderately sized site of around sixty pitches but it has an intimate feel owing to the hedges and trees surrounding each pitch. The pitches are generous in size. There is a mix of tents, caravans and motorhomes, and some statics. The site is around 2 kilometres from the cinematic theme park, Futuroscope and a view of the park can be enjoyed from the site. In the summer months the open air pool with a flume and a covered pool are open.

The pools are very attractive and clean, as are the loos and showers, which have both ladies’ and gents’ areas. There is free, unlimited hot water for showers, and shelves and hooks to keep clothes dry. There are also cubicles with sinks but only two toilets and no toilet seats or toilet paper are provided. Water and electricity are available to each pitch.

A tarmac roadway makes navigation through the site easy. There is a young person’s play room – snooker, machines etc. , and a pleasant looking restaurant/bar, although we did not eat there. There is a small shop with essentials – wine is reasonably priced – and snacks of salad and frittes are also served at set times. This communal area is low key – a tall cage with budgerigars twittering cheerfully stands outside reception.

Bread and croissant can be ordered from reception for the morning. Wifi and tickets for Futuroscope can also be purchased from reception. Booking in was smooth. Passports are required for overseas visitors. Entry and exit to and from the site is by security number. This site was expensive at 27 Euros per night with electric hook-up but I am happy to recommend it and would visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Me and her 3 reviews from this member

Helpful English speaking lady on reception. Showers were kept clean, can't comment on restaurant as not open when we were there. Wi fi in reception area for a small charge, close enough to the village to walk into. Pitches were quite close together but not cramped. Pool was covered and warm. Reception able to provide tickets for Futurscope at a discount, also had small supply of electrical adapters, leads etc. Tiny shhop with bare minimum of items - but it was early in the season so may have been stocked up later.

Would use the site again and possibly stay for longer than just overnight.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Berriow 53 reviews from this member

We have often used this site for short stays of one or two nights and think more warmly of it than your other reviewers.

It's a functional rather than a picturesque sort of place and you wouldn't want to make it your main holiday destination. It's not the sort of site where you would happily lounge about all day, but it's a practical short stay place. The swimming pool was being enlarged when we called, and we always say the hot showers are as good as anywhere in France. And I believe it's open all the year round, which makes it useful for snowbirds travelling in winter.

The shop/cafe seems to close in late season as soon as Camping Cheques come into force. We've found that at other sites too even by early September!

Futuroscope may appeal, and Poitiers city is more attractive than you would think if you're staying for a second night. Don't write this place off. It's a useful stop off point.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bs assorted 10 reviews from this member

The greeting at this site could be more friendly and less business like. The majority of pitches on this site, although large, consist of mud and dust rather than grass and are separated by hedges. It is such a pity that many of the hedges have suffered damage due to people having to pass through them in order to plug in electricity cables or to reach the water taps. The shop, although small provided basic essentials only, but there is a large shopping mall a short drive away.

The sanitary block is modern and clean the only problem being you need to remember to take your own toilet roll and soap to wash your hands.

The restaurant has a limited menu and we found the meals to be quite small portions in relation to the price paid.

Although we did not use the swimming pool it appeared to be clean and maintained and well used. If you do intend to take a dip in the pool men will need to wear swimming trunks rather than swimming shorts (we were strongly advised about this during the booking in procedure.

This site is ideal as a stop over or for those wishing to visit Futuroscope.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5559 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019