Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping La Mignardiere

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Ballan Mire > Camping La Mignardiere Reviews

Camping La Mignardiere
22 Avenue Des Aubepines
Ballan Mire
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
37510
Tel: +33 02 47 73 31 00
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 168
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

The site is in a very smart outer suburb of Tours, with a large artificial lake nearby. The pitches varied a great deal in size and shape, some being on corners so triangular or long and narrow, but we found a good-sized one. Some have partial hedges, some small fences, and some are mostly open with little privacy.

We were there in late May, on a holiday weekend, so it was fairly busy, and all the facilities were open - swimming pool, takeaway etc. However, when we arrived there was only one unisex toilet block open, next to reception. The following day they opened another one towards the back of the site, but I'm not sure they would satisfy demand in high season. They were clean and modern, but functional rather than comfortable, and the front doors were permanently propped open, which meant they were rather chilly in the morning. But at least they had loo paper and seats.

We had frites from the takeaway the first night, and pizzas the second night - reasonably priced and good.

There is a large play area, and a small amusement park over the road, which looked to be aimed at younger children. Campers can get discounted tickets. The site looked like a good place for family holidays.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Argente4 15 reviews from this member

Stopped here for three nights on our way back from the Dordogne at the end of July. We had phoned the day before to check availability since it was peak season.

Very nice site. A mix of nationalities, busy, but not too noisy. At about 10. 30pm each evening it all quietened down and stayed that way until about 8am the next morning.

Sanitary facilities were unisex and the toilets had proper seats and loo paper in each cubicle. There were individual sink cubicles and the showers were the push button type, water pressure and temperature both good. The facilities were always clean and I only had to wait a few minutes for a toilet on one occasion.

Didn't have EHU so can't comment.

We paid for Wifi but it was very slow.

Pool was nice, the outside one was rather 'fresh' at first but not too bad. They also had a covered pool which was much warmer. There was also a paddling pool for little ones. Other facilities included a sports field and a tennis court (free, but you had to book it at reception), and table tennis.

There was a small shop that doubled as a takeaway serving pizzas and snacks. The pizzas were ok and reasonably priced. You can get bread and croissants in the morning without pre-ordering. There's a bar and restaurant across the road but we didn't use it. There's also a small adventure parc here.

Supermarket with fuel are a five minute drive.

If you want to visit Tours by public transport the bus stop is close to the site which takes you to the tram stop where you can travel to the city centre. Make sure your ticket is valid for the tram as well as the bus, or buy separate tickets for each. We had a bit of confusion when our ticket was checked on the tram, and had to pay again! Alternatively some of the tram stops are park and ride. Ask at reception for a route map and bus times.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dodger936 12 reviews from this member

We stopped here on the way down to the Dordogne and we had a great time! Very nice site and very friendly Staff. We were told where the available pitches were and to pick the one we liked and let them know.

The site is in a beautiful area and fuel and supermarket are very near.

We had a lovely walk around the scenic lake and then got a takeaway from the site cafe. Very nice and just what we wanted.

Thanks to all involved as we had one of the best 'stopovers' since we started using the caravan!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J.okane 7 reviews from this member

Used this site as a stop-off, but stayed for 4 nights. Very pleasant staff who were happy to use English. On arrival we were given a colour coded map and told to choose any vacant pitch we liked, paying €2 per night on top of the discounted price for water & waste facility.

Did not use swimming pool(s) but both, covered and uncovered, did look very good. Sanitary facilities, in my opinion were both plentiful and clean. This was the only site out of three we used on this trip which had seats and paper in the wc's, not a huge deal but appreciated.

At the discounted price we paid per night for the standard of the facilities on this site, it is extremely good value compared with our own Caravan Club charges. How is it that this and other French sites, considering the extremely short season most have, can charge what they do and prosper when our British Clubs with in some cases year round opening say they need to charge so much more?

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rae_t 23 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site. Staff are helpful, little shop is well stocked, pools are clean and warm, playground, football pitch and tennis court kept the kids happy and there is even a little train at 6 every evening to take the kids on a ride around the site.

You are able to choose your own pitch which is a decent size - shade or sun, grass or woods but be warned, whichever you choose there are midges to bite you EVERYWHERE!

The site is very quiet apart from a Saturday night when the resident singer is on in the Auberge over the road. He has a large sound system and starts at 8pm for around four hours. You either put some earplugs in, sit outside your tent with a bottle or three to appreciate his wailing or get yourself over there and join in with the various Tom Jones renditions.

The site is near a beautiful lake if you are feeling energentic enough to jog or kayak, with lots of cycle routes to local villages. Tours, the main town is a short drive away and you are handily based for visits to Amboise, Blois or the many Chateau such as Chenonceau or Villandry. There were also enough vineyards and wine tasting caves around here to keep me very happy!

My only complaint is that there weren't enough toilets so at busy times - mornings and evenings - there was always a queue to use toilets, showers and sinks.

Would we go back? There are lots of campsites in this area so we like to try different ones but we may well do, because this one is nice!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: H 55 6 reviews from this member

Used this site as an overnight stop so didn't get to fully use it.

Positives -

Location great, lake nearby looked pretty & nice walks around it

On arrival they give you a map & tell you which colour pitches are they type you have booked & let you drive round & choose

Staff friendly & english speaking

Hedges between pitches so feels reasonably private

Decent shop & cafe selling great pizza on site.

Large woodland playground for kids on site

Wifi access could be paid for - we didn't use it as Orange one was cheaper!

Negatives

I guess its possible we missed one but we only found one facilities block right by reception which was all unisex! Only 3 toilets, 2 showers & 3 sink cubicles for a huge site! Not sufficient in my opinion for 177 pitches(!) but to be fair we didn't queue but that is likely to be because we were up early! It looked clean but toilets smelt of urine!

Wouldn't return due to wash/toilet facilities being poor.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Moyster 8 reviews from this member

Very friendly greeting and most helpful reception. Plenty of sites to choose from with shade, if required. Good size pitches, all with electricity. Showers hot with clean toilet block. Swimming pools both excellent with plenty of sun loungers. When it came to cycling into Tours cycle maps were quickly provided and it was under 10 kms of easy cycling. Tours itself was a pleasant surprise with a range of very interesting shops, all closed as it was bank holiday! Shop on site had a range of bread each morning and food each evening.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kings0409 3 reviews from this member

Facilities

The facilities at this campsite were lovely, clean & well appointed.

There was a tennis court, football goals, swimming pool, laundry & on site shop.

We arrived on the 19th August & the site was very quiet due to it being the end of season, which we found lovely as the site is extremely pretty.

There is a Super you supermarket on the way into the site, it's about a 5 minute drive from the site itself. This sells clothes, food & is similar to our supermarkets in the UK.

Pros

Well maintained facilities

Good mix of nationalities

Pool open 9am to 9pm

Electric & water on all pitches (you need an EU adapter)

The pitch that we stayed on was surrounded by trees & very private, if you were to stay longer & like to be social you may be better requesting a pitch with low trees.

I would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dealt25 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site in an area with lots to do. We had a large pitch which was a little uneven, so we had to choose which side to park up very carefully. Facilities clean, but found queues for showers at busy times. Covered pool warm (didn't try uncovered) and stayed open until 9 so could use it after day out. Take away open for a few hours in the evening, serving pizzas and burgers and such.

Opposite is a kids park which we didn't visit, but seemed popular. Also an auberge opposite, which we did visit. Food was delicious and to be recommended! We found plenty to do in the area for the three days we were there, and could have easily done more. A good base to explore the Loire region. Would return.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tommies 4 reviews from this member

La Mignardière is situated on the edge of a suburb of Tours, near a large lake which has fishing and nice walks. It is a short drive into the centre of the suburb, Ballan-Miré, where there is a supermarket. The site is a few minutes drive from the D37 dual carriageway which gives good access to the main routes for exploring Tours and the chateaux in this part of the Loire valley. It is only a short drive to the chateaux of Azay-le-Rideau and Villandry. The site was very quiet when we visited in September, although it was about half-full. There were several British visitors.

There is a good covered swimming pool plus outside pool. There is no play area on site, although the site is spacious and has plenty of room for general playing. There is a kid’s activity park directly opposite the site, with animals, adventure playground, donkey rides, etc. There is an entrance fee for this. There is a small snack bar on site and a café/restaurant about 50 metres away, adjacent to the kid’s activity park. There are other restaurants a mile or so away in Ballan-Miré.

There is a range of pitches of different shapes and sizes, either fully or partly shaded. Most are fully serviced, level and of a generous size. The husband and wife team who run the site were very helpful and were available until 7 p.M. Every day.

The sanitation facilities are modern-style and were cleaned regularly. Wifi is available in the bar area for 2€ a day.

We would use this site again if we revisited this part of the Loire valley, although I would not recommend it for families wanting a fortnight’s holiday with lots of activities for the kids. Nevertheless, a family with kids would find enough to keep occupied for several days.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4481 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019