Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Grand Large

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Les Pieux > Camping Le Grand Large Reviews

Camping Le Grand Large
Route Du Grand Large
Les Pieux
Normandy   (Browse area)
50340
Tel: +33 233524075
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: 06/04 To 22/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
                9/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dlittle 7 reviews from this member

This site is situated in an excellent location next to the beach (which was almost deserted). The facilities are very good, showers, plenty of room to get dry and dressed, pitches are spacious and clean, washing & washing up facilities kept clean and tidy.

There are 2 swimming pools which we did not use but they looked good. You could buy fresh bread daily, but the shop was a bit limited on the goods it stocked. Staff helpful, professional and friendly.

Overall - excellent and we will be back.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jennie and Barry 3 reviews from this member

We have just spent 5 nights at Camping Le Grand Large. We were extremely impressed with the site, the facilities are impressive and spotlessly clean. Every need has been thought of and catered for. The situation is wonderful, only yards from a long sandy beach. There are benches just outside the site to sit and watch the magnificent sunsets over the Channel Islands. The little shop was quite well stocked considering it was only April. The bread and pastries delivered to order daily were fresh and delicious. We will definitely return for a longer visit.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cplusplusgirl 1 review from this member

This is a very well looked after campsite. The facilities are spotless and a pleasure to use. The campsite has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and as it was the school holidays during our visit, plenty of VERY well behaved children enjoying themselves. The site seemed to wake at a leisurely 8. 30am - 9. 00am which was a welcome and pleasant surprise. The indoor pool and jacuzzi proved a great option during the storm that hit during our stay, and the outdoor pools and plentiful sunbeds were great during a jellyfish invasion of the vast beach. The beach is literally a walk over a small dune from the campsite (in our case about 50 metres from our tent) and breakfast on the beach was a regular occurence for us. We didn't partake in any of the evening entertainment that was laid on as we were far too busy enjoying the late light evenings on the beach. There are just two 'faults' I could mention. One being the dire paid for wireless internet service - I genuinely think that the site should consider dropping their price for such a weak signal. Paying 6 euros for two hours internet and then spending half of this time waiting for simple web pages such as BBC News to download seems more than a bit cheeky in my humble opinion. The other 'fault' is merely the lack of options on the campsite cafe menu. The food really isn't great and seems wanting for such a lovely site in general. This really wasn't a big issue for us, but, had there been some more options ( in particular simple fresher and healthier ones) we may have eaten there more than our first night after a long journey. That being said, everything else was fabulous and we were very happy with our stay!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JackieReilly 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a fab holidays at Le Grande Large. I can't find any fault with this site. Large pitches, clean site absolutely spotless. Lovely swimming pool indoor and outdoor. Facilities were clean. We usually use the caravan shower but we showered in the facilities they were so good. Large clean beach and clean shallow sea ideal for swimming in. We took our gold retriever and he loved to run in the sea and along the beach. We arrived on 24 July 2014 and left on 9 August 2014 and we only had one day of rain it was beautiful weather. We have reserved a pitch for next year near the sea. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Only 45 mins from Cherbourg ferry easy to find. A busy site but peaceful. Many people returning year after year.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KencoB 2 reviews from this member

This Site was a bit difficult to find, but that may have been because it was our first time in France. Reception friendly & spoke English, lots of information on markets & events in local area. Very nice toilet/shower/washing up block cleaned more than once a day. Small shop for basic groceries small toys, bread. Bar and take-away. Bouncy castle near Reception, large playground in sand dunes, indoor & outdoor swimming pools, magnificent sandy beach adjoining site; tide timetable given by reception. Fruit & veg trader came to site. Our party was Mum & Dad + 3 children & 2 grandparents; we only stayed 3 nights but would definitely return and stay longer.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellie36 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 10 days, excellent facilities for the children. Although the weather was very poor we all enjoyed our stay. Swimming pool nice but very cold, about 5 mins to Le Pieux which has a variety of shops and 2 super u's. Only downside to our stay was the weather and the site is very windy so make sure you have loads of pegs for your awning or tent.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

We used this as our first stop off after arriving on the Cherbourg ferry and were pleased with what the site offered. The toilets, showers and dish-washing facilities are very clean and plentiful, the pitches are big and well shaded the staff are very accommodating and speak excellent English and the site offers some forms of entertainment throughout the summer. The shop on site sells a limited number of bare essentials and the adjoining bar/take away sells reasonably priced drinks and fast-food. The site could certainly be improved by offering a better variety of foods.

The site is located right on the nice, sandy beach. A walk along the beach brings you to one or two more fast food outlets, but that is all that will be found as this area is fairly remote. It is about a ten minute drive into the little town of Les Pieux, which offers more in the way of shops, bars and a large supermarket. If you're interested in a longer drive, you can get to Barneville Carterat, Granville and Mont St Michel as day trips.

Overall, the site is well run and deals with the large volumes of people that use the site efficiently. If you are a family and happy to spend a lot of your time using the facilities, it is perfect. For a young couple, we found it it a little too remote and didn't really use the 4 star offerings that warranted the site charging 33 euros per nights for 2 people with electricity.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019