Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Les Castels Chateau De Martragny

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Moulin En Bessin > Les Castels Chateau De Martragny > Reviews

Les Castels Chateau De Martragny
52 Hameau St Leger
Martragny
Moulin En Bessin
Normandy   (Browse area)
14740
Tel: 0033 02 31 80 21 40
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 160
Open: 23/05/2024 to 26/08/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 62 Reviews
                8/10 from 62 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cah 62 4 reviews from this member

 Wow as soon as you turn in to the drive you can you see the Chateau in the distance. Beautiful lawned drive with trees.

All lawned pitches ok you have to sort out where is best for your electrics but alright if you have a long enough one.

If I had to nit pick the water could be hotter in the wash up and up grand. The washing machine are only 4 euros and really good spin,

Swimming pool area great.

My Hubby couldnít get over the remote controlled mower 😊

Restaurant good not too expensive

Staff brilliant especially in the office couldnít do enough for us.

Lots from the Netherlands who were lovely.

Will be going again next year.

Ps in ccc book it is classed as 4star in my opinion it should be 5 star 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sophie 1 review from this member

 A chilled site. We arrived late so reception was closed. Our pitch number/ a map was posted on reception door. We navigated the site easily.

Despite the lateness of the hour, the restaurant staff accommodated us for a meal. Nothing was too much trouble. The menu was varied, food well cooked and delicious and the staff are very friendly. The shower block was modem and clean.

The pool/ surrounding area was relaxed. Water and electricity hook up was close by.

A brief but enjoyable stay and my son/ husband are planning a visit to the local historical sites and will be staying here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kaffee 21 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet site to stop at for a few days. Small children's play area, pool (though we didnít use it, but it looked nicely maintained). Used site restaurant for last night, food was plentiful and tasty.

Free tennis, badminton and table tennis equipment available. Shower blocks fine (only used new ones), though no shelf for shower gel etc and all of the floor area gets soggy so leave your shoes outside cubicle.

Downsides were chaotic electrical hook ups, had to go through 3 different pitches before we could find space to hook up and needed to borrow a splitter to make it work.

Also only one grey water point at end of campsite and one tap point by shower blocks, so these aspects could do with addressing.

Overall a nice site to stop at for Bayeaux / D Day beaches, as easily accessible and close by to things. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Nellie72 16 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this site. This time we stayed to the right of the chateau and it was easy to get the van to and from the pitch without scratching it on trees.

The pitch was slightly sloping but easily remedied by winding the jockey wheel a little more to raise the nose of the van.

Toilet facilities on this side are more modern and a lot nicer than the others.

Plenty for the children to do with large play areas, badminton nets etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 108 reviews from this member

 Once again we were offered our previous pitch in the orchard, which we think is much the best place!

We know it's expensive but it is our choice for our last night. The pool was great to have a dip after a long drive. The small sanitaires in the orchard was more than adequate.

We will use it again next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 108 reviews from this member

 This was by far the most expensive site we stayed on this year but we traditionally use it for our last night s camping in France!

We know where we like to pitch, the Orchard, and the reception always know what number pitch we have had before! Wifi is free.

The toilets and showers back is clean and the pool is lovely, though we didn't use it this year.

Our friend had a room in the Chateau and she found it difficult to locate the light switch when she returned in the evening as did others who were staying there. Her room was very comfortable. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Antonella 6 reviews from this member

 Decided to revisit after having a lovely stay three years previous. What a disappointment. The long drive to the chateau which last time was smart with the grass cut now gave an air of a rundown establishment with grass at least 2ft high and the chateau had lost its sparkle with a drab rundown appearance.

Booked in. Displayed an ACSI sign but was not in fact affiliated to ACSI which is very misleading. Was not allowed to stay on the paddock site no reason given.

Directed to the other site which had overhanging branches and scratched our van in the tight turn. Our pitch was right next to the toilet block and sloped to such a degree that with the best will in the world we would never had got our van level.

Went back to reception had vague answers as to what our next move would be was so vague that we decided enough was enough and left. Cannot believe how this campsite has fallen from its former glory. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nellie72 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights on our way to Britanny, what a lovely setting. The staff were lovely, very helpful. The pitch was not the biggest, but for two nights only we were hoping not to have to put up the awning, but getting to the pitch was tight, overhanging branches (and I don't mean little twiggy things either) scratching at the sides of the caravan.

The pool looked great, although it was too cold to use when we stayed. Facilities for children looked very good, plenty of space to play as well as badminton nets and table tennis tables available to use. There is also a playground, but it was on the opposite side to where we were camped and so I didn't see it.

We had one of the funniest bizarre moments with the dog. The walled garden is mown by an automatic electric mower which confused/frightened/intregued the heck out of our puppy, it was hilarious, 30 minutes later we were still laughing at her antics at the end of the lead.

Showers and toilets were basic but functional, they weren't cleaned particuarly frequently and thanks to some male campers who clearly can't aim when they use the loo, they did smell a bit ripe at times.

It's a long way from the road (I think the driveway is around 1/2 a Km long) so there is no road noise at all. But after saying that, it's only a short way out of Caen and ideal to use as an overnight stop en route to elsewhere as it's close to the motorway.

Before we left the UK, I emailed the campsite with a number of questions and the answers came back promptly.

Staff were very friendly, bringing water for the dog when we visited the bar, recommending local ciders etc. If we were in the area again, I would be happy to revisit. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Louise Latimer 8 reviews from this member

 This was the last and most expensive site on our road trip around France, so we were expecting something good. And we were not disappointed.

The ch‚teau and grounds are beautiful, our pitch was lovely and spacious with both water and electric next to us, and the toilet facilities were lovely and clean and modern.

The boys had a great time in the pool and hubby had fun fishing the small pond.

It was a good site for visiting the Bayeux tapestry and beaches at Arromanches and Normandy, which we did early evening, before having dinner at a lovely restaurant in town.

Although there were quite a lot of people on the site, it was quiet and peaceful. We had heavy rain over night, but the pitches stayed dry.

This site cost us Ä66 for the one night for 4of us, which was expensive, but as it s part of a chain I guess its to be expected.

We would definitely come back to this peaceful tranquil site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Impartialreevoos 2 reviews from this member

 Simply put. 2 toilet/shower blocks, 1 new mixed and 1 old & gender specific. Both need a clean. Pool small but clean. Fishing on site that is easy.

Restaurant slow at peak times. Shop reasonably priced bottle of wine approx Ä5. Free karts on site. Most pitches are shaded. Ensure you have a 25m+ cable for electricity. Extension leads available from reception.

The older toilet/shower facilities are reasonable in size but lack a shelf or hanger to put soap & sponge etc. Plenty of hot water though. There is no hand drier in this block. This older block needs a really good clean.

The newer mixed block is a bit nicer and only a little cleaner. Hand sink and the only drier are dirty. Toilets not too bad. Showers need more regular cleaning.

The pool is small and unattended also area covered in plastic grass.

The range of items in the shop is limited but a few different wines or beers. Easy access from road but location a bit out but if you are looking for easy links to various locations then ok. 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Les Castels Chateau De Martragny child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Les Castels Chateau De Martragny have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Les Castels Chateau De Martragny?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Les Castels Chateau De Martragny dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Moulin En Bessin      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3333 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement