Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Tarn House Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Tarn House Caravan Park Reviews

Tarn House Caravan Park
White Hills Lane
Stirton
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 3LQ
Tel: 01756 795309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Syldow 3 reviews from this member

The best toilet and shower facilities we’ve come across. Immaculate just like a hotel.

Staff on check in were great, they phone you a couple of days before tell you which pitch you’re on, park up get sorted and then walk up to the reception easy !

Only negative is the pitches are quite close together, but you do get to know your neighbours !

The Tarn House itself is now the pub and serves very good meals.

Must be 250 statics on site and the tourers are at the bottom of the site but it’s fine, the facilities make up for that. Lovely walk into Skipton from here or if you’re adventurous up Sharphaw the hill behind is well worth a hike.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JohhnyBear 1 review from this member

15 or so hardstanding fully serviced pitches below a statics site.

Booked online, £20p/n for two of us. Received a courtesy call letting us now our pitch number and explanation of booking in.

Nearby toilet block is excellent: clean, warm, modern with proper showers, no charges.

No shop on site but the site has a good bar which does food at weekends. The static site is well maintained.

20 minute walk down the road to Skipton, there is also a footpath across the fields. Road not too busy, does has have footpath to begin with and yes there is a slope. Discounted taxi service available according to information in welcome pack.

No WiFi on pitches but good phone coverage.

Overall very good site and we felt good value for our midweek stay.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trotty51 2 reviews from this member

This is our second visit and we were on pitch no 1. If you've never been before you are best phoning ahead to find your pitch number as when you arrive you don't go past reception and check in, as with most sites. Reception is at the top of the hill, you wouldn't want to take your caravan up there! The pitches are serviced with water, waste and tv aerial. The aerial on pitch 1 doesn't work - the site engineer has looked at it and they don't know why.

The showers/toilets are excellent, never busy and plenty of hot water. Lovely and clean with a heated floor.

There is no shop on site, Skipton - a 40 minute walk downhill there, uphill back. Good walks from the site and easy access to many attractions.

There is an excellent farm shop - Keelham Farm Shop - about 5 mins from site - at the campsite entrance turn right and go down to the main road - it's quite narrow. Turn left and along to the roundabout - straight across the roundabout and it's on the right hand site. Good opening hours and lots of really nice produce. Much easier than going to the supermarket in Skipton and plenty of parking.

Although the touring part is at the bottom of the static site, there was no problem with noise or traffic.

We would certainly return

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kitkat2279 9 reviews from this member

Visited this site for a relaxing weekend which we had. To begin with a little stressful finding our pitch. We had booked hard-standing and been put on a grass pitch which when we got to it, was not fir for purpose and away from the other tourers. After discussing with reception they moved us to a hard-standing with the other tourers. The pitch was much better not totally level with it being gravel but a few tweaks and we were right. The toilet block is amazing with heated flooring shower heads the size of saucers and as much hot water as you like none of this 10 second shower then have to press the button again. Skipton was a lovely walk approx 20 min downhill with plenty of shops and bars. Taxi's really good and lots of them in Skipton easy to get one back up the hill if you didn't fancy the walk. Lovely site would go back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nnnccc 13 reviews from this member

Cracking site. Just spent 3 nights there and very impressed. Extremely large hard/gravel level fully serviced pitch. Majority of site is statics and separate touring area set off away a little bit from them with a few seasonal pitches and approximately 6 -8 touring pitches. Very peaceful & quiet & very close to an absolutely immaculate toilet block complete with heated floors and plenty of hot water from proper showers. Some lovely little touches for dog owners, little points on wall around toilet block for attaching dog leads to and a little doggy shower as well. Staff we met on site were very helpful & friendly & we did have food in Tarn House itself which is where reception is and about a 5-10 minute walk up a slight hill from touring area and food was delightful and again service first class. Good location, about a 20 minute walk into Skipton but that's downhill and after that and walking around Skipton it was a taxi back up but only about £4. 50 from town to site. Didn't see no buses or bus stops on road to site and you do have to walk a little bit before you reach the pavement but it is a pleasant walk to town. Skipton itself is great, plenty pubs & restaurants and got some great service everywhere we went. Great site, great location. We'll be back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Melanie100 1 review from this member

Just returned after staying Monday to Saturday. The site was lovely and clean the very friendly staff were out first thing every morning picking litter and cleaning toilets. The toilet facilities were modern and spotless I was not afraid to use them. Another positive point for small families and disabled visitors was a wet room with a shower and bath included. There was a small laundrette by the toilets and a positive for us was a warm dog shower, great for walkers and smelly dogs. All the touring pitches were super pitches, make sure you take a good length of drainage hose to reach straight into your personal drain. The pitches were all hard standing with patio paving around so there was no mud trailed into caravan. A good sized piece of grass was between each plot. In the week the site was very quiet which we like, at the weekend it quickly filled up, I can see this is a popular site which we intend to visit frequently.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindacl 5 reviews from this member

Just visited this site as my daughter was swimming in the Skipton triathlon. Had e mail telling me which pitch we were on (grass pitch 16). When we arrived we were directed to it by one of the groundsmen. They state that all their touring pitches are now super pitches so we expected to have our own water, ehu and tv and waste water we had first three but could not find a drain, so I went up to reception to ask about it and was told that they hadn't finished that pitch yet. To my mind they shouldn't have put us on it. The ground round the tower was very rough in fact there was a hole covered by soggy hardboard and a big circular grid with just a big hole underneath.

Apart from that the site is very nice and despite people saying there is no dog walk it is at the far end of the touring pitches (hard standings)and there are plenty of doggy bins. The toilets are cleaned quite few times a day. The only thing I would suggest is a mop and bucket to clean out the showers, I had to clean it every time I used it it's nothing to rinse it out.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mat stone 2 reviews from this member

Beware, beware beware, tarn house campsite is not how it looks, the touring area looks more like caravan storage than a touring field. A desolate patch of gravel surrounded by trees blocking out any view.

Tarn house itself is very dated, and very clicky with members of staff not really wanting to serve people who are not staying in the hotel,

During our stay not one person from the site introduced themselves, our name and pitch number where stuck on a notice board, until our last morning, when a disgruntled looking man asked us for payment.

I have never left a bad review on here and feel bad but, for touring caravans this site is an after thought, just to make a bit more money,

If you want to spend the weekend in a car park, go to Arn house

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jo mawn 8 reviews from this member

I was really happy with the site. The toilet block was warm, it only had one shower ( which I didn't use) but looked nice modern and very clean. Ll the staff ( and workmen still doing up the site) were really friendly and helpful. The pitches were nice, but a bit stony. It was in a nice location right in the start of the Yorkshire Dales and 2 mins in a car to Skipton. Only thing I wasn't happy with was paying £2 a night for our dog. I could not understand why a cost, she didn't use any amenities and I couldn't even see a dog walk ( though you could just walk them around the site on a lead). I would definitely go back there again and would have given it 10 stars but due to the unreasonable cost for the dog I will give them 8. It cost £19. 50 ( £17. 50 without the dog) so that is not a bad price.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Double-Dutch 8 reviews from this member

Visiting friends who've sold up and since retiring now travel on the canals, we wanted a site somewhere close to the canal and to Skipton. Searches on-line brought up Tarn House Caravan Park. Very few reviews on UK Campsite, only one in 2010, and worryingly no detailed information (or pictures of the caravan area) on the web site. However, nothing else came close to meeting our needs for the visit, so we booked Tarn House with fingers crossed.

On the plus side:

There appears to be only a dozen or so touring caravan pitches.

Each pitch is quite well spaced and is on hard core.

The site is quiet, lots of bird noise, and the views at the back of the vans are lovely - pity the views aren't at the front so you can actually see them.

On the downside:

The hard core pitches are made up of jagged chunks of varying sizes of limestone, and could rip holes in your awning carpet. Earlier reviews mentioned grass pitches but we didn't see any.

There is no heating in the shower/toilet block. It was very cold in there.

There is only one shower in the Ladies and one in the Gents - neither are lit very well.

The showers are electric and the flow rate was very poor. The Ladies shower control knob is broken.

The toilets were not clean - the floor round the toilet pedestals was dirty (clearly the young man who did the cleaning of both the Ladies and Gents, which incidentally took him about 5 minutes to do both, didn't consider it necessary to clean the floor around the back and sides of the toilet itself), and the toilet seats had sticky looking 'splashes' underneath - thus not cleaned and sanitised. My husband informed me after looking in the Ladies (no ladies in there at the time!), that the Gents toilets were worse.

Disgusting dirt had accumulated behind the main door.

A previous reviewer mentioned a pub being within walking distance, but I didn't see one (other than the House itself), and in any event I don't recall there being any lighting on the country lanes surrounding the site - certainly no pavement - so not ideal at night time.

Other than the few caravan pitches, the estate is given over to static caravans and some lodges. The statics are packed in tightly - it's not the best of views.

I don't recall there being any sort of play area for children although that wasn't of interest to us.

In summary, we will not be back

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2896 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder