Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping La Cigale

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Ares > Camping La Cigale Reviews

Camping La Cigale
53 Rue Du General De Gaulle
Route De Lege
Ares
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
33740
Tel: +33 05 56 60 22 59
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 85
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that the owners of this site have advised us that as from the start of the 2020 season they will no longer have any camping, caravanning or motorhome touring pitches. From 2020 onwards they will only have rental accomodation 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Spudle 2 reviews from this member

 We loved the cleanliness of all amenities, the friendly welcome from Marie who spoke excellent English.

The shops close by, but we did not appreciate the noise from the garage each day or the busy road. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Saspar 6 reviews from this member

 Only stayed for 3 nights, but would definitely stay longer and will return.

The whole site is immaculate, including the pool area, the toilets, the showers and the washing up area. The pitches are well kept and in a good position for facilities.

We do not usually use a campsite restaurant, but decided to give it a try. The food was very good and priced reasonably.

The site is well positioned for cycle routes to main beaches, much better than queueing in a vehicle.

The family owners are always busy and their hard work really pays off. A fantastic site for all ages. Even our 16 year old son was impressed! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bobbymax 12 reviews from this member

 Located just out of town. Not too big, not too small. Quirky but clean facilities and a very helpful reception. Bread can be ordered at the bar, which also did some evening meals.

Great starting point for the cycle path which skirts the Arcachon basin but you have to note the tides if you want to see any water. Bus stop not far away and the one and a half hours into Bordeaux costs only a few euros return. There are large supermarkets on the edge of town and smaller shops within walking distance. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beenie 4 reviews from this member

 We were in a tent, in the 'nature' pitches opposite the field with the tiny horse in it.

The site is clean, quiet and has a small restaurant/bar attached.

Some of the family speak English, others do not or with a reluctance.

There are cycle paths near the site where you can cycle off to various places. If you don't order a baguette on the night before, and from the site, it is boring and unpleasant ride into town.

There is a small pool here which is loved by the children and families.

For us it was a lovely and relaxed stay, apart from the road noise and that of the neighbouring agricultural centre - it didn't bother us, but bring your earplugs just in case. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suziewoozy 4 reviews from this member

 We loved this site. So much so, we returned for a second week a couple of weeks later in to our trip.

The facilities are kept absolutely immaculate by Bernard, the owner, and his staff. There is a small but pleasant swimming pool and a paddling pool for the little ones.

Our pitch had electricity, water and grey water drain, and was separated from our neighbours by pleasant shrubs and flowers.

I loved the area in that we could cycle along the cycle tracks in to the next town, have a beer and return home or maybe sit under trees on an almost empty beach or visit Cap Ferret. We also got a bus in to Bordeaux (bus stop very close). So many choices, lol, and all of them relaxing.

A lot of people there in June have been returning for many, many years which says a lot about the site. Without doubt we will be returning next year. The question is, for how long? 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosemarie1980 1 review from this member

 We are fairly new to camping and came across this campsite while exploring the area. The owners could not have been more friendly and are extremely helpful. They speak English as well as other languages and nothing is too much trouble for the team here. The site is very well maintained and one of the best we've stayed at. It's a nice small site with excellent seating area to have a meal (pizzas or salad etc). There is a 'chill out' area with softly lit lanterns for a peaceful relaxing evening near the restaurant and bar. Adequate lighting near the camp/camper-van sites with electric hookup and located near the ablution block. The toilets, showers and washing up area very immaculate. The swimming pool is very clean and has some sun loungers and sun shades which helps as some campsites we've seen have little shade. We'd definitely want to return again in future. Shops close by either 10 minute walk with the sea a bit further down from the village. It's a lovely friendly place. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sazzaj 1 review from this member

 Went here with high hopes having read the other reviews with rose tinted glasses; wished we had focused on those warning signs.

Yes the site is clean as the owner constantly has a mop in his hand but.

On arrival we received a surly greeting and were given a average sized pitch which we had to manoeuvre our new van around an oak tree. It proved more difficult when we tried to move it out.

This oak tree meant the with all the rain we had - despite it being August - sleep was difficult owing to the constant drips and falling acorns. If sleep did occur it was again disturbed by the road noise - which as other reviewers have said is obviously a route for fire engines and ambulances - and the refuse collection at 3am.

Yes the area is beautiful but.

Perhaps ensure you go in low season to avoid the bumper to bumper traffic if you want to see the beach.

As another camper said 'It was a long way to come only to wish we were home' 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Titicam 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic little site, and one we hopefully will return to. We stayed for a week toward the end of August. We had requested a very large pitch as our tent is massive and it did not disappoint room for our 8 x 5 tent, extension, large 4x4 and camping trailer.

The owners were on hand all the time to answer questions and give information out. Found a fantastic little place called Le Canon about 20 mins away near the Atlantic beaches but also on the basin so quite beaches for our little one.

Bought fresh oysters and they were the best we have ever had. You could also get boats from here across the basin or a tour which we did and it lasted just over an hour. Really great area for all ages as we have a 3 year old and a 12 year old.

The site is very well maintained and facilities never seemed over crowded even though the site was full every day we were there. We hope to be back next year. Also fantastic Bakery in Ares went every morning for fresh produce and the fish Mongers was amazing.

Lots of supermarkets around so never short of anything. Just remember supermarkets shut at Noon on Sunday's. Our Son especially loved the Donkey trailer ride around the site. Could of been a bit more for the older kids but our daughter is quite happy sat out with us at night. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ennyl 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this campsite mid June. We were greeted warmly and allowed to choose our own pitch as the site was only partially full due to this being only the start of the season in France.

The pitches were of average size (probably generous for a coastal site) and were divided by small hedges and flowers.

The swimming pool was well maintained and never crowded. The unisex sanitary block was also well maintained and there were also the 'usual' dish and clothes washing sinks all surrounded by superb floral displays.

Bernard, the owner, was always on hand to lend a hand or for a friendly chat over coffee. He also delivered croissants and baguettes to our pitch each day as ordered.

By the end of our stay the snack bar was almost ready to open for the season and this would have been a wecome facility had it been open during our stay.

There was however an excellent Basque restaurant at the entrance to the site which we visited one evening and which also served takeaway pizzas.

We were able to cycle into town where there was a very useful 8 till 8 Carrefour (no closure for lunch!), an excellent tourist info and a weekly market.

Dedicated (tarmac) cycle tracks went around the Basin and we easily cycled to Andernos les Bains.

Trips to the Atlantic beaches took 15/20 mins by car and lifeguards were on duty due to the huge rollers.

There was a cosmopolitan feel to the site with a nice mix of nationalities and everyone was firmly in agreement that this is a very welcoming and well run site.

It was a refreshing change to be surrounded by caravans and tents of all shapes and sizes and not solely huge British tourers and towcars! 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Cigale child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping La Cigale have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Cigale?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping La Cigale dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ares      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3114 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020