Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Les Castels Chateau De Martragny

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Bayeux > Les Castels Chateau De Martragny Reviews

Les Castels Chateau De Martragny
52 Hameau St Leger
Martragny
Bayeux
Normandy   (Browse area)
14740
Tel: 0033 02 31 80 21 40
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 20.05 To 29.08(english Spoken)

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

Once again we were offered our previous pitch in the orchard, which we think is much the best place!

We know it's expensive but it is our choice for our last night. The pool was great to have a dip after a long drive. The small sanitaires in the orchard was more than adequate. We will use it again next year.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

This was by far the most expensive site we stayed on this year but we traditionally use it for our last night s camping in France! We know where we like to pitch, the Orchard, and the reception always know what number pitch we have had before! Wifi is free. The toilets and showers back is clean and the pool is lovely, though we didn't use it this year. Our friend had a room in the Chateau and she found it difficult to locate the light switch when she returned in the evening as did others who were staying there. Her room was very comfortable.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Antonella 6 reviews from this member

Decided to revisit after having a lovely stay three years previous. What a disappointment. The long drive to the chateau which last time was smart with the grass cut now gave an air of a rundown establishment with grass at least 2ft high and the chateau had lost its sparkle with a drab rundown appearance. Booked in. Displayed an ACSI sign but was not in fact affiliated to ACSI which is very misleading. Was not allowed to stay on the paddock site no reason given. Directed to the other site which had overhanging branches and scratched our van in the tight turn. Our pitch was right next to the toilet block and sloped to such a degree that with the best will in the world we would never had got our van level. Went back to reception had vague answers as to what our next move would be was so vague that we decided enough was enough and left. Cannot believe how this campsite has fallen from its former glory.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nellie72 14 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights on our way to Britanny, what a lovely setting. The staff were lovely, very helpful. The pitch was not the biggest, but for two nights only we were hoping not to have to put up the awning, but getting to the pitch was tight, overhanging branches (and I don't mean little twiggy things either) scratching at the sides of the caravan.

The pool looked great, although it was too cold to use when we stayed. Facilities for children looked very good, plenty of space to play as well as badminton nets and table tennis tables available to use. There is also a playground, but it was on the opposite side to where we were camped and so I didn't see it.

We had one of the funniest bizarre moments with the dog. The walled garden is mown by an automatic electric mower which confused/frightened/intregued the heck out of our puppy, it was hilarious, 30 minutes later we were still laughing at her antics at the end of the lead.

Showers and toilets were basic but functional, they weren't cleaned particuarly frequently and thanks to some male campers who clearly can't aim when they use the loo, they did smell a bit ripe at times.

It's a long way from the road (I think the driveway is around 1/2 a Km long) so there is no road noise at all. But after saying that, it's only a short way out of Caen and ideal to use as an overnight stop en route to elsewhere as it's close to the motorway.

Before we left the UK, I emailed the campsite with a number of questions and the answers came back promptly.

Staff were very friendly, bringing water for the dog when we visited the bar, recommending local ciders etc. If we were in the area again, I would be happy to revisit.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Louise Latimer 7 reviews from this member

This was the last and most expensive site on our road trip around France, so we were expecting something good. And we were not disappointed.

The château and grounds are beautiful, our pitch was lovely and spacious with both water and electric next to us, and the toilet facilities were lovely and clean and modern.

The boys had a great time in the pool and hubby had fun fishing the small pond.

It was a good site for visiting the Bayeux tapestry and beaches at Arromanches and Normandy, which we did early evening, before having dinner at a lovely restaurant in town.

Although there were quite a lot of people on the site, it was quiet and peaceful. We had heavy rain over night, but the pitches stayed dry.

This site cost us €66 for the one night for 4of us, which was expensive, but as it s part of a chain I guess its to be expected.

We would definitely come back to this peaceful tranquil site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Impartialreevoos 2 reviews from this member

Simply put. 2 toilet/shower blocks, 1 new mixed and 1 old & gender specific. Both need a clean. Pool small but clean. Fishing on site that is easy. Restaurant slow at peak times. Shop reasonably priced bottle of wine approx €5. Free karts on site. Most pitches are shaded. Ensure you have a 25m+ cable for electricity. Extension leads available from reception.

The older toilet/shower facilities are reasonable in size but lack a shelf or hanger to put soap & sponge etc. Plenty of hot water though. There is no hand drier in this block. This older block needs a really good clean.

The newer mixed block is a bit nicer and only a little cleaner. Hand sink and the only drier are dirty. Toilets not too bad. Showers need more regular cleaning.

The pool is small and unattended also area covered in plastic grass.

The range of items in the shop is limited but a few different wines or beers. Easy access from road but location a bit out but if you are looking for easy links to various locations then ok.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

We were welcomed and told we could pitch in the orchard, our favourite part. The receptionist looked us up and was pleased to see we were returning each year! As we were driving out that Erving to go to a friend's nearby for a meal we asked if there was anywhere we Should pitch but she was adamant that we could pitch anywhere as they have no gate closures. The pool was good, the small sanitaires we used in the orchard were clean. The price was the highest we paid all round France this year as ACSI isn't applicable in June. BUT we do love our end of holiday evening here so will return!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Becboz 23 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 4 nights last year & enjoyed it so used it for a stopover night this year. We arrived on 30/5 & the site had only just opened so we had a large choice of pitches in the orchard area so close to the newer toilet block. Good access in & out of the site. Good free wifi on our pitch. The toilets were clean & tidy. We used the bar & restaurant as it was our first night & it was nice albeit a little pricey for food. The reception staff all spoke good English & we're very pleasant & helpful. Even though the site had just reopened for the season, there was still fresh bread & croissants available in the morning. All in all a pleasant site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Defender 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at Chateau de Martragny for three nights following a two week holiday in the Vendee. The site was booked many months prior to arrival. The location could not be better for those choosing to explore this area of France eg Bayeux and Caen as well as the Normandy D-Day beaches. The approach to the Chateau and ultimately the main camping area is perhaps one of the most impressive you are ever likely to encounter. The dead-straight private drive, bordered on either side by mature trees, that leads from the road to the Chateau is at least 1/2 mile in length! As such, there is no encroaching noise from traffic at all.

The date of our arrival appeared to coincide with a wedding reception at the chateau. Our impression was that the chateau did not want the reception interrupted by the arrival of touring units as we were hastily directed towards the rear of the grounds and told to find a pitch. (The only apparent member of staff ran out from the chateau reception and quickly ushered us around to the rear of the property before we had even stepped out from our car). Although understandable under the circumstances, having spent over 6 hours travelling to reach the site we did feel slightly awkward. Not quite as awkward, perhaps, as the wedding guests who took a stroll around the grounds in their best suits and dresses and who wandered around the orchard camping area admiring the different units. Very surreal!

Although there were ample (large, level and shaded) pitches on either side of the driveway, these appeared to be kept free of units (again, because of the wedding?). We were directed to an area within which we found four of five free pitches, most of which were of a similar size (although varying in shape) and, thankfully, one larger one that would accommodate our 26ft tourer. The pitches are all grass and I believe all have electric hook-up. Most appeared to be reasonably flat and level, although the location of apple trees in the orchard meant that those with a motor-mover would find access onto any pitch; those without may struggle to gain access to some of them.

Having set-up, we went back to reception where we were warmly welcomed by the (apparently only) member of staff who had earlier directed us around to the rear of the Chateau. It was then that we discovered that the Chateau, the courtyard, bar and restaurant were all out of bounds (again, probably due to the wedding) and that the restaurant had been closed for several days prior to arrival and was not expected to open until the day before we left. The nearest place to eat, the assistant helpfully offered, was Bayeux, some 10km away.

I have no idea whether the Chateau had attempted to call us prior to our arrival that the dining facilities would be closed during our planned stay, but judging by the reaction of other people who arrived after us, I suspect not.

We were given free wi-fi access but reception can be patchy, especially the further away from the Chateau you are located. Our daughters mobile 'phone picked up the signal reasonably quickly whilst on our pitch but our i-pad struggled on one day to connect at all.

The stay had not got off to the sort of start we had hoped for.

That said however, we were immediately charmed by the ambience of the site. Very cosmopolitan with at least half a dozen nationalities encountered on-site. The tranquility of the site coupled with the setting quickly soothed away any misgivings and all of us agreed that we would happily return to the site in the future.

There is a hard-court tennis court and a lovely well-heated outdoor swimming pool (that was warmer than the pool we had used in the Vendee!). The grounds are extensive and well maintained with not a hint of litter anywhere. There is also a lovely ornamental fishing pond to which residents may cast a line. With ducks roaming freely around the pond it would be a very enjoyable way to while away a few hours.

There is an obviously new, purpose-built wash/shower/ablutions block that resembles more a conservatory than a traditional brick-built outhouse, that is both warm, spotlessly maintained and together with the existing facilities that have been retained, offered ample opportunity to ensure that queueing for the use of any of the services is unlikely; even in peak season.

There is a small shop on-site that offers the basics should you find that you are in need of replenishment.

The poor girl who worked on reception (and was dealing with the wedding reception guests) also staffs the shop and apart from the chef, bartender and waitress/kitchen support lady, who we met whilst dining in the restaurant, we saw no sign of any other staff.

We managed to eat in the restaurant on the final evening and was rather disappointed that most of the menu items were unavailable. In the end we settled for Salmon fillets with side salad. The food could not be faulted, either in its appearance, taste or service. We put the lack of options down to the wedding reception and that we were heading towards the end of the touring season.

Overall, the experience was not unpleasant nor tainted. We put the circumstances down to coincidence and will happily stay at this site again. We feel it wrong to mark down the Chateau on the basis of this 'one-off'? event and so have graded the 6 questions accordingly. Certainly, whilst we were there, there was a friendly ambience around the site. Subdued lighting allows reasonable unaided access through the orchard at night without being intrusive. By 9 -9. 30pm most evenings the site was extremely quiet, with guests showing respect for one another by not playing loud music or playing ball games where they ought not.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Morgankaz77 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights to explore Normandy and it is perfectly situated for Bayeux and all of the D-day beaches.

The site itself was fine, we were situated in the top right hand corner and just about had room for caravan, awning and car on the pitch. Swimming pool was basic but strangely had an extremely deep section (2. 4m!) in the middle with shallow at both ends, didn't see the need for this as it made it difficult for kids with little or limited swimming skills to enjoy the small pool properly.

The new toilet block behind the bar complex was lovely but not many showers here, more in a separate block next door.

We ate in the restaurant which was adequate, there was also a simple takeaway menu, basically burger and chips. Small shop on site which seemed to stock mostly alcohol and chocolate! Can get fresh baguettes etc.

The best thing about the site is the surrounding area - we enjoyed a day at Cabourg which has a lovely seafront and beach, The Bayeux Tapestry Museum and several of the D-day beaches in particular Omaha and the American Cemetery there - this was absolutely amazing, very humbling and emotive. Would consider returning to explore the area more.

Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bayeux      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5693 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019