Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Des Dunes

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Gravelines > Camping Des Dunes Reviews

Camping Des Dunes
Rue De Victor Hugo
Gravelines
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
59820
Tel: 00 33 (0) 328 23 09 80
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 200

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 8 Reviews
                6/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan lady 67 4 reviews from this member

 This camp site is not for the faint hearted! To start with it is close to the port and has a direct path to a beach that is the good bit! The pitch is an after thought, messy unkempt and had dog poo on it. The toilet block although clean is in need of updating and the chemical disposable point again an after thought as its a toilet stuck to the out side of a building. The bar held a karaoke night till 1am then every one and his dog came staggering home. At 7am the church bells began to chime them shortly followed by the local shooting parting shooting on the near by beach. For this pleasure we were charged 60euro for two nights stay. The whole camp felt scruffy and very messy the dog poo was everywhere with no enforcement. Although it is a mobile home site, we have stayed on many sites throughout France and many do have mobile homes and permanent pitches, this has never been a problem and is fully accepted in France however we felt very vulnerable here. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Catlover174 24 reviews from this member

 The only good thing I can find to say about this campsite is that it is close to the ferry port at Dunkerque - oh, and it is cheap! Thankfully we had only booked in for 1 night. On arrival (at around 2pm) we found reception closed. After a bit of hunting we found a buzzer and were told to come back in an hour. Not the welcome we were hoping for after a tiring journey over from the UK and very inconvenient as we had left our caravan and car parked just outside the security coded barrier and now had a queue of traffic behind us!

The wait for reception to open gave us the opportunity to investigate the huge sandy beach which was nice enough but surrounded by industrial units and a power station so not exactly stunning!

When we finally managed to check in our pitch was perfectly acceptable, spacious and level. However the site appears to be predominantly long-term residents in mobile homes and does not have a very friendly atmosphere. We made the best of our stay. Unfortunately the kids playground was closed for refurbishment but ours found some open-air exercise machines that they thought were great fun and we made use of the ping-pong table.

The sanitary facilities seemed clean enough but very run-down and certainly not inviting so we did not use them for a shower, opting to wait until we arrived at our next stop. The toilets had no seats and there was no loo paper or soap provided. No entertainment was offered and there were no facilities for eating on site.

Overall I would not recommend this site and would suggest looking for an alternative if you need somewhere to stop close to the ferry port - we found a beautiful site closer to Calais for our return journey. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 We only used this site as a one night stopover as it is quite close to the ferries at Calais and Dunkirk and about a 20 minutes drive from Le Shuttle. We arrived around 5pm and were greeted nicely by the receptionists whose English was good. The cost of the pitch was a mere 11 for the night and this included electric, bargain! One thing I was not in favour for was leaving my passport with them overnight as a deposit for the shower key. The showers and toilets were OK and mixed, but they are typically French with no toilet paper or loo seat but they were clean. The site sits right on the beach which was very clean. I would not hesitate to stay here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janetdonovanmendy 1 review from this member

 Just returned from this site and had a fantastic stay. The pitch we were allocated was clean and very private due to the hedging all around. The staff were very helpful even to the point of personally showing us where the pitch was rather than just giving us a map.

The washing up, toilet and shower facilities looked brand new and were extremely clean. We were given 12 free showers for a three night stay for two people - more than adequate.

There also was a well organised waste disposal area which was emptied twice during our three night stay.

The location on approach was a bit concerning as the campsite is located at the end of an industrial area. But once in the site a short walk to the beach - fantastic.

Only downside was that the on site shop was not open very much but I think this was due to us being out of season. Not a problem as the village is a short drive or walk along the beach.

Great value for money at only 7 euros per night. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JULIED444 61 reviews from this member

 Arrived at round 8.30pm with no reservation wanting 1 nights stay before catching the ferry home. (The site is approx 6 miles away to the port so very handy). They were able to allocate us a large pitch with electric.

There was one large toilet block, no toilet roll or seats and unfortunately when I went for a shower there was no hot water. However, it was all clean - but I wonder if that was because nobody really used it. The majority of pitches were permanent, so I guess they used their own bathrooms.

Site shop with an assortment of souvenirs, plus helpful reception - the reception area/desk was a boat so was very amusing.

There was a bar with stage offering entertainment but we did not go there.

Shop did take-away chips.

Ideal one night stopover before going home, but no somewhere you would want to stay for any longer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phillipared 2 reviews from this member

 Stopped here on our out going journey to Carnac with our big Outwell Bearlake 4 tent.

5 Euros per night for our large enough pitch without hook up which we were able to choose. Pitch surrounded by hedge - very quiet - clean/tidy. Shower block quite modern and new looking - well maintained. We went to the beautiful beach (directly off the site) and watched the sun go down. As was a flying visit didn't really look at the entertainment or shop. Close to a Super you and a Lidl.

Stopped again on our way back - for 2 nights - the atmosphere had completely changed! Now very busy with other users not being as respectful to the facilities as is expected (no plugs in the sinks so improvising with loo roll etc.) as our stay was a little longer this time we noticed the more tired areas of the site more and noticed no cleaning of the communal areas or washblock had been done during the time we were there (aforementioned wet loo roll fished out and left on the side of sinks etc.) Our pitch this time was less desirable with broken up fibre board fragments littering it which we had to remove. Showers stone cold unless you get up early and got in first. Could not find a fresh cold water point other than outside the reception. Some of the permanent caravans sited there look very pretty with flowers planted etc. - others are a bit of an eyesore, some are derelict and used as a playground by the children.

So all in all - good for a stop over - very reasonable rates, but would drive me nuts if I was there longer. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Angelawalklett 2 reviews from this member

 One year on and things are still just as bad as the previous review.

When we eventually located our pitch, not easy because most of the numbers had eroded, I could have cried because it was so overgrown and pot-holed. Fortunately we were only staying two nights.

We will never use the site again and cannot recommend anyone to use it unless it is very much a 'last resort'. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: R.S.M 3 reviews from this member

 Camping Des Dunes is reached from the A16 [Junction 23] in an Easterly direction from Calais. [Towards Dunkirk] It is 29 Klm from the port.From J23 follow the signs for Sportica and then Camping/Camping Des Dunes. Reception is on the left before going thro the barrier. Parking is on the right for booking in. Access is by a Magnetic key provided by reception.
Prices vary for low/high season.23rd of July - 30th of July cost 140 Euros. [Not the price we were quoted on booking, that being 98 Euros]
There is a small but well stocked shop at reception selling Bread/Milk and the vital arrival items. The local Supermarket is a 7-8 minute drive from the site and is located at the Sportica Complex. The site provides a clean shower/Toilet block and facilities are ' Communal '. The pitches, are not to generous in size and we were rather cramped with a trailer tent with annexe. The pitches themselves are overgrown and pot holed, with the grass being allowed to grow to about 6" high. Grass cutting are piled everywhere along with tree cuttings. The hedges and undergrowth have been allowed to grow without check or maintenance.Black bin liners of grass and cuttings get piled at the end of the Cul De Sacs for collection which is irregular. Trash and rubbish is disposed of by walking from your pitch to reception and putting the trash into enormous bins where it is collected once a week by which time it spills over onto the ground.
There is entertainment during the peak times which consists of bingo and karaoke in the big top which is a large marque tent behind the block. This goes on till well after 23:00hrs.
Within easy Driving distance is Dunkirk - Calais - Bolougne and Ypres. All well worth a visit. The local towns of Grand Fort Phillipe/Petit Fort Phillipe and Gravelines are to small to spend any time in. The beach can be accessed from the site via a small path and is nice to walk along. Every spare inch of the site is used. It has a mixture of permenant chalets and 'Vans used as residential, and the pitches not taken up by these are used for tourers/tents and motorhomes. Laundry facilities are available which include a tumble dryer. There is a small kids play room which sells sweets.
Conclusion: It has been a well run site in the past, but allowed to fall into disrepair. Its untidy and unmaintained. Only 1 member of staff spoke English. Dog fouling was evident and no rules were posted or enforced.EHU is reversed polarity and the stands are broken and unrepaired. [Only 1 of 4 worked on ours]Water is drawn from the EHU stand.Cassette toilets are emptied into a toilet bowl sited outside the main washroom, as is waste water. I regret I would not recommend this site for longer than a 1 night stopover on a journey elsewhere. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Des Dunes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Des Dunes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Des Dunes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gravelines      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3684 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement