Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Dorset Hideaway

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

The Dorset Hideaway
Riverside, Bridge Farm
Whitchurch Canonicorum
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6RW
Tel: 01297 480851  or  07825958822
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 55 pitches mix of fully serviced hardstanding & gr
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juliewoolf 1 review from this member

I felt I had to share our review across as many review places as possible, as it would seem there are so many critics out there and I would hate for people to miss out on this gem of a site because they are put off by some negative reviews!

We stayed here last August bank holiday and loved it then, so returned again for this one. The owners have done a fantastic amount of work on the place since our last visit, and speaking to them, they still have lots more planned including a mezzanine in the barn for the teenagers and another new shower and toilet block! The pitches are fab, we were on the grass field near to the new play area. We loved the location of our pitch for convenience to all amenities, as well as the added bonus of being able to enjoy a drink by the fire while we could still watch our son playing in the play area with the new friends he had made. Everyone on the site were so friendly, lovely sociable and happy site. The showers are lovely and hot and always kept clean. Yes, there are only 2 showers in each gender, but there is also the older block with more toilets and showers available, and these are open when the new block is shut for cleaning so still have access to facilities. I agree with them being shut for cleaning at the less busy time as they do a great job of making them very appealing! Iíve been to some sites where it feels like they are rarely properly cleaned at all, whereas here they are doing a very thorough clean daily. The most I had to wait for a shower was 5 mins and that was on one of their busiest weekends!

Also must mention the new addition this year of their very own food hut! It sells a variety from fish and chips to steak and ale pie and all was lovely, especially the chunky chips! It is a great addition that means you donít have to worry about cooking after a long drive and set up. Itís open Friday to Sunday from memory.

Couldnít recommend this place highly enough, itís a fantastic site with everything you could want. Thank you Esther, Mike & Sean, we will see you again next year for sure

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lovetheoutdoors 7 reviews from this member

What a very special site this is - clean, beautiful and in a very nice location. Owners friendly and will bend over backwards to accommodate you. Great for walking, cycling and visiting surrounding sites of interest. Will be back soon.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Klopp 1 review from this member

Booked a last minute break, as on the website the place looked nice. My partner dealt with a lady in reception, who she says was unpleasant. The accommodation [Glamping] was nice, although next to a cow shed which wasn't visible on the website pictures.

Painful walk in flip flops to showers /toilets as walking on really coarse smashed up tarmac. Showers nice but only two so had to wait and the site wasn't full. This was the same with the toilets and lacked toilet paper.

The Yurt was supposed to be dog friendly as booked with lady on phone but the man showing us around seemed surprised by this.

Outside lights on decking area failed to work, reported this and a man said it was fixed but 10 mins later lights went out. Overall the site has great potential, with kids play area, football pitch, volleyball net, fishing pond, spa? nice pitches for caravans, tents etc. The location is beautiful, but be prepared for some narrow, tight lanes approaching the site. The negatives were the facilities, as reception was rarely open if you had a problem, you had to call and wait. The website does not truly reflect the reality of site, two new showers where not enough. Also misinformed about walking distance to beach from lady on phone, she quoted 3 miles was in fact nearer 6 miles.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nathanstev 2 reviews from this member

For days suddenly were wrongly parked or had to be removed due to sign writing. Don't step over the line whilst cleaning, the owner will be there to tell you off extremely abrupt, all covered by its health and safety!. Don't be drawn in by the picture of a relaxing picture of spa and hot tub. This is bolted on to the washing and shower area, and is in full view of anyone on site. The facilities are clean and new, considering it was built in 2016. But there isn't enough, with only 3 sinks, 2 toilets and 2 showers in each. Not forgetting the overflow which has 2 unisex toilets and showers. Not enough for 95 pitches. Games area, don't break anything it's all on CCTV and they will find you. £20 deposit for a dog stake. Dog walk area is in the field away from site. They have a food van on site. Open 7pm till 9pm which is handy as it takes the guy an age to cook anything doing 1 order at a time. Again it just didn't open one evening without any real apologies.

Trying to do to much and failing rather than doing the basics right. Drainage-sort it Customer service is lacking and the staff are not personable at all almost like we are trespassing-take a course. Rules are too many and to widely posted-scrap most of them. Facilities-more! Pitches-less and bigger. A relaxing haven it is not. Will not be back.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Podge68 7 reviews from this member

We chose this site as the website looked amazing. The whole concept of peace and quite, with new facilities and not too many pitches sounded idyllic. On arrival we were offered a choice of 2 pitches close to the shop, it was thick brown mud and I didn't want to put my awning on top of it but had no choice. The weather had been really bad before we arrived but I do feel this site has problems with drainage as we had really good weather other than 2 half days of rain and the ground sheet was flooded as water didn't drain away.

There are only 2 toilets in the female and 2 in the male with 2 unisex toilets at the back which look like the old original ones. Again 2 showers in each. This may be fine at quieter times of year but it's the only site I've ever had to queue at. Toilet paper snapped easily leaving none available. Although the facilities are new they're just not enough of them. Showers were free and plenty of hot water but be prepared to wait.

Over the bank holiday people were being accepted to stay in every inch of available space up to 9. 30 at night. Very noisy and pitching in the dark, trying to earn as much money possible rather than thinking of other campers. But I suppose it's the last chance to gain income at the end of season. But this all added to the toilet problems.

Groups were allowed to pitch together which wasn't fair on quieter campers however saying that come 11. 30 it went really quiet as I think they were told to be. Wifi is okay if you're near the information room and free. Lots of rules on site which didn't bother me. Tractor rides for the kids in the evening but at a price. Fire pits are a nice touch and logs can be purchased on site. The site shop is only open sporadically and I saw many a camper looking for opening times. There is a barn area with large table for getting together and a football and pool table which is a nice touch.

There is a spa on site which I never saw open but I heard the owner say it £10 per person for the hot tub but not are how long you had for this. No sign of the art room advertised on website. 3 bell tents look like they've seen better days. On the website it states shepherd huts and pub for 2017 along with other facilities but they weren't there on our visit but may be ready for next season.

The site is accessed via a small B road so be careful if pulling a caravan. Nearby is West Bay and Lyme Regis which are lovely and main shop is Morrisons in brigport which has a petrol station also.

Overall our stay was enjoyable but I think made better by the good weather. The owners work really hard as they have a farm to run also but this means they're not on site a lot but there is a contact number on the door. I would return to this site if only to see if they've completed the changes. Owners were pleasant enough but need a bit of customer relations training as a bit abrupt at times. I would recommend the site as really well situated to explore Somerset and surrounding areas.

More toilets and showers, less campers being packed in on the top field and better drainage and this site would be excellent.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SJJohns 7 reviews from this member

I saw this site online and loved the concept, hence why I booked. However, we were there during a weekend in August and I wished we had gone elsewhere.

This site can only be reached down country lanes. Whilst the lanes are quiet do not to go with a caravan unless you are confident and competent at towing. My husband is and was fine, as a passenger I was stressed. I would suggest that the slightly better way in with a caravan is from the B3165 and not the A35.

This site has excellent facilities and when we arrived they were in pristine condition. However, it was very busy and they were soon 'trashed''. In my opinion there were far too many people on site for the facilities they had. Even at 2300 hrs I had to queue for the toilets and generally the whole experience in the washrooms was unpleasant.

In addition to the above there did not seem to be that much space. We were on a small pitch, there would not have been room for an awning and our vehicle. All the pitches were taken and there were tents directly behind us. There were more tents in the field next door, no one was spaced out. Rather than the quiet and relaxing experience I was hoping for it was probably the worst camping I have ever experienced. I believe this was down to the layout of the site, the lack of space and facilities. We have been on plenty of other busy sites in summer and not felt as we did here. We left as early as possible on Sunday morning and I felt relief as we drove away! I had thought before we got there that we would book the hot tub but this would have been like trying to relax in the middle of a children's playground.

And finally, it was not cheap, £91 for two nights on a very small but fully serviced pitch. It was not worth it. Also there was a shop on site but everything was extortionately priced. You expect to pay more but not be ripped off - which is exactly how I felt after the weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SamandRose 17 reviews from this member

If you like the idea of spending your caravan or camping holiday in a beautiful, tranquil place and feeling like you have retreated into a more peaceful world, this site - especially if it's outside peak season - should be right up there on your list of places to consider. The views over open countryside are spectacular and the only vehicle noise you'll hear will be made by either a passing tractor or a fellow campsite visitor. We were told that wild deer come close to the site in the early mornings, but could never quite manage to wake up in time to spot them!

But there's none of your 'this is a small site on a converted farm, therefore the facilities are basic' excuses here. The separate male, female and disabled toilets and showers are immaculate and this is one of the few small to medium-sized sites that we've seen that offers spa treatments. Whilst we didn't try those out, we did spend an evening in the outdoor Jacuzzi watching the sun set, which felt a bit like being in heaven.

It's fair to say that the site is on a farm in the middle of nowhere and that the roads to it are mostly single-track - meeting a tractor coming the other way when you have a caravan behind can feel a bit intimidating - but take care and it's perfectly manageable.

There are just a couple of things that niggle though. The site claims to offer 55 pitches but only about 12 of those were large enough to accommodate our caravan (which is 6. 5m long, and certainly not enormous by today's standards). Most of the others are pitches are grass or gravel (more gravel pitches were being constructed during our stay) and large enough only for a tent or a small VW-type campervan. And are people who holiday in tents or small campervans really those who want on-site spa treatments?

The other point is that during our midweek stay in early May, we shared the site with only four other couples in caravans. And trying to judge what the site might be like when fully occupied based on that experience is a bit like trying to determine how busy a town centre car park will get on a Saturday afternoon if you drive into it at midnight. However, on the understanding that the site offers tractor and trailer rides and other children's entertainment during the summer season, my slight concern is that suddenly it might not feel like a peaceful 'hideaway' any more.

If these worries are unfounded, I'll apologise to the owner, Esther, right now. But I still personally feel that the site would benefit from a smaller total number of pitches but with more of a larger size.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Woodie59 1 review from this member

Arrived on site a few days before Easter to a lovely welcome from Esther fab sized level gravel pitch with 6ft hedge in between so great screen if you not overly keen on your neighbours! ;) It was more than ample for our rather large KON TIKI (8. 6m) & tag along car (yes we made it to the site with no problems with our sized unit!), still loads of space, grass in front for all the loungers windbreaks dog etc. Disagree with previous review, site was manned throughout our stay on site for the same dates for all of our 7 nights someone was in reception morning and night - during the day they were out and about cleaning the showers, mowing and beavering away keeping the site looking lovely and tidy and walking around at night handing out logs for the fire pits whilst Esther was busy in the Spa, so yes not all day but there for the important check ins and morning/evening purchases, I know cos the kids cleaned me out for toys and sweets! The shower block is the best we have seen or experienced ( yes 2 wcs, 2 showers and 3 basins but also the same in the gents too so a lot more!) The grass in the farm field (not campsite) was rather long when we there also but this is because it is the farm and silage grass being grown and not the campsite but the owners let us campers go in there too - it would very much depend on when you stayed as to the length of the grass in the field but our kids were more than happy to roam free and venture through the grass like in the old days, how often does that happen now?! Am in total agreement with the no ball policy in side the site having been on other sites and had the side of our expensive unit bashed with a stray ball saves for a lot of aggro and bad feeling! Like a site that has rules and sticks to them for all keeps the peace and people know to be respectful. There's loads of space to run and play ball so why do it right next to the units when you're trying to just chillax?! Does annoy me when people stay and then either lie or skew things to make them look in a bad light this is am amazing site and so ruddy peaceful even when the site was full over Easter week there was piping hot showers (not luke warm and not a dribble either) they last ages and the temperature can be chosen by you not the site so not like a campsite shower at all. Yes they are closed at set times but this maintains them in fab order all the time and NOOOO you don't have to resort to your van there is not only a large disabled wet room and family room available with wc and shower (if you have to shower between 12 & 2!) must be blind if they missed it! So there's access to a flushing loo all day long but there is also a second shower block behind so gawd knows why they had to 'resort' to their van and noone was left without a loo at any time! The laundry is open and finished and if I could I would attach a pic we took prove it when we returned again last weekend cos we love the site. The play area is basic and there are plans to improve it but some rotter pinched the lot so they are saving to replace it - the barn is coming on nicely (saw a pool table being delivered !) so there will be indoor stuff soon enough anyway so a bit of everything for all ages is the real picture. They have tractor trailer rides and kids clubs in the summer so plenty to do on site. Yes wifi is not fast but they don't advertise it and if your 7 year old doesn't find this fast enough then might I suggest he go run around outside?! :o and get off the satellite TV! - this is a rural site and for people who want to sit back and listen to peace and the birdsong, some pampering & relaxation in the Spa (I treated the wife to a massage on Saturday evening it was easy to do I just called the number on the door as it says to do (!) and booked in seconds, it is only manned for appointments - you could hire the hot tub (plenty did over Easter - a but chilly for us ) for that it is perfect and we love it as it is just what we want, I guess not all sites are for everyone but if you want a site that is well maintained and cared for and immaculately clean with fabulous facilities and great value then this is the one, if you want a site with wifi on the pitch, clubhouse, great satellite etc then no this isn't for you. The addition of food and bbq/hog roasts nights are going to top this site off perfectly.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AlisonBridle 1 review from this member

Beautiful site, amazing hosts, quiet, peaceful and secluded with easy access to the the most beautiful places in England.

What more could anyone ask?

The perfect pitch for people wanting to really get away from it all.

We loved everything- the walking, the country lanes, the scenery and the isolation.

Leave your mobile at home, leave the stress being, escape to the hideaway.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JammyBux 2 reviews from this member

Stayed during the Easter School Holidays. There are several Plus and minus points of the site which I hope others will find useful in deciding if the site is for you.

Originally booked expecting the children's play area to be built by now but it wasn't.

Arrived and the site was very quiet (1-2 caravans on site with people) but it was early in the season so that was to be expected.

Were initially met but as per the December 2016 review we saw very little activity during our 9 day stay in the reception / welcome area.

As I was setting up were told that our youngest couldn't play football on the largish grass area near the caravans (fair enough) but when we looked for the Children's play field it was knee high grass (adult knee) and stayed that way all during our visit.

Toilet block whilst immaculate and beautifully tiled only has 2 toilets, 3 sinks and 2 showers. So when it did get slightly busier there were waiting times for the Showers etc. Water was lovely and hot(direct boiler) so no complaints there.

Toilets/ Shower/ Washing up/ Washing machine block was shut between 12-2 which again meant using your own toilet (not a problem for us caravaner's) but for Tenting folk without a porta potty maybe.

3 Washing up sinks and sadly the Laundry room was yet another area not completed yet (no Washing machine to use)

The facilities were also not available for Children, so We ended up using the caravan toilet for our children frequently.

Site is in the middle of nowhere so is down single track roads with passing points which at Easter might not be a problem but in high season might be.

No 4G (vodaphone) where we were (phone signal patchy generally) and the on site wifi was poor so bare that in mind for elder children (our eldest wasn't impressed). Decent TV signal through the standard van ariel (didn't need the Satellite)

Lovely beauty spa on site but never saw it open.

My wife did use the Artist Studio with the local Artist and really enjoyed that.

5 Bells pub - 2. 2 mile walk down the lanes had cheap pub grub (7-8 quid) and a decent pint (beer).

Sun beamed into the campsite during our stay in the early evening so I would imagine in the summer it would be lovely sitting out.

Electric hookup on all pitches that we could see with a few water points. Due to the design of the site you would make best use of your pitch with a motor mover by placing your caravan facing inwards on several pitches to get the Sun in the awning. We couldn't as we don't have one and were told to keep off the grass with vehicles.

Felicity's Farm shop in nearby Morecombelake has on site coffee shop, premium local butcher and local baked goods. We had some lovely Hot cross buns (twice as good as supermarket fair). Morrisons and Lidl in nearby Bridport.

Westbay had a nice children's play area and at the time we visited all partking in West Dorset was 2 quid all day. West beach all Pebble and East Beach was being rebuilt so cant comment.

So our overall view is the site is lovely for Couples looking for a pamper (if it was open) or for People looking for a chilled relax away from it all.

As it stands at the moment with the facilities (lack of for Children including the ) and rules its not for Families with Children.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3013 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019