Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Dorset Hideaway

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > The Dorset Hideaway > Reviews

The Dorset Hideaway
Bridge Farm Cardsmill Lane
Whitchurch Canonicorum
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6RW
Tel: 01308 308052
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 108
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
                8/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (28)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mollycurran 2 reviews from this member

 Amazing place and cant wait to go back next year!

Very friendly staff and lots to do!

Thankyou to all of the dorset hideaway!

Great facilities too!

All the family loved it! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Vaness 1 review from this member

 We had a fabulous stay here. Beautiful, quiet campsite with clean and modern shower block.

We enjoyed the local wildlife - although the hedgehog that came into our tent was a surprise!

The games barn was great fun.

The single track roads leading to the campsite can get a little exciting. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Iangst 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with very clean and well maintained shower block. The washing up/laundry area was also very clean and easy to use. Lovely surroundings with a calming, friendly atmosphere.

On site spa looked really nice, and would have liked to use however because my daughter wasn’t 18 we couldn’t have a mum and daughter session which we would have liked.

Felt there could be more for children, maybe a play park? But overall a very enjoyable few days away and would definitely come back and recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Janemcd65 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic time. The guys who run this site are so helpful and friendly.

Loved the space, the chilled feel of the campsite and the tractor rides were an added bit of fun.

Great location for Charmouth and Lyme Regis. Pool, table tennis and takeaway were great.

Additional shower unit was the best we’ve ever encountered on a campsite.

We will be back again. Thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: SsegrubV 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a few days in September in our tourer van. The site shop wasn't open and there was no info about where the nearest shop might be. (Another camper told us about the Farm Shop on the A35) The information area was poor. It hadn't been updated since 2019. The two pubs that were mentioned were closed but we found, by chance, a great pub, The Shave Cross Inn, that wasn't mentioned!

The footpaths marked on the site map were blocked by fencing, an overgrown hedge, an electric fence and a gate that was tied tight! Not good for a dog walk! The only way to access wifi was to stand outside the office.

It's a beautiful area, hill forts and coast, but we'd stay somewhere else next time. Access could be tricky down very narrow country lanes with tractors around! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Timc11 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the Dorset Hideaway for a week just after COVID restrictions had allowed the site to re-open.

The site is well suited to children with a variety of activities such as park, fishing lake, tractor rides in the evening. There is a small games room in a barn and petting zoo (both closed due to COVID restrictions).

The site is very clean and main toilet and washing facilities are immaculate.

The site also caters for dog owners and has a convenient enclosed off-lead dog exercise area plus plenty of walks for dogs on leads.

There was also an on-site spa and hot tub but we didn't use these facilities.

There were no large / noisy groups and the campsite is quiet from about 11pm - 7am

Access to the campsite is along a few miles of mainly single track country lanes and could be challening for novice caravan owners if they encounter a large farm vehicle coming the other way. As the name suggests, the campsite is for those who value peace and quiet.

The site has a small shop which stocks quality meat from a local butcher as well as a small selection of baked goods. My only suggestion is that the shop could bring more stock in especially essentials such as bread, cereals seemed to run out very quickly and it's a 20 min drive to the nearest town along narrow lanes. Planning ahead is essential.

There is a small hot food kiosk that operates Fri - Sun where, due to social distancing, orders had to be placed by text and picked up at the designated time. Slots were limited so booking early is advisable. Food quality was decent.

Due to COVID restrictions we were required to pre-book access to showers. This is a manual process and we were allowed 1 slot per day for 25 minutes where the whole "mens" or "womens" shower and toilet block was exclusively allocated for the use of our family. Most of the popular slots i. E. 7:30am - 09:30am were snapped up quickly so to avoid having to shower at 11:00am (which would eat into the day if you want to do a day trip) we had to choose a slot after 8pm.

The main drawback with the campsite is that, outside of your designated shower slot, if you need to go to the toilet, you are required to share 2 toilets with the rest of the campsite. Those toilets were outdoor style huts that were not cleaned very frequently, and often had very wet and dirty floors. My advice is to bring your own toilet if you can. Furthermore, if you want to wash your face, brush your teeth outside of your designated shower slot you will need to do this near your caravan / tent and pour the water into the bushes / grass.

Pitches were assigned in within specific marked boundaries. Spacing was a bit tight especially if you have a large tent but the owners were accommodating in trying to find the best pitch for your circumstances. Most pitches have access to EHU.

Phone signal for EE was OK, 1 to 2 bars of 4G although apparently Vodafone is better.

Overall this is a very good campsite which has certain restrictions due to COVID that are manageable if you plan ahead and are organised. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Loisp01 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site in the countryside, and so there are winding lanes, my 12 metre van arrived scratch free. Only a nervous or bad driver would blame the site for the public roads 🤷‍♀️.

A quiet site that is actually no noise after 11pm, and not just less noise.

Spotlessly clean toilets and friendly staff.

Will be back soon 


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Melani 1 review from this member

 Booked the campsite as a last minute stay for New Year’s Eve.

The campsite was clean, plenty of space between vans, quiet and well laid out.

Will definitely be back again. Highly recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chriss 1 review from this member

 A very nice site, clean facilities & essentially, good flat pitches.

A great location for exploring the Jurassic Coastline.

The only slight niggle was accessing the site via narrow roads (single track with passing places at times), but still loved it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Charleygirl 21 reviews from this member

 I regret not reading the reviews prior to booking! We booked and paid for three nights but left after the 2nd.

The access (the way our sat nav took us) was 7 miles along a single track lane, on arrival, after a very stressful drive towing a 7metre caravan, which, by now, was caked in mud, no one was there to greet us, although we were expected. We had to phone and wait until, eventually, Shaun arrived and directed us to our pitch.

Everywhere was extremely muddy and we were told that, as there were only 3 couples on site, only the disabled facilities were open. Although we were told that it was 16amp electric, we blew it 4 times in as many minutes - on investigation it was 10amps.

Website says it’s “a pebbles throw from the Jurassic Coast” - well that’s poetic license taken to the enth degree - you would need a very powerful sling shot.

I would question why this site is open all year, there is nothing to attract visitors - no attractions anywhere near. Sufficient to say we will never return. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Dorset Hideaway child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Dorset Hideaway?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Dorset Hideaway dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2900 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement