Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping D Angers Lac De Maine

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Angers > Camping D Angers Lac De Maine > Reviews

Camping D Angers Lac De Maine
Avenue Du Lac De Maine
Angers
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49000
Tel: +33 02 41 73 05 03
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 163
Open: 12/04/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 16 Reviews
                7/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Julesmorris 35 reviews from this member

 Hedged and sheltered pitches.

Plentiful facilities no extra for hook-ups or showers or swimming pool or bar.

By a lake and the Loire, close to town centre.

Reception multi-lingual. Why can't we have sites like this in England??

Busy with Welsh & Irish rugby fans heading to Bordeaux for the world cup. Run by Huttopia. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cllr_gyppo 13 reviews from this member

 Slightly Disappointed with this site, I am not quite sure why, to me it just didn't have the right vibe about it.

Our Pitch was Flat, but reasonably compact, most pitches would not have fitted our tent (Robbens Klondike Grande) as they seemed to designed for motor homes to simply reverse into them.

The pitch Surface did not seem to be very good, with more of a scrub grass and lots of stones, so I would recommend taking a foot print to protect your Sewn in Groundsheet.

The Bar was pleasant enough, and had live music on the Saturday night. The food in the Cafe just consisted of Pizza or a Cheese/Charcuterie board, It was not possible to Order Fries with our Pizza, that said the Pizza was tasty enough. Due to Lack of Choice, we tended to eat in town.

The Sanitary blocks were very Clean, and Staff were helpful and polite. The bar Overlooked the swiming pool, which was of a good size, and there was an area where you could have a fire pit and sit round, neither of these facilities we used.

Most notices on the noticeboard were Multi-Lingual, except one, which was only in French, this Stated do not Charge your Car from your hookup, or it will blow the Water Pump or words to that effect.

As an EV useres, this was relevant to me, There was an EV charger provided in the Car park, but was very Expensive compared to other locations, for a not particularly fast Charge. I Recommend using the Rapid Charger at the Htel Mercure Angers Lac de Maine, next to the Carrefour, which was half the price, per kwh, and is located a few minutes away from the site

As other reviewers have pointed out it is a Good 30 min walk into town, however there is a bus stop just outside of the campsite, Busses could be more regular, and on one occasion never turned up. A taxi from the City Centre at 11pm, was about 20 Euros.

The Site is a good location to visit Angers, however I do not feel we would be returning, as there is better sites in the area, and other towns to visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wendle 20 reviews from this member

 Oh dear. These pitches are just waste ground. Not checked between re letting. Potholes filled with gravel. Full of twigs and other debris. Toilets running out of loo roll. No sign of cleaners or maintenance.

We left a 3 star in the dordogne and stopped at le lac, expecting more it being a 4 star. Sadly disappointed. There is a heated pool and laundry etc. I would say this is at the low end of a 3 star site.

Good half hour walk to shops etc.

Much better sites in the Loire

Also. There seems to be no speed limit on site. Cars and staff buggies zooming about 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Raymon 5 reviews from this member

 Check in was straightforward and entry barriers had number plate recognition but we only drove in then back out after our two nights, the rest of the time we walked. Reception staff were polite and friendly.

We were allocated a pitch, a lengthy strip with sparse hedges at each side so not particularly private but we were lucky to have a couple of chatty but not intrusive Dutch women on the next pitch. There was a water point at the end of our pitch and we were next to the sanitary facilities which were always clean during our stay.

We sampled the pool a couple of times and it wasn't busy on either occasion although we were a week or so before high season when it may well be much busier.

There were pathways and walks around the lake which was behind the site. We walked by the lake past the sailing club and into Angers centre for shopping one morning before it go hot then in the afternoon walked in the other direction and could see herons, cormorants, swans and lots of other birds. Would be a good place for cycling as it's very flat.

The bar wasn't open much as it was pre-high season so can't comment on it as we didn't go in. As on many French sites you can order bread at reception for collection the next morning.

Would probably stay there again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SoggySteve 6 reviews from this member

 This was our third campsite on a shorter than wed like camping tour of the Loire and purely by chance the third Huttopia site as well. We had just come from Noirmoutier and chose this one due to the proximity to Le Havre as we had an afternoon sailing on our last day and wanted to be a few hours drive away. A couple that we had met on our last campsite in Noirmoutier had been here and seemed to think it was an okay campsite with a pool and Angers a walk away.

We did decide to book the site from the last campsite but were rather shocked when coming to the final payment page that Huttopia was trying to charge us a 15 booking fee which we declined (why???). We decided to just turn up and if no spaces were available then we would head off and find somewhere else. We were offered about six different options (no silly and greedy booking fee) and drove around the outside of the site to find the one that suited us best.

Now I dont know about you but I find that some of these garage style pitch campsites can be okay but quite often you get a thin and long scrap of land separated by hedges or trees giving you the impression that you have some privacy but in fact you are literally feet away from your neighbours through the hedge.

This sadly was one of those. We struggled to find a decent pitch that had some shade but some sun as well as having enough room to put the van. Our van is a VW Lt32 which is quite like a medium wheel based sprinter van so its not exactly huge. The van did fit on one of the large pitches but we were left feeling a little isolated with no real option for engaging with the neighbours.

You were however right next to them when you were chilling out and occasionally saw them through the undergrowth sitting there a few feet away from you which I find a bit spooky. Id rather a more open site with a bit more of a social experience and a little more distance from peoples seating and socialising areas.

The pitch also looked across the road at the wooden huts they rent out for large sums of money. These looked a bit depressing to me but I suppose some people may find them attractive but it did give the our pitch the feeling it was in some cul-de-sac in a city. The electricity and water tap is at the end of each pitch so thumbs up for having those facilities as close at they are.

The swimming pool there is very clean and is right beside the bar/pizzeria. Id say this was the highlight of the site myself although I will give them credit for their toilet and shower facilities. These appeared virtually new and were rarely that busy. The taps offer temperature adjustment so you can tailor the shower temperature depending on how you like it. This should be a standard on all campsites rather than the preset temperatures you often have to put up with which are too often either scaldingly hot or too cold.

The bar was selling Heineken (which I personally think is a low grade commercial larger which tastes awful to me) or Affligem which I personally like although sadly they never managed to get a barrel of Affligem on whilst we were there so I committed to a bottle or two or Edelweiss which was a nice bottled beer sadly sold for 4. 60 a bottle so I didnt go back to the bar often at all. I did have a glass of wine there which came in the smallest wine glass I have every drunk out of. I think it must have been a 140ml but was only half filled amounting to couple of short gulps.

It wasnt particularly nice wine either. This was an eye watering 3. 80 which is just way too much. In fact later on in our stay I had a conversation with an English lady who said shed been coming there for fifteen years and that Huttopia had only relatively recently taken the place over. She said the bar/food prices virtually doubled so you rarely see anyone eating or drinking there. This did ring true as it was only on occasion you saw people actually using the seats let alone buying anything from the bar. I didnt see anyone eat a single meal the whole time I was there which I think is quite sad.

The staff, as with the two other Huttopia sites we visited were excellent. Very polite and engaging and always saying hello and smiling at us. The shop was almost non-existent. There is wine at around 10-13 which is high considering similar bottles are half that in the local supermarket (of which there is a massive Carrefour about a twenty minute walk away).

There are a couple of staples but nothing really that useful. More expensive versions of things you may have forgotten like preserves (very expensive) and overpriced beers. The bread and croissants ordered from the bar for the following day are very good and inexpensive. It was a daily occurrence that we went to collect our baguette and two chocolate croissants from the reception.

One of the reasons we chose this site is as its on the edge of a the large Lac De Maine which is easily accessible by walking out of the site entrance then turning right and following a path through the car park. If you walk far enough along the path you get to a pyramid shaped building (a bit of an eye sore to me) which has a kind of sailing club there. Continue on past that and you get to a wooded area where you can swim in the lake. As we approached we saw that the beach had been cordoned off with no explanation.

After checking a website it claimed that they close it during adverse weather conditions (understandable) or when there is no official life guard on duty. We decided that this was the reason that what appears to be the only place to swim on this entire lake was closed due to nobody allocating a lifeguard. This I have to say was disappointing as it appears that the lake is only generally used for paid water sports and not for local people and visitors that simply want to swim in a lake.

A couple of days on we walked right around the lake which is not that far and a walk wed recommend and the beach cordon had been removed. There was a lifeguard setting up the usual high umpires chair so that was a positive (it was around midday) The actual swimming area was a bit sad really and stunk of more British insurance bureaucracy than the usual freer French attitude.

There was a little sandwich and beer place set up near the lake here and the guys running it (although it only opened at 12pm) were super friendly. A Croque Monsieur was around 5. 50 with a large pile of fries included. There was no option for one without the ham so I had to abstain but the chips were good and apparently the Croque Monsieur very good so id recommend you stop over for an inexpensive lunchtime snack if youre passing. There was also a small horse riding hut with tiny horses for tiny people.

If you come out of the main entrance to the campsite and head down to the main road and turn right you can walk down to the Carrefour. This takes around 20mins id say and on the way you pass a bus stop on your right. The number 6 bus weaves around the back streets eventually heading in to Angers where we got off by the Chateaux (1. 50 each way). Its worth noting that the campsite said the buses are every twenty minutes but they are not. More like every hour and twenty minutes!

From there we jumped on one of those little tourist trains (almost like a big kids train) as it was around 6 each and we thought it may give us some historical information that we may otherwise miss. This isnt something we would usually do but it was actually worth it. The journey was around 40mins and offered a lot of history on this interesting city. Make sure you get in the correct carriage though as the commentary is in a different language depending on which one you choose.

Its worthing visiting the Chateaux which I think costs around 9 each. There isnt tons to do in there but a good walk around the battlements after walking around the inside of the church and castle gives a good view of the city and the lovely gardens they have maintained in the moat. If youre hot, then go below the gift shop and you can view the tapestry in a well air conditioned room.

The main city has some very old buildings in there which house some uber expensive tourist shops but sadly they have given some of the centre over to the Starbucks and H&Ms of the world which was not fitting with the history of the place.

You can also walk to here from the campsite which I would recommend only if its not too hot out. The best route is probably out of the campsite, turn right and head around the lake in an anticlockwise direction where you walk along a long path with the lake on one side and the river on the other. Its a well shaded path and good for cycling and eventually youll go through a park and then onwards to a bridge you can walk over. I suspect this would take 40 or so minutes but maybe more.

Overall then. I would not go back to this site due to the actual pitches, the fact that the lake is unwelcoming for swimmers and there is a strange lack of community there. Everyone seems to get on with their own thing almost like everyone is politely trying to avoid everyone else. If you do go here and have a great social time them im genuinely pleased for you.

I personally found it hard to nod and wave at people as unlike almost all the other sites weve ever stayed on, there feels like no functional community meeting place other than the pool and an unwillingness for people to just strike up polite conversation. Also, the fact that they tried to charge us 15 to book on to this site which was already over 30 a night seems like someone has dropped the ball here and got too greedy.

There are much better sites to chill out on than this one so unless you really need to be close to Angers or are travelling with friends and families then you may find yourself chatting to yourself more than you would like. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Harveyrv 4 reviews from this member

 This is the second time that we have stayed here - the first time was 3 years ago.

Since then, very little has changed other than the toilet and shower block has been completely overhauled and renovated ( it was in desperate need )

Very nice site with large pitches defined with well established hedging, good access and EHU and water on all pitches.

Washing machine on site.

Bus stop near to entrance or a very pleasant walk into Anger along rhe river takes about 30 minutes.

Bread and usual offerings for sale at reception.

Very good English spoken by reception staff. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MrWez 16 reviews from this member

 Camping De Lac du Main is a site on the outskirts of Angers, it is a short walk and easy bus ride into the city.

We were out of high season and used our ACSI card which made the site great value. The staff were friendly and helpful and advised us to drive around and find a pitch that suited us, they also advised which were the best pitches to access the free WiFi (basically those nearest the pool), which was also where the sanitary block that was open was (there is another one but it was closed at the time of our visit). The snack bar/bar/restaurant was also closed at the time of our visit. Bread and viennoiserie could be ordered from reception. The entrance barrier has a 3. 5m limit.

There is a motorhome service area, the amenities also have washing and dishwashing facilities. The facilities were clean and looked new so they may have been refurbished. The pool was open.

The nearby supermarket has a 3m height barrier, I dont think

They want to encourage motorhomers sadly.

The pitches were of reasonable size and had electricity and water (at least those near us did), shade is variable but most were in full sun. The pitches should be grass but we were there after a prolonged heatwave and the pitch was very dusty, however, after an hour long thunderstorm the pitch greened up but also drained rapidly.

Its quite straightforward finding the site from the autoroute, it is signposted.

This is a good site in a good location, ideal for exploring Angers, we would happily use it again. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheiladore 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 6 nights, as we had 2 camping cheques to use. As the season was coming to an end there was only one toilet block open, the flies were awful inside the showers. It needs updating. All the other facilities were shut. The site is very good foe reaching Angers, walking or cycling on the pathway. The lake beside the site is superb, lovely bike rides or walks. Supermarket is nearby. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Big Ben 1 review from this member

 Stayed here the end of July for six nights on a camping trip around France. We have a large tent so was a little worried about size of pitches but we got there and walked around and chose our pitch we wanted. Excellent facilities very clean good showers and loads of hot water kids loved the pool and free trampolines, take bikes as the lake next door has loads of cycle routes, angers is really pretty and a nice place to visit. Mainly French and Dutch on the site which was nice would defo recommend so much so that we are booking for next year. ( only thing is take decent rock pegs as the ground is hard) 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Moyster 8 reviews from this member

 Friendly staff who let us in the side gate because of our height. Hard standing pitch which was a bit too shady for us but there were plenty of alternatives. Pool etc all closed as too early in the season. Showers, toilet block excellent. Well planned with plenty of hot water. Excellent cycle track around the nearby lake and the cycle into the old part of Angers only took 30 minutes. Excellent tourist office right by the castle where we left bikes then explored on foot. In the evening cycling round the lake saw herons and even an otter! Altogether an excellent site for what we wanted, easy access to the city and plenty of exercise opportunities. Even at this time of year 25 units in residence each night so popular. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping D Angers Lac De Maine child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping D Angers Lac De Maine have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping D Angers Lac De Maine?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camping D Angers Lac De Maine dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Angers      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2740 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement